Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed on 8/31/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1 – 16 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan ( Pub. No. US 20130181232 A1 ), hereinafter Jeromerajan, in view of Ranglack ( Pub. No. US 20130299841 A1 ), hereinafter Ranglack, in view of Sakura ( Pub. No. US 20080179496 A1 ).
Regarding Independent Claim 1 ( Currently Amended ), Jeromerajan teaches an optical coupler ( Jeromerajan, 10 in FIG. 9; [0012], optocoupler package 10 ), comprising:
a signal input unit ( Jeromerajan, 12, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9; [0023], light emitting diode (LED) 12; first lead frame 16 comprising LED connection site 18 and first pin connection portion 20 ), comprising a first metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9 ) and a light- emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ) disposed on the first metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9 ), wherein the light-emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ) acts as an optical signal emitter ( Jeromerajan, [0024], at least portions of light 42 emitted by LED 12 are reflected as light 44 from the at least portions of such inner surfaces 32 towards photodetector 14 ) and is electrically connected ( Jeromerajan, 50 in FIG. 9; [0026], LED 12 is wirebonded to first lead frame 16 via wirebond 50 ) to the first metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9 );
a signal output unit ( Jeromerajan, 14, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9; [0023], photodetector 14; second lead frame 22 comprising photodetector connection site 24 and second pin connection portion 26 ), comprising a second metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9 ) and a photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ) disposed on the second metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9 ), wherein the photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ) acts as an optical signal receiving and current converter ( Jeromerajan, [0003], In an optocoupler, input and output sides of the device are connected with a beam of light (typically falling in the infrared or near-infrared spectrum) modulated by input currents proportional to the electrical signals input to the device … captures the transmitted light signals on the output side of the optocoupler, and transforms the transmitted light signals back into output electric signals ) and is electrically connected ( Jeromerajan, 52 in FIG. 9; [0026], photodetector 14 is wirebonded to second lead frame 22 via wirebond 52 ) to the second metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9 );
an inner package ( Jeromerajan, 30, 32, 48 in FIG. 9; [0026], an optically transmissive compound 48 comprising silicone may be disposed between inner surfaces 32 of optically reflective compound 30 and LED 12 and photodetector 14 ), covering the light-emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ), wherein the inner package ( Jeromerajan, 30, 32, 48 in FIG. 9 ) forms an optical transmission path ( Jeromerajan, [0024], at least portions of light 42 emitted by LED 12 are reflected as light 44 from the at least portions of such inner surfaces 32 towards photodetector 14 ) located between the light-emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ); and
an outer package ( Jeromerajan, 28, 36 in FIG. 9; [0023], molding compound 28; [0024], enclosure 36 ), covering the inner package ( Jeromerajan, 30, 32, 48 in FIG. 9 ), the light-emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ), and partially covering with the first metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9 ) and the second metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9 ) to expose pins ( Jeromerajan, 16, 20 in FIG. 9 ) of the first metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9 ) and pins ( Jeromerajan, 22, 26 in FIG. 9 ) of the second metal bracket ( Jeromerajan, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9 ).
Jeromerajan fails to disclose:
a gallium nitride (GaN)-based light- emitting diode chip;
However, Ranglack teaches:
a gallium nitride (GaN)-based ( Ranglack, [0015], In one embodiment, the GaN-based light source 120 is GaN-based light emitting diode (LED) having anode and cathode contacts 124, 126 at the electrical side 128 of the LED 120 ) light- emitting diode chip;
Jeromerajan and Ranglack are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming optocoupler. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan ( optocoupler which has LED as light source, [0023], LED 12 is an AlGaAs LED, an ACE AlGaAs LED, a DPUP AlGaAs LED, a GaAsP LED or any other suitable type of LED ), to incorporate the teachings of Ranglack ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, [0015], In one embodiment, the GaN-based light source 120 is GaN-based light emitting diode (LED) ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source. Doing so would using GaN-based transistor which has lower gate charge, and therefore yielding a turn-on and turn-off process which is much faster compared to Si technologies.
Jeromerajan and Ranglack fail to disclose:
wherein a projection of the first metal bracket is partially overlapped with a projection of the second metal bracket along an arrangement direction of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip and the photosensitive device chip, thereby defining a direct optical coupling path between the LED chip and the photosensitive chip within the inner package.
