Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are two different figures labeled as Fig. 1D, and two different figures labeled as Fig. 1E. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Examiner’s Note
Claim 1 is not presently being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), because interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) only applies to a claim for a combination. However, to promote compact prosecution, the Examiner is including an interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for the claim limitation "fermentation device" that would apply if Applicant were to amend such that claim 1 is a claim for a combination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fermentation device,” in claim 1.
Paragraph [0021] of the instant invention publication (US 20240344048 ) discloses in some embodiments, the system comprises one or more compositions and/or one or more components (e.g., a fermenting device) such that a non-fermented composition interacts (e.g., contacts, directly contacts, reacts with) a fermenting composition, such that the non-fermented composition increases in alcoholic content (e.g., relative to the alcoholic content of the non-fermented composition prior to interacting with the fermenting composition). In some embodiments, the fermenting composition ferments at least a portion of the non-fermented composition.
Paragraph [0042] discloses in some embodiments, the system comprises a fermentation device (e.g., a fermentation chamber). In certain embodiments, the fermentation device is configured to receive the non-fermented composition and/or the non-fermented component (e.g., comprising the encapsulated non-fermented composition) such that it may be fermented. In some cases, the fermentation device may comprise and/or be configured to receive a fermenting composition (e.g., yeast such as immobilized yeast). In some embodiments, a fermenting component comprises the fermenting composition.
Paragraph [0060] discloses in some embodiments, the system comprises a fermentation device (e.g., a cartridge). In some cases, the fermentation device comprises the fermentation component and one or more inlets. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 2A, exemplary fermentation device 400 (e.g., a cartridge) comprises fermentation component 410 disposed within housing 420. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, in some embodiments, exemplary fermentation device 402 comprises fermentation component 410 disposed within housing 420 having an inlet 425. In some embodiments, inlet 425 is in fluidic communication with fermentation component 410 and/or non-fermented component 430. The fermentation device may be in fluidic communication with one or more additional components within the system including e.g., vessels, fluidic connectors, chambers, etc.
Paragraph [0065] discloses in certain embodiments, the fermentation device comprises a plurality of encapsulated fermenting components (e.g., comprising the fermenting composition) as described above and herein. For example, encapsulated fermenting composition spheres (or otherwise) may be disposed within a housing of the fermentation device. In other embodiments, the fermenting component is porous, as described above.
Paragraph [0066] discloses in some embodiments, one or more components of the system (e.g., the fermentation device, the fermentation component, the non-fermented component) is at least partially biodegradable. In certain embodiments, one or more components and/or compositions (e.g., the fermentation component, the fermenting composition, the non-fermented component, the non-fermented composition), of the system is edible (i.e. non-toxic).
Paragraph [0069] discloses in certain embodiments, the fermentation device comprises one or more microfluidic components (e.g., channels, vessels). The term ‘microfluidic component’ generally refers to a component having an internal volume of less than 1000 microliters and greater than or equal to 1 microliter. In one set of embodiments, a semi-permeable membrane is in fluidic communication with a least one microfluidic channel of the fermentation device. In some such embodiments, the flow of a fluid through the semi-permeable membrane induces laminar flow of the fluid. Advantageously, the fermentation device comprising one or more microfluidic components may continuously process (e.g., ferment) relatively low volumes of fluid at relative high rates (e.g., fermenting in relatively short amounts of time).
Paragraph [0084] discloses one or more components of the fermentation device may be aesthetically pleasing. For example, the system may be designed to have an aesthetically pleasing design for consumer use (e.g., at home, at a restaurant, at a business, at an event). In some embodiments, the fermentation device, or one or more components therein, may have any suitable shape. For example, in certain embodiments, the fermentation device has a cylindrical shape, a cubic shape, a cuboidal shape, a prismatic shape, or a conical shape. In some cases, at least one cross-section of the components and/or the fermentation device may be rectangular shaped, square shaped, triangular shaped, circular shaped, hexagonal shaped, or irregularly shaped. Other shapes are also possible. In an exemplary embodiment, the fermentation device has a cylindrical shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Costs et al. (US 20140039050) in view of Schisler et al. (US 20090017164).
Regarding claim 1, Da Costs et al. discloses a system (¶ 0024, i.e. the fermentation system), comprising: a fermentation device (¶ 0025, 0026, 0028, i.e. the fermentation process), configured to receive a non-fermented composition (¶ 0002, 0004, e.g. sugar cane, sugar beets, fruit or molasses.) and to ferment at least 100 mL of the non-fermented composition into a fermented liquid (i.e. called fermented wine) having an alcoholic content (i.e. ethanol) of at least 4% (¶ 0008-0009, i.e. 7-10%).
Da Costs et al. does not specifically disclose the alcoholic content of at least 4% in less than or equal to 30 minutes.
However, Schisler teaches the ethanol production can be done in shorter time by increases yeast carbohydrate utilization (¶ 0058).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor a fermentation process. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Da Costs and Schisler before him or her, to include such process of Schisler because the process provides reduced fermentation time, increased ethanol yield. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it improvement in ethanol manufacturing processes which include a fermentation step (¶ 0004) and a significant portion of that demand will be met by increasing the amount of ethanol prepared from other fermentation composition (¶ 0008).
Furthermore, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Attingger et al. (US 20170107465). Nordkvist et al. (US 20160194586). And Li et al. (US 20160083320).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761