DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/15/24 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tianjun et al.(EP 2471260 A1).
Tianjun et al. disclose a voltage sensor-less position detection in an active front end in Figures 1-12.
Regarding claim 9. An electrical system (Figure 1) comprising: a passive filter (300), an active power converter (500), a first AC connecting bus (bus between 300 and 500) extending between the active power converter (500) and the passive filter (300), a second AC connecting bus (bus between 200 and 300) extending between the passive filter and an AC network, a DC connecting bus (bus between 500 and 800) extending between the active power converter and a DC network, a monitoring arrangement (120) configured to monitor an AC voltage on the first AC connecting bus, and a controller (100) adapted to control the active power converter based on the monitored AC voltage on the first AC connecting bus (see paragraphs 29-49).
Regarding claim 10. The electrical system of claim 9, wherein the passive filter includes at least one reactive electrical component (Figure 1, 300 an inductor resistor, paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 11. The electrical system of claim 9, wherein the active power converter includes at least one active power switching component (Figure 1, 500 an active front end inverter, see paragraph 29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed over the cited prior art of record.
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a method of operating an electrical system including the limitation “operating in a first mode including: monitoring an AC voltage on the first AC connecting bus using the monitoring arrangement; and determining a plurality of parameters of an operating AC voltage of the AC network based on the monitored AC voltage on the first AC connecting bus; and subsequently operating in a second mode including: controlling the active power converter to convert a DC voltage received from the DC network into an AC voltage for supply to the AC network via the passive filter, wherein controlling the active power converter is based on: a mathematical model of a set of electrical characteristics of the passive filter; and the plurality of parameters of the operating AC voltage of the AC network“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 2-8 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest an electrical system including the limitation “wherein the controller is adapted to perform a method of operating the electrical system, the method comprising: operating in a first mode including: monitoring an AC voltage on the first AC connecting bus using the monitoring arrangement; and determining a plurality of parameters of an operating AC voltage of the AC network based on the monitored AC voltage on the first AC connecting bus; and subsequently operating in a second mode including: controlling the active power converter to convert a DC voltage received from the DC network into an AC voltage for supply to the AC network via the passive filter, wherein controlling the active power converter is based on: a mathematical model of a set of electrical characteristics of the passive filter; and the plurality of parameters of the operating AC“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 13-14 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al. (US 2021/0313876 A1) disclose an active noise filtering for switch mode power supplies.
Zhou et al. (US 2015/0009727 A1) disclose a power converter with low common mode noise.
Hitachi Appliance, Inc (EP 2023476 A2) disclose a converter apparatus.
Peterson et al. (US 4,053,820A) disclose an active filter.
Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraphs in thereferences applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Althoughthe specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied tospecific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may applyas well.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art is provided and made of record by theExaminer, as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon.The references are provided for the convenience of the applicant. The Examinerrequest that the references be considered in any subsequent amendments, as they arealso representative of the art and may apply to the specific limitations ofany newly amended claim(s).
It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing amendments or responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of theclaimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/ordisclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied upon inorder to ensure proper interpretation of the newly added limitations and toverify/ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838