DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following problems.
In Figure 1, the right side of the drawing has a reference number “110”, which is just written there without any line pointing at any element.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “110” has been used to designate both housing and four side walls of the housing.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the power source and the electronic device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0011], line 5, the first occurring abbreviation “USB” should be written with a full terminology with the abbreviation enclosed within a parenthesis.
Paragraph [0037], line 4, it seems that “the fastener 142” should be -- the fastener 122 --.
Paragraph [0038], line 6, it seems that “the fastener 142” should be -- the fastener 122 --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 3, “a power outlet extender device” should be -- the power outlet extender device -- because claim 16, line 1 already recites, “a power outlet extender device”.
Claim 16, line 5, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “the fastener” to -- the first fastener -- because lines 3-4 recite, “a housing comprised of a first fastener”.
Claims 17-20, line 1, “a power outlet extender device” should be -- the power outlet extender device --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 3-4 recite, “a first fastener and a power cord”, which are simply listed in claim 1 without reciting how these two elements are structurally related with other elements recited in claim 1. Therefore, it is not clear how the first fastener and the power cord are structurally related with the housing.
Claim 6 recites the power cord being a 120v/240v male power cord but claims 1 and 6 do not recite what the purpose of the power cord is.
Claim 7 recites the first fastener being an adhesive fastener but claims 1 and 7 do not recited what the purpose of the first fastener is.
Claim 8, line 3 recites, “a first fastener positioned on the housing” but claim 8 does not recite what kind of function that the first fastener performs while positioned on the housing.
Claim 8, line 5 recites, “a power cord” which are simply listed in claim 1 without reciting how the power cord is structurally related with other elements recited in claim 8. Therefore, it is not clear how the first fastener is structurally related with the housing.
Claim 14 recites the power cord being a 120v/240v male power cord but claims 8 and 14 do not recite what the purpose of the power cord is.
Claim 15 recites the first fastener being an adhesive fastener but claims 8 and 15 do not recited what the purpose of the first fastener is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galazin (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0210915 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, Galazin discloses a power outlet extender device 100 comprising:
(claim 1) a housing 210, 218 comprised of a power outlet 120, the power outlet 120 comprised of a receptacle 122, 124, 126; a first fastener (not shown, see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19); and a power cord 282;
(claim 2) wherein the receptacle 122, 124 is comprised of a 120v/240v female outlet (see Paragraph [0034]);
(claim 3) wherein the receptacle 126 is comprised of a USB port (see Paragraph [0036]).
(claim 4) wherein the power outlet 120 is surrounded by a face plate 128;
(claim 5) wherein the face plate 128 attaches to the housing via a second fastener (not shown, see end of Paragraph [0037]);
(claim 6) wherein the power cord 282 is comprised of a 120v/240v male power cord 110 (see Paragraph [0034]); and
(claim 7) wherein the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19).
Regarding claims 8-15, Galazin discloses a power outlet extender device 100 comprising:
(claim 8) a housing 210, 218 comprised of a power outlet 120, the power outlet 120 comprised of a first receptacle 122, 124 and a second receptacle 126; a first fastener (not shown, see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19) positioned on the housing 218; and a power cord 282;
(claim 9) wherein the first receptacle 122, 124 is comprised of a 120v/240v female outlet (see Paragraph [0034]);
(claim 10) wherein the second receptacle 126 is comprised of a USB port;
(claim 11) wherein the power outlet 120 is surrounded by a face plate 128;
(claim 12) wherein the face plate 128 attaches to the housing 210 via a second fastener (see end of Paragraph [0037]);
(claim 13) wherein the second fastener is comprised of a screw (see end of Paragraph 37);
(claim 14) wherein the power cord 282 is comprised of a 120v/240v male power cord 110 (see Paragraph [0034]); and
(claim 15) wherein the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19).
