DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 06/01/2026. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is currently amended and Claims 2-16 are as originally filed.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 2 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Newkirk et al. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newkirk et al (US 4,868,143).
Newkirk et al teaches making ceramic bodies as represented below in the annotated drawing with respect to Claim 1:
The ceramic body reads on the claimed “firing jig.” The first mounting surface mounts the ceramic formed body directly and is adjacent to the second mounting surface. The first mounting surface can be solid or liquid (column 6, line 11) and can be in the form of particulates (column 10, line 41-43; Examples 3 and 5). Newkirk et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the “partition plate” is taught by the vertical side of the crucible 18.
Regarding Claim 7, the wall surface is taught by the second mounting surface.
Further regarding Claim 14, Newkirk et al teaches the claimed method and teaches heating and impregnating (column 3, lines 50-59; column 5, lines 42-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newkirk et al as applied to claims 1 and 14 above.
Newkirk et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Newkirk et al teaches the crucible angle is less than 90° but does not recite the angle of the crucible is 5° to 85° as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the angle in Newkirk et al to at least overlap the claimed range, since a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, in this case the angle of the vertical side of the crucible, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation; therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 II B.
Regarding Claim 16, Newkirk et al teaches porosity depends on temperature, time, dopants, and type of parent metal (column 5, line 65 to column 6, line 2) but does not teach 30% porosity or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the porosity in Newkirk et al to at least overlap the claimed range, since a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, in this case the range of porosity including zero, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation; therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 II B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding Claims 4-6, Newkirk et al does not suggest the ceramic has a hollow portion as claimed. Regarding Claim 8, Newkirk et al does not suggest the second mounting surface (crucible) between a wall surface and the first mounting surface as claimed. Regarding Claim 9, Newkirk et al does not suggest a separate wall surface from the second mounting surface as claimed. Regarding Claim 10, Newkirk et al does not teach at least 80% by mass of the substances recited. Newkirk et al teaches more of the first mounting surface (see Examples). Regarding Claim 12, Newkirk et al does not suggest a honeycomb structure as recited. Regarding Claim 13, Newkirk et al does not teach a ceramic containing silicon carbide and a metal of metallic silicon. Regarding Claim 15, Newkirk et al does not suggest a heat exchanger.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733