DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Claims 4, 11-12, 17-19, 21 and 27-28 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29 are pending.
Claim 7 is objected to.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29 are rejected.
Priority
This US Application No. 18/514,112 (10/31/2023) is a CON of US Application No. 18/174,142 (02/24/2023) which is a CON of US Application No. 16/893,716 06/05/2020 which is a CON of US Application No. 16/240,441 (01/04/2019) which is a CON of US Application No. 16/071,032 (07/18/2018) which is a 371 of PCT/US2017/014338 (01/20/2017) which claims benefit of US Application No. 62/281,630 (01/21/2016), as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 06/13/2024. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged and the effective filing date of claims 1-3,5-10,13-16,20,22-26 and 29 is 01/21/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2024 was considered.
Claim objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informality: the recited “two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS)” should read “2DCDS” because said abbreviation was previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter the invention. Dependent claims are rejected similarly, unless otherwise noted below. The following issues cause the respective claims to be rejected under 112(b) as indefinite:
The following recitations require but lack antecedent basis, rendering their claims indefinite because there is no previous recitations of the followings terms as written:
claim 23, “the presence and/or extent of deamination of amino acid side chains”
claim 24, “the stability of domains”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20 and 22-24), a system (claims 25-26) and a CRM (claim 29); each of which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims found to recite abstract ideas that can fall into the grouping of mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) and mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information). The identified grouping(s) for this instant claims are as follows:
Mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) include:
• "applying/apply two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS) analysis to generate an asynchronous co-distribution plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids" (independent claims 1, 25 and 29);
• "applying the two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS) analysis to generate a synchronous co-distribution plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids” (claim 7);
• "applying two-dimensional correlation (2DCOS) analysis, generating a synchronous correlation plot and an asynchronous correlation plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids” (claim 9);
• "analyzing the spectral data to verify signal-to-noise ratio, perform a baseline correction, determine water vapor content, and/or determine signal intensity within a spectral region” (claim 14);
• "generating covariance or dynamic spectral data based on perturbation of a sample” (claim 15) and
• "determining a minimum number of underlying spectral contributions in a band, performing curve fitting analysis. and determining a secondary structure composition of a sample” (claim 20).
The claims identified above read on math. The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation and determined each element performed by mathematical operation. The step directed to “executing algorithms to perform 2DCDS analysis, correlation analysis and curve fitting analysis and to generate covariance or the dynamic spectral data” requires mathematical techniques as the only supported embodiments because it describes a mathematical technique (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains). Further support for the mathematical techniques used in the claims is provided in the specification at [0095], which discloses an algorithm implemented for 2DCDS analysis, at [0111], which discloses an algorithm implemented for correlation analysis and to generate covariance or the dynamic spectral data and at [0112], which discloses an algorithm implemented to perform curve fitting analysis. Thus, the recited terms correspond to verbal equivalents of mathematical concepts because they constitute actions executed by a group of mathematical steps in a form of a mathematical algorithm; thus mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains.
Mental processes, defined as concepts or steps practically performed in the human mind such as steps of observations, evaluations, judgments, analysis, opinions or organizing information include:
• "identifying/identify in the asynchronous co-distribution plot a cross peak that correlates with an auto peak associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids" (independent claims 1, 25 and 29);
• "using/use the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation" (independent claims 1, 25 and 29);
• "determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2 whether the cross peak corresponding to the two wavenumbers has a positive value: and when the cross peak has a positive value, determining that a presence of spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed within an interval of the applied perturbation that is lower than an interval within which a presence of spectral intensity at v2 is distributed” (claim 2);
• "determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2, whether the cross peak corresponding to the two wavenumbers has a negative value; and when the cross peak has a negative value, determining that a presence of spectral intensity at v2 is distributed within an interval of the applied perturbation that is lower than an interval within which a presence of spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed” (claim 3);
• "identifying, in the synchronous co-distribution plot, synchronous co-distribution peaks associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids” (claim 7);
• "using the synchronous co-distribution peaks to determine a degree of overlap of distribution patterns for spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation” (claim 7);
• "determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2, whether the synchronous co- distribution peaks corresponding to the two wavenumbers are within a range” (claim 8);
• "identifying, in the synchronous correlation plot, positive cross peaks that correlate with auto peaks associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids” (claim 9);
• "using identified peak intensities of the spectral data to determine an amount of aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids” (claim 9);
• "comparing the amount of aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids to an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation” (claim 10);
• "determining a size and a number of particulates to ascertain population distribution of the particulates” (claim 13);
• "correlating changes, comprising peak intensities, in the spectral data that are in-phase with one another as obtained in the synchronous plot” (claim 16);
• "correlating changes, comprising peak intensities, in the spectral data that are out-of-phase from one another as obtained in the asynchronous plot” (claim 22);
• "determining the presence and/or extent of deamination of amino acid side chains in the proteins. peptides, and/or peptoids” (claim 23); and
• "determining the stability of domains in the proteins, peptides. and/or peptoids” (claim 24).
