DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williamson et al. (US 2010/0038926).
With respect to claim 1, Williamson et al. disclose a locking device, configured to be engaged with a carriage, comprising:
a locking block 86 capable of abutting against the carriage 24 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Williamson et al.);
a handle 80 slidably disposed in the locking block 86 (as shown in Figs. 6A-6B of Williamson et al.); and
a locking component 94 disposed on the handle 80 and capable of being engaged in a positioning recess 90 of the locking block 86, wherein when the locking component 94 is engaged in the positioning recess 90, the locking component restricts relative movement between the locking block 86 and the handle 80 (Williamson et al., paragraph [0049]; Fig. 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2022/0203813) in view of Chen (US 5,295,717).
With respect to claim 1, disclose Shen et al. disclose the claimed locking device except for the locking component disposed on the handle and capable of being engaged in a positioning recess of the locking block. Shen et al. disclose a locking device, configured to be engaged with a carriage, comprising:
a locking block 4 capable of abutting against the carriage 10 (as shown in Fig. 4B of Shen et al.); and
a handle 5 slidably disposed in the locking block 4 (as shown in Figs. 4B and 4C of Shen et al.).
Chen teaches a similar locking device including a locking block 25, a handle 40, and a locking component 51 disposed on the handle 40 and capable of being engaged in a positioning recess 26 of the locking block 25 (as shown in Fig. 5 of Chen), wherein when the locking component 51 is engaged in the positioning recess 26, the locking component restricts relative movement between the locking block 25 and the handle 40 (Chen, col. 5, lines 4-16; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Chen with the locking device disclosed by Shen et al. for the advantage of preventing the handle from easily opening due to movement and vibration of the locking device.
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches that the locking component 51 comprises a positioning member 53 and a guide frame, the guide frame is disposed on the handle 40 as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 10 of Chen:
[AltContent: textbox (portion of handle in box is the guide frame)][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect]
and the positioning member 53 is slidably disposed in the guide frame and capable of being engaged in the positioning recess 26 as shown above.
With respect to claim 3, Chen discloses that the positioning member 53 comprises a long pin (which is a mechanical equivalent of a long strip plate) as shown in Fig. 10 of Chen), the long strip plate is capable of being engaged in the positioning recess 26 (as shown in Fig. 10 of Chen), the guide frame is formed with a bypass groove 47, and the long strip plate is located in the bypass groove 47 and capable of sliding in the bypass groove 47 (as shown in Figs. 7-8 of Chen).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches that the positioning member 8 further comprises an operation boss 52 disposed on the long strip plate 51 (as shown in Fig. 8 of Chen), the guide frame is further formed with a sliding channel 44 extending in a first direction, the operation boss 52 is restricted in the sliding channel 44, and when the operation boss moves in the sliding channel in the first direction, the long strip plate synchronously moves in the bypass groove in the first direction (as can be seen from Fig. 8 of Chen.).
With respect to claim 5, Chen discloses that the locking component further comprises an elastic member 54 disposed in the guide frame (as shown in Fig. 8 of Chen), and two ends of the elastic member 54 abut against the guide frame (at locking ring 55) and the positioning member respectively (through operation boss 52).
With respect to claim 6, Chen discloses that the positioning member comprises a stop boss 52, the guide frame is formed with a stop slot 44, the stop boss 52 is restricted in the stop slot 44 and is capable of sliding in the stop slot 44 (as shown in Figs. 7-8 of Chen), and the elastic member 54 is disposed in the stop slot 44 and abuts against an inner wall of the stop slot 44 and/or the stop boss 52 (as shown in Fig. 8 of Chen).
With respect to claim 7, Shen et al. disclose an adapter block 2 and a sliding rod 3, wherein an end of the sliding rod 3 is disposed in the adapter block 2, the sliding rod 3 is capable of sliding in the adapter block 2 and is capable of rotating relative to the adapter block 2 (Shen et al., paragraph [0017]), the locking block 4 sleeves outside the sliding rod 3, and the handle 5 is rotatably connected to the sliding rod 3 (threaded hole 601 in insertion block which is inside the handle 5 rotates to attach to threads 302 of rod 3).
With respect to claim 8, Shen et al. disclose a cylindrical pin 6 rotatably connected to the handle 5 and screwed to the sliding rod (Shen et al., paragraph [0022]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 10, Shen et al. in view of Chen disclose a carriage cover, comprising
a carriage cover body (Shen et al., paragraph [0005]),
a first mounting strip 8,
a second mounting strip 1, and
the locking device according to claim 1 (as outlined above in the prior art rejection of claim 1), wherein the first mounting strip and the second mounting strip are perpendicular to each other and are disposed on a lower side of the carriage cover body (as shown in Figs. 3 and 4B of Shen et al.), the locking device is disposed on the second mounting strip 1 (as shown in Fig. 4B of Shen et al.), and when the carriage cover covers the carriage, the locking device is configured to be engaged with the carriage 10 (Shen et al., paragraphs [0004]-[0005]).
