DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 06 August 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-18 were previously pending; claim 18 was canceled and claims 19-21 were added by the amendment; and thus, claims 1-17 and 19-21 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 06 August 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (pages 9-11 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of claim 1, that Li does not disclose the amended limitation reciting both the first and second holes being “formed through the cylindrical wall”. However, while Li does not disclose this feature, the Takenaka reference, previously applied only to claims 4-7 and 12, does. Thus, the amendment does not place the claims in condition for allowance but instead simply necessitates new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Applicant’s second argument (pages 11-12 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, that none of the secondary references disclose the amended limitation of claim 1 discussed above. No explanation or evidence is provided in support of this allegation. As stated above, Takenaka discloses a first hole [h1] and a second hole [h2a] both located on a cylindrical wall of the first annular member [1b] (fig. 1-4, annotated below).
The Applicant’s third argument (page 12 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claim 17, that Takenaka does not disclose the claimed coil densities because “this finding cannot properly be established from Takenaka’s schematic illustration”. However, the argument’s attempt at undermining the disclosure of Takenaka by erroneously referring to the figure as a “schematic illustration” is not persuasive. Figure 2 of Takenaka shows “a partially enlarged view of the rotary electric machine” (¶ 0037), not a schematic view, and Takenaka does clearly disclose the coil ends being more tightly packed closer to the stator core and less tightly packed further from the stator core (fig. 1-2). Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and the previous grounds of rejection in view of Takenaka are maintained.
The Applicant’s fourth argument (pages 12-13 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claim 17, that Kikuchi does not disclose the first and second holes being disposed at different axial positions. This argument is unpersuasive because Li (fig. 2; ¶ 0076-0078) discloses this feature, not Kikuchi. In response to the Applicant's argument against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2023/197136 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Li”, in view of Takenaka et al. (US 2010/0045125 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Takenaka”.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a motor [200] (fig. 2-6; ¶ 0075) comprising:
a rotor (fig. 2; ¶ 0069, 0147; mounted on rotor shaft [70]);
a stator [30,40] comprising a stator core [30] and a coil [40] (fig. 2; ¶ 0075);
a housing [20] that houses the rotor and the stator [30,40] (fig. 2; ¶ 0092);
a first annular member [100] that provides a seal between a first end face [left] of the stator core [30] in an axial direction of the stator core [30] and an inner wall surface of the housing [20] (fig. 2-6; ¶ 0075-0076, 0148); and
a first channel [31] that is disposed along an outer circumferential surface of the stator core [30] and configured to allow refrigerant to flow in the first channel [31], wherein the first channel [31] has a supply port [21] for the refrigerant located on the outer circumferential surface and a first opening [31a] located at the first end face [left], and the first channel [31] extends from the supply port [21] up to the first opening [31a] in the axial direction (fig. 2; ¶ fig. 2; ¶ 0103-0104),
wherein the first annular member [100] has a cylindrical shape about an axis of the stator core [30] (fig. 1-6; ¶ 0076, “annular body 10”),
the first annular member [100] comprises at least one first hole [16] and at least one second hole [15] through which the refrigerant is injected toward a first coil end [40a] of the coil [40] protruding from the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2; ¶ 0076),
the first annular member [100] includes a cylindrical wall [11] extending about the axis and surrounding the first coil end [40a] (fig. 3; ¶ 0082),
the at least one first hole [16] is located on a first plane perpendicular to the axis (fig. 2; ¶ 0078),
the at least one second hole [15] is located on a second plane that is perpendicular to the axis and spaced apart from the first plane in the axial direction (fig. 2; ¶ 0076-0078),
a space [50] is defined between the first annular member [100] and the inner wall surface of the housing [20] (fig. 2; ¶ 0095-0096),
the first opening [31a] of the first channel [31] is configured to discharge the refrigerant into the space [50] (fig. 2; ¶ 0109, the flow of the cooling medium is shown by the arrows through spaces 60, 31, and 50),
the space [50] is configured to be filled with the refrigerant (fig. 2; ¶ 0109), and
the refrigerant in the space [50] is injected through the at least one first hole [16] and through the at least one second hole [15] toward the first coil end [40a] (fig. 2; ¶ 0131-0134).
Li does not disclose that the at least one first hole [16] and the at least one second hole [15] are both formed through the cylindrical wall [11].
Takenaka discloses a motor [M] comprising a rotor [R] and a stator [S], with a first annular member [1b] having at least one first hole [h1] and at least one second hole [h2a,h2b] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0040-0044, 0048-0051, 0057-0058), wherein the first annular member [1b] includes a cylindrical wall [20] extending about the axis and surrounding the first coil end [CE], and the at least one first hole [h1] and the at least one second hole [h2a] are both formed through the cylindrical wall [20] (fig. 2-3; 0048-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first annular member of Li having both first and second holes formed on the cylindrical wall as taught by Takenaka, in order to effectively cool the entire outer peripheral surface of the coil end (¶ 0057-0058 of Takenaka) thereby improving the cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] is greater than a distance from the first plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2, 6; the first hole [16] on the first plane is closer to the stator core [30] than the second hole [15] on the second plane), and
a number of the at least one first hole [16] is greater than a number of the at least one second hole [15] (fig. 3-6; the figures show a total of 44 first holes [16] and 32 second holes [15]).