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind (i.e. concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) or because the method only requires a user to manually determine action based on an added number. Under the BRI, the recited limitations are mental processes because a human mind is also sufficiently capable of evaluating data in a plot:
• to identify peaks and how peaks correlate,
• to determine an order of spectral intensities,
• to determine if one wavenumber in a cross-peak is within a lower interval than another wavenumber,
• to determine a degree of overlap of distribution patterns,
• to determine whether peaks corresponding to the two wavenumbers are within a range,
• to determine an amount of aggregation based on peak intensities,
• to determine the a size and a number of particulates to ascertain population distribution of the particulates,
• to compare spectral data with respect to the applied perturbation,
• to determine the presence or extent of deamination, and
• to determine stability of domains.
Dependent claim 5 recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claim 1 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. Claim 5 recites further details about the asynchronous co-distribution intensity in the asynchronous co-distribution plot.
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2).
Instant claims 1, 25 and 29 recite additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
• “obtaining/obtain spectral data of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids with respect to an applied perturbation" (independent claims 1, 25 and 29);
• "a data acquisition module … correlation analysis module " (independent claim 25);
• "a visual model generator for generating one or more plots for display" (claim 26); and
• "non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which. when executed by one or more computers" (independent claim 29).
Dependent claim 6 recite further details about the applied perturbation.
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
The limitations recited in claims 1, 25 and 29 are interpreted as requiring the use of a computer. Hence, the claims explicitly recite steps executed by computers and therefore can be described as computer functions or instructions to implement on a generic computer.
The recited "visual model generator”, "data acquisition module" and “computer-readable-medium” are directed to additional non-abstract elements of a computing device/computer and do not describe any specific computational steps by which the "computer parts" perform or carry out the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute judicial exceptions.
The judicial exceptions in the claims are considered to perform the claimed abstract idea with a computer, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); since steps that can be performed mentally and merely performing the mental process in a computer environment do not negate the fact that something that can be carried out in the human mind. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.C.
Claims directed to "obtaining spectral data" (claims 1, 25 and 29) read on receiving or transmitting data over a network -Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321 - MPEP 2106.05(a) pertains; which constitutes just necessary data gathering and therefore correspond to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claims reciting "generating one or more plots for display" (claim 26) is interpreted as data output and as such insignificant extra-solution activity.
Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)).
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
Claims 1, 25 and 29 recite a computer or computer functions, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions; which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the courts have found that receiving and outputting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versa ta Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il)(i)).
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a broad technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(h).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-16, 20, 22-26 and 29: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(l) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale,
or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-10, 14-16, 22, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda15 ("Techniques of two-dimensional (2D) correlation spectroscopy useful in life science research." Biomedical Spectroscopy and Imaging 4.2:109-127 (2015)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 1 recites a method comprising steps. Claim 25 recites a system comprising said steps. Claim 29 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which. when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform acts comprising said steps.
The prior art to Noda15 discloses a method and a system related to method of constructing 2D correlation maps from temperature-dependent IR spectra for a model protein system describing the resolution of overlapped protein IR bands by 2D correlation and the sequential order of spectral intensity changes (pg. 109 Abstract); wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided via the instrumentation disclosed such as IR, Raman, NIR, fluorescence, NMR, X-ray (pg. 109 para. 1).
