Preliminary Amendments
This action is in response to preliminary amendments filed December 27th, 2023, in which Claims 1-20 were cancelled and Claims 21-32 were added. The amendments have been entered, and Claims 21-32 are currently pending.
Specification
The specification is objected to, because [0001] of the specification states that parent application US Application No. 15/494,864 is “now allowed.” This is an incorrect statement as the parent application has been abandoned. Appropriate correction is necessary.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 15th, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(b)(5), which requires the following: “Each publication listed in an information disclosure statement must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date, and place of publication.” The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specifically, the applicant cites a Non-Patent Literature document “Daulani” which misstates the inventor’s name. The document “Daultani” has been correctly cited in the PTO-892 of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22 and 30 recite the element the neural network model¸ which is indefinite because it is unclear as to which of the two previously recited models are being referred – the trained neural network model or the optimized model. For the purpose of examination, an apparatus which performs any pruning step during the conversion of the trained neural network model into the optimized model will be considered to fall within the claim scope.
Claim 23 recites the element the neural n network model¸ which both appears to include a typographical error, and is further indefinite because it is unclear if it refers to either of the two previously recited models – the trained neural network model and the optimized model. For the purpose of examination, an apparatus which performs any pruning step during the conversion of the trained neural network model into the optimized model will be considered to fall within the claim scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of at least one computer-readable medium includes transitory signals per se.
Claim 21 -32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 21 recites an apparatus comprising: processor circuitry, thus an article of manufacture, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter. However, the claim further recites a step to convert [a] trained neural network model to an optimized model comprising parameters that are fit to an execution platform, which is a mental process capable of performance in the human mind (i.e. choosing weight connections to prune or converting weights from floating point to fixed point values). Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea of converting a neural network model to an optimized model.
The claim does not recite any additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, because the additional elements consist of:
circuitry to perform the mental process step, and performance of an abstract idea on generic computer components cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2))
to receive a trained neural network model which is insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering necessary for all uses of the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g))
neither of which can integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, the claim is directed towards the abstract idea of converting a neural network model to an optimized model.
Finally, the additional elements, taken alone and in combination, do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because implementation on generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)), because receiving data is well-understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d), transmitting and receiving data over a network), and because there is no nexus between the additional elements that could provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 22, dependent upon Claim 21, recites an additional mental process step of the abstract idea (to prune one or more nodes from the neural network model is merely determining a connection status in the model), but no new additional elements, thus the claim recites no additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 23, dependent upon Claim 21, recites an additional mental process step of the abstract idea (to reorder one or more operations in the neural network model is merely determining a format of the model), but no new additional elements, thus the claim recites no additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 24, dependent upon Claim 21, only recites details of the particular execution platform for which the neural network is optimized; that is, limits the particular technological environment or field of use in which the abstract idea is performed, or the information used in the abstract idea. Field of use limitations cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and thus the claim is ineligible.
Claims 25-28 recite precisely the methods performed by the apparatus of Claims 21-24, respectively, and are thus rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of those claims, respectively. Claims 29-32 recite at least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions to cause a computing device such as the apparatus of Claims 21-24 to perform those methods. As execution of an abstract idea using generic computer components can neither integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor provide an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)), Claims 29-32 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 21-24, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 24; 25, 26, 28; and 29, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brothers, US PG Pub 2016/0358070, cited by the applicant in the IDS dated 12/15/2023.
Regarding Claim 21, Brothers teaches an apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (Brothers, [0006], “an apparatus for tuning a neural network. The apparatus includes a memory storing code and a processor”) to: receive a trained neural network model in a model optimizer circuitry (Brothers, Fig. 3, element 305, “Receive a first neural network”); and convert the trained neural network model to an optimized model comprising parameters that are fit to an execution platform of the apparatus (Brothers, [0022], “systems to modify and/or optimize neural network are described herein that automatically tune neural network parameters to achieve required performance. The term “performance” may be used herein in describing certain aspects of operation of a neural network such as accuracy … of the neural network as implemented and/or executed for a target application on target hardware”).
Regarding Claim 22, Brothers teaches the apparatus of Claim 21 (and thus the rejection of Claim 21 is incorporated). Brothers further teaches to: prune one or more nodes from the neural network model (Brothers, [0046], “Examples of different modification types that may be applied to the first neural network include … pruning”).
Regarding Claim 24, Brothers teaches the apparatus of Claim 21 (and thus the rejection of Claim 21 is incorporated). Brothers further teaches wherein the execution platform comprises processing resources on a single integrated circuit (Brothers, [0035], “target hardware such as a neural network accelerator 265 [which] may be implemented as an integrated circuit”).
Claims 25, 26, and 28 recite precisely the methods performed by the apparatus of Claims 21, 22, and 24, respectively, and are thus rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of those claims, respectively. Claims 29, 30, and 32 recite at least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed, cause a computing device to perform the operations performed by the apparatus of Claims 21, 22, and 24, respectively. As Brothers teaches such a medium (Brothers, [0007], “a computer readable storage medium having program code stored thereon for tuning a neural network”), Claims 29, 30, and 32 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 21, 22, and 24, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 27, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gysel, in view of Daultani et al., “Convolutional Neural Network Layer Reordering for Acceleration.”
Regarding Claim 23, Brothers teaches the apparatus of Claim 21 (and thus the rejection of Claim 21 is incorporated). Brother does not teach to: reorder one or more operations in the trained neural network model, but Daultani teaches this limitation (Daultani, title, “Convolutional Neural Network Layer Reordering for Acceleration”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the layer reordering algorithm of Daultani to the neural network optimizer of Brothers. The motivation to do so is that “using the proposed reordering, we can reduce the total time … on CPU [and] GPU”).
Claim 27 recites precisely the method performed by the apparatus of Claim 23, and is thus rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 23. Claim 31 recites at least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed, cause a computing device to perform the operations performed by the apparatus of Claim 23. As Brothers teaches such a medium (Brothers, [0007], “a computer readable storage medium having program code stored thereon for tuning a neural network”), Claim 31 is rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 23.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 25, and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/571,150(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 13 recites to receive a trained neural network model and convert the trained neural network model to an optimized model comprising parameters (Reference Application, Claim 13, “converting a conventional precision inference model to an optimized inference model”) that are fit to an execution platform (Reference Application, Claim 13, “a hardware-aware cost model ... based on the hardware specifications … convert … based on the result of the performance simulation”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of reference Claim 13 on a computer, thus teaching the apparatus and computer-readable medium limitations of Claims 21 and 29, as well.
Claims 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/571,150(reference application), in view of Brothers. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a) the claims depend on independent claims which are unpatentable over Claim 13 and b) Brothers teaches both pruning (Brothers, [0046]) and implementing the neural network on a single integrated circuit (Brothers, [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make these modifications to reference Claim 13 because both pruning and execution on an integrated circuit platform improve execution speed.
Claims 23, 27, and 31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/571,150(reference application), in view of Daultani. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a) the claims depend on independent claims which are unpatentable over Claim 13 and b) Daultani teaches reordering. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the layer reordering algorithm of Daultani to the neural network optimizer of reference Claim 13. The motivation to do so is that “using the proposed reordering, we can reduce the total time … on CPU [and] GPU”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
El-Yaniv, US PG Pub 2017/0286830, cited by the applicant in the IDS dated 12/15/2023, also appears to anticipate the independent claims.
Gysel et al., “Hardware-Oriented Approximation of Convolutional Neural Networks” also teaches converting a received neural network to an optimized version for implementation on a hardware platform.
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122