DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 1/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 24-26, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azima et al. (US 2005/0147274).
Regarding claim 1, Azima discloses a vibration apparatus (Fig. 5b), comprising:
a vibration member (2);
a cover member (8); and
a vibration generating part (9) disposed between the vibration member and the cover member (see Fig. 5b),
wherein at least a portion of the vibration generating part is configured to be one body with or directly connected with the vibration member (see Fig. 5b), and
wherein the vibration member comprises fiber reinforced plastic having an orientation defined by a filler (fibers) included in the fiber reinforced plastic (¶ 0054, 0176-0177).
Regarding claim 2, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least a portion of the vibration generating part is accommodated into the vibration member (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member comprises a material having an orientation (¶ 0054, 0176-0177).
Regarding claim 8, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least a surface of the vibration member opposite to the vibration generating part has adhesive properties (¶ 0218).
Regarding claim 9, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member has a Young's modulus within a range of 50 GPa to 200 GPa (¶ 0186).
Regarding claim 13, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member comprises a plurality of vibration plates (¶ 0054: composite laminated sandwich structure; multiple layers; or ¶ 0177: superposed sub-layers; where each layer is a vibration plate),
wherein each of the plurality of vibration plates comprises the filler (¶ 0054, 0176-0177), and
wherein the fillers of the plurality of vibration plates have different orientations (¶ 0054, 0176-0177).
Regarding claim 14, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member comprises:
a first vibration plate;
a second vibration plate disposed on the first vibration plate; and
a third vibration plate disposed on the second vibration plate, and
wherein each of the first vibration plate, the second vibration plate, and the third vibration plate comprises the filler having an orientation (¶ 0054, 0177: composite laminated sandwich structure, multiple layers, or superposed sub-layers, which can be three layers, where each layer is a vibration plate).
Regarding claim 24, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member comprises a plurality of vibration portions arranged in parallel (¶ 0054: composite laminated sandwich structure; multiple layers) (¶ 0177: superposed sub-layers) (¶ 0054: different thickness portions or different), and
wherein the plurality of vibration portions have different orientations (¶ 0054, 0176-0177).
Regarding claim 25, Azima discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a passive vibration member (Fig. 5b: if the “vibration member” introduced in claim 1 is taken to be 2 excluding the lower 21, then the “passive vibration member” can be the lower 21); and
a vibration generating apparatus (the “vibration apparatus” of claim 1) connected with the passive vibration member to vibrate the passive vibration member (¶ 0173),
wherein the vibration generating apparatus comprises the vibration apparatus of claim 1 (see above).
Regarding claim 26, Azima discloses the apparatus of claim 25, further comprising an enclosure disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member (Fig. 5b: if the “cover member” introduced in claim 1 is taken to be 151 instead of 8 (i.e. 148-151), then the “enclosure” can be 148-150).
Regarding claim 28, Azima discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the passive vibration member comprises one or more materials of metal, plastic, paper, fiber, cloth, leather, wood, rubber, glass, and carbon (¶ 0176), or
wherein the passive vibration member comprises one or more of a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode illumination panel, an organic light emitting illumination panel, an inorganic light emitting illumination panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular glass window, an interior material of a vehicular seat, a ceiling material of a building, an interior material of a building, a window of a building, an interior material of an aircraft, a window of an aircraft, an interior material of a car, a window of a car, and a mirror.
Regarding claim 29, Azima discloses the apparatus of claim 25, further comprising a connection member (20; or 20 and 118) connected between a center portion of the vibration generating apparatus and the passive vibration member (Fig. 24 and ¶ 0239).
Regarding claim 30, Azima discloses a vibration apparatus, comprising:
a vibration member (2) comprising a plurality of vibration plates laminated together (¶ 0054), each vibration plate comprising a fiber-reinforced plastic with a filler (fibers) having a directional fiber orientation (¶ 0054, 0176-0177);
a cover member (8); and
a vibration generating part (9) disposed between the vibration member and the cover member (see Fig. 5b),
wherein at least a portion of the vibration generating part is configured to be one body with or directly connected with the vibration member (see Fig. 5b), and
wherein at least two of the vibration plates have different fiber orientations (¶ 0054, 0177), the filler being structural stiffness-defining fibers of the fiber-reinforced plastic vibration plates (¶ 0054, 0177).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima in view of Jang et al. (US 2020/0314515).
