DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on January 25, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 19-20 is/are withdrawn. A first action on the merits of claims 1-18 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on January 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, ln. 5: “an outer syrface” should be changed to –an outer surface--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (hereinafter ‘Zhang’, NPL: Amorphous carbon films doped with silver and chromium to achieve ultra-low interfacial electrical resistance and long-term durability in the application of proton exchange membrane fuel cells, in the IDS filed on 11/4/2024).
In regards to independent claim 1, Zhang discloses an electrocardiography (ECG) electrode (Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coated electrode assembly; note that ECG electrode is an intended use limitation, and the Ag Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coated electrode assembly is capable of being used as ECG electrode) comprising:
an electrode substrate comprising an outer surface (pg. 334, col. 2, 2.1 Coatings preparation, non-polished 316L stainless steel foils and silicon wafer); and
a doped graphite-like carbon film on the outer surface (pg. 334, col. 2, 2.1 Coatings preparation, the Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coatings (a-C:Ag:cr)), wherein the doped GLC film comprises:
GLC comprising a carbon element (pg. 334, col. 2, 2.1 Coatings preparation, Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coating), wherein the GLC has an amorphous carbon structure (amorphous carbon);
first nano-crystals (silver, Ag shown in Fig. 1(b); note that the final arrangement is a combination of silver and chromium; however, for the purposes of illustration, only silver nanoclusters are shown) that are doped in the GLC, wherein the first nano-crystals (silver doped amorphous carbon) comprises:
a weak carbon-bonding element comprising a first part in a form of a metallic elementary substance (pg. 334, col. 1, para. 2: “first-principle calculations to study the chemical bond characteristic between Ag and carbon atoms. They indicated that Ag showed an antibonding characteristic with carbon”; density functional theory (DFT) includes various parameters including lattice constant and cohesive energy in Table 2; silver and carbon interaction lattice constant (a), and cohesive energy (echo) is less than chromium and carbon interaction); and
a first columnar structure that extends in a thickness direction of the doped GLC film (Fig. 1(b) shows Ag doped a-C coating in which silver nanoclusters exhibit columnar arrangement);
second nano-crystals (chromium, Cr in Fig. 1(c); note that the final arrangement is a combination of silver and chromium; however, for the purposes of illustration, only chromium atoms uniformly distributed along the amorphous carbon coating are shown) that are doped in the GLC (chromium doped amorphous carbon), wherein the second nano-crystals comprises a strong carbon-bonding element that bonds with the carbon element through a chemical bond (density functional theory (DFT) includes various parameters including lattice constant and cohesive energy in Table 2; chromium and carbon interaction lattice constant (a), and cohesive energy (echo) is greater than silver and carbon interaction), wherein the second nano-crystals are distributed between a plurality of adjacent and spaced columnar structure (Fig. 1(c) shows the chromium atoms are uniformly distributed in a-C phase in which, when combined with doped silver is disposed between the silver nanoclusters embedded in the a-C).
In regards to claim 2, Zhang further discloses wherein the metallic elementary substance comprises one of copper (Cu), silver (Ag), gold (Au), or aluminum (Al) (pg. 336, col. 2, para. 2: a-C doped with silver nanoclusters).
In regards to claim 4, Zhang further discloses wherein the doped GLC film further comprises: a first surface facing the electrode substrate (upper surface of the a-C coating); and a second surface opposite to the first surface (lower surface of the a-C coating); a third nano-crystal of the first nano-crystals that is in proximity to the first surface, wherein the third nano-crystal has a cluster structure (Fig. 1(b) shows the Ag atoms forming nanoclusters on the upper surface of the a-C coating), a fourth nano-crystal of the first nano-crystals that is in proximity to the second surface, wherein the fourth nano-crystal has a second columnar structure (Fig. 1(b) shows the Ag atoms embedded within the a-C coating, in which the Ag atoms form a non-cluster that resemble a columnar structure within the a-C coating).
