DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pentney et al. (4422478).
Pentney et al. discloses a heat shrinkable wrap (2) comprising: a body comprising two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a first locking feature which expands along a first longitudinal edge of the two longitudinal edges and a second locking feature which expands along a second longitudinal edge of the two longitudinal edges; wherein the body comprises a heat shrink material; wherein the first locking feature at the first longitudinal edge comprises at least two first locking elements (5, 7) which expand along the first longitudinal edge and the second locking feature at the second longitudinal edge comprises at least two second locking elements (6, 8) which expand along the second longitudinal edge; wherein the first locking elements and the second locking elements are adapted for engaging with each other, for establishing, in an engaged state, at least two connections between the first locking feature and the second locking feature; wherein, when the connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature is established, the body and the locking features form a tubular structure; wherein each of the at least two first locking elements are in the shape of a hook, wherein the hooks of the at least two first locking elements point in different directions (i.e., opposite directions, see the annotated Figure above) (re-claim 1).
Pentney et al. also discloses that the first and second locking features are adapted for establishing a formfitting connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature, the formfitting connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature comprising the at least two connections between the first locking elements and second locking elements in the engaged state (re-claim 2); the first and second locking features are adapted for establishing a force fitting connection (col. 5, lines 22-25 and lines 53-54) between the first locking feature and the second locking feature, the forcefitting connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature comprising the at least two connections between the first locking elements and second locking elements in the engaged state (re-claim 3); the first and second locking features are provided at an inside surface of the body of the heat shrinkable wrap when the locking features are connected and the heat shrinkable wrap forms a tubular structure (Fig. 2) (re-claim 5); and the locking features are made of thermoplastic material (col. 3 lines 30-40) (re-claim 7).
Re-claim 10, it has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, gluing, welding, or co-extruding, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Re-claim 11, Pentney et al. discloses the heat shrinkable wrap comprising a flame-retardant material (col. 3, lines 46-50).
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winterhoff (4714280).
Winterhoff discloses a heat shrinkable wrap (1) comprising: a body comprising two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a first locking feature which expands along a first longitudinal edge of the two longitudinal edges and a second locking feature which expands along a second longitudinal edge of the two longitudinal edges; wherein the body comprises a heat shrink material; wherein the first locking feature at the first longitudinal edge comprises at least two first locking elements which expand along the first longitudinal edge and the second locking feature at the second longitudinal edge comprises at least two second locking elements which expand along the second longitudinal edge; wherein the first locking elements and the second locking elements are adapted for engaging with each other, for establishing, in an engaged state, at least two connections between the first locking feature and the second locking feature; wherein, when the connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature is established, the body and the locking features form a tubular structure; wherein each of the at least two first locking elements are in the shape of a hook, wherein the hooks of the at least two first locking elements point in different directions (i.e., opposite directions, see the annotated Figure above) (re-claim 1). Winterhoff also discloses that the first and second locking features are adapted for establishing a formfitting connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature, the formfitting connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature comprising the at least two connections between the first locking elements and second locking elements in the engaged state (re-claim 2); the first and second locking features are provided at an inside surface of the body of the heat shrinkable wrap when the locking features are connected and the heat shrinkable wrap forms a tubular structure (Fig. 7) (re-claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (10697577) in view of Pentney et al.
Fukuda discloses a wrap (10) comprising a body comprising two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a first locking feature (12) which expands along a first longitudinal edge of the two longitudinal edges and a second locking feature (11) which expands along a second longitudinal edge of the two longitudinal edges; wherein the first locking feature at the first longitudinal edge comprises at least two first locking elements (12d1 12d2) which expand along the first longitudinal edge and the second locking feature at the second longitudinal edge comprises at least two second locking elements (11c1 11c2) which expand along the second longitudinal edge; wherein the first locking elements and the second locking elements are adapted for engaging with each other, for establishing, in an engaged state, at least two connections between the first locking feature and the second locking feature; wherein, when the connection between the first locking feature and the second locking feature is established, the body and the locking features form a tubular structure; wherein each of the at least two first locking elements (12d1 12d2) are in the shape of a hook, wherein the hooks of the at least two first locking elements point in different directions (i.e., opposite directions, see the annotated Figure above) (re-claim 1). Fukuda also discloses that the first locking elements and the second locking elements comprise multiple teeth (12d1 12d2) and edges (11c1 11c2) formed in the first locking feature and the second locking feature to interlock with each other (re-claim 4).
Fukuda discloses the body of the wrap formed of a soft synthetic resin but not a heat shrink material (re-claim 1).
Pentney et al. discloses a heat shrinkable wrap comprising a body comprised of a heat shrink material.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use heat shrink material for the body of the wrap of Fukuda to meet the specific use of the resulting wrap since heat shrink material is known in the art for being used as wraps or covers as taught by Pentney et al.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pentney et al. in view of Trace et al. (2008/0314470).
Pentney et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the thermoplastic material having a softening temperature of 140°C. Trace et al. discloses a tubular structure comprising a thermoplastic material which has a softening temperature of 140°C ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a thermoplastic material having a softening temperature of 140°C as taught by Trace et al. for the thermoplastic material of Pentney et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting wrap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Pentney does not disclose a heat shrinkable wrap with a body comprised of a heat shrink material which has at least two first locking elements being in the shape of a hook, wherein the hooks point in different directions. Examiner would disagree because Pentney does teach a heat shrinkable wrap with a body (2) comprised of a heat shrink material (col. 5 line 10, heat-shrinkable cover 2), see the above annotated Figure showing the features of the two first locking elements pointing different (opposite) directions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841