DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Amendments to claims 1, 11 and 20 overcome the previous 112(b) rejections. Accordingly, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly applied prior art Kuder (US 2022/0360194) discloses amended limitations: a battery (54) (Fig.7) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.96; 400V); a capacitor (70) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.98; 100V and 200V).
In addition, Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510) discloses amended limitations: generating a notification to a user device (113) (Fig.1) (Par.78), the notification comprising information relating to a remaining operating time of a battery (Par.54); wirelessly communicate the notification to the user device (113) (Par.82-83); receiving a user request from the user device (113) pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device (113) (Par.65; A user can request a charge from the user device 113 based on the presented remaining operating time of the battery.) (Fig.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-12, 16, 20-21, 28, 30 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al. (US 2014/0132063) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2009/0295224), Chen (US 2022/0247201), Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510), Patsos et al. (US 2020/0136414) and Kuder (US 2022/0360194).
Claim 1: Kakiuchi teaches a computing system (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more hardware processors (29) configured to execute computer executable instructions (Par.35) to cause the computing system to:
access sensor data indicating: a capacitor voltage (Vc1+Vc2) of a capacitor (15 and 19) (Par.38) configured to electrically couple with a battery (11) via one or more switches (23 and 27) (Fig.1); and a battery voltage (Vb) of the battery (11) (Par.38);
cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to a closed state (Fig.4, S94) wherein the one or more switches (23 and 27) conduct an energy from the capacitor (15 and 19) to the battery (11) (Par.80) to cause the battery (11) to store (Par.24, 12V); and
automatically cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) to inhibit energy from flowing between the capacitor (15 and 19) and the battery (11) to allow the capacitor (15 and 19) to charge (Par.50 and 85-86) in response to determining from the sensor data that the capacitor voltage (Vc1+Vc2) is below a capacitor threshold (Vb) (Par.80); and
automatically cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) in response to determining from the sensor data that the battery voltage (Vb) exceeds a battery threshold (Fig.4, S92) (Par.80; If the battery voltage exceeds the capacitor voltage the one or more switches are opened to disconnect the battery.).
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the capacitor electrically coupled to the battery via one or more switches and a diode; wherein the diode inhibits an energy flow from the battery to the capacitor; and automatically causing the one or more switches to transition from the open state to the closed state in response to determining from the sensor data that a voltage differential between the battery voltage and the capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold.
Kobayashi teaches a system (Fig.8) comprising: a capacitor (C) configured to electrically couple with a battery (B) via one or more switches (Q1) and a diode (D2 and D3) that inhibits an energy flow from the battery (B) to the capacitor (C) (Par.66) (Fig.10); and
automatically causing the one or more switches (Q1) to transition from the open state to the closed state (Fig.5, S24) in response to determining from sensor data that a voltage differential between a battery voltage and a capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold (second prescribed voltage) (Fig.5, S20) (Par.56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kobayashi in the system of Kakiuchi to have had the expected result of preventing unintended backflow of energy while charging the battery; and have had charged the battery from the capacitor only when the voltage of the capacitor is higher than the voltage of the battery by a prescribed voltage (Par.56) thereby guarantying enough power is available charge the battery and protecting the capacitor from over-discharge.
Furthermore, Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach generate a notification to a user device, the notification comprising information relating to the sensor data; wirelessly communicating the notification to the user device; responsive to the user request, cause the one or more switches to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches conduct an energy between the capacitor and the battery in the closed state.
Chen teaches a computing system (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to (Par.7):
generate a notification to a user device (smart mobile device) (Par.8), the notification comprising information relating to a sensor data (Par.29, The notification, based on sensed data from the battery and/or the capacitor, is sent to a power rescue application which is built in a smart mobile device.);
wirelessly communicating the notification to the user device (Par.8) (Fig.1); and
responsive to a user request, cause one or more switches (41-42) to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches (41-42) conduct an energy between a capacitor (20) and a battery (10) in the closed state (Par.48) (Figs.2-3) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Chen in the system of Kakiuchi to have had remotely controlled the supply of power (Par.24) thereby providing comprehensive monitoring and management of the system (Par.29) for faster and more efficient control of the energy in the storage devices.