The steps performed by the method of claim 1, a system of claim 25, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 29 comprise:
Claim 1 recites:
obtaining spectral data of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids with respect to an applied perturbation;
applying two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS) analysis to generate an asynchronous co-distribution plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids
• Noda15 teaches a method for using two-dimensional codistribution spectroscopy to analyze population dynamics, such as temporal distribution of conformational secondary structures within a protein during the denaturation and aggregation process (pg. 123 para. 4) to determine the sequential order of the presence of constituent species (pg. 119 para. 3); wherein an asynchronous 2D codistribution spectrum (i.e. applying two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS) analysis to generate an asynchronous co-distribution plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids) of the model protein is constructed from the entire simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra (i.e. obtaining spectral data of the proteins. peptides, and/or peptoids with respect to an applied perturbation) (pg. 123 Fig. 9).
identifying in the asynchronous co-distribution plot a cross peak that correlates with an auto peak associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids
• Noda15 teaches synchronous and asynchronous 2D correlation spectrum (i.e. identifying cross peak correlations) of the model protein constructed from the simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra (pg. 117 Fig. 3); wherein peaks on the main diagonal line are therefore referred to as auto-peaks and its intensities represent the overall extent of dynamic fluctuations of spectral signals induced by the perturbation (pg. 111 para. 2); wherein denaturation and aggregation processes induced by said perturbation (pg. 113 para. 1) and the development of cross peaks in the asynchronous spectrum is observed at the spectral coordinates corresponding to individual conformation bands and influenced by the direction of signal intensity variations (i.e. identifying in the asynchronous co-distribution plot a cross peak that correlates with an auto peak associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids) (pg. 118 para. 2). Here, the identified asynchronous peaks are influenced by the signal intensity variations caused by said perturbation and therefore can be correlated with said auto peaks which represent the extent of dynamic fluctuations due to said perturbation induced denaturation.
using the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation
• Noda15 teaches it as, for a cross peak with positive sign, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) > 0, the presence of the species reflected by the spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed predominantly at the earlier stage along the perturbation axis compared to that for ν2 (pg. 124 para. 4); wherein, in contrast, if we have the observation of a negative cross peak, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) < 0, the order of presence is reversed and, in the case of i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) ≈ 0, the average distributions of the spectral intensities observed at two wavenumbers over the course of observation are similar and they coexist together (i.e. using the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation) (pg. 125 para. 1).
Claim 2 recites:
wherein using the cross peak comprises: determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2 whether the cross peak corresponding to the two wavenumbers has a positive value: and when the cross peak has a positive value, determining that a presence of spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed within an interval of the applied perturbation that is lower than an interval within which a presence of spectral intensity at v2 is distributed
• Noda15 teaches that, for a cross peak with positive sign, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) > 0 (i.e. determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2 whether the cross peak corresponding to the two wavenumbers has a positive value), the presence of the species reflected by the spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed predominantly at the earlier stage along the perturbation axis compared to that for ν2 (i.e. determining that a presence of spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed within an interval of the applied perturbation that is lower than an interval within which a presence of spectral intensity at v2 is distributed) (pg. 124 para. 4).
Claim 3 recites:
wherein using the cross peak comprises: determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2, whether the cross peak corresponding to the two wavenumbers has a negative value; and when the cross peak has a negative value, determining that a presence of spectral intensity at v2 is distributed within an interval of the applied perturbation that is lower than an interval within which a presence of spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed
• Noda15 teaches that, if we have the observation of a negative cross peak, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) < 0 (i.e. determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2, whether the cross peak corresponding to the two wavenumbers has a negative value), the order of presence is reversed and the presence of the species reflected by the spectral intensity at ν2 is distributed predominantly at the earlier stage along the perturbation axis compared to that for ν1 (i.e. determining that a presence of spectral intensity at v2 is distributed within an interval of the applied perturbation that is lower than an interval within which a presence of spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed) (pg. 125 para. 1).
