DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “an insulating wall, surrounding a side surface of the coil and comprising an outermost side wall disposed on an outermost side of the insulating wall in the first direction…” is vague and indefinite. The claim suggest that insualuating wall comprises a outmost side wall, and then suggest that outermost side wall is disposed on the insulating wall. This claim language is confusing since the outermost wall is apart of the insulating wall. Claims 2-18 are rejected under the same premises as independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US 20170040101).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses a body including a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction (see figure 1), a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in the second direction (see figure 1) and disposed between the first surface and the second surface (see figure 1) and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in the third direction (see figure 1) and disposed between the first surface and the second surface (see figure 1); a coil (see figure 2 and para 0033-0035)), disposed in the body and including a plurality of turns (see figure 2); an insulating wall (31), surrounding a side surface of the coil and comprising an outermost side wall disposed on an outermost side of the insulating wall in the first direction (see figures 2-3); an insulating layer (32) covering the coil in the third direction (see figure 3); and an external electrode connected to the coil (see figure 1 and para 0046-0048), wherein, when a length of the insulating layer in the third direction is defined as a1 and a length of the outermost side wall in the first direction is defined as b, 2.11% < a1/b < 18.01% is satisfied (see para 0042-0046 disclosing wherein c=a1 and b’=b have the ranges that satisfies the criteria 2.11% < a1/b < 18.01% since c can be a number between 1-20 and b’ can be a number between 3-50, i.e. c= 16 and b=4, this is just one example from the ranges provided, there can be many more combinations which will satisfy the equation)
Regarding claim 6, Jeong et al. (para 0045) discloses wherein al is 3 μm or more.
Regarding claim 9, Jeong et al. (para 0045) discloses a support member (20) disposed in the body and supporting the coil.
Regarding claim 13, Jeong et al. (figures 2-3) discloses wherein the insulating layer covers the insulating wall in the third direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Ohkubo et al. (US 20160351316).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein, when a length, in the first direction, of an internal side wall disposed inwardly of the outermost side wall is defined as a2, a2 and b satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3%.
Ohkubo et al. (para 0040 and figure 5) discloses a teaching wherein, when a length, in the first direction, of an internal side wall disposed inwardly of the outermost side wall is defined as a2, a2 and b satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3%. (note see para discloses wherein the insulating walls of d1 and d2 can be different sizes, wherein d1=b and d2=a2, which is similar to the applicant criteria wherein the inner wall is a different size form the outer wall; the number ranges provided in para 0040 for the insulating’s walls will satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3%)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein, when a length, in the first direction, of an internal side wall disposed inwardly of the outermost side wall is defined as a2, a2 and b satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3% as taught by Ohkubo et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al.so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
Regarding claim 5, Ohkubo et al. (para 0040 and figure 5) discloses wherein the insulating wall includes a plurality of internal side walls, and a2 is an average of lengths of the plurality of internal side walls in the first direction
3 Claims 3, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Ohkubo et al. (US 20160351316) in further view of Nakamura et al. (US 20150035634)
Regarding claim 3, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein a1 and a2 satisfy a1>a2.
Nakamura et al. (para 0027-0028 and figure 2) discloses a teaching, wherein a1 and a2 satisfy a1>a2.(note: ref# 51=a1 and S1=a2; para 0027-0028 number ranges provided in para 0027-0028 which will satisfy a1>a2)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein wherein a1 and a2 satisfy a1>a2 as taught by Nakamura et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al.so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
Regarding claim 10, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein a length of the support member in the third direction is 5 μm or more and 40 μm or less.
Nakamura et al. (para 0021 and figure 2) discloses a teaching wherein a length of the support member (10) in the third direction is 5 μm or more and 40 μm or less.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a length of the support member in the third direction is 5 μm or more and 40 μm or less as taught by Nakamura et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al. so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
Regarding claim 11, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses wherein the coil comprises a first coil disposed on one surface of the support member and having an end extending to the first surface of the body, and wherein the insulating wall includes a first insulating wall disposed on the one surface of the support member and having a first outermost side wall extending to a second surface of the body.
