DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the first delivery” as opposed to “the first fluid delivery” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the pressure sensor” in line 9 and “the display” in line 13. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the first delivery” as opposed to “the first fluid delivery” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the display” in line 11. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the second fluid delivery” in line 1, “the first delivery” as opposed to “the first fluid delivery” in line 2, and “the second fluid delivery mode” in line 3. It appears that claim 30 was intended to be dependent upon claim 29. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 13-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first limit" in in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the first limit” refers to “a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode” introduced in claim 11, line 12 or if “the first limit” is in reference to a different limit associated with the infusion pump. For examination purposes, “the first limit” has been interpreted to refer to “a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode” introduced in claim 11, line 12. Claims 14-16 are rejected for being dependent upon claim 13. Claim 21 recites the limitation "the first limit" in in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the first limit” refers to “a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode” introduced in claim 19, line 10 or if “the first limit” is in reference to a different limit associated with the infusion pump. For examination purposes, “the first limit” has been interpreted to refer to “a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode” introduced in claim 19, line 10. Claims 22-24 are rejected for being dependent upon claim 21. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 11-15, 18 -23 , and 2 6 -30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pope et al. (US 20050096593) . Regarding claim 11, Pope discloses an infusion pump (syringe pump system 10) comprising: a pressure sensor configured to sense pressure in a fluid line received by the infusion pump (“ The force value may be detected by a force or pressure sensor in communication with the downstream infusion tube 22, for instance. ” [0062]) ; a pumping mechanism to move a fluid through the fluid line (“ a motor internal to the housing 14 actuates a pusher, or plunger driver mechanism 17, to move the plunger 16. ” [0026]) ; a display (display 19) ; a processor (processor 31) ; and a non-transitory computer readable medium (memory 32; “ memory 32 may represent the random access memory (RAM) devices comprising the main storage of the system 30, as well as any supplemental levels of memory, e.g., cache memory, non-volatile or backup memories (e.g., programmable or flash memories), read-only memories, etc ” [0031]) comprising instructions executable by the processor (“ The processor 31 may execute various computer software applications, components, programs, objects, modules, etc. (e.g., rapid detection program 42, cancellation program 43, steady state program 44, and bolus program 45, among others). ” [0031], see also [0032] ) to cause the infusion pump to: receive a parameter for a first fluid delivery pursuant to a first fluid delivery mode ( “steady state”; see flowchart 200; Figure 3) through the fluid line (“The system 10 initializes at block 202 of FIG. 3…The initialization of block 202 may include user specified infusion protocols, operating parameters and other data. For instance, the user may select one or more fluid flow rates or sequences may be selected based on a desired pattern of drug delivery that is appropriate to the protocol of the patient.” [0036-0037], see also [0038-0042]) ; operate the pumping mechanism based on the parameter ( “steady state”: “ At the onset of an infusion process, an initial slope is generated that approaches or exceeds an occlusion slope. This elevated force level may be caused by the tubing 22 and other components of the system 10 reacting to a sudden influx, or ramping up, of pumped fluid. That is, some time is required by the system 10 in order to adjust and achieve a relaxed flow of fluid toward the patient 24. Given time, pressure/force within the system 10 eventually and relatively relaxes in the absence of an occlusion. That is, the force levels off to a more moderate slope. This period of leveling generally coincides with the system 10 achieving steady state. ” [ 0059 ]) ; receive a pressure measurement from the pressure sensor (“ The system 10 at block 207 of FIG. 3 uses the force values obtained at blocks 204 and 206 to determine a relationship between them. For instance, the system 10 may determine a slope at block 207. More particularly, the difference between the obtained force values may be divided by the difference in the times that the respective force values were obtained. ” [0043] ; “ while force transducers are discussed above in connection with several embodiments, pressure transducers may have equal or greater applicability in other others that are consistent with the principles of the present invention. For instance, a sensor comprising a pressure transducer may be used at the outlet of a syringe or in the tubing. ” [0085] ) ; identify a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode (“ The occlusion slope specified at block 202 of FIG. 3 is retrieved at block 209 by the system 10. ” [0048]; “ Initialization may include recalling or defining an expected