In regards to claim 5, Zhang further discloses wherein the second nano-crystals are distributed between a plurality of cluster structures and the adjacent and spaced columnar structures (Figs. 1(b) and 1(c) combined shows that the Cr atoms are uniformly distributed between the Ag nanoclusters on the surface of the a-C coating and the columnar structures of the Ag nanoclusters embedded in the a-C coating).
In regards to claim 6, Zhang further discloses wherein the strong-carbon bonding comprises chromium (Cr), tungsten (W), or titanium (Ti) (pg. 336, col. 2, para. 2: the Cr atoms are uniformly distributed in a-C phases).
In regard to claims 8 and 9, Zhang further discloses wherein the ECG electrode further comprises a transition layer between the electrode substrate and the doped GLC film, wherein the transition layer comprises one of chromium (Cr), tungsten (W), or titanium (Ti) (pg. 334, col. 2, para. 3L the Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coating is deposited on a non-polished 316L stainless steel foil; attention is directed to Fig. 1(a), a Cr substrate below the a-C coating which would be positioned between the stainless steel foil and the Ag and Cr doped a-C coating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 13-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (hereinafter ‘Cheng’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2016/0066852) and further in view of Zhang.
In regards to independent claim 10, Cheng discloses an electronic device (wrist and strap band 100 in Fig. 1), comprising: one or more processors configured to receive an electrocardiography signal of a monitored object ([0030]: the device 150 comprises circuitry including one or more processors (e.g. DSP, uP, uC); [0049]-[0050]: one or more processors process data received from the electrodes 102); and an electrocardiography (ECG) electrode ([0067]: electrode 102 is configured for sensing electrical potential) and an anti-corrosion coating ([0048]: “ Electrodes 102 may be coated 601s with a material operative to prevent corrosion or other chemical reactions that may reduce electrical conductivity of the electrodes 102 are damage the material of the electrodes 102”), wherein the ECG electrode is configured to be in contact with a skin of the monitored object to obtain the electrocardiography signal and transmit the electrography signal to the one or more processors ([0049]-[0050]: one or more processors process data received from the electrodes 102 which includes the biopotential signal; although not explicitly stated, a biopotential signal via an electrode of a wearable device such as a wrist band like that of Cheng is commonly used for acquiring ECG signal).
However, Cheng does not disclose the specific material of the anti-corrosion coating.
Zhang discloses an electrode (Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coated electrode assembly) comprising a doped graphite-like carbon film (pg. 334, col. 2, 2.1 Coatings preparation, the Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coatings (a-C:Ag:cr) configured to provide high mechanical strength, stable chemical property, excellent electrical conductivity, and corrosive durability (pg. 333, col. 1, para. 1). Zhang further teaches GLC comprises an amorphous carbon structure (amorphous carbon); first nano-crystals (silver) that are doped in the GLC, wherein the first nano-crystals (silver doped amorphous carbon) comprises: a weak carbon-bonding element comprising a first part in a form of a metallic elementary substance (density functional theory (DFT) includes various parameters including lattice constant and cohesive energy in Table 2; silver and carbon interaction lattice constant (a), and cohesive energy (echo) is less than chromium and carbon interaction); and a first columnar structure that extends in a thickness direction of the doped GLC film (Fig. 1(b) shows Ag doped a-C coating in which exhibit columnar arrangement); second nano-crystals (chromium) that are doped in the GLC (chromium doped amorphous carbon), wherein the second nano-crystals comprises a strong carbon-bonding element that bonds with the carbon element through a chemical bond density functional theory (DFT) includes various parameters including lattice constant and cohesive energy in Table 2; chromium and carbon interaction lattice constant (a), and cohesive energy (echo) is greater than silver and carbon interaction), wherein the second nano-crystals are distributed between a plurality of adjacent and spaced columnar structure (Fig. 1(c) shows the chromium atoms are uniformly distributed in a-C phase in which it is disposed between the silver nanoclusters embedded in the a-C). Given that Cheng discloses anticorrosion coating for ECG electrode ([0048]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the anti-corrosion coating of Cheng with the doped graphite-like carbon (GLC) film of Zhang, as doing so provides high mechanical strength, stable chemical property, excellent electrical conductivity, and corrosive durability (pg. 333, col. 1, para. 1) and choosing a coating for the purpose of enhanced anti-corrosion involves routine skill in the art.
