DETAILED ACTION
This Office action for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/513,630 is responsive to communications filed 21 October 2025 and 22 October 2025, in reply to the Non-Final Rejection of 24 June 2025.
Claims 1–14 are pending.
In the previous Office action, claims 1–14 were rejected provisionally for obviousness-type double patenting against co-pending application 18/513,643. Claims 1, 2, 8, and 9 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0099484 A1 (“Mashitani”). Claims 3–7 and 10–14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Mashitani.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 21 October 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on application 18/513,643 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to representative claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the present invention differs from Mashitani first in that the present invention recites two different, directly acquired eye images, while Mashitani teaches a single video input signal split into four subframes, and second, that the Mashitani piezoelectric drive is incompatible with the claimed process of projecting the four projection images onto different positions. 22 October 2025 “REMARKS” (“Rem.”) 10–12. The examiner disagrees that under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation standard, the claims as amended present this difference. “One of the most important philosophical distinctions is the distinction between a distinction and a separation”. R.C. Sproul, The Consequences of Ideas 67–68 (2000). See exhibits A and B as a demonstration. Claim 1 recites obtaining a first eye image and a second eye image. It does not require two separate streams of first and second eye images, only two distinct images. It does not mention direct acquisition of two separate eye images as alleged. It does not preclude these two distinct eye images from being subframes within the same stream or even the same larger frame. Considering this, the claim as amended does not overcome the finding of anticipation. Likewise, Applicant has failed to explain [AltContent: textbox (Exhibit A: Distinguishing Marie Antoinette’s head and body)][AltContent: textbox (Body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Head)]
why the Mashitani piezoelectric subframe shifting to project the four Figure 13 subframes in the four distinct corners is not and cannot be a means to accomplish the claimed sequential projection of the four projection images at different positions. The claim does not require, for example, that the four positions are separate and non-overlapping.
Exhibit B: Separating Marie Antoinette’s head and body
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0099484 A1 (“Mashitani”).
Mashitani, directed to a video display projector, teaches with respect to claim 1 a 3D projection method, adapted to a 3D projection device (¶ 0002, “projection video display that has a three-dimensional (3D) video display function”), comprising steps of:
obtaining a first eye image and a second eye image by an image processing device of the 3D projection device (¶ 0116, receiving combined left-eye and right-eye video signals at video generator 20),
wherein the first eye image comprises a plurality of first pixel groups (e.g., abstract, subframes in a left-eye image),
the second eye image comprises a plurality of second pixel groups (id., subframes in a right-eye image), and
each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, a third pixel, and a fourth pixel (Figs. 6–7, four subframes);
generating a first projection image by the 3D projection device based on the first pixels of the plurality of first pixel groups of the first eye image by the image processing device (Fig. 13, ¶ 0085; displaying subframe L1 as a left-eye image; ¶ 0116, video generator 20 generates the subframes from the input video signal);
generating a second projection image by the 3D projection device based on the second pixels of the plurality of second pixel groups of the second eye by the second image processing device (id., displaying subframe R1 as a right-eye image);
generating a third projection image by the 3D projection device based on the third pixels of the plurality of first pixel groups of the first eye image by the image processing device (id., displaying subframe L2 as a left-eye image);
generating a fourth projection image by the 3D projection device based on the fourth pixels of the plurality of second pixel groups of the second eye image by the image processing device (id., displaying subframe R1 as a right-eye image); and
sequentially projecting the first projection image, the second projection image, the third projection image, and the fourth projection image onto different positions of a projection surface by the 3D projection device (Fig. 13, sequentially projecting subframes L1, R1, L2, and R2 onto different corners),
wherein the first projection image and the third projection image correspond to the first eye image (id., left-eye images L1 and L2),
the second projection image and the fourth projection image correspond to the second eye image (id., right-eye images R1 and R2),
the first image is one of a left eye image and a right eye image (id., left-eye images), and
the second eye image is another one of the left eye image and the right eye image (id., right-eye images).
Regarding claim 2, Mashitani teaches the 3D projection method according to claim 1, wherein the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel in each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups are arranged into a 2x2 pixel array (¶ 0061, “video signal generator 74 handles four (2x2) pixels as a single block”),
the first pixel and the third pixel in each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups are arranged along a first diagonal direction (Figs. 6, 11–14; upper left and lower right pixels in each 2x2 block form the left-eye sub-frames),
and the second pixel and the fourth pixel in each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups are arranged along a second diagonal direction perpendicular to the first diagonal direction (id., upper right and lower left pixels in each 2x2 block form the right-eye subframes).