relationship. This expected relationship may include an occlusion slope. Such a slope may be predetermined using clinical data. For instance, force measurements may be taken under known laboratory conditions at the beginning and end of a window interval. These force measurements are divided by the window to determine the occlusion slope. Some such slopes may be stored in an associative relationship with one or more of the known conditions as applicable to a given pumping system scenario. For instance, a slope may be stored in associative relationship with a particular type or size of syringe, and/or a given infusion rate. ” [0038]) ; determine that the pressure measurement indicates an occlusion in the fluid line based at least in part on the pressure limit (“At block 210 of FIG. 3, the retrieved occlusion slope is compared to the trial slope determined at block 207… Where the detected slope is greater than or equal to the occlusion slope, and the occlusion detection time has lapsed at block 212, the system 10 will generate an occlusion alarm at block 217.” [0048-0051]) ; and display an indicator of the occlusion via the display (“ Where the detected slope is greater than or equal to the occlusion slope, and the occlusion detection time has lapsed at block 212, the system 10 will generate an occlusion alarm at block 217. While a typical alarm may include an audible signal and/or a flashing display 19 ” [0051]) . Regarding claim 12 , Pope discloses t he infusion pump of claim 11, wherein the instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to receive the pressure limit (“ The occlusion slope specified at block 202 of FIG. 3 is retrieved at block 209 by the system 10. Such an occlusion slope may comprise the expected relationship as discussed herein ” [0048]) . Regarding claim 13 , Pope discloses t he infusion pump of claim 11, wherein the instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to: receive a request to change to a second fluid delivery pursuant to a second fluid delivery mode ( “ The user may initialize the system 10 at block 502 of FIG. 8 … Initialization at block 502 may also include commencing infusion of medication. For example, a user may instruct the system 10 to pump fluid at a rate of 600 ml/ hr for a given bolus injection. ” [0075] ) ; and identify a second limit associated with the second fluid delivery mode (“ Initialization processes may include setting a bolus occlusion limit. ” [0075]) wherein the second limit is different from the first limit (Figure 3 having flowchart 200 describing the first fluid delivery mode and Figure 8 having flow chart 500 describing the second fluid delivery mode, wherein the first limit is an “occlusion slope” and the second limit is an “occlusion limit”) . Regarding claim 14 , Pope discloses t he infusion pump of claim 13, wherein the second fluid delivery corresponds to a same fluid as the first delivery (Figure 1) and wherein the first fluid delivery mode corresponds to a continuous fluid delivery (“steady state”: “ Given time, pressure/force within the system 10 eventually and relatively relaxes in the absence of an occlusion. That is, the force levels off to a more moderate slope. This period of leveling generally coincides with the system 10 achieving steady state. ” [0059]) while the second fluid delivery mode corresponds to a bolus fluid delivery (“ The flowchart 500 of FIG. 8 shows additional processes configured to detect an occlusion within an infusion system 10. The exemplary process steps are particularly suited for application within the context of a bolus injection ” [0074]) . Regarding claim 15 , Pope disclose t he infusion pump of claim 13, wherein one of the first delivery mode or the second fluid delivery mode corresponds to a bolus fluid delivery (“ The flowchart 500 of FIG. 8 shows additional processes configured to detect an occlusion within an infusion system 10. The exemplary process steps are particularly suited for application within the context of a bolus injection ” [0074]) . Regarding claim 18 , Pope discloses t he infusion pump of claim 11, wherein the display is a touchscreen (“ A typical display 19 may include operator interface input mechanisms, such as a keyboard, touch screen features, switches, a microphone, dials, and the like. ” [0026]) and the parameter is received via the touchscreen (“The display 19 may include options for a user to enter input. Such input may include data pertaining to drug concentration, patient weight, as well as desired doses and dose rates…the processor 31 contained within the pump housing 14 may initiate the volume and fluid flow rates to be delivered to the patient.” [0029-0030]) . Regarding claim 19, Pope discloses a medical fluid delivery system (Figures 1-2) comprising: a programming module ( Figure 2; see described in at least [0030-0031] ); an infusion pump (syringe pump system 10); and a non-transitory computer readable medium (memory 32; “ memory 32 may represent the random access memory (RAM) devices comprising the main storage of the system 30, as well as any supplemental levels of memory, e.g., cache memory, non-volatile or backup memories (e.g., programmable or flash memories), read-only memories, etc. In addition, memory 32 may be considered to include memory storage physically located elsewhere in the system 30, e.g., any cache memory in a processor 31, as well as any storage capacity used as a virtual memory, e.g., as stored within mass storage or on a computer coupled to the system 30 via a network 38. ” [0031]) comprising instructions executable by the