However, Sakura teaches:
wherein a projection of the first metal bracket ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 44; [0058], lead frame 44 ) is partially overlapped with a projection of the second metal bracket ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 45; [0058], lead frame 45 ) along an arrangement direction of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 41; [0056], light-emitting element 41 ) and the photosensitive device chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 43; [0056], a semiconductor circuit 43 with a light receiving element ), thereby defining a direct optical coupling path ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 42; [0056], optical signal 42 ) between the LED chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 41; [0056], light-emitting element 41 ) and the photosensitive chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 43; [0056], a semiconductor circuit 43 with a light receiving element ) within the inner package ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 46; [0059], transparent resin 46 ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming optocoupler or optical coupling device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan ( optocoupler which has LED as light source, [0023], LED 12 is an AlGaAs LED, an ACE AlGaAs LED, a DPUP AlGaAs LED, a GaAsP LED or any other suitable type of LED ) and Ranglack ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, [0015], In one embodiment, the GaN-based light source 120 is GaN-based light emitting diode (LED) ), to incorporate the teachings of Sakura ( FIG. 6, optocoupler has direct optical coupling path 42 between light-emitting element 41 and light receiving element 43 ), to implement a GaN-based optocoupler which has direct optical coupling path. Doing so would reduce the loss of input light signal, and therefore increase the efficiency of optocoupler.
Regarding Claim 8 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeromerajan further teaches:
wherein the signal input unit ( Jeromerajan, 12, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9 ) comprises a first light transmission protective Layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9; [0026], optically transmissive compound 48 comprising silicone ), and the first light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9 ) covers the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ); the signal output unit ( Jeromerajan, 14, 22, 24, 26 in FIG. 9 ) comprises a second light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 14 in FIG. 9; [0026], optically transmissive compound 48 comprising silicone ), and the second light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 14 in FIG. 9 ) covers the photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ); the inner package ( Jeromerajan, 30, 32, 48 in FIG. 9 ) covers the first light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the second light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 14 in FIG. 9 ), and is partially located between the first light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the second light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 14 in FIG. 9 ); and the outer package ( Jeromerajan, 28, 36 in FIG. 9 ) further covers the first light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the second light transmission protective layer ( Jeromerajan, 48 covering 14 in FIG. 9 ).
Regarding Claim 11 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeromerajan further teaches:
wherein the signal input unit (Jeromerajan, 12, 16, 18, 20 in FIG. 9) comprises a first light transmission protective Layer (Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9), and the first light transmission protective layer (Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9) covers the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip (Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9); the inner package (Jeromerajan, 30, 32, 48 in FIG. 9) covers the first light transmission protective layer (Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9) and is in contact with the photosensitive device chip (Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9), and is partially located between the first light transmission protective layer (Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9) and the photosensitive device chip (Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9) ; and the outer package ( Jeromerajan, 28, 36 in FIG. 9 ) further covers the first light transmission protective layer (Jeromerajan, 48 covering 12 in FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 13 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeromerajan further teaches:
wherein the inner package ( Jeromerajan, 30, 32, 48 in FIG. 9 ) is in contact with the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip ( Jeromerajan, 12 in FIG. 9 ) and the photosensitive device chip ( Jeromerajan, 14 in FIG. 9 ) individually.
Claims 2 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack, in view of Sakura, further in view of Gwo ( Pub. No. US 20120025232 A1 ), hereinafter Gwo.
Regarding Claim 2 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Ranglack further teaches:
wherein the GaN-based ( Ranglack, [0015], In one embodiment, the GaN-based light source 120 is GaN-based light emitting diode (LED) having anode and cathode contacts 124, 126 at the electrical side 128 of the LED 120 ) light-emitting diode chip.
Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
an emission wavelength of GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than or equal to 420 nanometers (nm) and less than or equal to 500 nm.
However, Gwo teaches:
an emission wavelength of GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than or equal to 420 nanometers (nm) and less than or equal to 500 nm ( Gwo, [0053], FIG. 3c shows EL spectra of a single InGaN/GaN nanorod LED emitting at 475 nm ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Gwo are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are using GaN-based light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Gwo ( GaN nanorod LED emitting at 475 nm ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and an emission wavelength of GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than or equal to 420 nanometers (nm) and less than or equal to 500 nm. Doing so would provide the specific range of emission wavelength for GaN-based light-emitting diode chip, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could be implemented.
