DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the iso/dump control valve." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, “iso/dump control valve” is first claimed in Claim 2, which Claim 13 had no dependency on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plewnia (US 20200207320 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Plewnia discloses A brake system for actuating a plurality of wheel brakes comprising first (VL, HR) and second pairs (HL, VR) of wheel brakes, the system comprising: a reservoir (122); a master cylinder (148) operable during a backup braking mode to generate brake actuating pressure at first (A) and second (B) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first (VL, HR) and second pairs (HL, VR) of wheel brakes, respectively; a single-acting plunger (“SAP”) assembly (132) operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electric SAP drive motor (140) to generate brake actuating pressure at a SAP output (C) for hydraulically actuating at least one of the first (VL, HR) and second pairs of wheel brakes (HL, VR); first (152) and second (154) two-position three-way valves interposed hydraulically between the master cylinder (148), the SAP assembly (132), and a corresponding one of the first (VL, HR) and second pairs (HL, VR) of wheel brakes for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid from a chosen one of the master cylinder (148) and the SAP assembly (132) to the corresponding one of the first (VL, HR) and second pairs (HL, VR) of wheel brakes; a secondary brake module (120) configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first (D) and second (E) pump outputs for actuating the first (VL, HR) and second pairs (HL, VR) of wheel brakes in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode, the secondary brake module (120) including an electric SBM motor (190) configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pump pistons (192, 192'), each pump piston (192, 192') providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first (D) and second (E) pump outputs, each of the first (D) and second (E) pump outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first (VL, HR) and second (HL, VR) pairs of wheel brakes; and an electronic control unit (180, 180') for controlling at least one of the secondary brake module (120) and the SAP assembly (132) responsive to at least one brake pressure signal (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below, [0049], [0055], [0095]). It should be noted that while Plewina’s specification refers to the pistons as 192 and 192’ (see [0055]) they are mis-labeled in figure 1 as a repeated 142 and 152 respectively, this has been corrected on the annotated figure 1 below for clarity.
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 2, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, including an iso/dump control valve (170-176, 170'-176') arrangement associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve (170-176, 170'-176') arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit (180') (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 2, wherein each iso/dump control valve (170-176, 170'-176') arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first (152) and second (154) two-position three-way valves and a selected one of the first (D) and second (E) pump outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein a first brake pressure sensor (196) is interposed hydraulically between the first two-position three-way valve (152)and the first pair of wheel brakes (VL, HR), and a second brake pressure sensor (196') is interposed hydraulically between the second two-position three-way valve (154) and the second pair of wheel brakes (VR, HL), each of the first (196) and second (196') brake pressure sensors being configured to generate a brake pressure signal responsive to a sensed hydraulic fluid pressure (see Fig. 1, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 6, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein a first brake pressure sensor (196) is interposed hydraulically between the first two-position three-way valve (152)and a an output side of a first pump piston (192) of the secondary brake module (120), and a second brake pressure sensor (196') is interposed hydraulically between the second two-position three-way valve (154) and an output side of a second pump piston (192') of the secondary brake module (120), each of the first (196) and second (196') brake pressure sensors being configured to generate a brake pressure signal responsive to a sensed hydraulic fluid pressure (see Fig. 1, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 7, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein the master cylinder (148) is a dual-chamber master cylinder (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein the master cylinder (148) is actuated to produce pressurized brake fluid via actuating force manually applied by an operator of the vehicle upon a brake pedal assembly (130) mechanically coupled to an input piston of the master cylinder (see Fig. 1, [0049]).
Regarding Claim 10, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, including a first traction control iso valve (179) hydraulically interposed between the first two-position three-way valve (152) and the first pair of wheel brakes (VL, HR) via a first three-way output, and a second traction control iso valve (179') hydraulically interposed between the second two-position three-way valve (154) and the second pair of wheel brakes (HL, VR) via a second three-way output (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 10, wherein a first brake pressure sensor (196) is interposed hydraulically between the first traction control valve (179) and the first pair of wheel brake (VL, HR), and a second brake pressure sensor (196') is interposed hydraulically between the second traction control valve (179') and the second pair of wheel brakes (HL, VR), each of the first (179) and second (179') brake pressure sensors being configured to generate a brake pressure signal responsive to a sensed hydraulic fluid pressure (see Fig. 1, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 14, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 10, including an iso/dump control valve (170-176, 170'-176') arrangement associated with each wheel brake of the first (VL, HR) and second pairs (HL, VR) of wheel brakes, wherein the first traction control iso valve (179) is hydraulically interposed between the first two-position three-way valve (152) and the iso/dump control valve arrangements (170-176) of the first (VL, HR) pair of wheel brakes, and wherein the second traction control iso valve (179') is hydraulically interposed between the second two-position three-way valve (154) and the iso/dump control valve (170'-176') arrangements of the second (HL, VR) pair of wheel brakes (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein the electronic control unit (180, 180') is a first electronic control unit (180) controlling the SAP assembly (132), and the brake system includes a second electronic control unit (180') controlling the secondary brake module (120), wherein both the first (180) and second (180') electronic control units control the respective SAP assembly (132) and secondary brake module (120) responsive to at least one brake pressure signal (see Fig. 1, [0053], [0056-0061]).
Regarding Claim 16, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, including at least one travel sensor (182) operatively coupled to an input piston of the master cylinder (148), the at least one travel sensor (182) being configured to provide a braking signal, in a wired or wireless manner, corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit (180, 180') controls at least one of the secondary brake module (120) and the SAP assembly (132) responsive to the braking signal (see Fig. 1, [0066]).