processor (“ The processor 31 may execute various computer software applications, components, programs, objects, modules, etc. (e.g., rapid detection program 42, cancellation program 43, steady state program 44, and bolus program 45, among others). ” [0031], see also [0032]) to cause a remote device separate from and in communication with the infusion pump (“ The digital communication port 20 provides a mechanism for external control, where desired. For instance, the pump housing 14 may be continuously cabled to a separate remote personal computing device. One skilled in the art will appreciate that wireless communications may be alternatively used. In any case, this personal computing device can then run a particular program tailored to provide the desired pattern of drug delivery appropriate to the specific circumstance. ” [0029]; for example: “ The initialization step of block 202 may include or be preceded by connecting a personal computer to the communications port 20 of the housing 14. Thus, the system 10 may include external processing devices configured to connect to the port 20 ” [0036]) to: receive a parameter for a first fluid delivery pursuant to a first fluid delivery mode (“steady state”; see flowchart 200; Figure 3) through the fluid line (“The system 10 initializes at block 202 of FIG. 3…The initialization of block 202 may include user specified infusion protocols, operating parameters and other data. For instance, the user may select one or more fluid flow rates or sequences may be selected based on a desired pattern of drug delivery that is appropriate to the protocol of the patient.” [0036-0037], see also [0038-0042]) ; operate the pumping mechanism based on the parameter (“steady state”: “ At the onset of an infusion process, an initial slope is generated that approaches or exceeds an occlusion slope. This elevated force level may be caused by the tubing 22 and other components of the system 10 reacting to a sudden influx, or ramping up, of pumped fluid. That is, some time is required by the system 10 in order to adjust and achieve a relaxed flow of fluid toward the patient 24. Given time, pressure/force within the system 10 eventually and relatively relaxes in the absence of an occlusion. That is, the force levels off to a more moderate slope. This period of leveling generally coincides with the system 10 achieving steady state. ” [0059]) ; receive a pressure measurement from the pressure sensor (“ The system 10 at block 207 of FIG. 3 uses the force values obtained at blocks 204 and 206 to determine a relationship between them. For instance, the system 10 may determine a slope at block 207. More particularly, the difference between the obtained force values may be divided by the difference in the times that the respective force values were obtained. ” [0043]; “ while force transducers are discussed above in connection with several embodiments, pressure transducers may have equal or greater applicability in other others that are consistent with the principles of the present invention. For instance, a sensor comprising a pressure transducer may be used at the outlet of a syringe or in the tubing. ” [0085]) ; identify a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode (“ The occlusion slope specified at block 202 of FIG. 3 is retrieved at block 209 by the system 10. ” [0048]; “ Initialization may include recalling or defining an expected relationship. This expected relationship may include an occlusion slope. Such a slope may be predetermined using clinical data. For instance, force measurements may be taken under known laboratory conditions at the beginning and end of a window interval. These force measurements are divided by the window to determine the occlusion slope. Some such slopes may be stored in an associative relationship with one or more of the known conditions as applicable to a given pumping system scenario. For instance, a slope may be stored in associative relationship with a particular type or size of syringe, and/or a given infusion rate. ” [0038]) ; determine that the pressure measurement indicates an occlusion in the fluid line based at least in part on the pressure limit (“At block 210 of FIG. 3, the retrieved occlusion slope is compared to the trial slope determined at block 207… Where the detected slope is greater than or equal to the occlusion slope, and the occlusion detection time has lapsed at block 212, the system 10 will generate an occlusion alarm at block 217.” [0048-0051]) ; and display an indicator of the occlusion via the display (“ Where the detected slope is greater than or equal to the occlusion slope, and the occlusion detection time has lapsed at block 212, the system 10 will generate an occlusion alarm at block 217. While a typical alarm may include an audible signal and/or a flashing display 19 ” [0051]) . Regarding claim 20 , Pope discloses t he medical fluid delivery system of cl aim 1 9 , wherein the instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to receive the pressure limit (“ The occlusion slope specified at block 202 of FIG. 3 is retrieved at block 209 by the system 10. Such an occlusion slope may comprise the expected relationship as discussed herein ” [0048]) . Regarding claim 21 , Pope discloses t he medical fluid delivery system of cl aim 1 9 , wherein the instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to: receive a request to change to a second fluid delivery pursuant to a second fluid delivery mode (“ The user may initialize the system 10 at block 502 of FIG. 8 … Initialization at block 502 may also include