Regarding Claim 3 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Ranglack further teaches:
wherein the GaN-based ( Ranglack, [0015], In one embodiment, the GaN-based light source 120 is GaN-based light emitting diode (LED) having anode and cathode contacts 124, 126 at the electrical side 128 of the LED 120 ) light-emitting diode chip.
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
the emission wavelength of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than or equal to 420 nm and less than 447.5 nm, or greater than 460 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm.
However, Gwo teaches:
the emission wavelength of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than or equal to 420 nm and less than 447.5 nm, or greater than 460 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm ( Gwo, [0053], FIG. 3c shows EL spectra of a single InGaN/GaN nanorod LED emitting at 475 nm ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Gwo are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are using GaN-based light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Gwo ( GaN nanorod LED emitting at 475 nm ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and an emission wavelength of GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than 460 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm. Doing so would provide the specific range of emission wavelength for GaN-based light-emitting diode chip, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could be implemented.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack, in view of Sakura, further in view of Miyoshi ( Pub. No. US 20060159937 A1 ), hereinafter Miyoshi.
Regarding Claim 4 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Ranglack further teaches:
wherein the inner package ( Jeromerajan, 48 in FIG. 9; [0026], an optically transmissive compound 48 comprising silicone may be disposed between… LED 12 and photodetector 14 ), and a light transmittance of the inner package is greater than 50% ( Jeromerajan, [0004], the LED and photodetector thereof are disposed inside the package, and encapsulated in an optically clear or transmissive silicone material ).
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50,
However, Miyoshi teaches:
a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50 ( Miyoshi, [0157], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 1, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68; [0159], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 3, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 54 ),
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Miyoshi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming silicone-sealed light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and packaged inside silicone, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Miyoshi ( hardness of this cured silicone resin compositions, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68 or 54 ), to implement a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50. Doing so would provide a specific range for the Shore hardness D of the inner package silicone, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could be protected inside the package.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack, in view of Sakura, further in view of Liao ( Pub. No. US 20060049415 A1 ), hereinafter Liao.
Regarding Claim 5 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
wherein the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip comprises an indium gallium nitride (InGaN)/GaN multiple quantum well structure, and an indium doping concentration in an InGaN layer of the InGaN/GaN multiple quantum well structure is greater than or equal to 7.8% and less than or equal to 23.6%.
However, Liao teaches:
wherein the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip comprises an indium gallium nitride (InGaN)/GaN multiple quantum well structure ( Liao, Abstract, A monolithic, multi-color semiconductor light emitting diode (LED) is formed with a multi-bandgap, multi-quantum well (MQW) active light emitting region which emits light at spaced-apart wavelength bands or regions ranging from UV to red; [0007], consisting of an InGaN/GaN multiple quantum well (MQW) region ), and an indium doping concentration in an InGaN layer of the InGaN/GaN multiple quantum well structure is greater than or equal to 7.8% and less than or equal to 23.6% ( Liao, [0030], the 1st quantum well, the deep blue quantum well, has an In concentration of about 16 at. %, i.e., Ga0.84In0.16N; whereas the 5th, and 6th quantum wells, i.e., the blue wells, have the same In concentration of about 19 at. %, i.e., Ga0.81In0.19N ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Liao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are using GaN-based light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Liao ( comprises an indium gallium nitride (InGaN)/GaN multiple quantum well structure, and In concentration of about 16 % to 19 % ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and comprises an indium gallium nitride (InGaN)/GaN multiple quantum well structure, and In concentration of about 7.8 % to 23.6 %. Doing so would provide the specific range of In concentration for GaN-based light-emitting diode chip, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source for emitting light in wavelength bands could be implemented. Furthermore, “ [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack, in view of Sakura, further in view of Yonkee ( Pat. No. US 11164997 B2 ), hereinafter Yonkee.
Regarding Claim 6 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
wherein a wall-plug efficiency (WPE) of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than 40% at an input current in a range of 1 milliampere (mA) to 150 mA.