Regarding claim 8, Mashitani teaches a 3D projection device comprising:
an image processing device (Figs. 1–2A, projection video display 100), configured to perform:
[the claim 1 method] (claim 1 rejection supra).
Regarding claim 9, Mashitani teaches the 3D projection device according to claim 8, wherein the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel in each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups are arranged into a 2x2 pixel array (¶ 0061, “video signal generator 74 handles four (2x2) pixels as a single block”),
the first pixel and the third pixel in each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups are arranged along a first diagonal direction (Figs. 6, 11–14; upper left and lower right pixels in each 2x2 block form the left-eye sub-frames),
and the second pixel and the fourth pixel in each of the plurality of first pixel groups and each of the plurality of second pixel groups are arranged along a second diagonal direction perpendicular to the first diagonal direction (id., upper right and lower left pixels in each 2x2 block form the right-eye subframes).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 3–7 and 10–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mashitani.
Regarding claim 3, Mashitani teaches the 3D projection method according to claim 1, wherein the step of sequentially projecting the first projection image, the second projection image, the third projection image, and the fourth projection image to the different positions comprises:
shifting the second projection image into a first position along a second direction by controlling an image shifting device of the 3D projection device (Fig. 7, ¶ 0062; shifting second sub-frame right by a half pixel);
shifting the third projection image to a third position along a third direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device (id., shifting third sub-frame down and to the right by a half pixel); and
shifting the fourth projection image to a fourth position along a fourth direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device (id., shifting fourth sub-frame down by a half pixel).
The claimed invention differs from Mashitani in that the claimed invention specifies shifting the first projection image to a first position along a first direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device. In Mashitani, the first subframe is not shifted from its location. However, the claimed invention is equivalent to measuring the original location of the subframes down and right by a quarter pixel, and shifting the first through fourth subframes up and left by a quarter pixel, up and right by a quarter pixel, down and right by a quarter pixel, and down and left by a quarter pixel, and as such does not form a patentable distinction from the claimed invention. See M.P.E.P. § 2183 (equivalence).
Regarding claim 4, Mashitani makes obvious the 3D projection method according to claim 3, wherein the [four] projection image[s] have a same shifted distance (Fig. 7; claimed invention is equivalent to this process as a set of quarter-pixel diagonal shifts if measured from an initial position down and to the right from the Mashitani pixel locations before shifting).
Regarding claim 5, Mashitani makes obvious the 3D projection method according to claim 3, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 7, claimed invention is equivalent to the non-shift of the first subframe and the half-pixel right shift of the second subframe as a quarter pixel shift of the first subframe up and left and a quarter pixel shift of the second subframe up and left, as measured from a quarter pixel down and right of the original pixel locations),
the third direction is opposite to the first direction (id., relative positions of first and shifted third subframes along same upper left to lower right diagonal), and
the fourth direction is opposite to the second direction (id., relative positions of shifted second and shifted fourth subframes along same upper right to lower left diagonal).
Regarding claim 6, Mashitani makes obvious the 3D projection method according to claim 3, further comprising a step of:
shifting the first projection image from a preset position to the first position along the first direction, shifting the second projection image from the preset position to the second position along the second direction, shifting the third projection image from the preset position to the third position along the third direction, and shifting the fourth projection image from the preset position to the fourth position along the fourth direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device (Fig. 7, claimed invention is equivalent to the initial positions a1, b1, c1, and d1 being one quarter pixel down and right).
Regarding claim 7, Mashitani teaches the 3D projection method according to claim 3, further comprising a step of:
in response to the first projection image being shifted to the first position, controlling a pair of 3D glasses to enable a first lens corresponding to the first eye and disable a second lens corresponding to the second eye (¶¶ 0080–81, synchronizing the left-eye and right-eye frames with liquid crystal shutter glasses);
in response to the second projection image being shifted to the second position, controlling the pair of 3D glasses to disable the first lens corresponding to the first eye and enable the second lens corresponding to the second eye (id.);
in response to the third projection image being shifted to the third position, controlling the pair of 3D glasses to enable the first lens corresponding to the first eye and disable the second lens corresponding to the second eye (id.); and
in response to the fourth projection image being shifted to the fourth position, controlling the pair of 3D glasses to disable the first lens corresponding to the first eye and enable the second lens corresponding to the second eye (id.).
