DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwivedi et al. (Dwivedi, US PGPub 2022/0229143) in view of Zhou et al. (Zhou, US PGPub 2022/0357420).
Referring to Claim 1, Dwivedi teaches sending, from a terminal device, a first message indicating a capability to support reporting information of line of sight (LOS) or non-line of sight (NLOS) of a path used in positioning measurement ([0027], [0054] and [0092]); and reporting, by the terminal device, at least one positioning measurement result and the information of the LOS or NLOS of the path corresponding to the at least one positioning measurement result; ([0027], [0054] and [0092] and Fig. 10 and associated text), wherein sending, from the terminal device, the first message indicating the capability to support reporting the information of the LOS or NLOS of the path used in the positioning measurement, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit the information comprises at least one of: indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a downlink angle of departure (AoD) positioning; or indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a new radio (NR) multi-round trip time (RTT) positioning.
However, Zhou teaches indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a downlink angle of departure (AoD) positioning; or indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a new radio (NR) multi-round trip time (RTT) positioning; [0004] and [0100].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dwivedi with the parameters as taught by Zhou so as to predictably improve accuracy and latency for positioning in a wireless network.
Referring to Claims 2, 11 and 16, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou teaches receiving, at the terminal device, a request for the terminal device to calculate the LOS or NLOS measurement for at least one downlink AOD location measurement; calculating, by the terminal device, the LOS or NLOS measurement for the at least one downlink AoD location measurement; and reporting, by the terminal device, the LOS or NLOS measurement for the calculated at least one downlink AoD location measurement; [0005] and [0087].
Referring to Claims 3, 12 and 17, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou teaches receiving, at the terminal device, a request for the terminal device to calculate an LOS or NLOS measurement for at least one downlink time difference arrival (TDOA) location measurement; calculating, by the terminal device, the LOS or NLOS measurement for the at least one downlink TDOA location measurement; and reporting, by the terminal device, the LOS or NLOS measurement for the calculated at least one downlink TDOA location measurement; [0005] and [0087].
Referring to Claims 4, 13 and 18, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou teaches receiving, at the terminal device, a request for the terminal device to calculate the LOS or NLOS measurement for at least one NR multi-RTT location measurement; calculating, by the terminal device, the LOS or NLOS measurement for the at least one NR multi-RTT location measurement; and 46reporting, by the terminal device, the LOS or NLOS measurement for the calculated at least one NR multi-RTT location measurement; [0005] and [0087].
Referring to Claim 9, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou teaches wherein a TRP reports the NLOS or LOS measurement for at least one reported positioning measurement result; [0005] and [0087].
Referring to Claim 10, Dwivedi teaches a memory (Fig. 7 #705; [0028]); and a processor (Fig. 7 #703; [0028]) coupled to the memory and configured to perform a process comprising: sending, from a terminal device, a first message indicating a capability to support reporting information of line of sight (LOS) or non-line of sight (NLOS) of a path used in positioning measurement; and reporting, by the terminal device, at least one positioning measurement result and the information of the LOS or NLOS of the path corresponding to the at least one positioning measurement result, wherein sending, from the terminal device, the first message indicating the capability to support reporting the information of the LOS or NLOS of the path used in the positioning measurement; See citations of Claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit the information comprises at least one of: indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a downlink angle of departure (AoD) positioning; or indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a new radio (NR) multi-round trip time (RTT) positioning.
However, Zhou teaches indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a downlink angle of departure (AoD) positioning; or indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a new radio (NR) multi-round trip time (RTT) positioning; [0004] and [0100].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dwivedi with the parameters as taught by Zhou so as to predictably improve accuracy and latency for positioning in a wireless network.
Referring to Claim 15, Dwivedi teaches a terminal device configured to perform a process comprising: sending, from the terminal device, a first message indicating a capability to support reporting information of line of sight (LOS) or non-line of sight (NLOS) of a path used in positioning measurement; and reporting, by the terminal device, at least one positioning measurement result and the information of the LOS or NLOS of the path corresponding to the at least one positioning measurement result, wherein sending, from the terminal device, the first message indicating the capability to support reporting the information of the LOS or NLOS of the path used in the positioning measurement; See citations of Claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit the information comprises at least one of: indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a downlink angle of departure (AoD) positioning; or indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a new radio (NR) multi-round trip time (RTT) positioning.
However, Zhou teaches indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a downlink angle of departure (AoD) positioning; or indicating, by the terminal device through a parameter in a capability report, a capability of the terminal device to support reporting information of an LOS or NLOS measurement for a new radio (NR) multi-round trip time (RTT) positioning; [0004] and [0100].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dwivedi with the parameters as taught by Zhou so as to predictably improve accuracy and latency for positioning in a wireless network.
Claim(s) 5-9, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwivedi as modified by Zhou in view of Xiao et al. (Xiao, US PGPub 2015/0219750).
Referring to Claims 5, 14 and 19, Dwivedi teaches sending a message, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit sending, from the terminal device, a second message indicating a capability to support measuring and reporting positioning measurements with a given number of measurement samples.
However, Xiao teaches sending multiple messages indicating terminal device capabilities, and would be capable of sending, from the terminal device, a second message indicating a capability to support measuring and reporting positioning measurements with a given number of measurement samples; see Fig. 6 and associated text.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dwivedi as modified by Zhou with the capability messaging as taught by Xiao as the capability messaging aids in improving the positioning accuracy.
Referring to Claim 6, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou and Xiao teach wherein the positioning measurements include at least a downlink reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement, a positioning reference signal (PRS) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, or an Rx-Tx time difference measurement; See Fig. 6 of Xiao.
Referring to Claims 7 and 20, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou and Xiao teach receiving, by the terminal device, a third message that the terminal device has a capability to measure a PRS resource without measurement gap; Fig. 6 and [0187] of Xiao.
Referring to Claim 8, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou and Xiao teach wherein a positioning transmission-reception point (TRP) receives a request to report an NLOS or LOS measurement for the positioning measurement; see disclosure of Xiao and text related to Fig. 6, 13 and 14.
Referring to Claim 9, Dwivedi as modified by Zhou and Xiao teach wherein a TRP reports the NLOS or LOS measurement for the at least one reported positioning measurement result; see disclosure of Xiao and text related to Fig. 6, 13 and 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646