DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 4th June 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2 ,4-8, 10-15 and 17-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by amendment, is made as seen below.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The first instance of amended “end portions” to “opposed ends” in Claim 13 only reads “opposed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 5653145 A) in view of Pattok (US 7677126 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a retainer comprising: a snap ring part (15) substantially discontinuous-ring shaped with opposed ends defining a break to be fitted over an outer surface of a ball nut (2); and an outer race part of a ball return (4), an inner race part of the ball return (4), end portions of the outer race part of the ball return (4) to be connected to openings (9) of the ball nut (2) for recirculating balls wherein the opposed ends of the snap ring part (15) are configured to be expandable such that the snap ring part (15) is snapped onto the outer surface of the ball nut (2) through the break defined by the opposed ends of the snap ring part (15), wherein the snap ring part (15) encircles around more than a half of the outer surface of the ball nut (2) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer race part of the ball return is formed on an inner surface of the snap ring part.
Pattok teaches an outer race part (54) of a ball return (34) formed on an inner surface of the ball return with integrated wing fasteners (see 3:48-53), to be coupled with an inner race part (86) of the ball return (34), end portions (36, 38) of the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) to be connected to openings (28, 30) of the ball nut (18) for recirculating balls (see Fig. 3, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of the integral fastener and ball return of Pattok with the retainer of Kobayashi in order to further reduce manufacturing complexity of the ball return while maintaining the benefits of the snap ring retainer. In combination Kobayashi modified by Pattok teach the limitations of Claim 1, including “an outer race part of a ball return formed on the inner surface of the snap ring part to be coupled with an inner race part of the ball return”.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein the snap ring part (15) is extended further than at least one of the end portions of the outer race part of the ball return (4) around the outer surface of the ball nut (2) such that the snap ring part (15) retains the outer race part of the ball return (4) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 5), formed on the inner surface (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; 3:48-53 ) of the snap ring (15) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3), on the outer surface of the ball nut (18) to be coupled with the inner race part (86) of the ball return (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8)
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein the end portions (36, 38) of the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 1) protrude from the inner surface of the snap ring part (15) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 3) toward the openings (28, 30) of the ball nut (18) such that the end portions (36, 38) of the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) are inserted to the openings (28, 30) of the ball nut (18) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 8, Fig. 12, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 1) formed on the inner surface of the snap ring part (15) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 3) comprises at least one of a groove, recess or rail for guiding circulation of the balls. (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 1, Fig. 20).
Regarding Claim 6, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches further comprising the inner race part (86) of the ball return (34) coupled with the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 1, Fig. 8, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8) formed on the inner surface of the snap ring part (15) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein the inner race part (86) of the ball return (34) is formed on the outer surface of the ball nut (18) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 1, Fig. 8, Fig. 12, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
Regarding Claim 8, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein the inner race part (86) of the ball return (34) formed on the outer surface of the ball nut (18) has a groove or recess for guiding circulation of the balls (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 10, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein the snap ring part (15) is made of elastically deflectable material (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 3, 5: 26-42).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein a distance between the opposed ends of the snap ring part (15) is shorter than a diameter of the ball nut (2) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches wherein an inner diameter of the snap ring part is equal to or greater than a diameter of the ball nut (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 5653145 A) as modified by Pattok (US 7677126 B2) in Claim 1, above, further in view of Losch (DE 102013226712 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Kobayashi modified by Pattok teaches the retainer according to Claim 3.
Kobayashi modified by Pattok does not teach wherein a surface of one of the end portions of the snap ring part is slanted with respect to an inner circumferential surface of the snap ring part such that an angle between the surface of one of the end portions of the snap ring part and the inner circumferential surface of the snap ring part is greater than 90 degrees.
Losch teaches wherein a surface of one of opposed of the snap ring part (44, 45) is slanted with respect to an inner circumferential surface of the snap ring part (20) such that an angle between the surface of one of the opposed ends (44, 45) of the snap ring part (20) and the inner circumferential surface of the snap ring part (44, 45) is greater than 90 degrees (see DE 102013226712 A1 [Losch]; Fig. 15, Fig. 17)
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to combine the teachings of Losch with the retainer of Kobayashi modified by Pattok in order to improve clamping in a cheap and simple manner (see DE 102013226712 A1 [Losch]; [0009-0011]).