However, Liao teaches:
wherein a wall-plug efficiency (WPE) of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than 40% ( Liao, Abstract, III-Nitride LED … has a wall plug efficiency … over 70% ) at an input current in a range of 1 milliampere (mA) to 150 mA ( Liao, FIG. 8(b), peak WPE is 72%, current from 0 to 50 mA ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Yonkee are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are using GaN-based light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Yonkee ( III-Nitride LED … has a wall plug efficiency … over 70% ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and a wall-plug efficiency (WPE) of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip is greater than 40%. Doing so would make the optocoupler to have GaN-based LED as light source with a wall plug efficiency over 40%, and therefore the power consumption could be saved.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack, in view of Sakura, further in view of González ( U: González, David. “Characterization of High Temperature Optocoupler for Power Electronic Systems.” (2019). ), hereinafter González.
Regarding Claim 7 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
wherein a current transfer ratio (CTR) of the optical coupler at an operating temperature of 150 Celsius degrees (°C) is maintained at 60% or more that of at 25°C.
However, González teaches:
wherein a current transfer ratio (CTR) of the optical coupler at an operating temperature of 150 Celsius degrees (°C) is maintained at 60% or more that of at 25°C ( González, page 31, Table 6, for LTCC optocoupler, CTR at 275 °C is 5.50 %, and CTR at 25 °C is 6.85 %, so CTR at 275 °C is 80.29 % of that at 25 °C, therefore CTR at 175 °C is higher than 60 % of that at 25 °C ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and González are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are using GaN-based light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of González ( CTR at 275 °C is 5.50 %, and CTR at 25 °C is 6.85 % ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and with a CTR at 150 °C is maintained at 60% or more that of at 25°C. Doing so would solve the problem of poor temperature resistance for traditional optocoupler, and a high temperature resistance optocoupler with good performance could be implemented.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack, in view of Sakura, further in view of Ogata (Pub. No. US 20070182323 A1), hereinafter Ogata.
Regarding Claim 9 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 8, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Skura fail to teach:
wherein a refractive index of the first light transmission protective layer is less than or equal to a refractive index of the inner package, and the refractive index of the inner package is less than or equal to a refractive index of the second light transmission protective layer.
However, Ogata teaches:
wherein a refractive index of the first light transmission protective layer is less than or equal to a refractive index of the inner package, and the refractive index of the inner package is less than or equal to a refractive index of the second light transmission protective layer. ( Ogata, [0044], Furthermore, it is preferable that the third sealing layer has a higher refractive index than the second sealing layer, and the second sealing layer has a higher refractive index than the first sealing layer. This reduces the total reflection of light, making it possible to raise the light extraction efficiency. )
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Ogata are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming sealing portions of light-emitting diode and guiding the direction of LED light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Ogata ( reduce total reflection and guide the light direction of LED by forming first sealing layer has higher refractive index than second sealing layer, and second sealing layer has higher refractive index than third sealing layer ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and a refractive index of the first light transmission protective layer is less than a refractive index of the inner package, and the refractive index of the inner package is less than a refractive index of the second light transmission protective layer. Doing so would make the optocoupler to have GaN-based LED as light source from which the light generated by LED could be accurately guided to the photosensitive device, and therefore improve the accuracy and sensibility of optocoupler.
Claims 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan, in view of Ranglack and Sakura, further in view of Ogata, further in view of Miyoshi.
Regarding Claim 10 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura, and Ogata teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 9, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Ogata fail to teach:
wherein a hardness of the inner package is greater than a hardness of the first light transmission protective layer and a hardness of the second light transmission protective layer, and a Shore hardness A of the first light transmission protective layer and a Shore hardness A of the second light transmission protective layer are less than 60.
