DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 20th 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, and 4-15 remain pending in the application. Claims 2 and 3 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendment to the claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 12-15 overcome the claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on December 29th 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 20th 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 103 rejection, applicant amended claim 1, to recite “wherein the two plastic bodies are interlocked with one another near the anchor opening.” Applicant argues Amann fails to at least teach or suggest “an insulator unit comprising two plastic bodies between which the at least one anchor section extends, wherein both plastic bodies are connected in form-fit manner with the electrode or with one another, wherein the plastic bodies interlock with one another near the anchor opening.” However, Amann do teach these limitations since it is referred to as a different part of the plastic body (Amann [0050]) and 34 can be separated from 50 (MPEP § 2144.04). Additionally, applicant’s argument that Sims fails to remedy the deficiencies of Amann have been considered but were found unpersuasive as Sims does teach an insulator assembly comprising two separate plastic bodies that are interlocked/meshed with each other (Sims FIG 6C where 619 which is the lip made from an insulative material is coupled to 691 which is also insulative) and thus overcomes the deficiencies of Amann.
Regarding the 103 rejection, amended claim 14, applicant argues that it is not obvious to make plastic bodies of different plastic materials, and “Amann cannot teach or suggest the two plastic bodies are made of different plastic materials because Amann relies on a single overmolding process to form the asserted shoulder region.” However, although Sims is silent on the material for the housing and the insulator it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make both plastics from different materials (MPEP § 2144.07) as it enhances thermal performance and better protects and facilitates the routing of the electrical lead (Sims [0030]).
Regarding amended claim 4, applicant argues that “Fischer fails to remedy the deficiencies of the combination of Amann and Sims with respect to claim 1.” However, arguments to claim 4 are not found persuasive since Amann in view of Sims in further view of Fischer teach the claimed invention as implied above. Fischer discloses that the insert 47 which is seen as plastic and the spacer, 41, which is seen as plastic interlocks with one another through the opening 45, therefore it would be obvious to have section 50 and 34 interlock through the opening at 41 in the same manner in order to hold them together.
Regarding amended claim 12, applicant argues that “Schulz fails to remedy the deficiencies of the combination of Amann and Sims with respect to claim 1.” However, arguments to claim 12 are not found persuasive since Amann in view of Sims in further view of Schulz teach the claimed invention as implied above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 through 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Amann et al (US 20150073408) herein referred to as “Amann” in view of Sims et al (US 20200297405A1) herein referred to as “Sims”
Regarding claim 1 Amann discloses: A coagulation instrument for coagulation and/or fusion of biological tissue ([Abstract]; A surgical instrument) comprising: at least one jaw comprising an electrode having a tissue contact surface ([See annotated Figure 2 below]; Elements 16 and 17 which are seen as jaws, each jaw has an electrode unit 33, [See annotated Figure 6A shown below] each is anchored in a positive manner in a plastic body 34 and each contain a tissue contact surface 36.) and at least one anchor section, the at least one anchor section having at least one anchor opening; ([See annotated figure 6 below]; the anchor section is equivalent to the strip section 41, that extends into the plastic body, encompassing openings or slits 42 through which the plastic body extends) and an insulator unit comprising two plastic bodies between which the at least one anchor section extends, ([See annotated Fig 6A shown below]; This figure demonstrates the plastic body (34) connected to another plastic body, referred to as the “shoulder” (50). The “strip section” (41) equivalent to the “anchor section” (35) is seen to extend between these two plastic bodies, and both plastic bodies are seen to be connected to the electrode (35)). However, Amann does not explicitly disclose wherein both plastic bodies are connected in form-fit manner with the electrode or with one another, wherein the two plastic bodies are interlocked with one another near the anchor opening.
Sims discloses wherein both plastic bodies are connected in form-fit manner with the electrode or with one another, ([Fig 6C seen below] shows parts on a single jaw piece being interlocked and [Paragraph 0037] states parts are mechanically engaged such as being snap-fit, friction fit etc which is synonymous with being interlocked) wherein the two plastic bodies are interlocked with one another near the anchor opening ([Fig 6 see figure annotated above]; plastic bodies 34 and 50 are near opening 42 and [Figure 6C below]; where insulative bodies the lip and peripheral edge can be interlocked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Amann to incorporate the teachings of Sims by using this mechanically engaging method of connecting the plastic bodies. The motivation being to have a more secure engagement. (Sims [0037]).