The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly tech wherein the notification further comprises information relating to a remaining operating time of the battery; receiving a user request from the user device pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device.
Beaurepaire teaches generating a notification to a user device (113) (Fig.1) (Par.78), the notification comprising information relating to a remaining operating time of a battery (Par.54); wirelessly communicate the notification to the user device (113) (Par.82-83); receiving a user request from the user device (113) pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device (113) (Par.65; A user can request a charge from the user device 113 based on the presented remaining operating time of the battery.) (Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had indicated to a user how much operating time is left before battery depletion (Par.36) thereby the user can take action such as charging the battery prior to losing power (Par.35).
In addition, Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold is dynamically adjustable responsive to a user input.
Patsos teaches one or more hardware processors configured to cause a computing system (Fig.1) to: automatically control the transfer of energy between a capacitor (250 included in 200) and a battery (100), in response to determinations from sensor data and a threshold (Par.32 and 34-35), wherein the threshold is dynamically adjustable responsive to a user input (Par.34, The thresholds are adjusted by a user as desired.) (Par.35, The pre-determined thresholds are remotely adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Patsos in the system of Kakiuchi to have had controlled the transfer of energy between a capacitor and a battery to maintain desired operation based on pre-determined thresholds (Par.34), that can be adjusted based on a changed environment or requirements (Par.22 and 35), thereby improving the power efficiency of the system.
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the battery stores between 100 volts and 400 volts; the capacitor stores between 100 volts and 400 volts.
Kuder teaches a battery (54) (Fig.7) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.96; 400V); a capacitor (70) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.98; 100V and 200V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kuder in the system of Kakiuchi to have had a battery with a nominal voltage commonly selected in most electric vehicles for powering traction motors (Par.15); and have had capacitors with nominal voltage values capable of matching the battery (Par.98) thereby efficiently charging the battery while preventing undercharged of the capacitors.
Claim 2: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the notification further comprises a geographic destination.
Beaurepaire teaches a notification comprising a geographic destination (Par.108; Navigation related functions including route guidance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had performed navigation-related functions such as route guidance (Par.108) such as to a recommended recharging station (Par.65).
Claim 3: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the notification further comprises geographic location of a vehicle.
Beaurepaire teaches a notification comprising a geographic destination (Par.108); a notification comprising a geographic location of a vehicle (Par.80 and 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had provided time-based representations with high accuracy (Par.85).
Claim 7: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi teaches wherein the one or more hardware processors (29) are further configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to: cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition between the open state and the closed state based on at least specifications of the battery (11), including a voltage capacity of the battery (11) (Par.80).
Claim 11: Kakiuchi teaches a computer implemented method (Fig.4) comprising:
accessing sensor data (Fig.4, S91) indicating: a capacitor voltage (Vc1+Vc2) of a capacitor (15 and 19) (Par.38) configured to electrically couple with a battery (11) via one or more switches (23 and 27) (Fig.1); and a battery voltage (Vb) of the battery (11) (Par.38);
causing the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to a closed state (Fig.4, S94) wherein the one or more switches (23 and 27) conduct an energy from the capacitor (15 and 19) to the battery (11) (Par.80) to cause the battery (11) to store up to 400 volts (Par.24, 12V); and
automatically causing the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) to inhibit energy from flowing between the capacitor (15 and 19) and the battery (11) to allow the capacitor (15 and 19) to charge (Par.50 and 85-86) up to 400 volts (Par.24, 17V) in response to determining from the sensor data that the capacitor voltage (Vc1+Vc2) is below a capacitor threshold (Vb) (Par.80); and
automatically cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) in response to determining from the sensor data that the battery voltage (Vb) exceeds a battery threshold (Fig.4, S92) (Par.80; If the battery voltage exceeds the capacitor voltage the one or more switches are opened to disconnect the battery.).
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the capacitor electrically coupled to the battery via one or more switches and a diode; wherein the diode inhibits an energy flow from the battery to the capacitor; and automatically causing the one or more switches to transition from the open state to the closed state in response to determining from the sensor data that a voltage differential between the battery voltage and the capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold.
