DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 01/22/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sander et al. (US 2013/0279401), (hereinafter, Sander) in view of Haswarey et al., (US 2024/0224020), (hereinafter, Haswarey).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15 Sander discloses a system/method/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium configured for adjusting an IMS APN for a wireless device (= setting a parameter (“VIUA” or “VPAA”) in HSS to indicate if usage of IMS APN in a visiting networks PDN GW is allowed; and determining if the IMS APN shall be resolved to a PDN GW in home network 300h or visited network 300v, see [0067 and 0070]; whereby the setting of the parameter for IMS APN to indicate either PDN APN for home or visiting networks is being associated with the “adjusting an IMS APN”), the system comprising: one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to:
receive an inbound roaming communication from a wireless device when the wireless device is outside of coverage provided by a home network, the inbound roaming communication to access a first IP multimedia core network subsystem (IMS) access point name (APN) (= user equipment 301 transmits an Attach message to the MME 310 in the visited network 300v; in LTE, the attach will give the user equipment 301 connectivity to the default APN, which is expected to be the IMS APN, see [0060-62]);
transmit an update-location-request (ULR) for the wireless device to home subscriber server of the home network of the wireless device (= MME 310 transmits an Update Location Request message to the HSS 303 in the home network 300h, see [0064]);
receive an update-location-answer (ULA) including a mobile country code (MCC) for the wireless device (= HSS 303 responds; and sends the parameters for the IMS APN, which is the default APN, see [0065]);
and in response to receiving ULA for the wireless device, adjust an IMS APN for the wireless device to the first IMS APN for wireless device (= setting a parameter (“VIUA”) in HSS to indicate if usage of IMS APN in a visiting networks PDN GW is allowed; and determining if the IMS APN shall be resolved to a PDN GW in home network 300h or visited network 300v, see [0067]; and MME 310 selects a SGW 308 and a PDN GW 305 using the IMS APN from HSS 303; since the VPAA and VIUA are not set, a PDN GW 305 in the home network 300h is selected, see [0070]; whereby the IMS APN for home network is being associated with the “first IMS APN”).
Sander explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of: “update-location-answer (ULA) including a mobile country code (MCC)” and
“adjust an IMS APN for the wireless device to the first IMS APN for wireless device based on the ULA including the MCC for the wireless device”.
However, Haswarey, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“update-location-answer (ULA) including a mobile country code (MCC)” and
“adjust an IMS APN for the wireless device to the first IMS APN for wireless device based on the ULA including the MCC for the wireless device” (see, [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Haswarey with Sander for the benefit of achieving a communication system that maintains a roaming usage filter definition arising from agreement between a primary network operator and mobile virtual network operator.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16 as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15, Sander further discloses the system/method/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium where the ULA identifies a second IMS APN for the wireless device (= update location message comprises subscription data such as IMS, VPAA, VIUA; and setting “Visited IMS usage allowed”/ “VIUA” to true as an indication of usage of the IMS APN on PDN GW 305v/network 300v, see [0065 and 0067]; whereby the IMS APN for visiting network is being associated with the “second IMS APN”).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17 as mentioned in claims 2, 9 and 16, Sander further discloses the system/method/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting an IMS APN may be modifying the second IMS APN to the first IMS APN for the wireless device (= update location message comprises subscription data such as IMS, VPAA, VIUA; setting “Visited IMS usage allowed”/ “VIUA” to false as an indication of usage of the IMS APN on PDN GW 305h/network 300h, see [0065 and 0067]).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18 as mentioned in claims 2, 9 and 16, Sander further discloses the system/method/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting an IMS APN may be adding the first IMS APN for the wireless device (= update location message comprises subscription data such as IMS, VPAA, VIUA; setting “Visited IMS usage allowed”/ “VIUA” to false as an indication of usage of the IMS APN on PDN GW 305h/network 300h, see [0065 and 0067]).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19 as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15, Sander further discloses the system/method/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein the response to the ULA does not identify an IMS APN for the wireless device (= update location message comprises subscription data such as IMS, VPAA, VIUA; setting “Visited IMS usage allowed”/ “VIUA” to false as an indication of usage of the IMS APN on PDN GW 305h/network 300h, see [0065, 0067 and 0072]).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20 as mentioned in claims 5, 12 and 19 Sander further discloses the system/method/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting the IMS APN may be adding the first IMS APN for the wireless device
(= update location message comprises subscription data such as IMS, VPAA, VIUA; setting “Visited IMS usage allowed”/ “VIUA” to false as an indication of usage of the IMS APN on PDN GW 305h/network 300h, see [0065 and 0067]).
Regarding claims 7 and 14 as mentioned in claims 2 and 9, Sander discloses the system/method, wherein the first IMS APN is for a first mobile network operator
(= update location message comprises subscription data such as IMS, VPAA, VIUA; setting “Visited IMS usage allowed”/ “VIUA” to false as an indication of usage of the IMS APN on PDN GW 305h/network 300h, see [0065, 0067 and 0072]).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.