FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/31/2026 has been received and claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, in Claim 1 there is no written description support for the newly added limitation “wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards the different surfaces of the object is dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp, wherein the variance of the at least one lamp includes a size of the at least one lamp, a type of the at least one lamp, and a distance between the at least one lamp and the object” within the Specification, particularly for the embodiment set forth in the claimed invention is directed to Figures 1-7 and/or 12-13 where the Specification only discloses the newly added limitation for a different embodiment disclosed in Figures 9-11 and [0089] on pp. 29-30.
In Claim 7, there is no written description support for the limitations that “the frequency … is configured to be adjustable prior to, and during, the light being emitted by the multiple lamps” or that “the intensity of the light is configured to be adjustable prior to, and during, the light being emitted by the multiple lamps” within the Specification which appears to indicate that only a “frequency or wavelength of light emitted … may be adjusted” and that the frequency/wavelength is only adjustable either “prior to, or during, sanitization of the objects” (see pp. 33-34 [0100] of the Specification).
In Claims 15 and 21, there is no written description support for the newly added limitation “wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards the different surfaces of the object is dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp” within the Specification, particularly for the embodiment set forth in the claimed invention which is directed to Figures 1-7 and/or 12-13 where the Specification only discloses the newly added limitation for a different embodiment disclosed in Figures 9-11 and [0089] on pp. 29-30.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 7, it is not clear how a frequency and/or an intensity of the light emitted is “adjustable prior to, and during, the light being emitted by the multiple lamps”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (6132784) in view of Ozdemir (20240075175) and Wang (CN205698623).
As to Claims 1 and 12, Brandt (‘784) discloses a device (10) comprising:
one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) that are disposed within an interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) and that emit light, wherein at least one lamp of the one or more lamps (12) is configured to be at least one of moved to a different location or shifted such that the light is capable of being emitted towards different surfaces of an object to be sanitized (11) (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 2, Col. 7 lines 1-4 and 8-17), wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of the object is dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18); wherein the variance of the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18) includes a size of the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18), a type of the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18), and a distance between the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18) and the object (11) (via 30 and 60 - see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 4, Col. 6 lines 18-33, Col. 6 line 42 to Col. 7 line 17); and
a conveyor belt (13 – see Col. 4 lines 57-61) that extends through the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) and that moves in a direction from a first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) of the device to a second side (i.e. outlet/exit) of the device, upon the object (11) being placed on the conveyor belt 913), the conveyor belt (13) being configured to (see Figures 1-6):
transfer the object (11) from the first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) into the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) such that the object (11) is exposed to the light for a period of time; and
transfer the object (11) from the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) to the second side (i.e. outlet/exit).
Brandt (‘784) does not appear to specifically teach a housing that encapsulates an interior cavity, or that at least one of the one or more lamps is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle, or a first ultraviolet (UV) curtain that is disposed on a first side of the housing, or a second UV curtain that is disposed on a second side of the housing that is opposite of the first side, nor one or more wheels that facilitate movement of the device between different locations.