Kobayashi teaches a system (Fig.8) comprising: a capacitor (C) configured to electrically couple with a battery (B) via one or more switches (Q1) and a diode (D2 and D3) that inhibits an energy flow from the battery (B) to the capacitor (C) (Par.66) (Fig.10); and
automatically causing the one or more switches (Q1) to transition from the open state to the closed state (Fig.5, S24) in response to determining from sensor data that a voltage differential between a battery voltage and a capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold (second prescribed voltage) (Fig.5, S20) (Par.56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kobayashi in the system of Kakiuchi to have had the expected result of preventing unintended backflow of energy while charging the battery; and
have had charged the battery from the capacitor only when the voltage of the capacitor is higher than the voltage of the battery by a prescribed voltage (Par.56) thereby guarantying enough power is available charge the battery and protecting the capacitor from over-discharge.
Furthermore, Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach generating a notification to a user device, the notification comprising information relating to the sensor data; wirelessly communicating the notification to the user device; responsive to the user request, cause the one or more switches to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches conduct an energy between the capacitor and the battery in the closed state.
Chen teaches a computing system (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to (Par.7):
generate a notification to a user device (smart mobile device) (Par.8), the notification comprising information relating to a sensor data (Par.29, The notification, based on sensed data from the battery and/or the capacitor, is sent to a power rescue application which is built in a smart mobile device.);
wirelessly communicating the notification to the user device (Par.8) (Fig.1); and
responsive to a user request, cause one or more switches (41-42) to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches (41-42) conduct an energy between a capacitor (20) and a battery (10) in the closed state (Par.48) (Figs.2-3) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Chen in the system of Kakiuchi to have had remotely controlled the supply of power (Par.24) thereby providing comprehensive monitoring and management of the system (Par.29) for faster and more efficient control of the energy in the storage devices.
Chen teaches a computing system (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to (Par.7):
generate a notification to a user device (smart mobile device) (Par.8), the notification comprising information relating to a sensor data (Par.29, The notification, based on sensed data from the battery and/or the capacitor, is sent to a power rescue application which is built in a smart mobile device.); and
responsive to a user request, cause one or more switches (41-42) to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches (41-42) conduct an energy between a capacitor (20) and a battery (10) in the closed state (Par.48) (Figs.2-3) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Chen in the system of Kakiuchi to have had remotely controlled the supply of power (Par.24) thereby providing comprehensive monitoring and management of the system (Par.29) for faster and more efficient control of the energy in the storage devices.
The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly tech wherein the notification further comprises information relating to a remaining operating time of the battery; receiving a user request from the user device pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device.
Beaurepaire teaches generating a notification to a user device (113) (Fig.1) (Par.78), the notification comprising information relating to a remaining operating time of a battery (Par.54); wirelessly communicate the notification to the user device (113) (Par.82-83); receiving a user request from the user device (113) pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device (113) (Par.65; A user can request a charge from the user device 113 based on the presented remaining operating time of the battery.) (Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had indicated to a user how much operating time is left before battery depletion (Par.36) thereby the user can take action such as charging the battery prior to losing power (Par.35).
In addition, Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold is dynamically adjustable responsive to a user input.
Patsos teaches one or more hardware processors configured to cause a computing system (Fig.1) to: automatically control the transfer of energy between a capacitor (250 included in 200) and a battery (100), in response to determinations from sensor data and a threshold (Par.32 and 34-35), wherein the threshold is dynamically adjustable responsive to a user input (Par.34, The thresholds are adjusted by a user as desired.) (Par.35, The pre-determined thresholds are remotely adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Patsos in the system of Kakiuchi to have had controlled the transfer of energy between a capacitor and a battery to maintain desired operation based on pre-determined thresholds (Par.34), that can be adjusted based on a changed environment or requirements (Par.22 and 35), thereby improving the power efficiency of the system.
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the battery stores between 100 volts and 400 volts; the capacitor stores between 100 volts and 400 volts.
