DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “a chassis” in line 13-14 is unclear. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis of line 2 or to an additional chassis.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as reference being made to the chassis of line 2.
Further, the limitation “the information handling system” in line 14 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the repositionable peripheral tray system, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Claims 8-12 depending from claim 7 are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “the chassis of the information handling system” in line 4 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis previously claimed, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the information handling system chassis” in line 5 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis previously claimed, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “the information handling system chassis” in line 4 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis previously claimed, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a chassis” in line 15-16 is unclear. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis of line 2 or to an additional chassis.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as reference being made to the chassis of line 2.
Further, the limitation “the information handling system” in line 16 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the system, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Claims 14-18 depending from claim 13 are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “the chassis of the information handling system” in line 3 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis previously claimed, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “the information handling system chassis” in line 4 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis previously claimed, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the information handling system chassis” in line 3 is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether reference is being made to the chassis previously claimed, or to an information handling system that was not previously claimed.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the repositionable peripheral tray system and suggests “the chassis” for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng US 20140340838.
Regarding claim 1, Deng US 20140340838 discloses a repositionable peripheral tray (43 in Fig. 2) for use with an information handling system (1 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a bottom wall (431 in Fig. 2);
a left wall (433 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the left wall (304a) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (433);
a right wall (433 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the right wall (433) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (431);
one of a front wall (434 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the front wall (434) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (431); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432 in Fig. 2 and 3c), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432) interacting with a respective portion (451/42 in Fig. 2) of a chassis (41 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (1) to enable the repositionable tray (43) to be laterally shifted within the chassis so the repositionable tray (43) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 4a and 3a the tray can be laterally repositioned between a locked orientation and an unlocked orientation).
Regarding claim 5, Deng discloses the repositionable peripheral tray of claim 1, wherein:
the front wall (434) of the repositionable tray (43) defines a wall aperture (434a in Fig. 3c),
the wall aperture (434a) mating with a wall aperture (451 in Fig. 2 and 3c) defined by a wall portion (bottom wall of 41) of the chassis (41),
interaction of the wall aperture (434a) of the repositionable tray (43) with the wall aperture (451) of the wall portion (bottom wall of 41) of the information handling system chassis (41) providing a repositionable tray feature (4411 as depicted in Fig. 3c) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432).
Regarding claim 7, Deng discloses a repositionable peripheral tray system comprising:
a chassis (41 in Fig. 2); and,
a repositionable peripheral tray (43 in Fig. 2), the repositionable tray (43) comprising
a bottom wall (431 in Fig. 2);
a left wall (433 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the left wall (304a) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (433);
a right wall (433 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the right wall (433) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (431);
one of a front wall (434 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the front wall (434) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (431); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432 in Fig. 2 and 3c), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432) interacting with a respective portion (451/42 in Fig. 2) of a chassis (41) of the information handling system to enable the repositionable tray (43) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (41) so the repositionable tray (43) can be positioned in a plurality of tray different orientations (as depicted in Fig. 4a and 3a the tray can be laterally repositioned between a locked orientation and an unlocked orientation).
Regarding claim 11, Deng discloses the repositionable peripheral tray system of claim 7, wherein:
the front wall (434) of the repositionable tray (43) defines a wall aperture (434a in Fig. 3c),
the wall aperture (434a) mating with a wall aperture (451 in Fig. 2 and 3c) defined by a wall portion (bottom wall of 41) of the chassis (41),
interaction of the wall aperture (434a) of the repositionable tray (43) with the wall aperture (451) of the wall portion (bottom wall of 41) of the information handling system chassis (41) providing a repositionable tray feature (4411 as depicted in Fig. 3c) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432).
Regarding claim 13, Deng discloses a system comprising:
a chassis (41 in Fig. 2);
a processor (20 in Fig. 1) contained within the chassis (41);
a data bus (data bus not shown of 1 in Fig. 1) coupled to the processor (20); and,
a repositionable peripheral tray system (43 in Fig. 2) comprising
a bottom wall (431 in Fig. 2);
a left wall (433 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the left wall (304a) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (433);
a right wall (433 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the right wall (433) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (431);
one of a front wall (434 in Fig. 2) physically attached to the bottom wall (431), the front wall (434) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (431); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432 in Fig. 2 and 3c), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432) interacting with a respective portion (451/42 in Fig. 2) of a chassis (41) of the information handling system to enable the repositionable tray (43) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (41) so the repositionable tray (43) can be positioned in a plurality of tray different orientations (as depicted in Fig. 4a and 3a the tray can be laterally repositioned between a locked orientation and an unlocked orientation).
