Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Figs. 4a and 9 are photographs
The applicant is reminded of MPEP 1.84
(b) Photographs.—
(1) Black and white. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For example, photographs or photomicrographs of: electrophoresis gels, blots (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures, and, in a design patent application, ornamental effects, are acceptable. If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph. The photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent.
(2) Color photographs. Color photographs will be accepted in utility and design patent applications if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See paragraphs (a)(2) and (b)(1) of this section.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“image processor that calculates” in claims 1 is being interpreted as item 4 which are per par. 41 is a graphic processing unit
“autofocus controller that derives” in claims 1 is being interpreted as item 5 which are per par. 42 is a central processing unit (cpu)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US8456523B2 Stork.
Regarding claim 1,
Stork teaches,
A laser processing device (laser processing head 100) comprising:
a laser head (laser processing head 100) that emits laser light (laser beam 108);
a camera (camera 102) that acquires a surface image of a processing member (processing surface 104) that has been irradiated with the laser light (column 8 lines 13 to 23);
an image processor that calculates a diameter of a processing mark by performing image processing on the acquired surface image (column 7 lines 65 to 67 and column 8 lines 1 to 4);
an autofocus controller (focusing unit 116 is controlled by control unit 122 column 3 lines 39 to 67 teach the controlling of focusing unit 116 by control unit 122 to adjust a focal point) that derives an optimum focal position of the laser light based on the diameter of the processing mark (column 7 lines 65 to 67 and column 8 lines 1 to 4);
and a driver that moves the laser head or an optical component inside the laser head in an emission direction of the laser light based on a derivation result of the autofocus controller to allow the laser light to be condensed at the optimum focal position (column 7 lines 45 to 67 and column 8 lines 1 to 4 teach adjusting lens 114 based on adapting movable parts of the optical system to adjust focusing lens 114 to a position ΔzOS ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US8456523B2 Stork in view of US 20220184745 A1 Inoue.
Regarding claim 2,
Stork teaches, except where struck through, The laser processing device according to Claim 1 (as discussed above) wherein the image processor identifies the processing mark in the surface image of the processing member (as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1)
and calculates the diameter of the processing mark(as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Stork does not teach: wherein the image processor identifies…a heat-affected zone formed around the processing mark.
Inoue teaches a laser processing system 1 with a laser processing head 11 and a control device 20 and further teaches wherein the image processor (imaging device 13 and control device 20) identifies…a heat-affected zone formed around the processing mark (par. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the capturing of the position, size, and shape of a heat affected zone of Inoue in the focusing unit 116 is controlled by control unit 122 of Stork for the purpose of to capture a position, size, and shape of a heat affected (Inoue par. 39).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US8456523B2 Stork in view of US 20220184745 A1 Inoue in view of Oribe US20220241894A1.
Regarding claim 3,
Stork as modified teaches, The laser processing device according to Claim 2 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Stork does not teach: wherein when the diameter of the processing mark is 2x,
a focal position of the laser light with respect to a tip of the laser head is z0,
a distance from the tip of the laser head to a surface of the processing member is z,
a beam diameter of the laser light at a beam waist is 2w,
a Rayleigh length of the laser light is zR,
and a beam divergence angle of the laser light is θ,
the focal position z0 satisfies a relationship shown in Mathematical formula (2):
z
0
=
Z
-
Z
R
X
W
2
-
1
=
Z
-
X
T
A
N
θ
and the autofocus controller derives the distance z at which a difference from the focal position z0 becomes a predetermined value as the optimum focal position.
Oribe teaches that there is a known relationship between an incident beam diameter, a beam condensing diameter, and a divergent angle (spreading angle) for a focusing lens as being part of a beam parameter product BPP (par. 39) per an ISO spec 11145.
Stork in view of Inoue in view of Oribe discloses the claimed invention except for the relationship of
z
0
=
Z
-
Z
R
X
W
2
-
1
=
Z
-
X
T
A
N
θ
. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to recognize the relationship between a focal position, beam diameter, and Rayleigh length, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to identify the relationship between a focal position, beam diameter, and Rayleigh length for the purpose of characterizing an incident beam. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values and relationship between a focal position, beam diameter, and Rayleigh length of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Conclusion
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761