As to the limitations that the device comprises a housing encapsulates an interior cavity and a first UV curtain, a second UV curtain, and one or more wheels, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing which encapsulates an interior cavity containing one or more lamps, a first and a second UV curtains and one or more wheels in a device for sanitizing an object. Ozdemir (‘175) discloses a device (100) for sanitizing an object, comprising:
a housing (101, 108) that encapsulates an interior cavity;
one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) that are disposed within the interior cavity and that emit light, wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of the object is capable of being dependent upon a variance of he at least one lamp (110; 120; 130L, 130R); wherein the variance of the at least one lamp (110; 120; 130L, 130R) includes a size of the at least one lamp (110; 120; 130L, 130R), a type of the at least one lamp (110; 120; 130L, 130R), and a distance between the at least one lamp (110; 120; 130L, 130R) and an object;
a first ultraviolet (UV) curtain (107) that is disposed on a first side (101A) of the housing (101);
a second UV curtain (107) that is disposed on a second side (101B) of the housing (101) that is opposite of the first side (101A);
a conveyor (141) that extends through the interior cavity and that moves in a direction from the first side (101A) to the second side (101B) (see Figures 1-3 and 9), upon the object being placed on the conveyor belt, the conveyor (141) being configured to:
transfer the object from the first side (101A) through the first UV curtain (107) into the interior cavity such that the object is exposed to the light for a period of time; and
transfer the object from the interior cavity through the second UV curtain (107) to the second side (101B);
one or more wheels that facilitate movement of the device (100) between different locations (see entire document, particularly Figure 1-5 and 9, p. 4 [0031] – lines 3-4),
in order to prohibit the emitted light from exiting the device so as to prevent harming users or bystanders (see entire document particularly p. 3 [0026] – lines 2-8, p. 4 [0027]) and to allow the device to be moved from one place to another with ease (see entire document particularly p. 4 [0031] – lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing that encapsulates the interior cavity as well as UV curtains in the device of Brandt in order to prevent any harm from the light emitted from the one or more light sources to humans or animals that may be near the device as shown by Ozdemir and to enable the device to be moved from one place to another with ease as shown by Ozdemir.
As to that at least one of the one or more lamps is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one lamp of one or more lamps that is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle in a device for sanitization. Wang (‘623) discloses a device (see Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (1) that encapsulates an interior cavity (i.e. within 1 where 4-10 as seen in Figure 2 are located) (see Figure 1);
one or more lamps (8) that are disposed within the interior cavity (see Figure 1) and that emit light (i.e. UV light), wherein at least one lamp (8) of the one or more lamps (8) is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle (via 4, 5, 6) such that the light is emitted towards different surfaces of an object to be sanitized (i.e. elevator car) (see entire English translation, Figure 1, Abstract – last 5 lines, p. 3 – lines 21-32), wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of an object is capable of being dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp (8); wherein the variance of the at least one lamp (8) includes a size of the at least one lamp (8), a type of the at least one lamp (8), and a distance between the at least one lamp (8) and an object,
in order to effectively irradiate all areas of the object to be sanitized (see entire English translation, Abstract – 3rd – 5th lines from the bottom, p. 3 – lines 27-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one lamp of the one or more lamps configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle in the device of Brandt as modified by Ozdemir in order to effectively cover all areas of the object and avoiding any dead angle as shown by Wang.
As to Claim 2, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the housing (101, 108) is composed of a rigid material (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-5 and 8, p. 3 [0026], p. 4 [0027]-[0028]).
As to Claim 3, Brandt (‘784) discloses that the one or more lamps (12 - 17; 18) are one or more UV lamps and the light is UV light (see entire document particularly Col. 3 lines 43-67), or the one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) are one or more UV-C lamps and the light is UV-C light (see entire document, particularly Col. 3 lines 62-63).
As to Claim 4, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the first UV curtain (107) and the second UV curtain (107) prevent at least a portion of the light from escaping the interior cavity (i.e. within 101) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027]).
As to Claim 5, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the device (100) further comprises a control panel (102) that is disposed on an exterior surface of the housing (101) and that includes one or more selectable controls (102A, 104, 105) to control one or more operations of the device (100) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 3 [0026]).
As to Claim 8, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the device (100) further comprises a selectable control (102A, 104, 105) that, when selected, causes the one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) or the conveyor (141) to cease operating (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 3 [0026]).
As to Claim 9, Brandt (‘784) discloses that the one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) are affixed to one or more inner surfaces (via 30, 65) of the interior cavity such that the one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) emit the light onto one or more surfaces (28) of the object (11) while the object (11) is passing through the interior cavity via the conveyor belt (13) (see Figures 1-5).
