DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 24 of the claim has a typographical error in “wire or wirelessly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a processor module in claim 8.
Upon review of the disclosure, the Examiner has identified “one or more state machines and/or one or more processors to perform data analyses, trending and/or evaluations. The processor module may additional circuitry including circuitry to transmit the sensor data (e.g., raw data) and/or data of the analyses, trending and/or evaluations to other circuitry including data storage” as meeting the required disclosure for “processor module” interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brownhill et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0290496) hereinafter referred to as Brownhill.
Regarding claim 1, Brownhill teaches a wound cover (Abstract) to, in operation, be disposed on or over a wound of a user (Fig. 2C, ¶[0038]) and temporarily affixed to a wound site, having the wound therein, of the user, the wound cover comprising:
a wound cover stack (Fig. 2C) having a plurality of layers formed in an integrated, unitary structure (Fig. 1A) including:
mesh pad layer (Fig. 2C, mesh layer element 105), having (i) an exposed, bottom surface that is configured to be placed over and/or in contact with at least a portion of the wound site that includes the wound (Fig. 2C, mesh layer 105, ¶[0078]) and (ii) a top surface that opposes the bottom surface of the mesh pad layer (Fig. 2C, mesh layer 105 has a bottom and top in orientation depicted, ¶[0078]);
a sensor layer (Figs. 3A-H), having a bottom surface and a top surface, wherein the bottom surface is disposed on the top surface of the mesh pad layer (¶¶[0085-0086] sensor integrated wound contact layer can either be directly in contact with the wound or in the next layer, therefore disposed on the top of the mesh pad layer), the sensor layer having a plurality of physiological sensors, configured to measure or detect physiological characteristics of the user and, in response, generate physiological data which are representative thereof (¶[0100]), including:
a thermocouple to detect a temperature of the wound site (¶[0101]), and
a communication layer (¶[0096]), disposed over the mesh pad layer (¶¶[0085-0086] sensor integrated wound contact layer can either be directly in contact with the wound or in the next layer, therefore disposed on the top of the mesh pad layer) and configured to wired and/or wirelessly output the physiological data measured or detected by the physiological sensors of the sensor layer to circuitry external to the wound cover (¶[0123]); and
an outer/adhesive layer (Fig. 2B, backing layer), having a bottom surface, a top surface and an adhesive edge which extends laterally beyond other layers the wound cover stack (Fig. 2B, extending beyond at least the absorbent and transmission layers), to, in operation, temporarily affix the wound cover to the wound site of the user (¶[0142]), wherein the bottom surface of the outer/adhesive layer is disposed over the mesh pad layer and the sensor layer of the wound cover stack (Fig. 2B, over element 222).
Regarding claim 2, Brownhill teaches the wound cover of claim 1.
Brownhill further teaches wherein: the plurality of physiological sensors of the sensor layer further includes: a chemical sensor to detect a pH of the wound site (¶[0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Brownhill teaches the wound cover of claim 1.
Brownhill further teaches wherein: the plurality of physiological sensors of the sensor layer further includes: a sensor to detect a blood flow in the wound site (¶[0113] pulsatile blood flow).
Regarding claim 4, Brownhill teaches the wound cover of claim 1.
Brownhill further teaches wherein: the plurality of physiological sensors of the sensor layer further includes: a bioimpedance sensor (¶[0111] conductivity or impedance sensor) to detect (i) a state of fluid in tissue of the wound site (¶[0111] exudate) and/or (ii) glucose metabolism of drainage of the wound (¶[0124] glucose levels, hydration).
Regarding claim 5, Brownhill teaches the wound cover of claim 1.
Brownhill further teaches wherein: the plurality of physiological sensors of the sensor layer further includes: a temperature sensitive strip (Fig. 3A, thermistor embedded in strip, see also Figs. 3B-H, ¶[0087]), operatively coupled to the wound site, to responsively output a temperature and/or changes in temperature of the wound site (¶[0101]).
Regarding claim 7, Brownhill teaches the wound cover of claim 1.
Brownhill further teaches wherein: the communication layer includes a connector or cabling (¶[0096]) configured to connect to the circuitry that is external to the wound cover (¶[0123]) and output the physiological data measured or detected by the physiological sensors of the sensor layer to the circuitry external to the wound cover (¶[0123]).
Regarding claim 8, Brownhill teaches a system to monitor the physiological conditions of a wound site, having the wound therein, of an animal (Abstract), the system including:
a wound cover (Abstract) to, in operation, be disposed on or over a wound of a user (Fig. 2C, ¶[0038]) and temporarily affixed to a wound site, having the wound therein, of the user, the wound cover comprising:
a wound cover stack (Fig. 2C) having a plurality of layers formed in an integrated, unitary structure (Fig. 1A) including:
mesh pad layer (Fig. 2C, mesh layer element 105), having (i) an exposed, bottom surface that is configured to be placed over and/or in contact with at least a portion of the wound site that includes the wound (Fig. 2C, mesh layer 105, ¶[0078]) and (ii) a top surface that opposes the bottom surface of the mesh pad layer (Fig. 2C, mesh layer 105 has a bottom and top in orientation depicted, ¶[0078]);
a sensor layer (Figs. 3A-H), having a bottom surface and a top surface, wherein the bottom surface is disposed on the top surface of the mesh pad layer (¶¶[0085-0086] sensor integrated wound contact layer can either be directly in contact with the wound or in the next layer, therefore disposed on the top of the mesh pad layer), the sensor layer having a plurality of physiological sensors, configured to continuously measure or detect physiological characteristics of the animal and, in response, generate physiological data which are representative thereof (¶[0100]); and
an outer/adhesive layer (Fig. 2B, backing layer), having a bottom surface, a top surface and an adhesive edge which extends laterally beyond other layers the wound cover stack (Fig. 2B, extending beyond at least the absorbent and transmission layers), to, in operation, temporarily affix the wound cover to the wound site of the user (¶[0142]), wherein the bottom surface of the outer/adhesive layer is disposed over the mesh pad layer and the sensor layer of the wound cover stack (Fig. 2B, over element 222); and
a processor module, configured to wire or wirelessly coupled to the wound cover (¶[0123] controller or control module), to receive, from the physiological sensors, the physiological data which are representative of the physiological characteristics of the animal and output a status of the wound (¶[0123]).
