DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in US Publication 2007/0017646 in view of Kennedy et al in US Patent 1061547 and Halley in US Patent 8640420.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 10, and 11, Zhao teaches an outdoor shelter, comprising: a plurality of corner support members disposed at respective corners of the outdoor shelter, the plurality of corner support members comprising a first corner support member (A, see below) and a second corner support (C) member disposed at a first longitudinal end of the outdoor shelter, the plurality of corner support members further comprising a third corner support member (B) and a fourth corner support member (D) disposed at a second longitudinal end of the outdoor shelter; a plurality of peripheral beam members, a first one (E) of the plurality of peripheral beam members configured to extend in a longitudinal direction of the outdoor shelter between the first and third corner support members, a second one (H) of the plurality of peripheral beam members configured to extend in a transverse direction of the outdoor shelter between the first and second corner support members, a third one (G) of the plurality of peripheral beam members configured to extend in the longitudinal direction of the outdoor shelter between the second and fourth corner support members, a fourth one (J) of the plurality of peripheral beam members configured to extend in the transverse direction of the outdoor shelter between the third and fourth corner support members, the first one of the plurality of peripheral beam members being spaced apart from the third one of the plurality of peripheral beam members, and the second one of the plurality of peripheral beam members being spaced apart from the fourth one of the plurality of peripheral beam members; a plurality of upper beam members, at least one of the upper beam members (5) configured to be supported on top surfaces of the spaced-apart first and third ones of the plurality of peripheral beam members; and a shade member (4), the shade member disposed above at least one of the first and second ones of the plurality of peripheral beam members.
Zhao is silent on the use of curved peripheral beam members. Kennedy teaches am outdoor shelter including a first and a third peripheral beam member (7 on each outer side of the device) and second and fourth peripheral beam members (2 on each end of the device) wherein the first one of the plurality of peripheral beam members has a curved configuration such that a center portion of the first one of the plurality of peripheral beam members is disposed higher than end portions of the first one of the plurality of peripheral beam members and the third one of the plurality of peripheral beam members has a curved configuration such that a center portion of the third one of the plurality of peripheral beam members is disposed higher than end portions of the third one of the plurality of peripheral beam members. Kennedy further teaches a shade member (1) positioned atop the peripheral members the shade member being formed from a continuous fabric material, the shade member disposed above at least one of the first and second ones of the plurality of peripheral beam members, the shade member having a first side edge and (toward the leftmost peripheral beam) a second side edge (toward the rightmost peripheral beam), a first end edge (A, see below), a second end edge (B), the second side edge of the shade member being oppositely disposed relative to the first side edge of the shade member, and the second ends edge of the shade member being oppositely disposed relative to the first end edge of the shade member; wherein the first end portion of the at least one of the upper beam members is configured to protrude outwardly beyond the first side edge of the shade member, wherein each of the first end edge and the second end edge of the shade member is disposed beneath the bottom surface of the at least one of the upper beam members, the first end portion of the at least one of the upper beam members is configured to protrude outwardly beyond a side surface of the first one of the plurality of peripheral beam members, and the shade member is folded over the first one of the plurality of peripheral beam members at a first end of the outdoor shelter, and the shade member is folded over the second one of the plurality of peripheral beam members at a second end of the outdoor shelter (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral beam members of Zhao by using curved peripheral beam members as taught by Kennedy in order to increase the headroom under the shade member for the user.
Zhao, as modified, is silent on the attachment between the upper beams and the peripheral beams. Halley teaches an outdoor shelter, comprising: a plurality of corner support members (104) disposed at respective corners of the outdoor shelter, a plurality of peripheral beam members (106), a plurality of upper beam members (108), at least one of the upper beam members configured to be supported on top surfaces of the spaced-apart first (the leftmost peripheral beam) and third (the rightmost peripheral beam) ones of the plurality of peripheral beam members, the at least one of the upper beam members having a top surface and a bottom surface, the bottom surface of the at least one of the upper beam members being oppositely disposed relative to the top surface of the at least one of the upper beam members (see Fig. 8), and spaced-apart portions of the bottom surface of the at least one of the upper beam members configured to rest on the top surfaces of the spaced-apart first and third ones of the plurality of peripheral beam members (see Fig. 8), and the at least one of the upper beam members having a first end portion (the end of 152 at one end) and a second end portion (the end of 152 at the opposite end), the second end portion of the at least one of the upper beam members being oppositely disposed relative to the first end portion of the at least one of the upper beam members. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper beam members of Zhao, as modified, by using top-mounted upper beam members with overhangs as taught by Halley in order to provide a stable and structurally sound frame for the shelter.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhao, as modified, teaches a guide rail member (6) coupled to one of the plurality of corner support members.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as modified, as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Terrels in US Publication 2004/0025460. Zhao, as modified, is silent on the use of ground plates on the corner support members. Terrels teaches a ground stake plate (50) having at least one fastener aperture (54) and at least one ground stake aperture (51) formed therein, the at least one fastener aperture being disposed through a raised portion (52) of the ground stake plate, the at least one ground stake aperture being disposed closer to a periphery of the ground stake plate than the at least one fastener aperture, the at least one fastener aperture configured to receive a fastener member (26) for securing the ground stake plate to a bottom end of one of a plurality of corner support members (20), and the at least one ground stake aperture configured to receive a ground stake (55) for securing the one of the plurality of corner support members to the ground, further comprising at least one ground plate cover member (60) configured to be disposed over a peripheral portion of the at least one ground stake plate so as to at least partially conceal the peripheral portion of the at least one ground stake plate from view, the at least one ground plate cover member having a central aperture formed therethrough for accommodating a passage of the corner support member through the ground plate cover member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the corner supports of Zhao, as modified, by adding ground stake plates as taught by Terrels in order to securely affix the shelter to the ground on which it is erected.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as modified, as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Nelson in US Patent 2948288. Zhao, as modified, is silent on the use of a shade support pole. Nelson teaches a shade (14) and at least one shade support pole member (20) coupled to an end portion of the shade member of the outdoor shelter and that the end portion of the shade member is looped (at 18) so as to form a longitudinal cavity for receiving the at least one shade support pole member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhao, as modified, by adding a shade support pole as taught by Terrels in order to allow the user to easily move the shade between open and closed positions.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as modified, as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Geraud in CH 635393. Zhao, as modified, is silent on the structure of the peripheral beam member. Geraud teaches an outdoor shelter with a peripheral beam member (12) comprising a first longitudinal beam section (12) coupled to a second longitudinal beam (12/13) section by a longitudinal beam connector (25) member that is slidingly received within inner end portions of the first and second longitudinal beam sections (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhao, as modified, by using a two-part peripheral beam member as taught by Geraud in order to provide a more-compactly manufactured device, and to place the joint of the beam beneath an upper beam member in order to reinforce the device in a place of load.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Neither Zhao nor Halley are currently relied upon to teach the newly added features of the shade member. Kennedy clearly teaches all of the newly added features of the shade member and the applicant presents no arguments directed to the shade member of the Kennedy reference.
Conclusion
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636