Regarding claim 17, Deng discloses the system of claim 13, wherein:
the front wall (434) of the repositionable tray (43) defines a wall aperture (434a in Fig. 3c),
the wall aperture (434a) mating with a wall aperture (451 in Fig. 2 and 3c) defined by a wall portion (bottom wall of 41) of the chassis (41),
interaction of the wall aperture (434a) of the repositionable tray (43) with the wall aperture (451) of the wall portion (bottom wall of 41) of the information handling system chassis (41) providing a repositionable tray feature (4411 as depicted in Fig. 3c) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (4411/432).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 12-13, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muenzer US 20070127204.
Regarding claim 1, Muenzer US 20070127204 discloses a repositionable peripheral tray (302 in Fig. 4b) for use with an information handling system (10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a bottom wall (bottom wall of 302 in Fig. 4b);
a left wall (304a in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the left wall (304a) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302);
a right wall (304b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the right wall (304b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302);
one of a front wall (302a in Fig. 4b) and a rear wall (302b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the one of the front wall (302a) and the rear wall (302b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b in Fig. 4a-4b), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b) interacting with a respective portion (102aaa/102baa in Fig. 5c or 104bca/104aca in Fig. 5e) of a chassis (100 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (10) to enable the repositionable tray (302) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (100) so the repositionable tray (302) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 5b-5c and 5e; the tray can be laterally repositioned between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations).
Regarding claim 3, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray of claim 1, wherein:
one of the right wall and the left wall (304a) of the repositionable peripheral tray (302) include a tray alignment tab (306b in Fig. 4b), the tray alignment tab (306b) mating with a slot (102aaa) defined by the information handling system chassis (100) where interaction of the tray alignment tab (306b) and the slot (102aaa) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 6, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray of claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of tray orientations comprise a Type 2 Planar orientation and a Type 4 Planar orientation, the type 2 Planar orientation and the Type 4 Planar orientation corresponding to a partial width (w1/w2), density optimized host processor module (HPM) form factor (M-DNO form factor) base specification, the type 2 Planar orientation and the Type 4 Planar orientation having different side to side widths (the type 2 planar orientation and Type 4 Planar orientation are shown where the partial width w1 is used for the orientation in annotated Fig. 5d and the partial width w2 is used for the orientation in annotated Fig. 5e).
Regarding claim 7, Muenzer US 20070127204 discloses a repositionable peripheral tray system comprising:
a chassis (100 in Fig. 2); and,
a repositionable peripheral tray (302 in Fig. 4b), the repositionable tray (302) comprising
a bottom wall (bottom wall of 302 in Fig. 4b);
a left wall (304a in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the left wall (304a) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302);
a right wall (304b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the right wall (304b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302);
one of a front wall (302a in Fig. 4b) and a rear wall (302b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the one of the front wall (302a) and the rear wall (302b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b in Fig. 4a-4b), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b) interacting with a respective portion (102aaa/102baa in Fig. 5c or 104bca/104aca in Fig. 5e) of a chassis (100 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (10) to enable the repositionable tray (302) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (100) so the repositionable tray (302) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 5b-5c and 5e; the tray can be laterally repositioned between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations).
Regarding claim 9, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray system of claim 7, wherein:
one of the right wall and the left wall (304a) of the repositionable peripheral tray (302) include a tray alignment tab (306b in Fig. 4b), the tray alignment tab (306b) mating with a slot (102aaa) defined by the information handling system chassis (100) where interaction of the tray alignment tab (306b) and the slot (102aaa) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 12, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray system of claim 11, wherein:
the plurality of tray orientations comprise a Type 2 Planar orientation and a Type 4 Planar orientation, the type 2 Planar orientation and the Type 4 Planar orientation corresponding to a partial width (w1/w2 in annotated Fig. 5d and 5e), density optimized host processor module (HPM) form factor (M-DNO form factor) base specification, the type 2 Planar orientation and the Type 4 Planar orientation having different side to side widths (the type 2 planar orientation and Type 4 Planar orientation are shown where the partial width w1 is used for the orientation in annotated Fig. 5d and the partial width w2 is used for the orientation in annotated Fig. 5e).
Regarding claim 13, Muenzer US 20070127204 discloses a system comprising:
a chassis (100 in Fig. 2 and 6a);
a processor (12 in Fig. 1) contained within the chassis (100);
a data bus (14 in Fig. 1) coupled to the processor (12); and,
a repositionable peripheral tray system (302 in Fig. 4b) comprising
a bottom wall (bottom wall of 302 in Fig. 4b);
a left wall (304a in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the left wall (304a) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302);
a right wall (304b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the right wall (304b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302);
one of a front wall (302a in Fig. 4b) and a rear wall (302b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302), the one of the front wall (302a) and the rear wall (302b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 302); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b in Fig. 4a-4b), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b) interacting with a respective portion (102aaa/102baa in Fig. 5c or 104bca/104aca in Fig. 5e) of a chassis (100 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (10) to enable the repositionable tray (302) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (100) so the repositionable tray (302) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 5b-5c and 5e; the tray can be laterally repositioned between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations).