As to Claim 10, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) include:
a first lamp (120A) that is disposed on an upper inner surface of the interior cavity and that emits the light downwards onto an upper surface of the object and a first side surface of the object (see Figures 2 and 6);
a second lamp (120A) that is disposed on the upper inner surface of the interior cavity and that emits the light downwards onto the upper surface of the object and a second side surface of the object (see Figures 2 and 6);
a third lamp (110A) that is disposed below the first lamp (120A) and that emits the light onto a lower surface of the object and the first side surface of the object (see Figures 2-5); and
a fourth lamp (110A) that is disposed below the second lamp (120A) and that emits the light onto the lower surface of the object and the second side surface of the object (see Figures 2-5).
As to Claim 11, Brandt (‘784) discloses that the one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) are permanently affixed (via 30, 65) to one or more inner surfaces of the interior cavity (see Figures 1-5).
As to Claim 13, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) are detachably affixed to one or more inner surfaces of the interior cavity such that the one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) are configured to move to different locations within the interior cavity (see Figures 2-8).
As to Claim 14, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) are detachably affixed to one or more inner surfaces via one or more rails or one or more brackets (i.e. the means on sides of the modules/drawer 110/120 for insertion/extraction - see Figures 2-4).
As to Claims 15-16 and 21, Brandt (‘784) discloses a device (10) comprising:
one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) that are disposed within an interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) and that emit light, wherein at least one lamp of the one or more lamps (12) is configured to be at least one of moved to a different location or shifted such that the light is capable of being emitted towards different surfaces of an object to be sanitized (11) (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 2, Col. 7 lines 1-4 and 8-17), wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of the object is dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18) (e.x. via 30 and 60 - see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 4, Col. 6 lines 18-33, Col. 6 line 42 to Col. 7 line 17); and
a conveyor belt (13 – see Col. 4 lines 57-61) that extends through the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) and that moves in a direction from a first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) of the device to a second side (i.e. outlet/exit) of the device, upon the object (11) being placed on the conveyor belt 913), the conveyor belt (13) being configured to (see Figures 1-6):
transfer the object (11) from the first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) into the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) such that the object (11) is exposed to the light for a period of time; and
transfer the object (11) from the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) to the second side (i.e. outlet/exit).
Brandt (‘784) does not appear to specifically teach a housing that encapsulates an interior cavity, or that at least one of the one or more lamps is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle.
As to the limitations that the device comprises a housing encapsulates an interior cavity and a first UV curtain, a second UV curtain, and one or more wheels, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing which encapsulates an interior cavity containing one or more lamps. Ozdemir (‘175) discloses a device (100) for sanitizing an object, comprising:
a housing (101, 108) that encapsulates an interior cavity (i.e. within 101);
one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) that are disposed within the interior cavity (i.e. within 101) and that emit light, wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of the object is capable of being dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp (110; 120; 130L, 130R);
a conveyor (141) that extends through the interior cavity and that moves in a direction from a first side (101A) to a second side (101B) (see Figures 1-3 and 9), the object to be sanitized being placed on the conveyor (141), the conveyor (141) being configured to:
transfer the object from the first side (101A) into the interior cavity (i.e. within 101) such that the object is exposed to the light for a period of time; and
transfer the object from the interior cavity (i.e. within 101) to the second side (101B);
in order to prohibit the emitted light from exiting the device so as to prevent harming users or bystanders (see entire document particularly p. 3 [0026] – lines 2-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing that encapsulates the interior cavity in the device of Brandt in order to prevent any harm from the light emitted from the one or more light sources to humans or animals that may be near the device as shown by Ozdemir.
As to that at least one of the one or more lamps is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one lamp of one or more lamps that is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle in a device for sanitization. Wang (‘623) discloses a device (see Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (1) that encapsulates an interior cavity (i.e. within 1 where 4-10 as seen in Figure 2 are located) (see Figure 1);
one or more lamps (8) that are disposed within the interior cavity (see Figure 1) and that emit light (i.e. UV light), wherein at least one lamp (8) of the one or more lamps (8) is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle (via 4, 5, 6) such that the light is emitted towards different surfaces of an object to be sanitized (i.e. elevator car) (see entire English translation, Figure 1, Abstract – last 5 lines, p. 3 – lines 21-32), wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of the object is capable of being dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp (8),
in order to effectively irradiate all areas of the object to be sanitized (see entire English translation, Abstract – 3rd – 5th lines from the bottom, p. 3 – lines 27-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one lamp of the one or more lamps configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle in the device of Brandt as modified by Ozdemir in order to effectively cover all areas of the object and avoiding any dead angle as shown by Wang.
