DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Receipt of the amendments to the claims and applicant arguments/remarks, filed 08/19/2026 (Response After Final Action), is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 6-7 are pending in this action. Claim 5 has been cancelled previously. Claims 1, 4 have been amended. Claims 1-4, 6-7 are currently under consideration.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated in this action is withdrawn. Applicant's amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
This application is a continuation-in-part of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/760,675, filed Apryl 30, 2020 and now abandoned, which is a 371 of PCT/US2018/058636, filed November 1, 2018, which claims benefit of provisional U.S. Application No. 62/581,225, filed November 3, 2017.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Newly amended claim 1 recites the limitation “bioinsecticide composition does not include an insecticide synergist or any other compound exhibiting insecticidal activity” that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is noted that it is well known in the field that synergist activity, i.e., the ability of a compound to enhance the effect of another, is not a fixed property. It depends entirely on the specific compounds present in the mixture and their interactions. First, it is noted that neither the claims nor the instant specification provides a clear teaching what compounds should be excluded from the claimed composition as insecticide synergists. Second, it is noted that claim 1 discloses a method for controlling an insect pest by using compositions identified by the presence of compound of Formulae I, wherein the other constituents that should not be used in the claimed method are characterized by their assumed function and not by the chemical structure essential for said composition. When functional language is recited in a claim without connection to any structure, material or acts, it raises concerns of whether the boundaries of the claim limitation can be understood and whether any limits are imposed by the language. In the present case, it is noted that the function of a particular compound may change and/or depend on conditions, e.g., on compounds included into the claimed multicomponent system/composition. Therefore, claim 1 does not clearly define the composition to be used in the claimed method, it does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. MPEP § 2173.05(c), 2173.05(g). Similar is applied to claim 4. Clarification is required.
Newly amended claim 4 recites the limitation “the method comprises fumigating the space or soil with a monoterpene” that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is unclear what is used in the claimed method - monoterpene (i.e., a compound) as instantly claimed, OR a composition comprising a monoterpene as instantly claimed. Clarification is required.
Claim 2-3, 6-7 is rejected as being dependent on rejected independent claims 1 and 4 and failing to cure the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)/103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bessette, US 2010/0144888A1 (cited in IDS; hereinafter referred to as Bessette) and Manhas et al., (US 2018/0255787A1 (priority date 10/04/2011hereinafter referred to as Manhas).
Bessette teaches method for controlling pests (e.g., against flies/Drosophila melanogaster, thrips, etc.), by contacting a pest, animal, plant or inanimate object, e.g., by fumigation, with a pesticidally-effective amount of a pesticidal composition comprising a pesticidally-acceptable carrier and at least one GABA receptor modulator such as pulegone, carvacrol, estragole, linalool, trans-anethole, anethole. i.e., compounds/monoterpenes of Formula I (Claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-14; Abstract; Para. 0002, 0018, 0033-0034, 0048, 0109, 0117-0118). Bessette further teaches that said compositions may optionally include such additional compounds as a synergist, a surface-active agent, carrier vehicle assistants (Abstract; Para. 0019, 098, 0111).
Manhas teaches pest control formulations (e.g., against flies, thrips, etc.) and methods of using them, e.g. by fumigation, wherein said formulations may include trans-anethole, carvacrol, anethole estragole, linalool, i.e., compounds/monoterpenes of Formula I (Claims 1, 6, 11-15; Title; Abstract; Para. 0045, 0052-0053, 0059, 0069, 0077). Manhas further teaches that said compositions may optionally include such additional compounds as surfactants, other pesticidal ingredients, stabilizers, carriers, diluents, or other non-pesticidal ingredients (Abstract; Para. 0065).
Therefore, the cited references disclose compositions, which appear to be identical to the presently claimed compositions to be used in the claimed method for controlling insect pests. Consequently, said claims appear to be anticipated by the references recited. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the compositions as taught by the references cited to be used for controlling insect pests with controllable optional additives. One would do so with expectation of beneficial results, because the cited prior art teaches compositions that have a broad spectrum of activity and are particularly advantageous in terms of its relative non-toxicity (i.e., Bessette) and also teaches compositions having a prolonged residual activity (i.e., Manhas).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 08/19/2026, have been fully considered, but they were not found to be persuasive for the reasons set forth above. New arguments and/or references have been added to the record to address newly introduced amendments and to clarify the position of the examiner. Applicant is advised to clarify the claim language, the structure of the claimed composition to be used in the claimed method and clearly point out the patentable novelty, which the applicant thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited, to place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
/OLGA V. TCHERKASSKAYA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615