Regarding claim 15, Muenzer discloses the system of claim 13, wherein:
one of the right wall and the left wall (304a) of the repositionable peripheral tray (302) include a tray alignment tab (306b in Fig. 4b), the tray alignment tab (306b) mating with a slot (102aaa) defined by the information handling system chassis (100) where interaction of the tray alignment tab (306b) and the slot (102aaa) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 18, Muenzer discloses the system of claim 17, wherein: the plurality of tray orientations comprise a Type 2 Planar orientation and a Type 4 Planar orientation, the type 2 Planar orientation and the Type 4 Planar orientation corresponding to a partial width (w1/w2 in annotated Fig. 5d and 5e), density optimized host processor module (HPM) form factor (M-DNO form factor) base specification, the type 2 Planar orientation and the Type 4 Planar orientation having different side to side widths (the type 2 planar orientation and Type 4 Planar orientation are shown where the partial width w1 is used for the orientation in annotated Fig. 5d and the partial width w2 is used for the orientation in annotated Fig. 5e).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muenzer US 20070127204.
Regarding claim 1, Muenzer US 20070127204 discloses a repositionable peripheral tray (302 in Fig. 4b) for use with an information handling system (10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a bottom wall (304a in Fig. 4b);
a left wall (top wall of 302 in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the left wall (top wall of 302) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a);
a right wall (bottom wall of 302 in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the right wall (bottom wall of 302) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a);
one of a front wall (302a in Fig. 4b) and a rear wall (302b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the one of the front wall (302a) and the rear wall (302b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b in Fig. 4a-4b), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b) interacting with a respective portion (102aaa/102baa in Fig. 5c or 104bca/104aca in Fig. 5e) of a chassis (100 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (10) to enable the repositionable tray (302) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (100) so the repositionable tray (302) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 5b-5c and 5e; the tray can be laterally repositioned between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations).
Regarding claim 2, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray of claim 1, wherein:
the bottom wall (304a) defines a keying portion (306b), the keying portion (306b) mating with an alignment (102aaa) and positioning component (102aa) of the chassis (100) of the information handling system (10), interaction of the alignment (102aaa) and positioning component (102aa) with the keying portion (306b) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 4, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray of claim 1, wherein:
the bottom wall (304a) comprises a polarization tab (306b in Fig. 4b and 5e),
the polarization tab (306b) mating with a polarization recess (102aaa/102aa in Fig. 6a) defined by the information handling system chassis (100), where interaction of the polarization tab (306b) and the polarization recess (102aaa/102aa) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
.
Regarding claim 7, Muenzer US 20070127204 discloses a repositionable peripheral tray system comprising:
a chassis (100 in Fig. 2); and,
a repositionable peripheral tray (302 in Fig. 4b), the repositionable tray (302) comprising
a bottom wall (304a in Fig. 4b);
a left wall (top wall of 302 in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the left wall (top wall of 302) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a);
a right wall (bottom wall of 302 in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the right wall (bottom wall of 302) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a);
one of a front wall (302a in Fig. 4b) and a rear wall (302b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the one of the front wall (302a) and the rear wall (302b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b in Fig. 4a-4b), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b) interacting with a respective portion (102aaa/102baa in Fig. 5c or 104bca/104aca in Fig. 5e) of a chassis (100 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (10) to enable the repositionable tray (302) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (100) so the repositionable tray (302) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 5b-5c and 5e; the tray can be laterally repositioned between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations).