commencing infusion of medication. For example, a user may instruct the system 10 to pump fluid at a rate of 600 ml/ hr for a given bolus injection. ” [0075]) ; and identify a second limit associated with the second fluid delivery mode (“ Initialization processes may include setting a bolus occlusion limit. ” [0075]) wherein the second limit is different from the first limit (Figure 3 having flowchart 200 describing the first fluid delivery mode and Figure 8 having flow chart 500 describing the second fluid delivery mode, wherein the first limit is an “occlusion slope” and the second limit is an “occlusion limit”) . Regarding claim 22 , Pope discloses t he medical fluid delivery system of cl aim 21 , wherein the second fluid delivery corresponds to a same fluid as the first delivery (Figure 1) and wherein the first fluid delivery mode corresponds to a continuous fluid delivery (“steady state”: “ Given time, pressure/force within the system 10 eventually and relatively relaxes in the absence of an occlusion. That is, the force levels off to a more moderate slope. This period of leveling generally coincides with the system 10 achieving steady state. ” [0059]) while the second fluid delivery mode corresponds to a bolus fluid delivery (“ The flowchart 500 of FIG. 8 shows additional processes configured to detect an occlusion within an infusion system 10. The exemplary process steps are particularly suited for application within the context of a bolus injection ” [0074]) . Regarding claim 23 , Pope disclose t he medical fluid delivery system of cl aim 21 , wherein one of the first delivery mode or the second fluid delivery mode corresponds to a bolus fluid delivery (“ The flowchart 500 of FIG. 8 shows additional processes configured to detect an occlusion within an infusion system 10. The exemplary process steps are particularly suited for application within the context of a bolus injection ” [0074]) . Regarding claim 26 , Pope discloses t he medical fluid delivery system of cl ai m 19 , wherein the display is a touchscreen (“ A typical display 19 may include operator interface input mechanisms, such as a keyboard, touch screen features, switches, a microphone, dials, and the like. ” [0026]) and the parameter is received via the touchscreen (“The display 19 may include options for a user to enter input. Such input may include data pertaining to drug concentration, patient weight, as well as desired doses and dose rates…the processor 31 contained within the pump housing 14 may initiate the volume and fluid flow rates to be delivered to the patient.” [0029-0030]) . Regarding claim 27, Pope discloses a method of dynamically adapting a medical infusion system (Figures 2 and 8), comprising receiv ing a parameter for a first fluid delivery pursuant to a first fluid delivery mode (“steady state”; see flowchart 200; Figure 3) through a fluid line (“The system 10 initializes at block 202 of FIG. 3…The initialization of block 202 may include user specified infusion protocols, operating parameters and other data. For instance, the user may select one or more fluid flow rates or sequences may be selected based on a desired pattern of drug delivery that is appropriate to the protocol of the patient.” [0036-0037], see also [0038-0042]) coupled to a pumping mechanism (“ a motor internal to the housing 14 actuates a pusher, or plunger driver mechanism 17, to move the plunger 16. ” [0026]) of an infusion pump (syringe pump system 10); operating the pumping mechanism based on the parameter (“steady state”: “ At the onset of an infusion process, an initial slope is generated that approaches or exceeds an occlusion slope. This elevated force level may be caused by the tubing 22 and other components of the system 10 reacting to a sudden influx, or ramping up, of pumped fluid. That is, some time is required by the system 10 in order to adjust and achieve a relaxed flow of fluid toward the patient 24. Given time, pressure/force within the system 10 eventually and relatively relaxes in the absence of an occlusion. That is, the force levels off to a more moderate slope. This period of leveling generally coincides with the system 10 achieving steady state. ” [0059]) ; receiving a pressure measurement from a pressure sensor (“ The system 10 at block 207 of FIG. 3 uses the force values obtained at blocks 204 and 206 to determine a relationship between them. For instance, the system 10 may determine a slope at block 207. More particularly, the difference between the obtained force values may be divided by the difference in the times that the respective force values were obtained. ” [0043]; “ while force transducers are discussed above in connection with several embodiments, pressure transducers may have equal or greater applicability in other others that are consistent with the principles of the present invention. For instance, a sensor comprising a pressure transducer may be used at the outlet of a syringe or in the tubing. ” [0085]; “ The force value may be detected by a force or pressure sensor in communication with the downstream infusion tube 22, for instance. ” [0062]) ; identifying a pressure limit associated with the first fluid delivery mode (“ The occlusion slope specified at block 202 of FIG. 3 is retrieved at block 209 by the system 10. ” [0048]; “ Initialization may include recalling or defining an expected relationship. This expected relationship may include an occlusion slope. Such a slope may be predetermined using clinical data. For instance, force measurements may be taken under known laboratory conditions at the beginning