Aa to Claim 17, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the device (100) further comprising:
a first ultraviolet (UV) curtain (107) that is disposed on the first side (101A) of the housing (101); and
a second UV curtain (107) that is disposed on the second side (101B) of the housing (101) that is opposite of the first side (101A).
As to Claim 18, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the device (100) further comprising one or more wheels that facilitate movement of the device (100) between different locations (see entire document, particularly Figure 1-5 and 9, p. 4 [0031] – lines 3-4).
As to Claim 19, Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the first UV curtain (107) and the second UV curtain (107) prevent at least a portion of the light from escaping the interior cavity (i.e. within 101) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1 and 4, p. 4 [0027]).
Thus, Claims 1-5, 8-19 and 21 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Brandt (‘784), Ozdemir (‘175), and Wang (‘623).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (6132784) in view of Ozdemir (20240075175) and Wang (CN205698623) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Starkweather (20170340760).
Brandt (‘784), Ozdemir (‘175), and Wang (‘623) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
While Ozdemir (‘175) discloses that the one or more selectable controls (102A, 104, 105) include a first selectable option (102A, 104, 105) to power on and power off the device (100), a second selectable option (102A, 104, 105) to turn on and turn off the one or more lamps (110; 120; 130L, 130R) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0026]) and Brandt (‘784) discloses that the conveyor belt rate is adjustable (see entire document, particularly Col. 6 line 39), neither Brandt (‘784) or Ozdemir (‘175) nor Wang (‘623) appears to specifically teach that the one or more selectable controls include a third selectable option to adjust a rate or direction of the conveyor belt and a fourth selectable option to adjust a frequency or wavelength of the light emitted by the one or more lamps.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more selectable controls that include a third selectable option to adjust a rate or direction of the conveyor belt and a fourth selectable option to adjust a frequency or wavelength of the light emitted by the one or more lamps in a device for sanitizing an object. Starkweather (‘760) discloses a device (100; 200) for sanitizing an object, comprising:
a housing (110, 112, 114, 116) that encapsulates an interior cavity (115);
one or more lamps (122a, 122b, 122c, 122d) that are disposed within the interior cavity and that emit light;
a first ultraviolet (UV) curtain (117) that is disposed on a first side of the housing (110, 112, 114, 116, 118) (see Figures 1A-1B);
a second UV curtain (118) that is disposed on a second side of the housing (101) that is opposite of the first side (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0033]);
a conveyor (142, 143, 144) that extends through the interior cavity in a direction from the first side (i.e. side where 117 is located) to the second side (i.e. side where 118 is located) (see Figures 1A-1C);
one or more wheels (132a-c; 232a-232d) that facilitate movement of the device (100; 200) between different locations (see entire document particularly Figures 1E-1G and 2A-2C); and
a control panel (150; 250) that is disposed on an exterior surface of the housing (see Figures 1A-1C and 2A) and that includes one or more selectable controls (1-7) to control one or more operations of the device (100; 200) (see Figure 7);
wherein the one or more selectable controls (1-7) include: a second selectable option (i.e. “on” or “activation” button and “off” or “logout” button) to turn on and turn off the one or more lamps (see entire document, particularly p. 9 [0058]), a third selectable option (i.e. one of various parameters within Settings button) capable of adjusting a rate or direction of a conveyor belt (see entire document, particularly Figure 7, p. 9 [0059] – 7th – 8th lines from the bottom); and a fourth selectable option (i.e. one of various parameters within Settings button) capable of adjusting a frequency or wavelength of the light emitted by the one or more lamps (122a, 122b, 122c, 122d) (see entire document, particularly Figure 7, p. 9 [0059] – 7th – 8th lines from the bottom),
in order to allow setting or adjusting parameters such as those related to a disinfection procedure (see entire document, particularly p. 9 [0059] – 7th – 8th lines from the bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more selectable controls that include a third selectable option to adjust a rate or direction of the conveyor belt and a fourth selectable option to adjust a frequency or wavelength of the light emitted by the one or more lamps in the device of Brandt as modified by Ozdemir and Wang in order to allow a user to set or change various parameters of the device as shown by Starkweather.