Regarding claim 8, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray system of claim 7, wherein:
the bottom wall (304a) defines a keying portion (306b), the keying portion (306b) mating with an alignment (102aaa) and positioning component (102aa) of the chassis (100) of the information handling system (10), interaction of the alignment (102aaa) and positioning component (102aa) with the keying portion (306b) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 10, Muenzer discloses the repositionable peripheral tray system of claim 7, wherein:
the bottom wall (304a) comprises a polarization tab (306b in Fig. 4b and 5e),
the polarization tab (306b) mating with a polarization recess (102aaa/102aa in Fig. 6a) defined by the information handling system chassis (100), where interaction of the polarization tab (306b) and the polarization recess (102aaa/102aa) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 13, Muenzer US 20070127204 discloses a system comprising:
a chassis (100 in Fig. 2 and 6a);
a processor (12 in Fig. 1) contained within the chassis (100);
a data bus (14 in Fig. 1) coupled to the processor (12); and,
a repositionable peripheral tray system (302 in Fig. 4b) comprising
a bottom wall (304a in Fig. 4b);
a left wall (top wall of 302 in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the left wall (top wall of 302) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a);
a right wall (bottom wall of 302 in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the right wall (bottom wall of 302) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a);
one of a front wall (302a in Fig. 4b) and a rear wall (302b in Fig. 4b) physically attached to the bottom wall (304a), the one of the front wall (302a) and the rear wall (302b) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (304a); and,
a plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b in Fig. 4a-4b), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b) interacting with a respective portion (102aaa/102baa in Fig. 5c or 104bca/104aca in Fig. 5e) of a chassis (100 in Fig. 2) of the information handling system (10) to enable the repositionable tray (302) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (100) so the repositionable tray (302) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 5b-5c and 5e; the tray can be laterally repositioned between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations).
Regarding claim 14, Muenzer discloses the system of claim 13, wherein:
the bottom wall (304a) defines a keying portion (306b), the keying portion (306b) mating with an alignment (102aaa) and positioning component (102aa) of the chassis (100) of the information handling system (10), interaction of the alignment (102aaa) and positioning component (102aa) with the keying portion (306b) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Regarding claim 16, Muenzer discloses the system of claim 13, wherein:
the bottom wall (304a) comprises a polarization tab (306b in Fig. 4b and 5e),
the polarization tab (306b) mating with a polarization recess (102aaa/102aa in Fig. 6a) defined by the information handling system chassis (100), where interaction of the polarization tab (306b) and the polarization recess (102aaa/102aa) providing a repositionable tray feature (306b) of the plurality of repositionable tray features (306b/308b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13 Applicant argues that “nowhere within Deng or Muenzer, taken alone or in combination is there any disclosure or suggestion of a plurality of repositionable tray features, each of the plurality of repositionable tray features interacting with a respective portion of a chassis of the information handling system to enable the repositionable tray to be laterally shifted within the chassis so the repositionable tray can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations, as required by claims 1, 7 and 13.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, it must be stated that the examiner is required to give the claims the
broadest reasonable interpretation. Specifically, MPEP 2111 states:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be “given *>their< broadest
reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” > In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).< Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpretation by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
The limitations as claimed are not limited to Applicants interpretation.
Deng shows in Fig. 2 and 3c a plurality of repositionable tray features including fixing holes 432 and locking part 44 having a latching rod 441 with first end 4411.
Fig. 2 of Deng also shows a chassis 41 having portions which include stoppers 42 and a locking part 45.
Fig. 3a-4a of Deng show each of the fixing holes 432 and the end 4411 of the latching rod 441 interacting with a respective portion 451/42 of the chassis enabling the repositionable tray 43 to be laterally shifted within the chassis between a locked orientation of Fig. 4a and an unlocked orientation of Fig. 3a.
Therefore, Deng discloses a plurality of repositionable tray features, each of the plurality of repositionable tray features interacting with a respective portion of a chassis of the information handling system to enable the repositionable tray to be laterally shifted within the chassis so the repositionable tray can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations.
Muenzer shows in Fig. 4a-4b a plurality of repositionable tray features including left and right securing tabs 306 and 308.
Fig. 5c and 5e of Muenzer also shows a chassis 100 having portions which include channel entrances 102aaa 102baa 104bca and 104aca.
Fig. 5b-5c and 5e of Muenzer show each of the securing tabs 306 and 308 interacting with a respective portions 102aaa 102baa 104bca and 104aca of the chassis enabling the repositionable tray to be laterally shifted within the chassis between partially inserted orientations and fully inserted orientations.
Therefore, Muenzer discloses a plurality of repositionable tray features, each of the plurality of repositionable tray features interacting with a respective portion of a chassis of the information handling system to enable the repositionable tray to be laterally shifted within the chassis so the repositionable tray can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations.
And so claims 1-18 stand rejected over Deng and Muenzer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tucker US 6625014 discloses a plurality of repositionable tray features (134/144/112 in Fig. 1), each of the plurality of repositionable tray features (134/144/112) interacting with a respective portion (516/570/514 respectively in Fig. 5) of a chassis (400 in Fig. 4) of the information handling system (system of 400) to enable the repositionable tray (100) to be laterally shifted within the chassis (400) so the repositionable tray (100) can be positioned in a plurality of different tray orientations (as depicted in Fig. 6a and 6c).
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841