Kuder teaches a battery (54) (Fig.7) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.96; 400V); a capacitor (70) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.98; 100V and 200V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kuder in the system of Kakiuchi to have had a battery with a nominal voltage commonly selected in most electric vehicles for powering traction motors (Par.15); and have had capacitors with nominal voltage values capable of matching the battery (Par.98) thereby efficiently charging the battery while preventing undercharged of the capacitors.
Claim 12: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the notification further comprises a geographic destination.
Beaurepaire teaches a notification comprising a geographic destination (Par.108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had performed navigation-related functions such as route guidance (Par.108) such as to a recommended recharging station (Par.65).
Claim 16: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, and Patsos teach the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi teaches further comprising: causing the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition between the open state and the closed state based on at least specifications of the battery (11), including a voltage capacity of the battery (11) (Par.80).
Claim 20: Kakiuchi teaches non-transitory computer-readable media including computer executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system (Fig.1), cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
accessing sensor data indicating: a capacitor voltage (Vc1+Vc2) of a capacitor (15 and 19) (Par.38) configured to electrically couple with a battery (11) via one or more switches (23 and 27) (Fig.1); and a battery voltage (Vb) of the battery (11) (Par.38);
cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to a closed state (Fig.4, S94) wherein the one or more switches (23 and 27) conduct an energy from the capacitor (15 and 19) to the battery (11) (Par.80) to cause the battery (11) to store up to 400 volts (Par.24, 12V); and
automatically causing the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) to inhibit energy from flowing between the capacitor (15 and 19) and the battery (11) to allow the capacitor (15 and 19) to charge (Par.50 and 85-86) up to 400 volts (Par.24, 17V) in response to determining from the sensor data that the capacitor voltage (Vc1+Vc2) is below a capacitor threshold (Vb) (Par.80); and
automatically causing the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) in response to determining from the sensor data that the battery voltage (Vb) exceeds a battery threshold (Fig.4, S92) (Par.80; If the battery voltage exceeds the capacitor voltage the one or more switches are opened to disconnect the battery.).
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the capacitor electrically coupled to the battery via one or more switches and a diode; wherein the diode inhibits an energy flow from the battery to the capacitor; and automatically causing the one or more switches to transition from the open state to the closed state in response to determining from the sensor data that a voltage differential between the battery voltage and the capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold.
Kobayashi teaches a system (Fig.8) comprising: a capacitor (C) configured to electrically couple with a battery (B) via one or more switches (Q1) and a diode (D2 and D3) that inhibits an energy flow from the battery (B) to the capacitor (C) (Par.66) (Fig.10); and
automatically causing the one or more switches (Q1) to transition from the open state to the closed state (Fig.5, S24) in response to determining from sensor data that a voltage differential between a battery voltage and a capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold (second prescribed voltage) (Fig.5, S20) (Par.56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kobayashi in the system of Kakiuchi to have had the expected result of preventing unintended backflow of energy while charging the battery; and
have had charged the battery from the capacitor only when the voltage of the capacitor is higher than the voltage of the battery by a prescribed voltage (Par.56) thereby guarantying enough power is available charge the battery and protecting the capacitor from over-discharge.
Furthermore, Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach generating a notification to a user device, the notification comprising information relating to the sensor data; wirelessly communicating the notification to the user device; responsive to the user request, cause the one or more switches to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches conduct an energy between the capacitor and the battery in the closed state.
Chen teaches a computing system (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to (Par.7):
generate a notification to a user device (smart mobile device) (Par.8), the notification comprising information relating to a sensor data (Par.29, The notification, based on sensed data from the battery and/or the capacitor, is sent to a power rescue application which is built in a smart mobile device.);
wirelessly communicating the notification to the user device (Par.8) (Fig.1); and
responsive to a user request, cause one or more switches (41-42) to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches (41-42) conduct an energy between a capacitor (20) and a battery (10) in the closed state (Par.48) (Figs.2-3) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Chen in the system of Kakiuchi to have had remotely controlled the supply of power (Par.24) thereby providing comprehensive monitoring and management of the system (Par.29) for faster and more efficient control of the energy in the storage devices.