Claims 14-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterlanger (US 20100236877 A1) view of Kobayashi (US 5653145 A) and further in view of Pattok (US 7677126 B2).
Regarding Claim 14, Osterlanger discloses a brake assembly comprising: a ball nut (10) configured to be rotatable by an actuator, a ball screw (7) operably coupled with the ball nut (10), the ball screw (7) configured to be axially translatable relative to the ball nut (10) to move a brake pad (5) according to rotation of the ball nut (10) (see Fig. 1, [0017-0018]);
Osterlanger does not disclose a retainer comprising a snap ring part.
Kobayashi teaches a retainer comprising a snap ring part substantially discontinuous-ring shaped (15) with opposed ends defining a break to be fitted over an outer surface of the ball nut (2) and an outer race part of a ball return (4), an inner race part of the ball return (4), end portions of the outer race part of the ball return (4) to be connected to openings (9) of the ball nut (2) for recirculating balls wherein the opposed ends of the snap ring part (15) are configured to be expandable such that the snap ring part (15) is snapped onto the outer surface of the ball nut (2) through the break defined by the opposed ends of the snap ring part (15), wherein the snap ring part (15) encircles around more than a half of the outer surface of the ball nut (2) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings a ball return and retainer of Kobayashi with the brake assembly of Osterlanger in order to improve the circulation of balls in the brake system while eliminating troublesome adjusting work and simplifying manufacturing and assembly (see US 5653145 A [Kobayashi]; 4:11-36).
Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi does not explicitly teach wherein the outer race part of the ball return is formed on an inner surface of the snap ring part.
Pattok teaches an outer race part (48) of a ball return (34) formed on an inner surface of the ball return with integrated wing fastners, to be coupled with an inner race part (86) of the ball return (34), end portions (36, 38) of the outer race part (48) of the ball return (34) to be connected to openings (28, 30) of the ball nut (18) for recirculating balls (see Fig. 3, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of the integral fastener and ball return of Pattok with the brake assembly and retainer of Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi in order to further reduce manufacturing complexity of the ball return while maintaining the benefits of the snap ring retainer. In combination Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok teach the limitations of Claim 14, including “an outer race part of a ball return formed on the inner surface of the snap ring part to be coupled with an inner race part of the ball return”.
Regarding Claim 15, Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok teaches wherein the snap ring part (15) is extended further than at least one of the end portions of the outer race part of the ball return (4) around the outer surface of the ball nut (2) such that the snap ring part (15) retains the outer race part of the ball return (4) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 5), formed on the inner surface (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; 3:48-53 ) of the snap ring (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3), on the outer surface of the ball nut (18) to be coupled with the inner race part (86) of the ball return (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
Regarding Claim 17, Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok teaches wherein the end portions (36, 38) of the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 1) protrude from the inner surface of the snap ring part (15) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 3) toward the openings (28, 30) of the ball nut (18) such that the end portions (36, 38) of the outer race part (54) of the ball return (34) are inserted to the openings (28, 30) of the ball nut (18) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 8, Fig. 12, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
Regarding Claim 18, Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok teaches wherein a distance between the opposed ends of the snap ring part (15) is shorter than a diameter of the ball nut (2) (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok teaches wherein an inner diameter of the snap ring part is equal to or greater than a diameter of the ball nut (see US 5653145 A [Pattok]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterlanger (US 20100236877 A1) as modified by Kobayashi (US 5653145 A) and Pattok (US 7677126 B2) in Claim 14, above, further in view of Kim (KR 102411618 B1).
Regarding Claim 20, Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok teaches the brake assembly of Claim 14 and wherein the inner race part (86) of the ball return (34) is formed on the outer surface of the ball nut (18) (see US 7677126 B2 [Kobayashi]; Fig. 8, Fig. 20, 3:60-67, 4:1-8).
Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok does not explicitly teach wherein an inner race of a bearing rotatably supporting the ball nut are integrally formed on the outer surface of the ball nut.
Kim teaches a ball nut in a brake assembly wherein an inner race of a bearing (60) rotatably supporting the ball nut (50) are integrally formed on the outer surface of the ball nut (50) (see Fig. 9, [0018]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Kim with the brake assembly of Osterlanger modified by Kobayashi and Pattok in order to reduce the friction between the bearing and the housing, allowing for improved system compactness (see KR 102411618 B1 [Kim]; [0018]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616