Regarding claim 3, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a vibration layer (27) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0220-0223, 0239) (Figs. 13-15, 24);
Azima is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration layer; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration layer different from the first surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang discloses a vibration generating part (Fig. 9) comprises:
a vibration layer (231) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0134);
a first electrode layer (233) disposed at a first surface of the vibration layer (¶ 0134); and
a second electrode layer (235) disposed at a second surface of the vibration layer different from the first surface (¶ 0134) (see Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration layer; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration layer different from the first surface,
the motivation being to provide a way to apply an electrical signal to the vibration generating part in order to cause it to vibrate (Jang - ¶ 0146).
Regarding claim 4, Azima-Jang discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 3.
Additionally, Azima discloses embedding the vibration generating part (transducer) within the vibration member (panel) (¶ 0274) (¶ 0273: embedding applies to piezoelectric transducer as well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to embed the vibration generating part within the vibration member, which would result in: wherein the vibration member surrounds the second electrode layer, the motivation being to achieve a flat uninterrupted surface on both sides of the panel (Azima - ¶ 0274).
Regarding claim 5, Azima-Jang discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 3.
Additionally, Azima discloses embedding the vibration generating part (transducer) within the vibration member (panel) (¶ 0274) (¶ 0273: embedding applies to piezoelectric transducer as well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to embed the vibration generating part within the vibration member, which would result in: wherein the vibration member surrounds the second electrode layer and surrounds at least a portion of a lateral surface of the vibration layer, the motivation being to achieve a flat uninterrupted surface on both sides of the panel (Azima - ¶ 0274).
Regarding claim 12, Azima-Jang discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 3.
Additionally, Jang discloses providing a first cover (610) and a second cover (650) coupled to each other by an adhesive (630) (Fig. 14 and ¶ 0181) to improve a design appearance (¶ 0179).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cover member (8 of Azima) to be a second cover (as taught by Jang), and to provide a first cover (of Jang) and an adhesive (of Jang) below the cover member (8) in the orientation of Fig. 5b of Azima), based on the teachings of Jang,
which would result in: further comprising an adhesive layer (630 of Jang) disposed between the first electrode layer (233 of Jang) and the cover member (650 of Jang which now acts as 8 of Azima),
the motivation being to improve a design appearance (Jang - ¶ 0179).
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima in view of Jang in view of Jeong et al. (US 2011/0064250).
Regarding claim 10, Azima-Jang discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 3, and Azima discloses further comprising a signal cable (28) electrically connected with the vibration generating part (¶ 0239 and Figs. 1/15/24),
wherein the signal cable comprises:
a first signal line electrically connected with the vibration generating part (see Figs. 1/15/24); and
a second signal line electrically connected with the vibration generating part (see Figs. 1/15/24).
Azima-Jang is not relied upon to disclose
a first signal line electrically connected with the second electrode layer; and
a second signal line electrically connected with the first electrode layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeong discloses a vibration generating part comprising a piezoelectric vibration layer (134) between a first electrode layer (132) and a second electrode layer (136) (¶ 0038 and Fig. 3), where a signal is electrically applied to each of the first and second electrode layers in order to cause vibration (¶ 0038, 0039, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: electrically connect the first signal line of Azima to the second electrode layer of Jang and to electrically connect the second signal line of Azima to the first electrode layer of Jang,
which would result in: wherein the signal cable comprises:
a first signal line electrically connected with the second electrode layer; and
a second signal line electrically connected with the first electrode layer,
the motivation being to provide the signals of Azima to the proper elements of the vibration generating part that will cause it to vibrate (Jeong - ¶ 0038, 0039, 0042).
Regarding claim 11, Azima-Jang-Jeong discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 10, and Azima discloses wherein a portion of the signal cable is accommodated between the vibration member and the cover member (the location of cable (28) seen in at least Figs. 1 and 24 indicates that a portion of it will be between 2 and 8).