However, Miyoshi teaches:
wherein a hardness of the inner package is greater ( Miyoshi, [0157], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 1, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68; [0159], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 3, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 54 ) than a hardness ( Miyoshi, Abstract, a silicone rubber layer disposed between a silicone resin layer that represents the sealing body and a LED chip functions as a buffer layer ) of the first light transmission protective layer and a hardness of the second light transmission protective layer, and a Shore hardness A of the first light transmission protective layer and a Shore hardness A of the second light transmission protective layer are less than 60 ( Miyoshi, [0018], From the viewpoint of alleviating the stress within the produced silicone-sealed LED, the hardness of the cured silicone rubber layer, as measured by a JIS Type A hardness meter, is preferably no greater than 50 ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura, Ogata and Miyoshi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming silicone-sealed light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Ogata ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path, and packaged inside silicone; and accurately guide the light from LED to photosensitive device ), to incorporate the teachings of Miyoshi ( hardness of this cured silicone resin compositions, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68 or 54; the hardness of the cured silicone rubber layer, as measured by a JIS Type A hardness meter, is preferably no greater than 50, ), to implement a hardness of the inner package is greater than a hardness of the first light transmission protective layer and a hardness of the second light transmission protective layer. Doing so would provide specific ranges for the Shore hardness D of the inner package silicone, and the Shore hardness A of the first/second light transmission protective layers, therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could be protected inside the package and meanwhile to alleviate the stress within the produced silicone-sealed LED.
Regarding Claim 12 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura, Ogata and Miyoshi teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 8, on which this claim is dependent, Ogata and Miyoshi further teach:
wherein a refractive index of the first light transmission protective layer is less ( Ogata, [0044], Furthermore, it is preferable that the third sealing layer has a higher refractive index than the second sealing layer, and the second sealing layer has a higher refractive index than the first sealing layer. This reduces the total reflection of light, making it possible to raise the light extraction efficiency. ) than or equal to a refractive index of the inner package, a hardness of the inner package is greater ( Miyoshi, [0157], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 1, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68; [0159], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 3, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 54 ) than a hardness ( Miyoshi, Abstract, a silicone rubber layer disposed between a silicone resin layer that represents the sealing body and a LED chip functions as a buffer layer ) of the first light transmission protective layer, a Shore hardness A of the first light transmission protective layer is less than 60 ( Miyoshi, [0018], From the viewpoint of alleviating the stress within the produced silicone-sealed LED, the hardness of the cured silicone rubber layer, as measured by a JIS Type A hardness meter, is preferably no greater than 50 ), and a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50 ( Miyoshi, [0157], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 1, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68; [0159], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 3, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 54 ).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan , in view of Ranglack and Sakura, further in view of Keller (Pub. No. US 20120235190 A1), hereinafter Keller.
Regarding Claim 14 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
wherein materials of the inner package comprise thixotropic light-transmitting resin.
However, Keller teaches:
wherein materials of the inner package comprise thixotropic light-transmitting resin ( Keller, Abstract, Emitter packages are disclosed having a thixotropic agent or material, with the encapsulant exhibiting significant reduction of thixotropic agent scattering … This allows for the thixotropic agents to be included in the encapsulant to alter certain properties (e.g. mechanical or thermal) while not significantly altering the optical properties of the encapsulant … a thixotropic material with a refractive index that is substantially the same as the encapsulant refractive index; [0011], having a thickening or thixotropic agent/material, with properties that allow the LED package encapsulant to exhibit a significant reduction in scattering ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Keller are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming light-transforming resin for light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Keller ( thixotropic agent/material that allow the LED package encapsulant to exhibit a significant reduction in scattering ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and the light scattering in package encapsulant is reduced. Doing so would provide the specific material for light-transforming resin for package or encapsulation, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could have reduction or elimination of encapsulant clouding and increased package emission efficiency.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan, in view of Ranglack and Sakura, further in view of Keller, further in view of Chew ( Pub. No. US 20150060706 A1 ).
Regarding Claim 15 ( Original ), Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Keller teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 14, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Keller fail to teach:
wherein a height of the inner package is greater than a maximum radial width and less than twice the maximum radial width.
However, Chew teaches:
[0005], a transparent inner encapsulant body having a dome enclosing portion and an extension portion, wherein the dome enclosing portion having a covering height is for covering the light emitting element and the light-sensing element; … wherein the extension portion is extendedly formed from the dome enclosing portion in a direction from the optically reflective surface radically outward with an extending height being smaller than the covering height, … the other portion of the light emitted from the light emitting element is directly emitting to the light-sensing element through the transparent inner encapsulant body.
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Chew are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming light-transforming resin for light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Chew ( the dome enclosing portion having a covering height is for covering the light emitting element and the light-sensing element … light emitted from the light emitting element is directly emitting to the light-sensing element ), to implement an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and the height of inner package is optimized to have a height of the inner package is greater than a maximum radial width and less than twice the maximum radial width. Doing so would provide the specific dimensions of light-transforming resin for package or encapsulation, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could increase the light transforming efficiency between LED light source and photosensitive device chip. Furthermore, “ [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromerajan, in view of Ranglack and Sakura, further in view of Miyoshi.