It would have been obvious to connect both plastic bodies in a form-fit manner since both plastic bodies 34 and 50, contain complimentary shapes as seen in figure 6A below (MPEP § 2143 (E)).
Regarding claim 5, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein the anchor section of the electrode embraces one of the plastic bodies. (Amann Fig 6A as seen above; The strip section 41 can be seen embracing the plastic body 34).
Regarding claim 6, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 5, wherein the plastic body embraced by the anchor section comprises extensions extending into or through openings of the anchor section. (Amann Paragraph [0044] States that the plastic body permeates the slits or other openings).
Regarding claim 7, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein one of the plastic bodies embraces the anchor section of the electrode. (Amann See figure 6A above, the plastic body 34 is embraced by the strip section)
Regarding claim 8, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 7, wherein the plastic body embracing the anchor section comprises extensions extending into or through openings of the anchor section. (Amann Paragraph [0040] Webs are seen as the extensions which then go through openings)
Regarding claim 9, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 8, wherein the extensions have a length (L), which is at least as long as the thickness (D) of the anchor section. (Aman Paragraph [0015] the extensions called webs are said to be advantageous if they span the entirety of the anchor section from end to end).
Regarding claim 10, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein the anchor section comprises an angled rim projecting from the tissue contact surface, wherein the rim is in contact with one of the plastic bodies with one side and with the other of the plastic bodies with its opposite side. (Amann Paragraph [0008] the strip section which contains the sheet metal part are angled relative to the tissue contact surface).
Regarding claim 11, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein the anchor opening is a through-opening. (Amann [See Figure 6 annotated above] and [Paragraph 0010] which defines the opening as a through opening formed by means of different holes).
Regarding claim 13, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein one of the plastic bodies surrounds a knife channel (Amann [Paragraph 0017] provisions are made for a blade groove).
Regarding claim 14, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1. However, Amann does not disclose wherein the plastic bodies are made of different plastic materials.
It would have been obvious to make the plastic bodies of different plastic materials as it can only either be made of the same plastic materials, a combination of different plastic materials or each made from a different plastic material than the other. (MPEP § 2143 (E)).
Regarding claim 15, Amann discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein the plastic bodies are connected to one another (Amann [Fig 6a]; Shows the plastic bodies connected together) However Amann does not disclose in sub- stance bond manner.
It would have been obvious to try and bond the plastic bodies in a substance bond manner since there is a finite number of ways to connect both plastic bodies. (MPEP § 2143 (E))
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Amann in view of Sims in further view of Fischer et al (US10820938B2) herein referred to as “Fischer”
Regarding claim 4, Amann in view of Sims discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1, wherein the plastic bodies are interlocked with one another However, Amann in view of Sims does not explicitly disclose in- side the anchor opening.
Fischer discloses wherein the plastic bodies are interlocked with one another in- side the anchor opening. ([page 9, col 7: lines 24-27] the opening is made to accommodate an insert of plastic and See FIG 13 and 14 where 47 and 41 interlocks with one another through the opening 45 therefore it would be obvious to have section 50 and 34 interlock through the opening at 41 in the same manner in order to hold them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coagulation instrument as seen in Amann in view of Sims to incorporate the insulator inside the opening of Fischer. The motivation to do so being to clamp vessels between the electrodes. ([page 9, col 7: lines 24-27]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Amann in view of Sims in further view of Schulz et al (US9468440B2) herein referred to as “Schulz”.
Regarding claim 12, Amann in view of Sims discloses A coagulation instrument according to claim 1. However, Amann in view of Sims does not disclose wherein one of the plastic bodies is a fiber-reinforced plastic body.
Schulz discloses wherein one of the plastic bodies is a fiber-reinforced plastic body ([pg 11 col 2: lines 53-57] The mouthpiece which contain the jaws at the end are made from Fiber reinforced plastics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the type of plastic as seen in Amann in view of Sims to incorporate one of the plastic bodies being a fiber reinforced plastic as described in Schulz. The reason for this is that it is more cost effective, meets the mechanical requirements and can be injection molded. (Schulz pg 11 col 2: lines 47-53).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794