DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 13 November 2025. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-16 were previously pending; claim 17 was added by the amendment; and thus, claims 1-17 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 13 November 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (page 10 of the Remarks) alleges that the Takenaka, Kikuchi, Dong, and Lepres references do not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1, relating to the first channel. However, no explanation or evidence is provided in support of this allegation, as the argument does not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because it does not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. While it is acknowledged that Takenaka does not disclose a first channel as recited, Dong clearly discloses a first channel on an outer circumferential surface of the stator as recited. Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and new grounds of rejection have been made over Takenaka in view of Dong.
The Applicant’s second argument (page 11 of the Remarks) alleges that new claim 17 is not disclosed by any of the cited references. Again, no explanation or evidence is provided in support of this allegation. The argument alleges that Kikuchi does not disclose adjusting the holes in the axial direction, but this limitation is not present in the claim. Also, two of the three limitations of claim 17 (lines 4-7) were previously rejected by the previously cited references, but these rejections are not addressed in any way by the argument. The remaining limitation of claim 17 (lines 1-3) is clearly shown in figure 1 of Takenaka. Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and the previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 03 December 2025 was/were filed after mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka et al. (US 2010/0045125 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Takenaka”, in view of Dong et al. (CN 115276302 A), hereinafter referred to as “Dong”.
Regarding claim 1, Takenaka discloses a motor [M] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0040) comprising:
a rotor [R] (fig. 1; ¶ 0040-0041);
a stator [S] comprising a stator core [SC] and a coil [C,CE] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0044);
a housing [MC1,MC2] that houses the rotor [R] and the stator [S] (fig. 1; ¶ 0040);
a first annular member [1b] that provides a seal between a first end face of the stator core [SC] in an axial direction of the stator core [SC] and an inner wall surface of the housing [MC1,MC2] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0048, 0057-0058; as disclosed in the present application, the annular member of Takenaka covers the axial end of the stator, extending from the inner radial surface of the housing to an inner radial position having a gap for cooling fluid to pass through); and
wherein the first annular member [1b] has a cylindrical shape about an axis of the stator core [SC] (fig. 3-4; ¶ 0064),
the first annular member [1b] comprises at least one first hole [h1] and at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] through which refrigerant is injected toward a first coil end [CE] of the coil [C] protruding from the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 2, 4; ¶ 0049-0051, 0064; the holes [ih] closer to the stator comprise the “first” holes while the holes [ih] farther from the stator comprise the “second” holes),
the at least one first hole [h1] is located on a first plane [p1] perpendicular to the axis (fig. 1-2; each first hole is located on a radial plane, labelled “p1”), and
the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] is located on a second plane [p2a/p2b] that is perpendicular to the axis and spaced apart from the first plane [p1] in the axial direction (fig. 1-2; ether holes, h2a or h2b, located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1], are equivalent to the second hole as recited).
Takenaka does not disclose a first channel that is disposed along an outer circumferential surface of the stator core and configured to allow refrigerant to flow in the first channel, wherein the first channel has a supply port for the refrigerant located on the outer circumferential surface and a first opening located at the first end face, and the first channel extends from the supply port up to the first opening in the axial direction,
Dong discloses a motor comprising a stator [50] with end windings [51] cooled by a coolant sprayed from a plurality of first and second holes [71] (fig. 1, 6-8; ¶ 0037-0038), and a first channel [30b] that is disposed along an outer circumferential surface of the stator core [50] and configured to allow refrigerant to flow in the first channel [30b],
wherein the first channel [30b] has a supply port [70s] for the refrigerant located on the outer circumferential surface and a first opening [70] located at the first end face, and the first channel [30b] extends from the supply port [70s] up to the first opening [70] in the axial direction (fig. 1, 3; ¶ 0037-0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the stator of Takenaka having a first channel on its outer circumferential surface as taught by Dong, in order to lower the temperature of the cooling fluid entering the stator thereby allowing it to absorb more heat and improve motor cooling (¶ 0020 of Dong).
Regarding claim 2, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]), and
a number of the at least one first hole [h1] is greater than a number of the at least one second hole [h2a] (fig. 2, 4A; four first holes are shown for each of the radial-side second holes).
Regarding claim 3, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the at least one first hole [h1] comprises a plurality of first holes [h1] disposed over an entirety of a circumference of the first annular member [1b] (fig. 4A; ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 4, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 3, as stated above, wherein the at least one second hole [h2b] is disposed only in a first section of the circumference of the first annular member [1b] (fig. 4A; ¶ 0064; the axial second holes are disposed over a portion of the circumference excluding the portion occupied by the “outlet port 71”).
Regarding claim 5, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 4, as stated above, wherein the first section of the circumference of the first annular member [1b] is located below a horizontal plane passing through the axis (fig. 4A; the “first section”, i.e. the axial surface excluding the area of “outlet port 71”, is located both above and below the center of the annular member).
Regarding claim 6, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 4, as stated above, wherein the first section of the circumference of the first annular member [1b] is located above a horizontal plane passing through the axis (fig. 4A; the “first section”, i.e. the axial surface excluding the area of “outlet port 71”, is located both above and below the center of the annular member).