Regarding Claim 17, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein the reservoir (122), master cylinder (148), and SAP assembly (132) are co-located in a first housing and the secondary brake module (120) is located in a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing (see Fig. 1, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 18, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, including a simulator test valve (166) hydraulically interposed between the reservoir (122) and at least one chamber of the master cylinder (148), the simulator test valve (166) being operable during a test mode of the brake system (see Fig. 1, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 19, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 1, including a brake simulator (160) in fluid communication with a selected chamber (150') of the master cylinder (148) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 19, including a simulator valve (156) hydraulically interposed between the brake simulator (160) and the master cylinder (148) (see Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 2-3, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganzel (US 20210155215 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ganzel discloses a brake system for actuating a plurality of wheel brakes comprising first (12a, 12b) and second pairs (12d, 12C) of wheel brakes, the system comprising: a reservoir (20); a master cylinder (14) operable during a backup braking mode to generate brake actuating pressure at first (36) and second MC outputs (38) for hydraulically actuating the first (12a, 12b) and second pairs (12d, 12c) of wheel brakes, respectively; a single-acting plunger (“SAP”) assembly (18) operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electric SAP drive motor (214) to generate brake actuating pressure at a SAP output (254) for hydraulically actuating at least one of the first (12a, 12b) and second pairs (12d, 13c) of wheel brakes; first (30) and second (32) two-position three-way valves interposed hydraulically between the master cylinder, the SAP assembly, and a corresponding one of the first (12a, 12b) and second pairs (12d, 12c) of wheel brakes for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid from a chosen one of the master cylinder (14) and the SAP assembly (18) to the corresponding one of the first (12a, 12b) and second pairs (12d, 12c) of wheel brakes; a secondary brake module (400) configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first (412) and second (430) pump outputs for actuating the first (12a, 12b) and second pairs (12d, 12c) of wheel brakes in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode, the secondary brake module (400) including an electric SBM motor (406) configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pump pistons (408, 410), each pump piston providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first (412) and second (430) pump outputs, each of the first (412) and second (430) pump outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first (12a, 12b) and second (12d, 12c) pairs of wheel brakes; and an electronic control unit (401, 22) for controlling at least one of the secondary brake module (400) and the SAP assembly (18) responsive to at least one brake pressure signal (see Fig. 1, [0057], [0076-0077])
Regarding Claim 2, Ganzel discloses the brake system of claim 1, including an iso/dump control valve arrangement associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes (12a, 12b, 12c, 12d), each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit (401, 22) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ganzel discloses the brake system of claim 2, wherein each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first (30) and second (32) two-position three-way valves and a selected one of the first (412) and second (430) pump outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Ganzel discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein the master cylinder (14) is a triple-chamber master cylinder (see Fig. 1, [0048]).
Regarding Clam 9, Ganzel discloses the brake system of claim 1, wherein the master cylinder (14) is actuated to produce pressurized brake fluid via actuating force manually applied by an operator of the vehicle upon a brake pedal assembly (70) mechanically coupled to an input piston (102) of the master cylinder (see Fig. 1, [0047-0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plewnia (US 20200207320 A1) in view of Sato (US 20070210648 A1).
Plewnia discloses the brake system of claim 4, wherein the first brake pressure sensor (196) is interposed hydraulically between the first two-position three-way valve (152) and a front brake (VL) of the first pair of wheel brakes (VL, HR), and a second brake pressure sensor (196') is interposed hydraulically between the second two-position three-way valve (154) and a front brake (VR) of the second pair of wheel brakes (VR, HL) (see Fig. 1).
Plewnia does not disclose wherein a third brake pressure sensor is interposed hydraulically between the first two-position three-way valve and a rear brake of the first pair of wheel brakes, and a fourth brake pressure sensor is interposed hydraulically between the second two-position three-way valve and a rear brake of the second pair of wheel brakes, each of the third and fourth brake pressure sensors being configured to generate a brake pressure signal responsive to a sensed hydraulic fluid pressure.
Sato teaches the brake system inclusion of four separate pressure sensors, for each wheel, which generate a brake pressure signal responsive to a sensed hydraulic fluid pressure and interposed between the wheel brakes and the control valves responsible for directing the fluid from the master cylinder.
It would have been obvious to combine the teaching of four pressure sensors of Sato with the brake system of Plewnia in order to improve brake control for desired functions, such as ABS control (see US 20070210648 A1 [Sato]; [0012-0015]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Accordingly, because of its dependence on Claim 12, Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim, any intervening claims, and to overcome outstanding 112(b) rejections.
Regarding Claim 12, Plewnia and Ganzel do not disclose including a first bypass iso valve hydraulically interposed between the first traction control iso valve and a front brake of the first pair of wheel brakes, and a second bypass iso valve hydraulically interposed between the second traction control iso valve and a front brake of the second pair of wheel brakes.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ganzel [US 10940843 B2] and Deng et. al. [CN 113147704 A].
Ganzel [US 10940843 B2] discloses a number of embodiments of hydraulic brake systems including embodiments including both a bypass valve and a traction control valve (see Fig. 19, Fig. 20).
Deng et. al. [CN 113147704 A] discloses a hydraulic brake system including a two-position three-way valve interposed between the master cylinder, SAP assembly, and the pairs of wheel brakes.
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616