Regarding claim 3, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the at least one first hole [16] comprises a plurality of first holes [16] disposed over an entirety of a circumference of the first annular member [100] (fig. 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 3, as stated above. Li does not disclose that the at least one second hole [15] is disposed only in a first section of the circumference of the first annular member [100].
Takenaka further discloses that the at least one second hole [h2b] is disposed only in a first section of the circumference of the first annular member [1b] (fig. 4A; ¶ 0062-0064; the axial second holes are disposed over a portion of the circumference excluding the portion occupied by the “outlet port 71”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first annular member of Li having an outlet port where the second holes are not provided as taught by Takenaka, in order to allow for circulation of the cooling medium to an external cooler (¶ 0063 of Takenaka) thereby improving the cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 4, as stated above, wherein Takenaka further discloses that the first section of the circumference of the first annular member [1b] is located below a horizontal plane passing through the axis (fig. 4A; the "first section", i.e. the axial surface excluding the area of "outlet port 71", is located both above and below the center of the annular member).
Regarding claim 6, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 4, as stated above, wherein Takenaka further discloses that the first section of the circumference of the first annular member [1b] is located above a horizontal plane passing through the axis (fig. 4A; the "first section", i.e. the axial surface excluding the area of "outlet port 71", is located both above and below the center of the annular member).
Regarding claim 7, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2] to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2, 6).
Li does not disclose that a number of the at least one first hole [16] is smaller than a number of the at least one second hole [15].
Takenaka further discloses that a distance from the second plane [p2b] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled "p2a" and "p2b", are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]), and
a number of the at least one first hole [h1] is smaller than a number of the at least one second hole [h2b] (fig. 2, 4A; four axial-side second holes are shown for each of the radial-side first holes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first annular member of Li having a larger number of second holes as taught by Takenaka, since Takenaka teaches that cooling efficiency deteriorates when fewer holes are provided (¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 10, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein each of the at least one first hole [16] is located at a different position from any of the at least one second hole [15] in a circumferential direction of the first annular member [100] (fig. 3, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 10, as stated above, wherein the at least one first hole [16] comprises a plurality of first holes [16], the at least one second hole [15] comprises a plurality of second holes [15] (fig. 3-6), and
the first holes [16] and the second holes [15] are arranged alternately along the circumferential direction of the first annular member [100] (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above. Li does not disclose that each of the at least one second hole [15] is aligned with a corresponding one of the at least one first hole [16] in a circumferential direction of the first annular member [100].
Takenaka further discloses that each of the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] is aligned with a corresponding one of the at least one first hole [h1] in a circumferential direction of the first annular member [1b] (fig. 2, 4A; each of the radial- and axial-side second holes is circumferentially aligned with a first hole).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first annular member of Li having aligned first and second holes, by increasing the number of second holes to match the number of first holes, as taught by Takenaka, since Takenaka teaches that cooling efficiency deteriorates when fewer holes are provided (¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 13, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein an angle between an axis of each of the at least one second hole [15] and the second plane is different from an angle between an axis of each of the at least one first hole [16] and the first plane (fig. 6; the axes [a1] of the first holes [16] are parallel to the first plane [p1], while the axes [a2] of the second holes [15] are perpendicular to the second plane [p2]).
Regarding claim 14, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2] to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2, 6), and
an axis [a2] of each of the at least one second hole [15] is inclined toward the first plane [p1] (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the motor [200] further comprises a second annular member [100b] that provides a seal between a second end face [right] of the stator core [30] and the inner wall surface of the housing [20] (fig. 2-6; ¶ 0075-0076, 0148), the second end face [right] being opposite to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] in the axial direction (fig. 2),
the second annular member [100b] has a cylindrical shape about the axis of the stator core [30] (fig. 1-6; ¶ 0076, “annular body 10”),
the second annular member [100b] comprises at least one third hole [16b,15b] through which the refrigerant is injected toward a second coil end [40b] of the coil [40] protruding from the second end face [right] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2; ¶ 0076), and
each of the at least one third hole [16b,15b] is located on a third plane perpendicular to the axis (fig. 2, 6; the hole(s) of the second annular member are spaced from the stator core in the same, but opposite, arrangement as the holes of the first annular member).
Regarding claim 19, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein Takenaka further discloses that an axis of each of the at least one first hole [h1] is parallel to the first plane, and an axis of each of the at least one second hole [h2a] is parallel to the second plane (fig. 2-3; 0048-0051).
Regarding claim 20, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein Li discloses that an axis of each of the at least one second hole [15] is inclined with respect to a normal to the inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical wall [11] at the respective second hole [15] (fig. 2; ¶ 0076).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Takenaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kikuchi et al. (US 2014/0217842 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kikuchi”.