Chen teaches a computing system (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to (Par.7):
generate a notification to a user device (smart mobile device) (Par.8), the notification comprising information relating to a sensor data (Par.29, The notification, based on sensed data from the battery and/or the capacitor, is sent to a power rescue application which is built in a smart mobile device.); and
responsive to a user request, cause one or more switches (41-42) to transition to a closed state, wherein the one or more switches (41-42) conduct an energy between a capacitor (20) and a battery (10) in the closed state (Par.48) (Figs.2-3) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Chen in the system of Kakiuchi to have had remotely controlled the supply of power (Par.24) thereby providing comprehensive monitoring and management of the system (Par.29) for faster and more efficient control of the energy in the storage devices.
The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly tech wherein the notification further comprises information relating to a remaining operating time of the battery; receiving a user request from the user device pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device.
Beaurepaire teaches generating a notification to a user device (113) (Fig.1) (Par.78), the notification comprising information relating to a remaining operating time of a battery (Par.54); wirelessly communicate the notification to the user device (113) (Par.82-83); receiving a user request from the user device (113) pursuant to the wirelessly communicating said notification to the user device (113) (Par.65; A user can request a charge from the user device 113 based on the presented remaining operating time of the battery.) (Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had indicated to a user how much operating time is left before battery depletion (Par.36) thereby the user can take action such as charging the battery prior to losing power (Par.35).
In addition, Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold is dynamically adjustable responsive to a user input.
Patsos teaches one or more hardware processors configured to cause a computing system (Fig.1) to: automatically control the transfer of energy between a capacitor (250 included in 200) and a battery (100), in response to determinations from sensor data and a threshold (Par.32 and 34-35), wherein the threshold is dynamically adjustable responsive to a user input (Par.34, The thresholds are adjusted by a user as desired.) (Par.35, The pre-determined thresholds are remotely adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Patsos in the system of Kakiuchi to have had controlled the transfer of energy between a capacitor and a battery to maintain desired operation based on pre-determined thresholds (Par.34), that can be adjusted based on a changed environment or requirements (Par.22 and 35), thereby improving the power efficiency of the system.
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the battery stores between 100 volts and 400 volts; the capacitor stores between 100 volts and 400 volts.
Kuder teaches a battery (54) (Fig.7) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.96; 400V); a capacitor (70) that stores between 100 volts and 400 volts (Par.98; 100V and 200V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kuder in the system of Kakiuchi to have had a battery with a nominal voltage commonly selected in most electric vehicles for powering traction motors (Par.15); and have had capacitors with nominal voltage values capable of matching the battery (Par.98) thereby efficiently charging the battery while preventing undercharged of the capacitors.
Claim 21: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 20 as disclosed above. The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the notification further comprises a geographic destination.
Beaurepaire teaches a notification comprising a geographic destination (Par.108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beaurepaire in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had performed navigation-related functions such as route guidance (Par.108) such as to a recommended recharging station (Par.65).
Claims 28, 30 and 32: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 20 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi teaches the one or more hardware processors (29) are further configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) to allow the capacitor (15 and 19) to charge (Par.50 and 85-86).
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach allow the capacitor to store between 300 and 400 volts; allow the capacitor to store 400 volts; allow the capacitor to store between 100 and 200 volts.
Kuder teaches allowing a capacitor (18) to store between 300 and 400 volts (Fig.1; U0=400V) (Par.12); allow a capacitor to store 400 volts (Fig.1; U0=400V) (Par.12); allow a capacitor (18) to store between 100 and 200 volts (Fig.1) (Par.6; 100V and 200V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kuder in the system of Kakiuchi to have had capacitors capable of establishing a desired output voltage (Par.95) for cooperation with a battery of an electric vehicle (Par.29).
Claim 33: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi teaches the one or more hardware processors (29) are further configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to cause the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition to the open state (Fig.4, S95) to allow the battery to charge (Par.24).
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the batter stores between 300 and 400 volts.