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the applied perturbation is time, temperature, concentration, or pressure
• Noda15 teaches an asynchronous 2D codistribution spectrum of the model protein constructed from the entire simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra (pg. 123 Fig. 9).
Claim 9 recites:
applying two-dimensional correlation (2DCOS) analysis, generating a synchronous correlation plot and an asynchronous correlation plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids:
identifying, in the synchronous correlation plot, positive cross peaks that correlate with auto peaks associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids: and
using identified peak intensities of the spectral data to determine an amount of aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids
• Noda15 teaches synchronous and asynchronous 2D correlation spectrum of the model protein (i.e. applying two-dimensional correlation (2DCOS) analysis, generating a synchronous correlation plot and an asynchronous correlation plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids) constructed from the simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra (pg. 117 Fig. 3); wherein peaks on the main diagonal line are therefore referred to as auto-peaks and its intensities represent the overall extent of dynamic fluctuations of spectral signals induced by the perturbation (pg. 111 para. 2); wherein denaturation and aggregation processes induced by said perturbation (pg. 113 para. 1) and the development of cross peaks in the asynchronous spectrum is observed at the spectral coordinates corresponding to individual conformation bands and influenced by the direction of signal intensity variations (i.e. identifying, in the synchronous correlation plot, positive cross peaks that correlate with auto peaks associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides. and/or peptoids) (pg. 118 para. 2); wherein the 2D correlation analysis reveals that as the intensity at 1654 cm−1 decreases with the rising temperature, these cross peaks correctly reflect the increase in the amount of random conformation with temperature (i.e. using identified peak intensities of the spectral data to determine an amount of aggregation of the proteins) (pg. 116 para. 1). Here, the described random conformation inherently reads on the formation of aggregation due to the substantial amount of disordered structure contribution caused by the rising temperature (pg. 118 para. 3) wherein denaturation and aggregation processes induced by said perturbation (pg. 113 para. 1).
Claim 10 recites:
further comprising comparing the amount of aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids to an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation
• Noda15 teaches synchronous and asynchronous 2D correlation spectrum of the model protein constructed from the simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra (pg. 117 Fig. 3); wherein the 2D correlation analysis reveals that as the intensity at 1654 cm−1 decreases with the rising temperature, these cross peaks correctly reflect the increase in the amount of random conformation with temperature (i.e. comparing the amount of aggregation of the proteins. peptides, and/or peptoids to an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation) (pg. 116 para. 1). Here, the described random conformation inherently reads on the formation of aggregation due to the substantial amount of disordered structure contribution caused by the rising temperature (pg. 118 para. 3) wherein denaturation and aggregation processes induced by said perturbation (pg. 113 para. 1).
Claim 14 recites:
further comprising analyzing the spectral data to verify signal-to-noise ratio, perform a baseline correction, determine water vapor content, and/or determine signal intensity within a spectral region
• Noda15 teaches asynchronous 2D codistribution spectrum of the model protein is constructed from the entire simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra where signal intensities are depicted (i.e. determine signal intensity within a spectral region) (pg. 123 Fig. 9).
Claim 15 recites:
further comprising generating covariance or dynamic spectral data based on perturbation of a sample
• Noda15 teaches a method for using two-dimensional codistribution spectroscopy to analyze population dynamics, such as temporal distribution of conformational secondary structures within a protein during the denaturation and aggregation process (pg. 123 para. 4); wherein a series of perturbation-induced dynamic spectra are collected first in a systematic manner (i.e. dynamic spectral data based on perturbation of a sample) (pg. 110 para. 3).