Thus, Claim 6 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Brandt (‘784), Ozdemir (‘175), Wang (‘623), and Starkweather (‘760).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (6132784) in view of Ozdemir (20240075175) and Wang (CN205698623) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor (7791044).
Brandt (‘784), Ozdemir (‘175), and Wang (‘623) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
While Brandt (‘784) discloses that the one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) are multiple lamps (17, 18) wherein the frequency of the light is capable to be adjustable prior to the light being emitted by the multiple lamps (i.e. via exchange of the lamps or via change in power source and/or power control) and the intensity of the light is configured to be adjustable prior to, and during, the light being emitted by the multiple lamps (17, 18) (e.x. via 30 and 60 - see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 4, Col. 6 lines 18-33, Col. 6 line 42 to Col. 7 line 17), none of Brandt (‘784), Ozdemir (‘175) and Wang (‘623) appear to specifically teach that the sizes of the multiple lamps are varied such that a frequency of the light and an intensity of the light emitted by the multiple lamps are adjustable.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide various sizes of lamps in a device for sanitizing an object. Taylor (‘044) discloses a device (100) for sanitizing an object (110) (see Figures 1A-1C), comprising:
a housing (102) that encapsulates an interior cavity (i.e. within 106);
multiple lamps (112, 114) that are disposed within the interior cavity (i.e. within 106) and that emit light, wherein sizes of the multiple lamps (112 vs 114) are varied (see entire document, particularly Figures 1B, 5, and 8B-8C, Col. 5 lines 22-32 particularly lines 28-32), such that a frequency of the light and an intensity of the light emitted by the multiple lamps are (intrinsically, due to sizes being varied) adjustable, wherein the frequency of the light and the intensity of the light are configured/capable to be adjustable prior to (i.e. via exchange of the lamps or via change in power source and/or power control), and during (intrinsically, due to sizes being varied), the light being emitted by the multiple lamps (112, 114);
a conveyor that extends through the interior cavity in a direction from a first side (108) to a second side (i.e. side where 118 is located) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A-1C, Col. 3 lines 52-57); and
a control panel (120, 122, 124) that is disposed on an exterior surface of the housing (102) (see Figures 1A-1B) and that includes one or more selectable controls (120, 122) to control one or more operations of the device (100) (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 57-67);
wherein the one or more selectable controls (120, 122) include: a second selectable option (i.e. “on” and “off”) to turn on and turn off the one or more lamps (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 57-58),
in order to provide adequate amounts of UV radiation to disinfect the object (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 22-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide various sizes of the multiple lamps in the device of Brandt as modified by Ozdemir and Wang as a known alternate configuration in order to provide adequate amount/intensity necessary for disinfection of an object as shown by Taylor.
Thus, Claim 7 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Brandt (‘784), Ozdemir (‘175), Wang (‘623), and Taylor (‘044).
Claims 15-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (6132784) in view of Zhang (CN207683920) and Wang (CN205698623).