Regarding claims 9-12 and 14, the claims are directed to a system comprising substantially the same subject matter as claims 2-5 and 7 and are rejected under substantially the same sections of Brownhill.
Regarding claim 15, Brownhill teaches the system of claim 8.
Brownhill further teaches wherein: wound cover stack of the wound cover further includes a communication layer to wirelessly connect to the processor module and output the physiological data measured or detected by the physiological sensors of the sensor layer to the processor module (¶[0123] wireless).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0290496) hereinafter referred to as Brownhill; in view of Hunt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0031231) hereinafter referred to as Hunt.
Regarding claim 16, Brownhill teaches a system to monitor the physiological conditions of a wound site, having the wound therein, of an animal (Abstract), the system including:
a wound cover (Abstract) to, in operation, be disposed on or over a wound of a user (Fig. 2C, ¶[0038]) and temporarily affixed to a wound site, having the wound therein, of the user, the wound cover comprising:
a wound cover stack (Fig. 2C) having a plurality of layers formed in an integrated, unitary structure (Fig. 1A) including:
mesh pad layer (Fig. 2C, mesh layer element 105), having (i) an exposed, bottom surface that is configured to be placed over and/or in contact with at least a portion of the wound site that includes the wound (Fig. 2C, mesh layer 105, ¶[0078]) and (ii) a top surface that opposes the bottom surface of the mesh pad layer (Fig. 2C, mesh layer 105 has a bottom and top in orientation depicted, ¶[0078]);
a sensor layer (Figs. 3A-H), having a bottom surface and a top surface, wherein the bottom surface is disposed on the top surface of the mesh pad layer (¶¶[0085-0086] sensor integrated wound contact layer can either be directly in contact with the wound or in the next layer, therefore disposed on the top of the mesh pad layer), the sensor layer having a plurality of physiological sensors, configured to continuously measure or detect physiological characteristics of the animal and, in response, generate physiological data which are representative thereof (¶[0100]); and
an outer/adhesive layer (Fig. 2B, backing layer), having a bottom surface, a top surface and an adhesive edge which extends laterally beyond other layers the wound cover stack (Fig. 2B, extending beyond at least the absorbent and transmission layers), to, in operation, temporarily affix the wound cover to the wound site of the user (¶[0142]), wherein the bottom surface of the outer/adhesive layer is disposed over the mesh pad layer and the sensor layer of the wound cover stack (Fig. 2B, over element 222).
Brownhill does not teach a wound cover reader, configured to wirelessly couple to the wound cover, via NFC techniques/circuitry, when in operable proximity thereto, to receive, from the physiological sensors, the physiological data which are representative of the physiological characteristics of the animal.
Attention is drawn to the Hunt reference, which teaches a wound cover (dressing, element 22, ¶[0174]) reader, configured to wirelessly couple to the wound cover, via NFC techniques/circuitry (¶[0174] communication performed over wireless interface via NFC, RFID or the like), when in operable proximity thereto (¶[0174] placed in proximity), to receive, from the physiological sensors, the physiological data which are representative of the physiological characteristics of the animal. (¶[0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wound cover system of Brownhill to include NFC, as taught by Hunt, because improving information gathering via wireless communication, as taught by Hunt, provides a benefit to “nearly all areas of medicine” (Hunt, ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 17 and 19-20, the claims are directed to a system comprising substantially the same subject matter as claims 2 and 4 and are rejected under the same sections of Brownhill, as in the rejection above.
Regarding claim 18, Brownhill as modified teaches the system of claim 16.
Hunt further teaches wherein: at least one physiological sensor of the plurality of physiological sensors of the sensor layer of the wound cover is energized, via NFC techniques/circuitry, when the wound cover reader is in operable proximity to the wound cover (¶[0174] data is requested by reader when in proximity to sensor, energizing sensor for transfer of data).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Hyde et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0136265) hereinafter referred to as Hyde.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Brownhill teaches the wound cover of claim 1/8.
Brownhill does not specifically teach an electrical power layer to power one or more of the physiological sensors of the plurality of physiological sensors of the sensor layer.
Attention is brought to the Hyde reference, which teaches an electrical power layer (¶[0080]) to power one or more physiological sensors of a plurality of physiological sensors of a sensor layer (¶[0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the layers of Brownhill to include a power layer, as taught by Hyde, for a functionality improvement such as wireless charging (Hyde ¶[0080]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0082242 to Duesterhoft et al. teaches a wound dressing including NFC communication and sensors, in a layered unitary design.
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792