DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1-18 prior to the first office action.
Applicant added claims 19 and 20 prior to the first office action.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant use the term perception task, in the specification, paragraph 0053,cites the input information may further include a type of the perception task, and the type includes one or more of the following types: terahertz imaging perception, camera visual perception, channel state information perception, or location perception. The term perception task is too broad and the applicant should detail in the independent claims which specific task to implement or to address. Therefore, Applicant should amend claims to better clarify the inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being (a1) by Centonza et al. (US20200163146) (hereinafter Centonza) .
Per claim 1, Centonza discloses a communication: method, comprising: receiving, by a core network functional entity, request information of a perception task from a task trigger source (paragraph 0074 and 0133, at block 1405, processing circuitry 470 of CN node 460b may send a request to RAN node 460a in response to the non-delivery message, and the request may include a request for at least one parameter regarding wireless device 410 when wireless device 410 communicates with the radio access network and the communication system of FIG. 7 as a whole enables connectivity between the connected UEs 791, 792 and host computer 730. The connectivity may be described as an over-the-top (OTT) connection 750. Host computer 730 and the connected UEs 791, 792 are configured to communicate data and/or signaling via OTT connection 750, using access network 711, core network 714, any intermediate network 720 and possible further infrastructure (not shown) as intermediaries. OTT connection 750 may be transparent in the sense that the participating communication devices through which OTT connection 750 passes are unaware of routing of uplink and downlink communications)., wherein the request information comprises first area range information (paragraph 0074, i.e. for example, the at least one parameter[ request] regarding wireless device 410 may include at least one of a parameter regarding a location of wireless device 410 and a parameter regarding a state of wireless device 410), and the first area range information indicates to execute the perception task within a first area range (paragraph 0091, i.e. In some embodiments, antenna 462 may comprise one or more omni-directional, sector or panel antennas operable to transmit/receive radio signals between, for example, 2 GHz and 66 GHz. An omni-directional antenna may be used to transmit/receive radio signals in any direction, a sector antenna may be used to transmit/receive radio signals from devices within a particular area, and a panel antenna may be a line of sight antenna used to transmit/receive radio signals in a relatively straight line) ; and sending, by the core network functional entity, first configuration information of the perception task to an access network device (paragraph 0053, i.e. Operation 301. AMF CN node 460b sends a DL NAS PDU for the inactive state wireless device UE 410 on the existing NG-C connection for the inactive state wireless device UE 410 towards RAN node 460b), wherein the first configuration information comprises an identifier of a communication device (paragraph 0013, i.e. the UE may need to be allocated a RAN identifier uniquely identifying the UE context in the RAN. In case there is any failure where it is not possible to retrieve the UE RAN context, it may be assumed that the RAN context can be rebuilt as would happen in the case of a new connection setup, or also consider see paragraph 0114 and 0115, where Storage medium 521 may be configured to include a number of physical drive units, such as smartcard memory such as a subscriber identity module or a removable user identity (SIM/RUIM) module, other memory, or any combination thereof. Storage medium 521 may allow UE 500 to access computer-executable instructions, application programs or the like, stored on transitory or non-transitory memory media, to off-load data, or to upload data, and paragraph 0115, In FIG. 5, processing circuitry 501 may be configured to communicate with network 543b using communication subsystem 531. Network 543a and network 543b may be the same network or networks or different network or networks. Communication subsystem 531 may be configured to include one or more transceivers used to communicate with network 543b) and second area range information (paragraph 0131 and 0133, Fig 7, i.e. UE 792 extending from 713a via OTT connection 750 to the host computer 730 which covers various areas), the second area range information indicates to execute the perception task within a second area range (paragraph 0133, Fig 7, Host computer 730 and the connected UEs 791, 792 are configured to communicate data and/or signaling via OTT connection 750, using access network 711, core network 714, any intermediate network 720 and possible further infrastructure (not shown) as intermediaries. OTT connection 750 may be transparent in the sense that the participating communication devices through which OTT connection 750 passes are unaware of routing of uplink and downlink communications) and the second area range is a subset of the first area range (paragraph 0131 and 0133, Fig 7, UE791, area 713c and the second area range described previously starting at UE792, it’s interpreted that first area range is made up of UE 791 AND UE 792 and the second area range is made up of UE 792, i.e. where the second area range is a subset of the first area range).
Per claim 2, Centonza discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communication device comprises the access network device. (paragraph 0030, Fig 8, base station with user equipment).
Per claim 3, Centonza discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein
the communication device comprises a terminal device,
the method further comprises: obtaining, by the core network functional entity, at least one of: mobility information (paragraph 0007 and 0008, the UE may need to perform a RAN-level procedure to transition to active state to transmit data. In case the UE has moved to a different RAN node, this RAN node will most likely need to fetch the UE context from another RAN node, and if needed, notify the CN that the UE has moved to a new node) , task subscription information, or perception capability
information of the terminal device, and the sending, by the core network functional entity, the first configuration information of the perception task to the access network device comprises (paragraph 0141 and 0143, , the reconfiguring of OTT connection 850 may include message format, retransmission settings, preferred routing etc.; the reconfiguring need not affect base station 820, and it may be unknown or imperceptible to base station 820. Such procedures and functionalities may be known and practiced in the art and In step 920, the host computer initiates a transmission carrying the user data to the UE. In step 930 (which may be optional), the base station transmits to the UE the user data which was carried in the transmission that the host computer initiated): sending, by the core network functional entity, an identifier of the terminal device (paragraph 0013, i.e. the UE may need to be allocated a RAN identifier uniquely identifying the UE context in the RAN. In case there is any failure where it is not possible to retrieve the UE RAN context, it may be assumed that the RAN context can be rebuilt as would happen in the case of a new connection setup, also refer to claim 1 rationale) and the second area range information to the access network device based on the obtained information (paragraph 0133, Fig 7, Host computer 730 and the connected UEs 791, 792 are configured to communicate data and/or signaling via OTT connection 750, using access network 711, core network 714, any intermediate network 720 and possible further infrastructure (not shown) as intermediaries. OTT connection 750 may be transparent in the sense that the participating communication devices through which OTT connection 750 passes are unaware of routing of uplink and downlink communications).