Brandt (‘784) discloses a device (10) comprising:
one or more lamps (12 – 17, 18) that are disposed within an interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) and that emit light, wherein at least one lamp of the one or more lamps (12) is configured to be at least one of moved to a different location, shifted, rotated, or moved to a different angle such that the light is emitted towards different surfaces of an object to be sanitized (11) (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 2, Col. 7 lines 1-4 and 8-17), wherein at least one of a duration or an amount of the light emitted towards different surfaces of the object is dependent upon a variance of the at least one lamp (12 – 17, 18) (e.x. via 30 and 60 - see entire document, particularly Col. 4 line 66 to Col. 5 line 4, Col. 6 lines 18-33, Col. 6 line 42 to Col. 7 line 17); and
a conveyor belt (13 – see Col. 4 lines 57-61) that extends through the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) and that moves in a direction from a first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) of the device to a second side (i.e. outlet/exit) of the device, upon the object (11) being placed on the conveyor belt 913), the conveyor belt (13) (see Figures 1-6):
transfers the object (11) from the first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) into the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) such that the object (11) is exposed to the light for a period of time; and
transfers the object (11) from the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) to the second side (i.e. outlet/exit).
Brandt (‘784) does not appear to specifically teach a housing that encapsulates an interior cavity, or that at least one of the one or more lamps is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle.
As to the limitations that the device comprises a housing encapsulates an interior cavity, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing which encapsulates an interior cavity containing one or more lamps. Zhang (‘920) discloses a device (see Figures 1-4) comprising:
a housing (21) that encapsulates an interior cavity (2) (see Figure 2);
one or more lamps (22) that are disposed within the interior cavity (2) (see Figure 2) and that emit light (see entire document of English translation, 2nd paragraph of “Specific Implementation methods on p. 4); and
a conveyor belt (11, 12) that extends through the interior cavity (2) that moves in a direction from a first side (i.e. where 3 is located) of the housing (21) to a second side (i.e. where 4/45 is connected to 2/21) of the housing (21), upon the object being placed on the conveyor belt (11, 12), the conveyor belt (11, 12):
transfers the object from the first side (i.e. inlet/entrance) into the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) such that the object (11) is exposed to the light for a period of time; and
transfers the object (11) from the interior cavity (i.e. within the frame of 10) to the second side
in order to ensure that sterilizing agent(s) do not leak to outside as well as to prevent impurities from entering into the device (see entire document of English translation, last 5 lines of 2nd paragraph under “Specific Implementation methods section on p. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing that encapsulates the interior cavity in the device of Brandt in order to prevent escape of sterilizing agent to the outside as well as to prevent contaminants from entering the irradiation/sterilization/treatment area of the interior cavity as shown by Zhang.
As to that at least one of the one or more lamps is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one lamp of one or more lamps that is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle in a device for sanitization. Wang (‘623) discloses a device (see Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (1) that encapsulates an interior cavity (i.e. within 1 where 4-10 as seen in Figure 2 are located) (see Figure 1);
one or more lamps (8) that are disposed within the interior cavity (see Figure 1) and that emit light (i.e. UV light), wherein at least one lamp (8) of the one or more lamps (8) is configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle (via 4, 5, 6) such that the light is emitted towards different surfaces of an object to be sanitized (i.e. elevator car) (see entire English translation, Figure 1, Abstract – last 5 lines, p. 3 – lines 21-32),
in order to effectively irradiate all areas of the object to be sanitized (see entire English translation, Abstract – 3rd – 5th lines from the bottom, p. 3 – lines 27-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one lamp of the one or more lamps configured to be at least one of rotated or moved to a different angle in the device of Brandt as modified by Zhang in order to effectively cover all areas of the object and avoiding any dead angle as shown by Wang.
Thus, Claims 15-16 and 21 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Brandt (‘784), Zhang (‘920), and Wang (‘623).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, as to applicant’s argument with respect to the prior art of record (i.e. Brandt, Ozdemir/Zhang and Wang) in Remarks, examiner disagrees and points out that the newly added limitation is disclosed by Brandt as discussed in rejections above but also appears to merely set forth an intrinsic property of at least one lamp. Examiner indicates that limitations of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In addition, examiner points out that applicant's arguments do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758