Claim(s) 15-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima.
Regarding claim 15, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 14.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the fillers of the first vibration plate and the third vibration plate has a same orientation,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 16, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 14.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the filler of the second vibration plate has an orientation which differs from orientations of the fillers of each of the first vibration plate and the third vibration plate,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 17, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 14.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the filler of the second vibration plate has an orientation which is aligned vertical to orientations of the fillers of each of the first vibration plate and the third vibration plate,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 18, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same) and different thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly (¶ 0054).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly in each layer within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers and thicknesses within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the vibration member comprises:
a plurality of first vibration portions (referring to either the plurality of layers or the plurality of regions of different thickness); and
a second vibration portion provided between adjacent first vibration portions of the plurality of first vibration portions in parallel with the plurality of first vibration portions, and
wherein the plurality of first vibration portions and the second vibration portion have different orientations,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 19, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 18, wherein the vibration member comprises carbon fibers (¶ 0176), and
wherein a volume of the carbon fiber of each of the plurality of the first vibration portions and a volume of the carbon fiber of the second vibration portion are differently adjusted (¶ 0054: different thicknesses in different areas, which would change the volume since volume equals area x thickness).
Regarding claim 20, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same) and different thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly (¶ 0054).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly in each layer within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers and thicknesses within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the vibration member comprises:
a third vibration portion (outer portion having a thickness) where an accommodating portion (inner portion having a different thickness) is provided therein; and
a fourth vibration portion (the inner portion having the different thickness) accommodated into the accommodating portion of the third vibration portion, and
wherein the plurality of third vibration portions and the fourth vibration portion have different orientations,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 21, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 14.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same) and different thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly (¶ 0054).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly in each layer within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers and thicknesses within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein each of the first vibration plate, the second vibration plate, and the third vibration plate comprises:
a plurality of first vibration portions (outer portion having a thickness); and
a second vibration portion (inner portion having a different thickness) provided between adjacent first vibration portions of the plurality of first vibration portions in parallel with the plurality of first vibration portions,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 22, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 21.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same) and different thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly (¶ 0054).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly in each layer within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers and thicknesses within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the plurality of first vibration portions of the first vibration plate and the plurality of first vibration portions of the second vibration plate corresponding to the plurality of first vibration portions of the first vibration plate have different orientations, and
wherein the plurality of second vibration portions of the first vibration plate and the plurality of second vibration portions of the second vibration plate corresponding to the plurality of second vibration portions of the first vibration plate have different orientations,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Regarding claim 23, Azima discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 21.
Additionally, Azima discloses wherein the fillers of the different vibration plates can have a same or different orientations (¶ 0054, 0177 indicates fibres, lay, weave, or orientation of different layers can be different, meaning two layers can be different based on their fibres, lay, or weave while their orientation is the same) and different thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly (¶ 0054).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try any combination of number of layers within reason, with any combination of thicknesses decreasing or increasing inwardly in each layer within reason, with any combination of fibres, lay, weave, and orientation among the layers and thicknesses within reason, and
note that at least one of these combinations would result in:
wherein the plurality of first vibration portions of the first vibration plate and the plurality of first vibration portions of the third vibration plate corresponding to the plurality of first vibration portions of the first vibration plate have the same orientation, and
wherein the plurality of second vibration portions of the first vibration plate and the plurality of second vibration portions of the third vibration plate corresponding to the plurality of second vibration portions of the first vibration plate have the same orientation,
the motivation being to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable, solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to address the issue of how to configure the layers. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima in view of Shiraishi (US 2015/0153829).
Regarding claim 27, Azima discloses the apparatus of claim 26.
Azima is not relied upon to disclose wherein the enclosure comprises a plastic material and a filler, and the plastic material comprises fiber reinforced plastic.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shiraishi discloses wherein an enclosure (40) comprises a plastic material and a filler (fiber), and the plastic material comprises fiber reinforced plastic (¶ 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein the enclosure comprises a plastic material and a filler, and the plastic material comprises fiber reinforced plastic, the motivation being to make the enclosure have high strength and be lightweight (Shiraishi - ¶ 0026).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692