DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first type,” “the second type” and “the other one of N-type and P-type” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit” in all claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting (5,334,882) in view of Kasai et al. (2021/0187941) and official notice.
Regarding claim 1, Ting teaches an electronic device comprising:
a sampling and holding circuit (fig. 1, see illustration below for all limitations), comprising:
a sampling unit configured to receive a data signal, wherein the sampling unit comprises a first control terminal, a first terminal, and a second terminal coupled to the input terminal, the sampling unit comprises a first-type transistor (see illustration, note N-type mosfet);
a register unit having an input terminal and an output terminal, the input terminal being coupled to the sampling unit, and the output terminal being configured to output a first signal; and
a feedback unit coupled to the input terminal and the output terminal of the register unit, wherein the feedback unit comprises a second control terminal, a third terminal, and a fourth terminal, the second control terminal is coupled to the first control terminal, the third terminal is coupled to the input terminal and the fourth terminal is coupled to the output terminal, and the feedback unit comprises a second-type transistor (see illustration, note P-type mosfet);
wherein when the feedback unit is turned on, the feedback unit feeds back the first signal to the input terminal, and wherein the first type is either an N-type or P-type and the second type is the other one of N-type and P-type (see illustration).
(Note that the term “register unit” can mean almost anything as any number of basic circuits contain registers. Further, even if a circuit did not contain a register, any given circuit could be called a register unit as the claim does not specify that the register unit contains a register. The same logic applies to the claimed “sampling unit” and the claimed “feedback unit”).
Ting does not teach a heater coupled to the sampling and holding circuit. Kasai teaches wherein the output of a buffer amplifier of a circuit similar to that disclosed by Ting is used to operate heaters of a thermal liquid ejection head (Kasai, [0062], see fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the circuit disclosed by Ting with the heaters disclosed by Kasai because doing so would amount to the simple combination of one known drive circuit with a known load to obtain predictable results.
Ting in view of Kasai does not teach wherein the transistors are thin-film transistors. Examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use thin-film transistors for the transistors disclosed by Ting in view of Kasai because think-film transistors were commonly used in the art at the time of invention.
Regarding claim 7, Ting in view of Kasai teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the register unit is a buffer amplifier (Ting, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Ting in view of Kasai teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the heater is a thermal inkjet (Kasai, see fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853