DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848).
Fujiki et al., in reference to claim 1, discloses an umbrella storage apparatus (10) for a vehicle comprising a housing (12), a cover (20), and an ejection unit (62), as shown in Figures 1-3. The housing (12) is provided in an interior of the vehicle and equipped with a loading space for storing an umbrella (14), as shown in Figures 2 and 3. The housing (12) includes an opening (16) for communicating with the loading space, as shown in Figures 2 and 3. The cover (20) is installed on the housing (12) and is configured to open or close the opening, as shown in Figures 2 and 3. The ejection unit (62) is configured to elastically support the stored umbrella (14) to be unloaded toward the opening (16), as shown in Figures 2 and 3 and disclosed on lines 4-10 of column 4.
In reference to claim 2, the ejection unit (62) is provided in the loading space of the housing (12), as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
In reference to claim 7, the loading space of the housing (12) is formed to be inclined toward the opening (16), as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed on lines 41-43 of column 4.
In reference to claim 13, a fixing device (27) is formed around the opening (16) in the housing (12) and a fastening device (24) is formed at the cover (20) to be connected to the fixing device (27) when the cover (20) is positioned to close the opening, as shown in Figure 3 and line 57 of column 2 through line 10 of column 3.
In reference to claim 14, the cover (20) is rotatably installed at the housing (12), as shown in Figures 2 and 3. The cover (20) is rotated in a direction of opening, as shown in Figures 2 and 3. The phrase “to be elastically rotated” is considered to be met because the spring (62) moves the umbrella (14) through the opening (16) such that the spring (62) indirectly pushes the cover (20) via the umbrella (14).
In reference to claim 15, a contact device is formed at the housing (12) in a direction in which the cover (20) is opened, as shown in Figure 2.
In reference to claim 16, an opened position of the cover (20) is limited only to a position in contact with the contact device. The contact device inherently limits the open position of the cover.
In reference to claim 17, the ejection unit (62) is provided on a side opposite to the opening (16) in the loading space of the housing (12), as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
In reference to claim 18, the ejection unit (62) includes an elastic member (62) and a support (8), as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
In reference to claim 19, the vehicle comprises the umbrella storage apparatus of claim 1, as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 20, a mobility comprises the umbrella storage apparatus of claim 1, as shown in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848) in view of Ackeret (US 5,709,328).
Fujiki et al. does not disclose the claimed location.
Ackeret teaches providing an umbrella storage apparatus (1) on a lower portion of a seat (26) of a vehicle, as shown in Figure 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the umbrella storage apparatus of Fujiki et al. in a lower portion of a seat, as taught by Ackeret, with a reasonable expectation for success to improve access to the umbrella.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848) in view of Tena Han et al. (US 2020/0254938).
In reference to claim 5, Fujiki et al. discloses the housing has a space that faces an opening. The housing is equal in length to the loading space, as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
However, Fujiki et al. does not disclose the claimed location.
Tena Han et al. teaches providing an umbrella storage apparatus (10) in a vehicle console (62), as shown in Figure 8A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the umbrella storage apparatus of Fujiki et al. in a console, as taught by Tena Han et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to improve access to the umbrella.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848) in view of Tena Han et al. (US 2020/0254938).
Fujiki et al. does not disclose the claimed location.
Tena Han et al. teaches providing an umbrella storage apparatus (10) in a vehicle seat head rest (32), as shown in Figure 2. The headrest (32) is inherently connected to the seat frame such that the headrest (32) moves together with the seat in a state of being mounted on the seat frame. The headrest meets the limitation of a mounting device of an apparatus (10), as shown in Figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the umbrella storage apparatus of Fujiki et al. in a seat headrest, as taught by Tena Han et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to improve access to the umbrella.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848) in view of KR 10-2019-0046528.
Fujiki et al. discloses the cover (20) is rotatably installed on the housing (12) and is formed to cover the opening (16), as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
However, Fujiki et al. does not disclose the cover is installed on the housing excluding a lower end of the opening.
KR 10-2019-0046528 teaches rotatably installing a cover (110) that pivots about the upper portion of a housing (123) such that a lower end of the opening is excluded, as shown in Figures 3-5c.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the cover to an upper portion of the housing of Fujiki et al., as taught by KR 10-2019-0046528, with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious design choice that does not alter the function or operation of the cover.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848) in view of Ackeret (5,800,004).
Fujiki et al. does not disclose the air flow holes.
In reference to claim 10, Ackeret teaches providing air flow holes (21) in the housing formed on a surface adjacent the tip of the umbrella, as shown in Figures 1-9.
In reference to claim 11, Ackeret teaches providing a heater (23) in the housing, as shown in Figure 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a heater and form air flow holes in the housing on a surface adjacent the tip of the umbrella and opposite the opening of Fujiki et al., as taught by Ackeret, with a reasonable expectation for success to help dry the umbrella.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al. (US 4,700,848) in view of CN 112277816.
Fujiki et al. does not disclose the heater.
In reference to claim 12, CN 112277816 teaches providing a heater (220) surrounding and heat the loading space (210), as shown in Figures 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a heater surrounding and heating the loading space of Fujiki et al., as taught by CN 112277816, with a reasonable expectation for success to help dry the umbrella.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 December 30, 2025