DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 20, 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed November 20, 2023 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed November 20, 2023 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed November 20, 2023 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schubert et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0064132).
With respect to claim 1, Schubert et al. discloses a laser-level and measuring device comprising a body (100) comprised of a first horizontal opening (left side 315 B), a first vertical opening (top end 315 C), a second vertical opening (bottom end 315A), and a display (See paragraphs [0075] and [0099]); a first laser (315B) positioned within the first horizontal opening (Figure 3a); a second laser (315C) positioned within the first vertical opening (Figure 3a); and a third laser (315A) positioned within the second vertical opening (Figure 3a).
Referring to claim 2, Schubert et al. sets forth a laser-level and measuring device wherein the direction of the second laser (315C) opposes the direction of the third laser (315A).
In regards to claim 3, Schubert et al. teaches a laser-level and measuring device wherein the first laser (315B) is positioned perpendicular to the second laser (315C) and the third laser (315A).
Regarding claim 4, Schubert et al. shows a laser-level and measuring device wherein the display shows a distance measured by the first laser, the second laser, or the third laser (Paragraphs [0096] and [0099]).
With regards to claim 5, Schubert et al. discloses a laser-level and measuring device wherein the first laser (315B) emits a first laser beam (320B).
Referring to claim 6, Schubert et al. sets forth a laser-level and measuring device wherein the second laser (315C) emits a second laser beam (320C).
In regards to claim 7, Schubert et al. teaches a laser-level and measuring device wherein the third laser (315A) emits a third laser beam (320A).
Regarding claim 8, Schubert et al. shows a laser-level and measuring device further comprised of a button (Paragraphs [0070], [0079] and [0099]).
With respect to claim 9, Schubert et al. discloses a laser-level and measuring device wherein the button activates the first laser, the second laser, or the third laser (See paragraph [0083]).
Referring to claim 10, Schubert et al. sets forth a laser-level and measuring device further comprised of a battery (i.e. power source; paragraph [0098]).
With regards to claim 11, Schubert et al. discloses a laser-level and measuring device comprising a body (100) comprised of a mounting bracket (120A, 120B, 125, 130, 420), a first horizontal opening (left side 315B), a first vertical opening (top 315C), a second vertical opening (bottom 315A), and a display (See paragraphs [0075] and [0099]); a first laser (315B) positioned within the first horizontal opening; a second laser (315C) positioned within the first vertical opening; and a third laser (315A) positioned within the second vertical opening.
Referring to claim 12, Schubert et al. sets forth a laser-level and measuring device wherein the mounting bracket (120A, 120B, 125 130, 420) is comprised of an opening (120A, 120B in figure 1b).
In regards to claim 13, Schubert et al. teaches a laser-level and measuring device wherein the mounting bracket (120A, 420 in figure 4) is comprised of a fastener.
Regarding claim 14, Schubert et al. shows a laser-level and measuring device wherein a first laser beam (320C) emitted from the second laser (315C) is emitted in an opposite direction as a second laser (320A) beam from the third laser (315A).
With regards to claim 15, Schubert et al. discloses a laser-level and measuring device further comprised of a rechargeable battery (i.e. power source; paragraph [0098]).
Referring to claim to claim 16, Schubert et al. sets forth a laser-level and measuring device wherein the rechargeable battery is comprised of a charging port (a component typically found in mobile devices).
In regards to claim 17, Schubert et al. discloses a method of using a laser-level and measuring device, the method comprising the following steps providing a laser-level and measuring device (100) comprised of a display (See paragraphs [0075] and [0099]), a first vertical opening (left side 315C) comprised of a first vertical laser, a second vertical opening (bottom end 315A) comprised of a second vertical laser, and a horizontal opening (left end 315B) comprised of a horizontal laser, the horizontal opening positioned perpendicular to the first vertical laser and to the second vertical laser (See figure 3A); and pressing a button of the laser-level and measuring device to turn on the first vertical laser, the second vertical laser, or the third vertical laser (Paragraphs [0098] and [0099]).
Regarding claim 18, Schubert et al. sets forth a method of using a laser-level and measuring device further comprised of a step of reading a measurement from the first vertical laser, the second vertical laser, or the third vertical laser on a display of the laser-level and measuring device (Paragraph [0096]).
With respect to claim 19, Schubert et al. teaches a method of using a laser-level and measuring device further comprised of a step of placing an object on a wall such that the object is level in accordance with a horizontal laser beam produced by the horizontal laser (See paragraph [0086]).
Referring to claim 20, Schubert et al. shows a method of using a laser-level and measuring device, wherein the horizontal laser produces a horizontal laser beam that is perpendicular to a first vertical laser beam produced by the first vertical laser and to a second vertical laser beam produced by the second vertical laser (See Figure 3a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
King (US 11,002,542 B1)
McGill (US Pub. No. 2020/0132838 A1)
Ranieri et al. (US 9,441,967 B2)
Booker Jr. (US Pub. 2007/0058155 A1)
Yang et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0044331 A1)
Wheeler et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0022399 A1)
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
December 31, 2025
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855