DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arevalos et al (US 2019/0374254).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Arevalos discloses a sensor implant system comprising: a shunt body 902 comprising a central flow portion configured for placement at least partially within an opening of a tissue wall 900; and a sensor implant device 901 comprising a sensor body, see paragraph [0167], the sensor implant device configured for placement within the opening of the tissue wall and between the central flow portion of the shunt body and an inner wall of the opening of the tissue wall, see FIG. 9.
Regarding claims 2, 17 and 19, Arevalos discloses the sensor implant device comprises one or more arms 1307 coupled to the sensor body.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Arevalos discloses the one or more arms are configured to pierce the tissue wall, see paragraph [0187] and FIG. 13B.
Regarding claim 4, Arevalos discloses the one or more arms are configured to attach to the central flow portion of the shunt body, see paragraph [0187].
Regarding claim 5, Arevalos discloses the sensor implant device comprises a first set of two arms 1307 extending from an upper portion of the sensor body and a second set of two arms 1307 extending from a lower portion of the sensor body.
Regarding claim 6, Arevalos discloses the one or more arms 1307 are generally curved, see FIG. 13B.
Regarding claim 7, Arevalos discloses the one or more arms 1307 extend from an upper portion of the sensor body, and wherein the one or more arms 1307 have a convex curvature when viewed from above the upper portion of the sensor body, see FIG. 13B.
Regarding claim 8, Arevalos discloses the sensor implant device further comprises a sleeve 1301 encircling at least portion of the sensor body, and wherein the one or more arms 1307 extend from the sleeve.
Regarding claim 9, Arevalos discloses the one or more arms 1307 are configured to extend towards the shunt body, see FIG. 13B.
Regarding claim 10, Arevalos discloses the one or more arms 1307 are configured to extend away from the shunt body, see FIG. 13B.
Regarding claim 11, Arevalos discloses the shunt body is expandable from a compressed form to an expanded form, see paragraph [0187].
Regarding claim 12, Arevalos discloses the shunt body is configured to maintain the expanded form following expansion, see paragraph [0187].
Regarding claim 13, Arevalos discloses the shunt body has an hourglass shape in which a midsection of the shunt body1302 is configured for placement within the opening of the tissue wall 1320 and wherein the shunt body comprises a flared first end 1307 and a flared second end 1308 configured to extend out of the opening of the tissue wall, see FIG. 13B.
Regarding claim 15, Arevalos discloses the shunt body comprises a retaining device 904 configured to wrap at least partially around the sensor body, see paragraph [0166].
Regarding claim 20, Arevalos discloses a sleeve 1301 encircling at least portion of the sensor body, and wherein the one or more anchoring arms 1307 extend from the sleeve, see paragraph [0187].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arevalos et al (US 2019/0374254) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Browd et al (US 2017/0209056).
Regarding claim 14, Arevalos meets all of the claimed limitation except for the sensor implant device comprises a first sensor component configured to obtain measurements at a first side of the tissue wall and a second sensor component configured to obtain measurements at a second side of the tissue wall.
Browd teaches providing a first sensor assembly 106a at a first side of a fluid flow device and a second sensor assembly 106b at a second side of the fluid flow device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the dual sensor location arrangement for measuring fluid through a catheter as taught by Browd for measuring the fluid flow through the shunt body 902 central flow portion because the teaching of Browd suggests using two sensor locations for measuring fluid flow between the two sensors. Since the fluid flow across the tissue wall occurs at the shunt body 902, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to position first and second sensors on each side of the wall to measure fluid flow through the wall.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
1/29/2026