In regards to claim 11, in view of the combination in claim 10 above, Zhang further discloses wherein the metallic elementary substance comprises one of copper (Cu), silver (Ag), gold (Au), or aluminum (Al) (Zhang, pg. 336, col. 2, para. 2: a-C doped with silver nanoclusters).
In regards to claim 13, in view of the combination in claim 10 above, Zhang further discloses wherein the doped GLC film further comprises: a first surface facing the electrode substrate (upper surface of the a-C coating); and a second surface opposite to the first surface (lower surface of the a-C coating); a third nano-crystal of the first nano-crystals that is in proximity to the first surface, wherein the third nano-crystal has a cluster structure (Fig. 1(b) shows the Ag atoms forming nanoclusters on the upper surface of the a-C coating), a fourth nano-crystal of the first nano-crystals that is in proximity to the second surface, wherein the fourth nano-crystal has a second columnar structure (Fig. 1(b) shows the Ag atoms embedded within the a-C coating, in which the Ag atoms that resemble a columnar structure within the a-C coating).
In regards to claim 14, in view of the combination in claim 14/13/10 above, Zhang further discloses wherein the second nano-crystals are distributed between a plurality of cluster structures and the adjacent and spaced columnar structures (Figs. 1(b) and 1(c) combined shows that the Cr atoms are uniformly distributed between the Ag nanoclusters on the surface of the a-C coating and the columnar structures of the Ag nanoclusters embedded in the a-C coating).
In regards to claim 15, in view of the combination in claim 10, Zhang further discloses wherein the strong-carbon bonding comprises chromium (Cr), tungsten (W), or titanium (Ti) (pg. 336, col. 2, para. 2: the Cr atoms are uniformly distributed in a-C phases).
In regard to claims 17 and 18, in view of the combination in claim 10, Zhang further discloses wherein the ECG electrode further comprises a transition layer between the electrode substrate and the doped GLC film, the transition layer comprises one of chromium (Cr), tungsten (W), or titanium (Ti) (pg. 334, col. 2, para. 3L the Ag and Cr co-doped amorphous carbon coating is deposited on a non-polished 316L stainless steel foil; attention is directed to Fig. 1(a), a Cr substrate below the a-C coating which would be positioned between the stainless steel foil and the Ag and Cr doped a-C coating).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 12 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 3, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the doped GLC film further comprises a first surface facing the electrode substrate; and a second surface opposite to the first surface, wherein an atomic percentage of the weak carbon element gradually increases in a first thickness direction from the first surface to the second surface. Instead, Zhang discloses wherein the atomic percentage of the weak carbon-bonding element (silver, Ag) gradually decreasing in a first thickness direction from the first surface (lower surface) to the second surface (upper surface). Furthermore, there is no evidence that modifying the arrangement of the silver nanoclusters as claimed provides the same properties as disclosed and contemplated by Zhang.
In regards to claim 12, Cheng/Zhang combination fail to disclose the claimed limitation as set forth in claim 12. Claim 12 recites the same limitation of claim 3 and therefore would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
In regards to claim 7, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the doped GLC film further comprises an atomic percentage of the strong carbon-bonding element gradually decreases in a first thickness direction from the first surface to the second surface. Zhang discloses instead uniformly distributed the Chromium atoms along the amorphous carbon coating (Fig. 1, legend “Cr atoms are uniformly distributed in a-C phases”). Therefore, there is no motivation to modify the uniformly distributed chromium to arrive at the claimed atomic percentage.
In regards to claim 16, Cheng/Zhang combination fail to disclose the claimed limitation as set forth in claim 16. Claim 16 recites the same limitation of claim 7 and therefore would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 2/18/2026