Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, directed to a method of manufacturing an electrolyte membrane, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200313216A1 (Kim) in view of US20200075983A1 (Yu).
Claim 1, Kim teaches a membrane electrode assembly for fuel cells [abs]; an electrolyte membrane for a membrane-electrode assembly, comprising: an ionomer having proton conductivity; and a composite dispersed in the ionomer [0040-0047]; wherein the alloy catalyst comprises an alloy of platinum and a metal other than platinum [0046-0047; 0057-0062]. Yu does not teach wherein the composite comprises cerium oxide (CeOx) and an alloy catalyst supported on the cerium oxide. Yu teaches a membrane electrode assembly for fuel cells [abs]; and teaches wherein the composite comprises cerium oxide (CeOx) and an alloy catalyst supported on the cerium oxide [0007, 0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Yu and incorporate the CeOx in the composite as this is used to prevent chemical degradation of the electrolyte membrane [0007].
Claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the cerium oxide is in a form in which a (111) crystal plane is most exposed. It is noted, the claimed “cerium oxide is in a form in which a (111) crystal plane is most exposed” is achieved by synthesis or processing conditions, thus this appears to be a product by process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). Therefore, it is the Examiners position, since Kim teaches using CeOx that is dispersed in the ionomer, the process of how the CeOx is made is not given patentable weight, as the claims are directed to the product itself.
Claim 3, modified Kim teaches wherein the cerium oxide, however is silent with respect to the cerium oxide is a polyhedron, and wherein at least one of a surface or an inside of the polyhedron is supported with the alloy catalyst. It is noted, a polyhedron is a shape of the cerium oxide, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cerium oxide to be a polyhedron shape without it affecting the function of the membrane; The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the metal other than platinum comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of: palladium (Pd), ruthenium (Ru), iridium (Ir), gold (Au), silver (Ag), chromium (Cr), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), molybdenum (Mo), yttrium (Y), and combinations thereof [0046-0047].
Claim 5, modified Kim teaches wherein the composite comprises, based on 100 parts by weight of the cerium oxide, 0.1 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight of the platinum and 0.1 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight of the metal [Yu 0076].
Claim 7, Kim teaches comprising a reinforcement layer and an ion transport layer formed on at least one side of the reinforcement layer [fig. 4; #11], wherein the ion transport layer comprises the ionomer and the composite [0053-0055].
Claim 8, Kim teaches comprising a reinforcement layer, a first ion transport layer [#12] formed on an upper side of the reinforcement layer [#11], and a second ion transport layer [#13] formed on a lower side of the reinforcement layer, wherein one of the first or second ion transport layer does not comprise the composite [0053-0055; fig. 4, #11]
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200313216A1 (Kim) in view of US20200075983A1 (Yu) and in further view of US20090053403A1 (Akita).
Claim 6, Kim and Yu are silent with respect to wherein the composite is 1 µg/cm2 to 30 µg/cm2 based on a total amount of the electrolyte membrane. Akita teaches a method of producing an electrolyte membrane for a fuel cell [abs] and teaches the composite content to be 17 µg/cm2 which falls within the claimed ranges [0034-0038; 0059-0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Kim in view of modified as results in suppressing degradation of the electrolyte due to peroxide radicals while preventing deformation of the electrolyte membrane [0071].
Conclusion
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729