Per claim 4, Centonza discloses the communication method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: further comprising: determining, by the core network functional entity, whether the terminal device is in an idle mode (paragraph 0046 and 0047, i.e. The CN node 460b receiving the NAS Non-Delivery message may take into account the Inactive State notification to make an appropriate decision); and when in response to determining the terminal device is in the idle mode (paragraph 0053, i.e. Operation 301. AMF CN node 460b sends a DL NAS PDU for the inactive state wireless device UE 410 on the existing NG-C connection for the inactive state wireless device UE 410 towards RAN node 460b.), sending, by the core network functional entity, a paging message to the terminal device (paragraph 0054, i.e. Operation 302. RAN node 460b initiates paging the inactive state wireless device UE 410 based on a local formulated paging profile).
Per claim 5, Centonza discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the request information further comprises a type of the perception task, and the type of the perception task comprises one or more of the following types: terahertz imaging perception, camera visual perception, channel state information perception, or location perception (paragraph 0074, i.e. . at block 1405, processing circuitry 470 of CN node 460b may send a request to RAN node 460a in response to the non-delivery message, and the request may include a request for at least one parameter regarding wireless device 410 when wireless device 410 communicates with the radio access network. For example, the at least one parameter regarding wireless device 410 may include at least one of a parameter regarding a location of wireless device 410 and a parameter regarding a state of wireless device 410).
Per claim 6, Centonza discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information further comprises one or more of the following information: a measurement period of the perception task, a reporting trigger mode of a perception result of the perception task, a data reporting mode of the perception result of the perception task, a reporting interval of the perception result of the perception task, a quantity of reporting times of the perception result of the perception task, a reporting time length of the perception result of the perception task, a data reporting type of the perception result of the perception task, sensor information corresponding to the perception task, or data anonymization indication information of the perception result of the perception task(paragraph 0141, A measurement procedure may be provided for the purpose of monitoring data rate, latency and other factors on which the one or more embodiments improve and the sensors may participate in the measurement procedure by supplying values of the monitored quantities exemplified above, or supplying values of other physical quantities from which software 811, 831 may compute or estimate the monitored quantities).
Per claim 7, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 1, paragraph 0099, processor and memory.
Per claim 8, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 9, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 10, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 11, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 12, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 13, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0088, non transitory storage medium.
Per claim 14, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 2, see paragraph 0088, non transitory storage medium.
Per claim 15, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 3, see paragraph 0088, non transitory storage medium.
Per claim 16, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 4, see paragraph 0088, non transitory storage medium.
Per claim 17, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 5, see paragraph 0088, non transitory storage medium.
Per claim 18, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 6, see paragraph 0088, non transitory storage medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centonza in view of Ryu et al. (US20200305118) (hereinafter Ryu).
Per claim 19, Centonza discloses the communication method according to claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein the paging message carries a paging cause value, wherein the paging cause value indicates that the paging message is triggered by the perception task.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ryu discloses wherein the paging message carries a paging cause value (paragraph 0233, i.e. The paging message 2310 may further comprise a paging cause value. The paging cause value may indicate at least one of a NAS signaling for mobility management, a NAS signaling for policy update, a wireless device context update, a wireless device policy update, an indication requesting a registration, an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) voice, an IMS video, an IMS SMS, an IMS MMS, an IMS signaling, other IMS, ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC), emergency, and/or the like) , wherein the paging cause value indicates that the paging message is triggered by the perception task (paragraph 0233, i.e. IMS video).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ryu into the invention
Centonza, where Centonza provides systems, methods, and apparatus for operating RAN and CN nodes are disclosed. An example method of operating a RAN node includes receiving, from a CN node, a PDU for a wireless device that is in an inactive state. The RAN node pages the wireless device in response to receiving the PDU from the CN node. The RAN node sends a non-delivery message to the CN node in response to failure of the paging for the wireless device and Ryu provides a wireless device may receive to a message requesting a connection setup (e.g., a paging message) via a first access technology (e.g., a 3GPP access technology) from a first wireless network in order to provide better of service by sending the notification (e.g., a response to the request for communications), the wireless device may conserve radio resources (e.g., avoid retransmission(s) of the request) and/or improve wireless communication performance (e.g., reduce noise and/or congestion due to retransmission(s) of the request, and/or avoid interrupting and/or cancelling active communications) via paging message including paging cause value, see Ryu, paragraphs 0004 and 0233.
Per claim 20, refer to same rationale as explained in claim 19.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647