DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are canceled. Claims 19 and 20 are pending where no claims have been amended.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims have been maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0169705 A1 to Knustad.
Regarding claims 19-20, Knustad discloses a treatment alloy for treating a base metal to produce compacted graphite iron overlapping the instantly claimed composition range as follows (Knustad, abstract, para [0018]):
Element
Claimed wt%
Knustad wt%
Overlaps?
La
7-30
0-10
Yes
Si
40-50
40-80
Yes
Ca
0.5-3
0.1-10
Yes
Al
0.5-3
0-5
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Knustad including the instantly claimed because Knustad discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding the limitations “consisting of” and “wherein [sic] the treatment alloy contains no magnesium,” the alloy of Knustad need not comprise any elements not recited above, and specifically does not disclose or suggest adding Mg to the treatment alloy of Knustad.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Knustad is directed to an inoculant and thus does not disclose the instantly claimed limitation of “treatment alloy for treating a base metal to produce compacted graphite iron.” This is not found persuasive because Knustad is used for inoculating a base metal to produce compacted graphite iron, and inoculating is a type of treatment, and the inoculation of Knustad is done to produce compacted graphite iron. Thus, Knustad is directed to a “treatment alloy for treating a base metal to produce compacted graphite iron. Additionally, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Knustad could be used as a “treatment alloy for treating a base metal to produce compacted graphite iron.”
Applicant argues that Knustad describes a two stage framework involving magnesium for producing compacted graphite iron whereas the instant specification is directed to a process for directly controlling graphite morphology without magnesium. This is not found persuasive because the instant claims are directed to an alloy, not a method of using the alloy.
Applicant argues that the overlapping ranges of Knustad are not disclosed as ranges for a magnesium-free treatment alloy. This is not found persuasive because the Mg-free alloy of Knustad is used for inoculating a base metal to produce compacted graphite iron, and inoculating is a type of treatment, and the inoculation of Knustad is done to produce compacted graphite iron. Thus, the Mg-free alloy Knustad is directed to a “magnesium-free treatment alloy.”
Applicant argues that Knustad cannot reasonable be used to satisfy a claim that is directed to a treatment alloy containing no magnesium in the context of a magnesium-free CGI formation strategy. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the magnesium free alloy is in the context of a magnesium-free CGI formation strategy) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Knustad does not teach the same utility throughout the claimed ranges. This is not found persuasive because Knustad teaches uniform utility as a treatment alloy for producing compact graphite iron throughout the disclosed ranges of Knustad.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738