Claim 16 recites:
further comprising correlating changes, comprising peak intensities, in the spectral data that are in-phase with one another as obtained in the synchronous plot
Claim 22 recites:
further comprising correlating changes, comprising peak intensities, in the spectral data that are out-of-phase from one another as obtained in the asynchronous plot
• Noda15 teaches that sequential order of the spectral intensity changes can be determined from the signs of 2D correlation cross peaks where synchronous and asynchronous correlation intensities can be identified (pg. 116 para. 4); wherein asynchronous cross peaks develop only if two dynamic spectral intensities vary out of phase with each other (i.e. reading on claim 22) (i.e. inherently the “asynchronous cross peaks develop only” reads on all the spectral data originated from synchronous being related to spectral intensities in-phase with each other -reading on claim 16) (pg. 112 para. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
A. Claims 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Noda15 as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Noda14 ("Two-dimensional codistribution spectroscopy to determine the sequential order of distributed presence of species." Journal of Molecular Structure 1069:50-59 (2015)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 5 recites:
wherein an asynchronous co-distribution intensity in the asynchronous co-distribution plot is represented as a difference in distributions of two spectral signals
• Noda15 does not teach the recitation above. However, Noda14 teaches that asynchronous codistribution intensity Δ(ν1, ν2) is a measure of the difference in the distribution of two spectral signals (pg. 55 col. 2 para. 1).
Claim 7 recites:
further comprising: applying the two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS) analysis to generate a synchronous co-distribution plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids: identifying, in the synchronous co-distribution plot, synchronous co-distribution peaks associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids; and using the synchronous co-distribution peaks to determine a degree of overlap of distribution patterns for spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation
• Noda15 teaches “applying the two-dimensional co-distribution (2DCDS) analysis to generate a synchronous co-distribution plot for the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids: identifying, in the synchronous co-distribution plot, synchronous co-distribution peaks associated with aggregation of the proteins, peptides, and/or peptoids” as a synchronous 2D codistribution spectrum of the model protein constructed from the entire simulated temperature-dependent IR spectra (i.e. applied perturbation)(pg. 123 Fig. 9).
• Noda15 does not teach “using the synchronous co-distribution peaks to determine a degree of overlap of distribution patterns for spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation.” However, Noda14 teaches it as a two-dimensional codistribution spectroscopy method to determine the sequential order of distributed presence of species (pg. 50 Title); wherein the distribution patterns of spectral intensity variations (i.e. said variations caused by applied perturbation pg. 50 col. 1 para. 1) reflecting either the increase or decrease of species are fully synchronized (pg. 52 col. 2 para. 2); wherein synchronous codistribution peaks allows for information content of synchronous spectrum beyond (i.e. hence, including) the obvious qualitative measure of the degree of overlap of distribution patterns (pg. 55 col. 2 para. 2); wherein the synchronous codistribution intensity (ν1, ν2) is a measure of the coexistence or overlap of distributions of two separate spectral intensities along the time axis (pg. 55 col. 2 para. 1).
Claim 8 recites:
wherein using the synchronous co-distribution peaks comprises: determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2, whether the synchronous co- distribution peaks corresponding to the two wavenumbers are within a range
• Noda15 does not teach the recitation above. However, Noda14 teaches it as synchronous 2D codistribution spectra derived from the spectral variations during the first 10 min of the simulated first order one-step reaction wherein the two wavenumbers (ν1, ν2) are shown within 1000 and 1400 (i.e. determining, for two wavenumbers ν1 and v2, whether the synchronous co- distribution peaks corresponding to the two wavenumbers are within a range)(pg. 57 Fig. 6A).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 5 and 7-8 , it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Noda15 in view of Noda14 because all references disclose methods for the analysis of population dynamics reflecting the distributed presence of species. The motivation would have been to directly provide the sequence of distributed presence of species along the perturbation variable axis (pg. 59 col. 2 para. 3) and incorporate a technique designed specifically for the analysis of population dynamics (pg. 50 Abstract Noda14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of population dynamics of Noda15 to the methods by Noda14 because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of population dynamics reflecting the distributed presence of species.
B. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Noda15 as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Puchalla ("Burst analysis spectroscopy: a versatile single-particle approach for studying distributions of protein aggregates and fluorescent assemblies." Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 105.38:14400-14405 (2008)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 13 recites:
further comprising determining a size and a number of particulates to ascertain population distribution of the particulates
• Noda15 does not teach the recitation above. However, Puchalla teaches a burst analysis spectroscopy method to examine the distribution of assembled protein aggregates (pg. 14400 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the fluorescently labeled model protein aggregates detected range from 5 to 500 monomers in size (pg. 14403 col. 2 para. 1). Here, particulates are being interpreted as aggregates, as supported by this instant specification [0063].