Regarding claims 16-20, Galazin discloses a method of using a power outlet extender device 100,
(claim 16) the method comprising the following steps: providing the power outlet extender device 100 comprised of a housing 210, 218 comprised of a first fastener (not shown, see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19), a power cord 110, and a power outlet 120 comprised of a receptacle 122, 124, 126; attaching the housing 218 to a surface via the fastener (see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19); plugging the power cord 110 into a power source (see Fig. 4A); and plugging an electronic device (not shown) into the receptacle 122, 124;
(claim 17) wherein the receptacle 122, 124, 126 is comprised of a USB receptacle 126 or a 120v/240v receptacle 122, 124;
(claim 18) wherein the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (see Paragraph [0008], lines 13-19);
(claim 19) wherein the housing 210 is comprised of a face plate 128 that surrounds the receptacle 122, 124; and
(claim 20) wherein the face plate 128 attaches to the housing 210 via a second fastener (see end of Paragraph [0037]).
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahood et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0143587 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, Mahood discloses a power outlet extender device 150 comprising:
(claim 1) a housing 702 comprised of a power outlet 722, the power outlet 722 comprised of a receptacle 724, 726, 728; a first fastener 126 (only shows openings for receiving fasteners, see Paragraph [0068]); and a power cord 800;
(claim 2) wherein the receptacle 724, 726, 728 is comprised of a 120v/240v female outlet (see Paragraph [0066] describing the output unit 700 including a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI));
(claim 3) wherein the receptacle 792 is comprised of a USB port (see Fig. 4B);
(claim 4) wherein the power outlet 722 is surrounded by a face plate 704a;
(claim 5) wherein the face plate 704a attaches to the housing via a second fastener 706;
(claim 6) wherein the power cord 800 is comprised of a 120v/240v male power cord (see Paragraph [0066]); and
(claim 7) wherein the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener (see Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claims 8-15, Mahood discloses a power outlet extender device 150 comprising:
(claim 8) a housing 702 comprised of a power outlet 722, the power outlet 722 comprised of a first receptacle 724, 726, 728 and a second receptacle 792; a first fastener 126 (only shows openings for receiving fasteners, see Paragraph [0068]) positioned on the housing 702; and a power cord 800;
(claim 9) wherein the first receptacle 724, 726, 728 is comprised of a 120v/240v female outlet (see Paragraph [0066] describing the output unit 700 including a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI));
(claim 10) wherein the second receptacle 792 is comprised of a USB port;
(claim 11) wherein the power outlet 722 is surrounded by a face plate 704;
(claim 12) wherein the face plate 704 attaches to the housing 702 via a second fastener 124.
(claim 13) wherein the second fastener 124 is comprised of a screw;
(claim 14) wherein the power cord 800 is comprised of a 120v/240v male power cord (see Paragraph [0066]); and
(claim 15) wherein the first fastener 126 is comprised of an adhesive fastener (see Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claims 16-20; a method of using a power outlet extender device 150,
(claim 16) the method comprising the following steps: providing a power outlet extender device 150 comprised of a housing 702 comprised of a first fastener 126 (only shows openings for receiving fasteners, see Paragraph [0068]), a power cord 800, and a power outlet 722 comprised of a receptacle 724, 726, 728; attaching the housing 702 to a surface 110 via the first fastener 126; plugging the power cord 800 into a power source 130; and plugging an electronic device (not shown) into the receptacle 724, 726, 728;
(claim 17) wherein the receptacle is comprised of a USB receptacle 792 a 120v/240v female outlet 724, 726, 728 (see Paragraph [0066] describing the output unit 700 including a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI));
(claim 18) wherein the first fastener 126 is comprised of an adhesive fastener (see Paragraph [0068]).
(claim 19) wherein the power outlet 722 is surrounded by a face plate 704 that surrounds the receptacle 724, 726, 728 and 792;
(claim 12) wherein the face plate 704 attaches to the housing 702 via a second fastener 124.
Conclusion
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831