Regarding claim 12, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses wherein the coil further comprises a second coil disposed on the other surface of the support member and having an end extending to a second surface of the body, and wherein the insulating wall further includes a second insulating wall disposed on the other surface of the support member and having a second outermost side wall extending to the first surface of the body.
Regarding claim 14, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein the insulating wall includes a photosensitive insulating resin.
Nakamura et al. (para 0053 and figure 2) discloses wherein the insulating wall includes a photosensitive insulating resin.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the insulating wall includes a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Nakamura et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al. so as to allow the inductive device to have characteristics of excellent heat resistance, high dielectric breakdown strength, and low dielectric constants
4 Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Ohkubo et al. (US 20160351316) in further view of Choi (US 20180166194)
Regarding claim 4, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein a1 and a2 satisfy a1≤a2.
Choi (para 0030/0041 and figure 1) discloses a teaching wherein, a1 and a2 satisfy a1≤a2.(note: ref# 132=a1 and 131=a2; para 0030/0041 number ranges provided in para 0027-0028 which will satisfy a1≤a2)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a1 and a2 satisfy a1≤a2.as taught by Choi to the inductive device of Jeong et al.so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
5 Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Ohkubo et al. (US 20190013145).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein b is the length of the outermost side wall in a cross-section of the body in the first direction and third direction, including a central portion in the second direction
Ohkubo et al.(figures 3-5) discloses a teaching wherein b is the length of the outermost side wall in a cross-section of the body in the first direction and third direction, including a central portion in the second direction.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein b is the length of the outermost side wall in a cross-section of the body in the first direction and third direction, including a central portion in the second direction as taught by Ohkubo et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al.so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
Regarding claim 8, Ohkubo et al.(figures 3-5) discloses a teaching wherein a1 is a length of the insulating layer in a cross-section of the body in the first direction and third direction, including a central portion in the second direction.
6 Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Kim (US 10650948)
Regarding claim 15, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein an edge of the coil facing the insulating layer is flushed with an edge of the insulating wall facing the insulating layer.
Kim (figures 3-8) discloses a teaching wherein an edge of the coil facing the insulating layer is flushed with an edge of the insulating wall facing the insulating layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein an edge of the coil facing the insulating layer is flushed with an edge of the insulating wall facing the insulating layer as taught by Kim. to the inductive device of Jeong et al.so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
7 Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Kim et al. (US 20210110968)
Regarding claim 16, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein the support member includes a photosensitive insulating resin.
Kim et al (para 0050) discloses a teaching wherein the support member includes a photosensitive insulating resin.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the support member includes a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Kim et al to the inductive device of Jeong et al. so as to allow the inductive device to have characteristics of excellent heat resistance, high dielectric breakdown strength, and low dielectric constants.
8 Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Kim et al. (US 20210110968) in further view of Nakamura et al. (US 20150035634).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein a length of the support member in the third direction is 5 μm or more and 40 μm or less.
Nakamura et al. (para 0021 and figure 2) discloses a teaching wherein a length of the support member (10) in the third direction is 5 μm or more and 40 μm or less.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a length of the support member in the third direction is 5 μm or more and 40 μm or less as taught by Nakamura et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al. so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
9 Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170040101) in view of Kim et al. (US 20210110968) and Nakamura et al. (US 20150035634) in further view of Ohkubo et al. (US 20160351316).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong et al. (figures 1-4 and para 0026-0065) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein, when a length, in the first direction, of an internal side wall disposed inwardly of the outermost side wall is defined as a2, a2 and b satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3%.
Ohkubo et al. (para 0040 and figure 5) discloses a teaching wherein, when a length, in the first direction, of an internal side wall disposed inwardly of the outermost side wall is defined as a2, a2 and b satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3%. (note see para discloses wherein the insulating walls of d1 and d2 can be different sizes, wherein d1=b and d2=a2, which is similar to the applicant criteria wherein the inner wall is a different size form the outer wall; the number ranges provided in para 0040 for the insulating’s walls will satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3%)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein, when a length, in the first direction, of an internal side wall disposed inwardly of the outermost side wall is defined as a2, a2 and b satisfy 1.54%<a2/b<11.3% as taught by Ohkubo et al. to the inductive device of Jeong et al.so as to create a more compact inductive design, thereby saving in production time and materials needed to make the inductive device.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837