Regarding claim 7, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2b] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]), and
a number of the at least one first hole [h1] is smaller than a number of the at least one second hole [h2b] (fig. 2, 4A; four axial-side second holes are shown for each of the radial-side first holes).
Regarding claim 12, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein each of the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] is aligned with a corresponding one of the at least one first hole [h1] in a circumferential direction of the first annular member [1b] (fig. 2, 4A; each of the radial- and axial-side second holes is circumferentially aligned with a first hole).
Regarding claim 14, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2a/p2b] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]).
Takenaka does not disclose that an axis of each of the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] is inclined toward the first plane [p1].
Dong further discloses a motor comprising a stator [50] with end windings [51] cooled by a coolant sprayed from a plurality of first and second holes [71] (fig. 1, 6-8; ¶ 0037-0038), wherein an axis [a2] of each of the at least one second hole [71b] is inclined toward the first plane [p1] (fig. 6-8; ¶ 0011; both nozzles are inclined at an angle “β” away from their respective radial plane, thus each hole has an axis that intersects the radial plane of the other hole).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the holes of Takenaka oriented at an inclined angle relative to their radial plane as taught by Dong, in order to overlap their respective spray patterns and provide additional coolant where needed, thereby preventing hot spots and allowing the end windings to be maintained at a uniform temperature.
Regarding claim 16, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor [M] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the motor [M] further comprises a second annular member [1a] that provides a seal between a second end face of the stator core [SC] and the inner wall surface of the housing [MC1,MC2] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0048, 0057-0058; as disclosed in the present application, the annular member of Takenaka covers the axial end of the stator, extending from the inner radial surface of the housing to an inner radial position having a gap for cooling fluid to pass through), the second end face being opposite to the first end face of the stator core [SC] in the axial direction (fig. 1; ¶ 0057),
the second annular member [1a] has a cylindrical shape about the axis of the stator core[SC] (fig. 3-4; ¶ 0064),
the second annular member [1a] comprises at least one third hole [h1] through which the refrigerant is injected toward a second coil end [CE] of the coil [C] protruding from the second end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 2, 4; ¶ 0049-0051, 0064; the holes [ih] closer to the stator comprise the “third” holes while the holes [ih] farther from the stator would comprise “fourth” holes), and
each of the at least one third hole [h1] is located on a third plane [p1] perpendicular to the axis (fig. 1-2; each third hole is located on a radial plane, labelled “p1”).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka and Dong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kikuchi et al. (US 2014/0217842 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kikuchi”.
Regarding claim 8, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2a/p2b] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]).
Takenaka does not disclose that an opening area of the at least one first hole [h1] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [h2].
Kikuchi discloses a motor comprising a stator [1] with a core [110] and coils [14], the coils [14] cooled by coolant sprayed from first and second holes [204a/b] (fig. 1, 6; ¶ 0033-0035), wherein an opening area of the at least one first hole [204a] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [204b] (fig. 6-7; ¶ 0047-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first holes of Takenaka having a larger opening area than the second holes, as taught by Kikuchi, in order to adjust the flow rates of the coolant to provide uniform cooling of the stator windings, thereby enhancing the cooling effect which makes possible a reduction in size and increase in output density (¶ 0012-0014 of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 9, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a distance from the second plane [p2a/p2b] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]).
Takenaka does not disclose that an opening area of the at least one first hole [h1] is smaller than an opening area of the at least one second hole [h2].
Kikuchi discloses a motor comprising a stator [1] with a core [110] and coils [14], the coils [14] cooled by coolant sprayed from first and second holes [204b/a] (fig. 1, 6; ¶ 0033-0035), wherein an opening area of the at least one first hole [204b] is smaller than an opening area of the at least one second hole [204a] (fig. 6-7; ¶ 0047-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first holes of Takenaka having a smaller opening area than the second holes, as taught by Kikuchi, in order to adjust the flow rates of the coolant to provide uniform cooling of the stator windings, thereby enhancing the cooling effect which makes possible a reduction in size and increase in output density (¶ 0012-0014 of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 17, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a coil [C,CE] density of the first coil end [CE] at the second plane [p2a/p2b] is smaller than a coil [C,CE] density of the first coil end [CE] at the first plane [p1] (fig. 1; the coil ends are shown being more tightly packed closer to the stator core and less tightly packed further from the stator core),
a distance from the second plane [p2a/p2b] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] is greater than a distance from the first plane [p1] to the first end face of the stator core [SC] (fig. 1-2; the holes located on either one of the other radial planes, labelled “p2a” and “p2b”, are located farther from the stator core [SC] than the first plane [p1]).
Takenaka does not disclose that an opening area of the at least one first hole [h1] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [h2].