Regarding claim 10, Mashitani teaches the 3D projection device according to claim 8, wherein the image shifting device is configured to perform:
shifting the second projection image into a first position along a second direction by controlling an image shifting device of the 3D projection device (Fig. 7, ¶ 0062; shifting second sub-frame right by a half pixel);
shifting the third projection image to a third position along a third direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device (id., shifting third sub-frame down and to the right by a half pixel); and
shifting the fourth projection image to a fourth position along a fourth direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device (id., shifting fourth sub-frame down by a half pixel).
The claimed invention differs from Mashitani in that the claimed invention specifies shifting the first projection image to a first position along a first direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device. In Mashitani, the first subframe is not shifted from its location. However, the claimed invention is equivalent to measuring the original location of the subframes down and right by a quarter pixel, and shifting the first through fourth subframes up and left by a quarter pixel, up and right by a quarter pixel, down and right by a quarter pixel, and down and left by a quarter pixel, and as such does not form a patentable distinction from the claimed invention. See M.P.E.P. § 2183 (equivalence).
Regarding claim 11, Mashitani makes obvious the 3D projection device according to claim 10, wherein the [four] projection image[s] have a same shifted distance (Fig. 7; claimed invention is equivalent to this process as a set of quarter-pixel diagonal shifts if measured from an initial position down and to the right from the Mashitani pixel locations before shifting).
Regarding claim 12, Mashitani makes obvious the 3D projection device according to claim 10, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 7, claimed invention is equivalent to the non-shift of the first subframe and the half-pixel right shift of the second subframe as a quarter pixel shift of the first subframe up and left and a quarter pixel shift of the second subframe up and left, as measured from a quarter pixel down and right of the original pixel locations),
the third direction is opposite to the first direction (id., relative positions of first and shifted third subframes along same upper left to lower right diagonal), and
the fourth direction is opposite to the second direction (id., relative positions of shifted second and shifted fourth subframes along same upper right to lower left diagonal).
Regarding claim 13, Mashitani makes obvious the 3D projection device according to claim 10, wherein the image shifting device is configured to perform:
shifting the first projection image from a preset position to the first position along the first direction, shifting the second projection image from the preset position to the second position along the second direction, shifting the third projection image from the preset position to the third position along the third direction, and shifting the fourth projection image from the preset position to the fourth position along the fourth direction by controlling the image shifting device of the 3D projection device (Fig. 7, claimed invention is equivalent to the initial positions a1, b1, c1, and d1 being one quarter pixel down and right).
Regarding claim 14, Mashitani teaches the 3D projection device according to claim 10, wherein the image processing device is configured to perform:
glasses to enable a first lens corresponding to the first eye and disable a second lens corresponding to the second eye (¶¶ 0080–81, synchronizing the left-eye and right-eye frames with liquid crystal shutter glasses);
in response to the second projection image being shifted to the second position, controlling the pair of 3D glasses to disable the first lens corresponding to the first eye and enable the second lens corresponding to the second eye (id.);
in response to the third projection image being shifted to the third position, controlling the pair of 3D glasses to enable the first lens corresponding to the first eye and disable the second lens corresponding to the second eye (id.); and
in response to the fourth projection image being shifted to the fourth position, controlling the pair of 3D glasses to disable the first lens corresponding to the first eye and enable the second lens corresponding to the second eye (id.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art was found using an Artificial Intelligence assisted search using an internal AI tool that uses the classification of the application under the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system, as well as from the specification, including the claims and abstract, of the application as contextual information. The documents are ranked from most to least relevant. Where possible, English-language equivalents are given, and redundant results within the same patent families are eliminated. See “New Artificial Intelligence Functionality in PE2E Search”, 1504 OG 359 (15 November 2022), “Automated Search Pilot Program”, 90 F.R. 48,161 (8 October 2025).
US 2016/0021366 A1
JP 5060231 B2
KR 101242764 B1
CN 105100778 A
US 2012/0320056 A
JP 2005-148295 A
US 2013/0002652 A1
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/David N Werner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487