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 13, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Noda15 in view of Puchalla because all references disclose methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins. The motivation would have been to incorporate a method that overcomes the difficulty to characterize protein aggregate during spectroscopy analysis (pg. 14400 col. 1 para. 1 Puchalla).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of spectral data of Noda15 to the methods by Puchalla because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins.
C. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Noda15 as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Goormaghtigh ("Evaluation of the information content in infrared spectra for protein secondary structure determination." Biophysical journal 90.8:2946-2957 (2006)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 20 recites:
further comprising determining a minimum number of underlying spectral contributions in a band, performing curve fitting analysis. and determining a secondary structure composition of a sample
• Noda15 does not teach the recitation above. However, Goormaghtigh teaches the evaluation of the information content in infrared spectra for protein secondary structure determination (pg. 2946 Title); wherein, at most, the absorbance at three distinct frequencies of the spectra contain all the nonredundant information that can be related to one secondary structure content (i.e. determining a minimum number of underlying spectral contributions in a band) (pg. 2946 Abstract); wherein linear regression is applied to absorbance values at selected frequencies to describe the secondary structure content (i.e. performing curve fitting analysis. and determining a secondary structure composition of a sample) (pg. 2948 col. 1 para. 2).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Noda15 in view of Goormaghtigh because all references disclose methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins. The motivation would have been to incorporate the relevance of each wavenumber of the infrared spectrum for the prediction of a given secondary structure and apply a simple method for computing the secondary structure content (pg. 2946 Abstract Goormaghtigh).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of spectral data of Noda15 to the methods by Goormaghtigh because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins.
D. Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Noda15 as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Li ("Spectroscopy of hydrothermal reactions 25: Kinetics of the decarboxylation of protein amino acids and the effect of side chains on hydrothermal stability." The Journal of Physical Chemistry A 107.31:5987-5992 (2003)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 23 recites:
further comprising determining the presence and/or extent of deamination of amino acid side chains in the proteins. peptides, and/or peptoids
Claim 24 recites:
further comprising determining the stability of domains in the proteins, peptides. and/or peptoids
• Noda15 does not teach the recitation above. However, Li teaches the study of FT-IR spectroscopy combining the observations about decarboxylation, deamination, and dehydration to analyze the effects of the side chains on the hydrothermal stability of protein amino acids in terms of their structures (i.e. determining the stability of domains in the proteins as in claim 24) (pg. 5987 Abstract); wherein the Arrhenius parameters of amino acid decomposition reports the rate of deamination (i.e. determining the presence and/or extent of deamination of amino acid side chains in the proteins. peptides, and/or peptoids) (pg. 5990 Table 2)
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 23-24, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Noda15 in view of Li because all references disclose methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins. The motivation would have been to assess the effects of decarboxylation, deamination, and dehydration of the side chains on the hydrothermal stability of protein amino acids in terms of their structures (pg. 5987 Abstract Li).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of spectral data of Noda15 to the methods by Li because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins.
E. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Noda15 as applied to claim 25 in the 102 rejection above further in view of NodaP1 ("Frontiers of two-dimensional correlation spectroscopy. Part 1. New concepts and noteworthy developments." Journal of Molecular Structure 1069:3-22 (2014)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 26 recites:
further comprising a visual model generator for generating one or more plots for display
• Noda15 does not teach the recitation above. However, NodaP1 teaches that computation of 2D correlation spectra is carried out almost exclusively by using the discrete Hilbert transform algorithm (pg. 16 col. 1 para. 16); wherein display schemes such as tabulation carry out key features associated with 2D correlation peaks, such as spectral coordinates, intensities and signs (pg. 16 col. 1 para. 4)
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 26, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Noda15 in view of NodaP1 because all references disclose methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins. The motivation would have been to effectively display pertinent information obtained from 2D correlation analysis (pg. 16 col. 1 para. 4 NodaP1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of spectral data of Noda15 to the methods by NodaP1 because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins.
Double Patenting
A. Claims 1, 6 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25 and 29-31 of copending Application No 16/071,032.
• Reference claims 25 and 30 teach instant claim 1.