Kuder teaches a battery (54) (Fig.7) that stores between 300 volts and 400 volts (Par.96; 400V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kuder in the system of Kakiuchi to have had a battery with a nominal voltage commonly selected in most electric vehicles for powering traction motors (Par.15)
Claims 4, 13 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al. (US 2014/0132063) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2009/0295224), Chen (US 2022/0247201), Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510), Patsos et al. (US 2020/0136414) and Kuder (US 2022/0360194) 1, 11 and 20 above, and further in view of Andrews, Jr. (US 2014/0266004).
Claims 4, 13 and 22: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 20 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi teaches causing the one or more switches (23 and 27) to transition between the open state and the closed state to allow power flow between the battery (11) and the capacitor (15 and 19) (Par.80).
Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach generate a billing charge to a user based on at least causing the one or more switches to transition between the open state and the closed state.
Andrews, Jr. teaches generating a billing charge to a user based on allowing power flow between a capacitor (504) (Fig.5) and a battery (516) (Par.69 and 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Andrews, Jr. in the system of Kakiuchi to have had determined a charge transferred and a monetary value (Par.72) thereby allowing energy providers to make a profit.
Claims 5, 14 and 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al. (US 2014/0132063) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2009/0295224), Chen (US 2022/0247201), Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510), Patsos et al. (US 2020/0136414) and Kuder (US 2022/0360194) as applied to claims 1, 11 and 20 above, and further in view of Gupta (US 2022/0314837).
Claims 5, 14 and 23: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 20 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to: monitor historical data comprising historical voltages of the capacitor or the battery; and predict a future operation of the capacitor or battery based on at least the historical data.
Gupta teaches monitoring historical data comprising historical voltages of a capacitor or a battery (Par.276); and predict a future operation of the capacitor or battery based on at least the historical data (Par.387).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Gupta in the system of Kakiuchi to have had taken corrective steps if a failure is predicted based on historical data (Par.388) thereby preventing damage.
Claims 6, 15 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al. (US 2014/0132063) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2009/0295224), Chen (US 2022/0247201), Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510), Patsos et al. (US 2020/0136414) and Kuder (US 2022/0360194) as applied to claims 1, 11 and 20 above, and further in view of Bauer et al. (US 2018/0083469).
Claims 6, 15 and 24: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 20 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to: monitor historical data comprising historical voltages of the capacitor or the battery; and cause the one or more switches to transition between the open state and the closed state based on at least the historical data.
Bauer teaches one or more hardware processors configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause a computing system (Fig.1) to: monitor historical data comprising historical voltages of a battery (24) (Par.36); and cause one or more switches (30) to transition between the open state and the closed state based on at least the historical data (Par.35-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Bauer in the system of Kakiuchi to have had accurately regulated power flow between the capacitor and the battery (Par.32 and 36) thereby preventing damage of the battery.
Claims 27, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al. (US 2014/0132063) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2009/0295224), Chen (US 2022/0247201), Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510), Patsos et al. (US 2020/0136414) and Kuder (US 2022/0360194) as applied to claims 1, 11 and 20 above, and further in view of Bower (US 2020/0226850).
Claims 27, 29 and 31: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 20 as disclosed above. The combination of Kakiuchi and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the notification further comprises a distance of the vehicle from a destination.
Bower teaches generating a notification comprising a distance of a vehicle from a destination (Par.60) (Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Bower in the combination of Kakiuchi and Chen to have had provided sufficient information to a driver for planning routing and operation of the vehicle (Par.2 and 56).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al. (US 2014/0132063) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2009/0295224), Chen (US 2022/0247201), Beaurepaire et al. (US 2019/0308510), Patsos et al. (US 2020/0136414) and Kuder (US 2022/0360194) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Miki et al. (US 2020/0122712).
Claim 34: Kakiuchi in view of Kobayashi, Chen, Beaurepaire, Patsos and Kuder teach the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Kakiuchi does not explicitly teach the battery storing between 100 and 200 volts.
Miki teaches a battery storing between 100 and 200 volts (Par.97).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Miki in the system of Kakiuchi to have had achieved a high voltage (Par.97) sufficient to generate power for a vehicle to travel (Par.95).
Conclusion
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859