Regarding Claim 16 ( Original ), Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura teach the optical coupler as claimed in claim 13, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura fail to teach:
wherein a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50 and less than 80.
However, Miyoshi teaches:
wherein a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50 and less than 80 ( Miyoshi, [0157], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 1, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68; [0159], The hardness of this cured silicone resin composition 3, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 54 ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack, Sakura and Miyoshi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming silicone-sealed light-emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan and Ranglack and Sakura ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, and packaged inside silicone, and direct optical coupling path ), to incorporate the teachings of Miyoshi ( hardness of this cured silicone resin compositions, measured using a Shore D hardness meter, was 68 or 54 ), to implement a Shore hardness D of the inner package is greater than 50 and less than 80. Doing so would provide a specific range for the Shore hardness D of the inner package silicone, and therefore the optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source could be protected inside the package.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument for claim 1: page 6, line 2 from bottom, cited “ Thus, Jeromerajan's optical path is an indirect, sidewall-reflection-dependent path, not the direct optical coupling path recited in claim 1 of the instant application ”.
Examiner’s response: “ direct optical coupling path ” reads on “ the path of optical signal 42, FIG. 6 ” in the prior art Sakura, please refer to claim 1 in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 of this office action, cited “
However, Sakura teaches:
wherein a projection of the first metal bracket ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 44; [0058], lead frame 44 ) is partially overlapped with a projection of the second metal bracket ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 45; [0058], lead frame 45 ) along an arrangement direction of the GaN-based light-emitting diode chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 41; [0056], light-emitting element 41 ) and the photosensitive device chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 43; [0056], a semiconductor circuit 43 with a light receiving element ), thereby defining a direct optical coupling path ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 42; [0056], optical signal 42 ) between the LED chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 41; [0056], light-emitting element 41 ) and the photosensitive chip ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 43; [0056], a semiconductor circuit 43 with a light receiving element ) within the inner package ( Sakura, FIG. 6, 46; [0059], transparent resin 46 ).
Jeromerajan, Ranglack and Sakura are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming optocoupler or optical coupling device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromerajan ( optocoupler which has LED as light source, [0023], LED 12 is an AlGaAs LED, an ACE AlGaAs LED, a DPUP AlGaAs LED, a GaAsP LED or any other suitable type of LED ) and Ranglack ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, [0015], In one embodiment, the GaN-based light source 120 is GaN-based light emitting diode (LED) ), to incorporate the teachings of Sakura ( FIG. 6, optocoupler has direct optical coupling path 42 between light-emitting element 41 and light receiving element 43 ), to implement a GaN-based optocoupler which has direct optical coupling path. Doing so would reduce the loss of input light signal, and therefore increase the efficiency of optocoupler. ”.
Applicant’s argument for claim 1: page 7, line 6, cited “ Ranglack only teaches using a GaN-based LED as a light source, which does not disclose the optical coupler structure of claim 1 of the instant application. ”.
Examiner’s response: First, Ranglack not only teaches using a GaN-based LED as a light source, but also teaches an optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source and GaN-based photosensor ( Ranglack, Abstract, “ An optocoupler includes a GaN-based photosensor … and a GaN-based light source ” ). Second, the limitation “ a gallium nitride (GaN)-based light- emitting diode chip ” in claim 1 is unpatentable over Jeromerajan ( optocoupler which has LED as light source, [0023] ), in view of Ranglack ( optocoupler which has GaN-based LED as light source, [0015] ). “ In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. ”, see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s argument for the prior arts ( i.e. Gwo, Miyoshi, …, Keller and Chew ) used for dependent claims, as shown in page 7 to page 8, “ the prior art does not disclose the direct optical coupling path of claim 1 of the instant application ”.
Examiner’s response: First, “ the direct optical coupling path of claim 1 ” reads on “ the path of optical signal 42, FIG. 6 ” in the prior art Sakura; other prior arts ( i.e. Gwo, Miyoshi, …, Keller and Chew ) are used to disclose limitations in the dependent claims. Second, “ In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. ”, see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817