and end of a window interval. These force measurements are divided by the window to determine the occlusion slope. Some such slopes may be stored in an associative relationship with one or more of the known conditions as applicable to a given pumping system scenario. For instance, a slope may be stored in associative relationship with a particular type or size of syringe, and/or a given infusion rate. ” [0038]) ; determining that the pressure measurement indicates an occlusion in the fluid line based at least in part on the pressure limit (“At block 210 of FIG. 3, the retrieved occlusion slope is compared to the trial slope determined at block 207… Where the detected slope is greater than or equal to the occlusion slope, and the occlusion detection time has lapsed at block 212, the system 10 will generate an occlusion alarm at block 217.” [0048-0051]) ; and display ing an indicator of the occlusion via the display (display 19) coupled to the infusion pump (“ Where the detected slope is greater than or equal to the occlusion slope, and the occlusion detection time has lapsed at block 212, the system 10 will generate an occlusion alarm at block 217. While a typical alarm may include an audible signal and/or a flashing display 19 ” [0051]) . Regarding claim 28 , Pope discloses the method of claim 27 , wherein the infusion pump receives the pressure limit (“ The occlusion slope specified at block 202 of FIG. 3 is retrieved at block 209 by the system 10. Such an occlusion slope may comprise the expected relationship as discussed herein ” [0048]) . Regarding claim 29 , Pope discloses t he method of claim 27 , further comprising receiv ing a request to change to a second fluid delivery pursuant to a second fluid delivery mode (“ The user may initialize the system 10 at block 502 of FIG. 8 … Initialization at block 502 may also include commencing infusion of medication. For example, a user may instruct the system 10 to pump fluid at a rate of 600 ml/ hr for a given bolus injection. ” [0075]) ; and identifying a second limit associated with the second fluid delivery mode (“ Initialization processes may include setting a bolus occlusion limit. ” [0075]) wherein the second limit is different from the first limit (Figure 3 having flowchart 200 describing the first fluid delivery mode and Figure 8 having flow chart 500 describing the second fluid delivery mode, wherein the first limit is an “occlusion slope” and the second limit is an “occlusion limit”) . Regarding claim 30 , Pope discloses t he method of claim 27 , wherein the second fluid delivery corresponds to a same fluid as the first delivery (Figure 1) and wherein the first fluid delivery mode corresponds to a continuous fluid delivery (“steady state”: “ Given time, pressure/force within the system 10 eventually and relatively relaxes in the absence of an occlusion. That is, the force levels off to a more moderate slope. This period of leveling generally coincides with the system 10 achieving steady state. ” [0059]) while the second fluid delivery mode corresponds to a bolus fluid delivery (“ The flowchart 500 of FIG. 8 shows additional processes configured to detect an occlusion within an infusion system 10. The exemplary process steps are particularly suited for application within the context of a bolus injection ” [0074]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (US 20050096593) in view of Lee et al. (US 20060030836) . Regarding claim 16 , Pope discloses t he infusion pump of claim 13 , wherein t he instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to operate the second fluid delivery mode within the first fluid delivery mode (“ The system 10 may verify that it is operating in bolus delivery mode at block 510. This step at block 510 allows the bolus infusion processes to work within the context of normal, non-bolus infusions. ” [0079]). Pope fails to explicitly wherein the instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to gradually revert from the second fluid delivery mode back to the first fluid delivery mode over time. Lee teaches an infusion pump (infusion apparatus 2) comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction (“ a data storage unit for storing medicinal substance infusion algorithms according to a continuous infusion mode, a patient controlled analgesia (PCA) mode … and a control unit for receiving a signal according to the input of each button of the button unit to perform an algorithm according to the corresponding mode previously stored in the data storage unit ” [0021]) executable by a processor (“ a microprocessor ” [0086]) to cause the infusion pump to gradually revert from a second fluid delivery mode (“ a patient controlled analgesia (PCA) mode for further infusing another prescribed amount of medicinal substance in addition to the prescribed amount of the medicinal substance in the continuous infusion mode; ” [ 0023 ]) back to a first fluid delivery (“ a continuous infusion mode for continuously infusing a prescribed amount of medicinal substance from the time when infusion of the medicinal substance is initiated to the time when infusion of the medicinal substance is completed; ” [0023]) mode over time ( Figure 11b, showing the infusion pump reverting to the continuous flow/first mode after a bolus dose/second mode; see described in [0106] and [0132] ) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the instructions executable by the processor of the infusion pump of Pope to include cause the infusion pump to gradually revert from the second fluid delivery mode back to the first fluid delivery