Regarding claim 8, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] is greater than a distance from the first plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2, 6; the first hole [16] on the first plane is closer to the stator core [30] than the second hole [15] on the second plane).
Li does not disclose that an opening area of the at least one first hole [16] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [15].
Kikuchi discloses a motor comprising a stator [1] with a core [110] and coils [14], the coils [14] cooled by coolant sprayed from first and second holes [204a/b] (fig. 1, 6; ¶ 0033-0035), wherein an opening area of the at least one first hole [204a] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [204b] (fig. 6-7; 1 0047-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first holes of Li having a larger opening area than the second holes, as taught by Kikuchi, in order to adjust the flow rates of the coolant to provide uniform cooling of the stator windings, thereby enhancing the cooling effect which makes possible a reduction in size and increase in output density (¶ 0012-0014 of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 9, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] is greater than a distance from the first plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2, 6; the first hole [16] on the first plane is closer to the stator core [30] than the second hole [15] on the second plane).
Li does not disclose that an opening area of the at least one first hole [16] is smaller than an opening area of the at least one second hole [15].
Kikuchi discloses a motor comprising a stator [1] with a core [110] and coils [14], the coils [14] cooled by coolant sprayed from first and second holes [204b/a] (fig. 1, 6; ¶ 0033-0035), wherein an opening area of the at least one first hole [204b] is smaller than an opening area of the at least one second hole [204a] (fig. 6-7; T 0047-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first holes of Li having a smaller opening area than the second holes, as taught by Kikuchi, in order to adjust the flow rates of the coolant to provide uniform cooling of the stator windings, thereby enhancing the cooling effect which makes possible a reduction in size and increase in output density (¶ 0012-0014 of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 17, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] is greater than a distance from the first plane to the first end face [left] of the stator core [30] (fig. 2, 6; the first hole [16] on the first plane is closer to the stator core [30] than the second hole [15] on the second plane).
Li does not disclose that a coil density of the first coil end [40a] at the second plane [p2] is smaller than a coil density of the first coil end [40a] at the first plane [p1], and an opening area of the at least one first hole is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole.
Takenaka further discloses that a coil [C,CE] density of the first coil end [CE] at the second plane [p2a/p2b] is smaller than a coil [C,CE] density of the first coil end [CE] at the first plane [p1] (fig. 1; the coil ends are shown being more tightly packed closer to the stator core and less tightly packed further from the stator core).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the coil ends of Li having a lower coil density at the second plane as taught by Takenaka, in order to allow for increased flow of the cooling medium thereby improving cooling efficiency.
Li, in view of Takenaka, still does not disclose that an opening area of the at least one first hole [h1] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [h2].
Kikuchi discloses a motor comprising a stator [1] with a core [110] and coils [14], the coils [14] cooled by coolant sprayed from first and second holes [204a/b] (fig. 1, 6; ¶ 0033-0035), wherein an opening area of the at least one first hole [204a] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [204b] (fig. 6-7; ¶ 0047-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first holes of Li having a larger opening area than the second holes, as taught by Kikuchi, in order to adjust the flow rates of the coolant to provide uniform cooling of the stator windings, thereby enhancing the cooling effect which makes possible a reduction in size and increase in output density (¶ 0012-0014 of Kikuchi).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Takenaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lepres et al. (US 2013/0076167 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Lepres”.
Regarding claim 15, Li, in view of Takenaka, discloses the motor [200] according to claim 1, as stated above.
Li does not disclose that the coil [40] comprises a plurality of segment coils, outer surfaces of the segment coils being coated with insulating films, at the first coil end, ends of the plurality of segment coils are each exposed from the insulating films, and each pair of segment coils comprises a welded portion where the ends of the segment coils are welded to each other.
Lepres discloses a motor [14] comprising a stator [26] comprising a stator core [28] and a coil [34] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0030-0031), wherein said coil [34] comprises a plurality of segment coils [44], outer surfaces of the segment coils [44] being coated with insulating films [54] (fig. 6; ¶ 0035-0036, 0038),
at the first coil end [58], ends of the plurality of segment coils [44] are each exposed from the insulating films [54] (fig. 6; ¶ 0040), and
each pair of segment coils [44] comprises a welded portion [60] where the ends of the segment coils [44] are welded to each other (fig. 6; ¶ 0039-0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the coil of Li as welded segment coils as taught by Lepres, in order to secure the coils with sufficient spaces in between adjacent end windings (fig. 3 of Lepres) thereby allowing coolant to reach both the outer and inner surfaces of the conductors which improves the cooling effect (¶ 0021 of Takenaka).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Pu et al. (US 2023/0116766 A1) discloses a motor comprising a rotor and a stator, with nozzles for spraying a coolant on the stator end windings.
Takahashi (US 2014/0292119 A1) discloses a motor comprising a rotor and a stator, wherein the coil comprises a plurality of segment coils, outer surfaces of the segment coils being coated with insulating films, at the first coil end, ends of the plurality of segment coils are each exposed from the insulating films, and each pair of segment coils comprises a welded portion where the ends of the segment coils are welded to each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834