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches that the locking component 51 comprises a positioning member 53 and a guide frame, the guide frame is disposed on the handle 40 as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 10 of Chen:
[AltContent: textbox (portion of handle in box is the guide frame)][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect]
and the positioning member 53 is slidably disposed in the guide frame and capable of being engaged in the positioning recess 26 as shown above.
With respect to claim 12, Chen discloses that the positioning member 53 comprises a long pin (which is a mechanical equivalent of a long strip plate) as shown in Fig. 10 of Chen), the long strip plate is capable of being engaged in the positioning recess 26 (as shown in Fig. 10 of Chen), the guide frame is formed with a bypass groove 47, and the long strip plate is located in the bypass groove 47 and capable of sliding in the bypass groove 47 (as shown in Figs. 7-8 of Chen).
With respect to claim 13, Chen teaches that the positioning member 8 further comprises an operation boss 52 disposed on the long strip plate 51 (as shown in Fig. 8 of Chen), the guide frame is further formed with a sliding channel 44 extending in a first direction, the operation boss 52 is restricted in the sliding channel 44, and when the operation boss moves in the sliding channel in the first direction, the long strip plate synchronously moves in the bypass groove in the first direction (as can be seen from Fig. 8 of Chen.).
With respect to claim 14, Chen discloses that the locking component further comprises an elastic member 54 disposed in the guide frame (as shown in Fig. 8 of Chen), and two ends of the elastic member 54 abut against the guide frame (at locking ring 55) and the positioning member respectively (through operation boss 52).
With respect to claim 15, Chen discloses that the positioning member comprises a stop boss 52, the guide frame is formed with a stop slot 44, the stop boss 52 is restricted in the stop slot 44 and is capable of sliding in the stop slot 44 (as shown in Figs. 7-8 of Chen), and the elastic member 54 is disposed in the stop slot 44 and abuts against an inner wall of the stop slot 44 and/or the stop boss 52 (as shown in Fig. 8 of Chen).
With respect to claim 16, Shen et al. disclose an adapter block 2 and a sliding rod 3, wherein an end of the sliding rod 3 is disposed in the adapter block 2, the sliding rod 3 is capable of sliding in the adapter block 2 and is capable of rotating relative to the adapter block 2 (Shen et al., paragraph [0017]), the locking block 4 sleeves outside the sliding rod 3, and the handle 5 is rotatably connected to the sliding rod 3 (threaded hole 601 in insertion block which is inside the handle 5 rotates to attach to threads 302 of rod 3).
With respect to claim 17, Shen et al. disclose a cylindrical pin 6 rotatably connected to the handle 5 and screwed to the sliding rod (Shen et al., paragraph [0022]; Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 9, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 11,014,436) in view of Chen (US 5,295,717).
With respect to claim 1, disclose Zheng discloses the claimed locking device except for the locking component disposed on the handle and capable of being engaged in a positioning recess of the locking block. Zheng discloses a locking device, configured to be engaged with a carriage, comprising:
a locking block 338 capable of abutting against the carriage 22 (as shown in Fig. 3 of Zheng); and
a handle 340 slidably disposed in the locking block 338 (Zheng, col. 9, lines 20-27).
Chen teaches a similar locking device including a locking block 25, a handle 40, and a locking component 51 disposed on the handle 40 and capable of being engaged in a positioning recess 26 of the locking block 25 (as shown in Fig. 5 of Chen), wherein when the locking component 51 is engaged in the positioning recess 26, the locking component restricts relative movement between the locking block 25 and the handle 40 (Chen, col. 5, lines 4-16; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Chen with the locking device disclosed by Zheng et al. for the advantage of preventing the handle from easily opening due to movement and vibration of the locking device.
With respect to claim 9, Zheng discloses that the locking block 338 is provided with two sliding protrusions 345, the two sliding protrusions 345 are disposed opposite to each other (as shown in Fig. 6 of Zheng), the handle 340 comprises two wing plates 347 symmetrically disposed, and the two wing plates 347 abut against the two sliding protrusions 345 and are capable of sliding on the two sliding protrusions 345 (Zheng, col. 9, lines 20-27; Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 10, Zheng in view of Chen disclose a carriage cover, comprising
a carriage cover body 18,
a first mounting strip 20,
a second mounting strip 30, and
the locking device according to claim 1 (as outlined above in the prior art rejection of claim 1), wherein the first mounting strip 20 and the second mounting strip 30 are perpendicular to each other and are disposed on a lower side of the carriage cover body (as shown in Fig. 2 of Zheng), the locking device is disposed on the second mounting strip 30 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Zheng), and when the carriage cover covers the carriage (as shown in Fig. 1 of Zheng), the locking device is configured to be engaged with the carriage 10 (As shown in Fig. 3 of Zheng).
With respect to claim 18, Zheng discloses that the locking block 338 is provided with two sliding protrusions 345, the two sliding protrusions 345 are disposed opposite to each other (as shown in Fig. 6 of Zheng), the handle 340 comprises two wing plates 347 symmetrically disposed, and the two wing plates 347 abut against the two sliding protrusions 345 and are capable of sliding on the two sliding protrusions 345 (Zheng, col. 9, lines 20-27; Fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kotake is cited to show another example of a locking device including a positioning member and a guide frame.
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612