mode over time based on the teachings of Lee to ensure that the minimum necessary dose of medicine is delivered while also allowing the patient some control over the infusion in order to take their pain into consideration (Lee [0008], [0106]). Regarding claim 24, Pope discloses t he medical fluid delivery system of claim 21, wherein t he instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to operate the second fluid delivery mode within the first fluid delivery mode (“ The system 10 may verify that it is operating in bolus delivery mode at block 510. This step at block 510 allows the bolus infusion processes to work within the context of normal, non-bolus infusions. ” [0079]). Pope fails to explicitly wherein the instructions executable by the processor further cause the infusion pump to gradually revert from the second fluid delivery mode back to the first fluid delivery mode over time. Lee teaches an infusion pump (infusion apparatus 2) comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction (“ a data storage unit for storing medicinal substance infusion algorithms according to a continuous infusion mode, a patient controlled analgesia (PCA) mode … and a control unit for receiving a signal according to the input of each button of the button unit to perform an algorithm according to the corresponding mode previously stored in the data storage unit ” [0021]) executable by a processor (“ a microprocessor ” [0086]) to cause the infusion pump to gradually revert from a second fluid delivery mode (“ a patient controlled analgesia (PCA) mode for further infusing another prescribed amount of medicinal substance in addition to the prescribed amount of the medicinal substance in the continuous infusion mode; ” [0023]) back to a first fluid delivery (“ a continuous infusion mode for continuously infusing a prescribed amount of medicinal substance from the time when infusion of the medicinal substance is initiated to the time when infusion of the medicinal substance is completed; ” [0023]) mode over time (Figure 11b, showing the infusion pump reverting to the continuous flow/first mode after a bolus dose/second mode; see described in [0106] and [0132]) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the instructions executable by the processor of the medical fluid delivery system of Pope to include cause the infusion pump to gradually revert from the second fluid delivery mode back to the first fluid delivery mode over time based on the teachings of Lee to ensure that the minimum necessary dose of medicine is delivered while also allowing the patient some control over the infusion in order to take their pain into consideration (Lee [0008], [0106]). Claim s 17 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (US 20050096593) in view of Butterfield et al. (US 20120053533) . Regarding claim 17 , Pope discloses t he infusion pump of claim 11 , wherein the disclosed instructions executable by the processor are applicable to peristaltic pumps (“ while this specification focused generally on a syringe pump, one skilled in the art will recognize that the underlying principles of the present invention apply equally to other medical pumping systems, to include cassette based and peristaltic pumps ” [0085]) Pope fails to explicitly discloses the display is located on a door of the infusion pump. Butterfield discloses an infusion pump ( infusion pump 22 ) comprising: a pumping mechanism ( pumping mechanism 70 ) and a display ( display 55 ) located on a door (door 53) of the infusion pump ( “ A display 55, such as an LED display, is located in plain view on the doo ” [0032] ). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the infusion pump of Pope to include th e display is located on a door of the infusion pump based on the teachings of Butterfield to adapt the infusion pump for peristaltic infusion and allow the user to access the internal pumping mechanism and load the fluid line into the pump (Butterfield [0032, 0036]). Regarding claim 25, Pope discloses t he medical fluid delivery system of claim 11 , wherein the disclosed instructions executable by the processor are applicable to peristaltic pumps (“ while this specification focused generally on a syringe pump, one skilled in the art will recognize that the underlying principles of the present invention apply equally to other medical pumping systems, to include cassette based and peristaltic pumps ” [0085]) Pope fails to explicitly discloses the display is located on a door of the infusion pump. Butterfield discloses an infusion pump (infusion pump 22) comprising: a pumping mechanism (pumping mechanism 70) and a display (display 55) located on a door (door 53) of the infusion pump (“ A display 55, such as an LED display, is located in plain view on the doo ” [0032]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the infusion pump of Pope to include the display is located on a door of the infusion pump based on the teachings of Butterfield to adapt the infusion pump for peristaltic infusion and allow the user to access the internal pumping mechanism and load the fluid line into the pump (Butterfield [0032, 0036]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LEAH J SWANSON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0394 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9 AM- 5 PM ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Kevin Sirmons can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-4965 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LEAH J SWANSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783