Kikuchi discloses a motor comprising a stator [1] with a core [110] and coils [14], the coils [14] cooled by coolant sprayed from first and second holes [204a/b] (fig. 1, 6; ¶ 0033-0035), wherein an opening area of the at least one first hole [204a] is larger than an opening area of the at least one second hole [204b] (fig. 6-7; ¶ 0047-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first holes of Takenaka having a larger opening area than the second holes, as taught by Kikuchi, in order to adjust the flow rates of the coolant to provide uniform cooling of the stator windings, thereby enhancing the cooling effect which makes possible a reduction in size and increase in output density (¶ 0012-0014 of Kikuchi).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka and Dong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hake (US 2023/0421017 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Hake”.
Regarding claim 10, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above.
Takenaka does not disclose that each of the at least one first hole [h1] is located at a different position from any of the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] in a circumferential direction of the first annular member [1b].
Hake discloses a motor [102] comprising a stator [146] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023) cooled by a coolant sprayed from a plurality of first and second holes [193] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0049-0050), wherein each of the at least one first hole [193a] is located at a different position from any of the at least one second hole [193b] in a circumferential direction of the first annular member [176] (fig. 4; ¶ 0049-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the first and second holes of Takenaka circumferentially offset from one another as taught by Hake, in order to better cover the entire surface of the end windings thereby effectively removing heat from the motor and improving efficiency (¶ 0018, 0050 of Hake).
Regarding claim 11, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 10, as stated above, wherein the at least one first hole [h1] comprises a plurality of first holes [h1] and the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] comprises a plurality of second holes [h2a/h2b] (fig. 2, 4; ¶ 0049-0051, 0064).
Takenaka does not disclose that the first holes [h1] and the second holes [h2a/h2b] are arranged alternately along the circumferential direction of the first annular member.
Hake discloses a motor [102] comprising a stator [146] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023) cooled by a coolant sprayed from a plurality of first and second holes [193] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0049-0050), wherein the first holes [193a] and the second holes [193b] are arranged alternately along the circumferential direction of the first annular member [176] (fig. 4; ¶ 0049-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the first and second holes of Takenaka circumferentially offset from one another as taught by Hake, in order to better cover the entire surface of the end windings thereby effectively removing heat from the motor and improving efficiency (¶ 0018, 0050 of Hake).
Regarding claim 13, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above.
Takenaka does not disclose that an angle between an axis of each of the at least one second hole [h2a/h2b] and the second plane [p2a/p2b] is different from an angle between an axis of each of the at least one first hole [h1] and the first plane [p1] (fig. 1-4; the circular holes, having only an axial axis, are aligned with their respective radial plane).
Hake discloses a motor [102] comprising a stator [146] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023) cooled by a coolant sprayed from a plurality of first and second holes [193] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0049-0050), wherein an angle between an axis of each of the at least one second hole [193b] and the second plane is different from an angle between an axis of each of the at least one first hole [193a] and the first plane (fig. 4; each hole is oval-shaped with a major axis defined along its length through its center; the major axis of each first hole [193a] is oriented axially, perpendicular to its radial plane, while the major axis of each second hole [193b] is oriented circumferentially, parallel to its radial plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first and second holes of Takenaka with oval shapes oriented at different angles as taught by Hake, in order to provide a desired spray profile, thereby better covering the entire surface of the end windings, effectively removing heat from the motor, and improving efficiency (¶ 0050-0051 of Hake).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka and Dong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lepres et al. (US 2013/0076167 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Lepres”.
Regarding claim 15, Takenaka, in view of Dong, discloses the motor according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the coil [C,CE] comprises a plurality of segment coils [C], outer surfaces [CE] of the segment coils [C] being coated with insulating films (fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0045).
Takenaka does not disclose that, at the first coil end, ends of the plurality of segment coils are each exposed from the insulating films, and each pair of segment coils comprises a welded portion where the ends of the segment coils are welded to each other.
Lepres discloses a motor [14] comprising a stator [26] comprising a stator core [28] and a coil [34] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0030-0031), wherein said coil [34] comprises a plurality of segment coils [44], outer surfaces of the segment coils [44] being coated with insulating films [54] (fig. 6; ¶ 0035-0036, 0038),
at the first coil end [58], ends of the plurality of segment coils [44] are each exposed from the insulating films [54] (fig. 6; ¶ 0040), and
each pair of segment coils [44] comprises a welded portion [60] where the ends of the segment coils [44] are welded to each other (fig. 6; ¶ 0039-0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the coil of Takenaka as welded segment coils as taught by Lepres, in order to secure the coils with sufficient spaces in between adjacent end windings (fig. 3 of Lepres) thereby allowing coolant to reach both the outer and inner surfaces of the conductors which improves the cooling effect (¶ 0021 of Takenaka).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Pu et al. (US 2023/0116766 A1) discloses a motor comprising a rotor and a stator, with nozzles for spraying a coolant on the stator end windings.
Takahashi (US 2014/0292119 A1) discloses a motor comprising a rotor and a stator, wherein the coil comprises a plurality of segment coils, outer surfaces of the segment coils being coated with insulating films, at the first coil end, ends of the plurality of segment coils are each exposed from the insulating films, and each pair of segment coils comprises a welded portion where the ends of the segment coils are welded to each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834