• Reference claim 31 teaches instant claim 6.
• Reference claim 29 teaches instant claim 29.
B. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, 10-12 and 21 of copending Application No 16/240,441.
• Reference claims 1 and 2 teach instant claim 1.
• Reference claim 3 teaches instant claim 2.
• Reference claim 7 teaches instant claim 5.
• Reference claim 21 teaches instant claim 6.
• Reference claim 10 teaches instant claim 9.
• Reference claim 11 teaches instant claim 10.
• Reference claim 12 teaches instant claim 23.
C. Claim 29 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No 16/240,441 further in view of Noda15 ("Techniques of two-dimensional (2D) correlation spectroscopy useful in life science research." Biomedical Spectroscopy and Imaging 4.2:109-127 (2015))
• Reference claim 20 teaches instant claim 29 except the “using the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation.”
• Noda15 teaches it as, for a cross peak with positive sign, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) > 0, the presence of the species reflected by the spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed predominantly at the earlier stage along the perturbation axis compared to that for ν2 (pg. 124 para. 4); wherein, in contrast, if we have the observation of a negative cross peak, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) < 0, the order of presence is reversed and, in the case of i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) ≈ 0, the average distributions of the spectral intensities observed at two wavenumbers over the course of observation are similar and they coexist together (i.e. using the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation) (pg. 125 para. 1); wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided via the instrumentation disclosed such as IR, Raman, NIR, fluorescence, NMR, X-ray (pg. 109 para. 1).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 29, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Application No 16/240,441 in view of Noda15 because all references disclose methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins. The motivation would have been to incorporate simplification of complex spectra consisting of many overlapped peaks, enhancement of apparent spectral resolution by spreading peaks over the second dimension and establishment of unambiguous assignment through correlation (pg. 109 para. 2 Noda15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of spectral data of Application No 16/240,441 to the methods by Noda15 because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins.
D. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 23 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 3-4, 6-12, 16-17 and 21 of copending Application No 16/893,716.
• Reference claims 1 and 2 teach instant claim 1.
• Reference claim 3 teaches instant claim 2.
• Reference claim 4 teaches instant claim 3.
• Reference claim 6 teaches instant claim 5.
• Reference claim 7 teaches instant claim 7.
• Reference claim 8 teaches instant claim 8.
• Reference claim 9 teaches instant claim 9.
• Reference claim 10 teaches instant claim 10.
• Reference claim 11 teaches instant claim 23.
• Reference claim 12 teaches instant claim 24.
• Reference claims 16-17 teach instant claim 25.
• Reference claim 21 teaches instant claim 26.
E. Claim 29 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 23 of copending Application No 16/893,716 further in view of Noda15 ("Techniques of two-dimensional (2D) correlation spectroscopy useful in life science research." Biomedical Spectroscopy and Imaging 4.2:109-127 (2015))
• Reference claim 20 teaches instant claim 29 except the “using the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation.”
• Noda15 teaches it as, for a cross peak with positive sign, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) > 0, the presence of the species reflected by the spectral intensity at ν1 is distributed predominantly at the earlier stage along the perturbation axis compared to that for ν2 (pg. 124 para. 4); wherein, in contrast, if we have the observation of a negative cross peak, i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) < 0, the order of presence is reversed and, in the case of i.e. Δ(ν1, ν2) ≈ 0, the average distributions of the spectral intensities observed at two wavenumbers over the course of observation are similar and they coexist together (i.e. using the cross peak to determine an order of a distributed presence of spectral intensities with respect to the applied perturbation) (pg. 125 para. 1); wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided via the instrumentation disclosed such as IR, Raman, NIR, fluorescence, NMR, X-ray (pg. 109 para. 1).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 29, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Application No 16/893,716 in view of Noda15 because all references disclose methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins. The motivation would have been to incorporate simplification of complex spectra consisting of many overlapped peaks, enhancement of apparent spectral resolution by spreading peaks over the second dimension and establishment of unambiguous assignment through correlation (pg. 109 para. 2 Noda15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of spectral data of Application No 16/893,716 to the methods by Noda15 because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of spectral data representing a characteristic of proteins.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685