DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed June 4, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the amendment directed to a number of balls being placed within a region in which the screw shaft engages the female screw, changes the scope of the claim. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wekwert in view of Kim.
It is noted that the argument directed to Wekwert being “completely silent about a control method for return movement of the screw shaft 80 to an end of which the mandrel 50 is coupled” is not persuasive. Wekwert discloses in paragraph 0090 that the expansion tool “incudes a controller configured to control operation of the expansion tool” and discloses in paragraph 0080 that the operation of the expansion tool includes a forward direction of the motor corresponding with the extension of the mandrel, and a reverse direction of the motor that corresponds to the retraction of the mandrel. Therefore based on these disclosures it is apparent that the controller does control the return movement of the screw shaft as required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wekwert et al (US 11,633,775) in view of Kim (KR 100875887B1).
In reference to claim 1, Wekwert et al discloses a tube expansion tool (10) for expanding an end portion of a fluid pipe, the tool comprising
a female screw (84) configured to the rotated by a motor [see paragraph 0068],
a screw shaft (80) configured to engage the female screw to move the screw shaft in a front-rear direction [see paragraph 0068],
a plurality of jaws (118) configured to expand in a radial direction [see paragraph 0071; figure 5],
a wedge (50) positioned at a front end of the screw shaft (80) to be inserted between the plurality of jaws (118), the wedge being configured for expanding the end portion of the fluid pipe via the plurality of jaws [see paragraph 70],
a detector configured to detect that the screw shaft has reached a front end position [see paragraph 0095], and
a controller configured to perform a braking operation of the motor upon the controller determining, based on a signal from the detector, that the screw shaft has reached the front end position, and to rotate the motor in a reverse direction to move the screw shaft rearward upon the controller detecting that the screw shaft has stopped [see paragraphs 90-91 & 96].
Wekwert et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a number of balls are located in region between the screw shaft and female screw.
However, Kim teaches it is common knowledge that a male/female thread combination and a ball screw are known equivalents in the art when providing rotations movement between elements [see paragraph before Drawing Description section].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the threaded connection of Wekwert et al with a ball screw connection, as taught by Kim to be known equivalents, to obtain the predictable results of providing a smooth rotation connection between the shaft and female screw.
In reference to claim 2, after performing the braking operation, the controller is configured to rotate the motor in reverse direction upon detecting a stopping or rearward movement of the screw shaft [see paragraph 0091].
In reference to claim 3, Wekwert et al further discloses after a predetermined period of time has passed upon the screw shaft having reached the front end position, the controller is configured to rotate the motor in the reverse direction upon detecting the stopping or rearward movement of the screw shaft [see paragraph 0104].
In reference to claim 4, Wekwert et al further discloses reversing the motor after a predetermined period of time but fails to disclose the predetermined period of time being between 0.1 seconds and 0.5 seconds.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to determine the predetermined time to be between 0.1 and 0.5 seconds, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Wekwert et al such that the predetermined time is between 0.1 seconds and 0.5 seconds, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is an established obvious variant by one skilled in the art.
In reference to claim 5, Wekwert et al further discloses the motor includes a stator and a rotor configured to rotate around the stator [see paragraph 0063; motor is a DC electric motor], and the braking operation is such that the controller stops power supply to the motor and thereby suppresses rotor rotation by an electromotive force caused by an inertial force of the rotor.
In reference to claim 6, Wekwert et al discloses the tool having a detector and sensors but fails to disclose them to be a magnet and hall element.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a magnet and hall element for the positional detection/sensing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element on the basis its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanical efficiency.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Wekwert et al such that the detector and sensors are a magnet and hall element based on their suitability to determine positions within the tool.
In reference to claim 7, Wekwert et al further discloses a first motor sensor configured to detect motor rotation, wherein the controller additionally determines that the screw shaft has reached the front end position based on a signal from the first motor sensor [see paragraph 0096].
In reference to claim 8, Wekwert et al further discloses a second motor sensor configured to detect the motor rotation, wherein the controller determines the stopping or rearward movement of the screw shaft based on a signal from the second motor sensor [see paragraphs 0095-0096].
In reference to claim 9, Wekwert et al discloses the tool having a detector and sensors but fails to disclose them to be a magnet and hall element.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a magnet and hall element for the positional detection/sensing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element on the basis its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanical efficiency.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Wekwert et al such that the detector and sensors are a magnet and hall element based on their suitability to determine positions within the tool.
In reference to claim 10, Wekwert et al further discloses a transmission mechanism (76) located between the motor and the screw shaft, the transmission mechanism including a gear [see paragraph 0078] that transmits an output of the motor [see figure 4], and a sensor configured to detect movement of at least one of the motor, the transmission mechanism and the screw shaft [see paragraph 0096].
In reference to claim 12, Wekwert et al discloses the tool having a sensor but fails to disclose the sensor being a pressure sensor.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a pressure sensor for sensing movement, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element on the basis its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanical efficiency.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor to be a pressure sensor based on its suitability to sense the movement.
In reference to claim 13, Wekwert et al further discloses the fluid pipe is a synthetic resin-made fluid pipe [see paragraph 0074].
In reference to claim 14, Wekwert et al further discloses the wedge and the plurality of jaws are configured to expand an end portion of a copper-made fluid pipe by radially expanding the plurality of jaws within the end portion of the copper-made fluid pipe.
In reference to claim 15, Wekwert et al further discloses a tool main body housed in a main body housing and including
a planetary gear reduction mechanism (76) configured to reduce an output speed of a motor shaft [see paragraph 0080], a feed screw mechanism having the screw shaft and the female screw, and
a ring-shaped cap attached to a front portion of the tool main body and configured so that the wedge is positioned radially within,
a jaw rotation mechanism configured to rotate the plurality of jaws (118) in a circumferential direction of the wedge [see paragraph 0075],
a grip portion (14) positioned at a lower portion of the main body housing, extending downward, and including a trigger (26) switch lever at a front surface of the grip portion, and
a box-shaped housing portion located at a lower end of the grip portion and configured to extend in the front rear direction and in a left right direction with respect to the grip portion, wherein:
the tool main body further comprises the female screw (84), the screw shaft (80), which is formed in a cylindrical shape and located in a middle of the tool main body, the wedge (50), which is formed in a conical shape, and the detector
the motor includes a stator arranged radially outside the motor shaft and a rotor attached to the motor shaft on an inner circumferential side of the stator,
the plurality of jaws (118) are arranged in a circumferential direction of the wedge, and
the box-shaped housing portion includes the controller.
In reference to claim 16, Wekwert et al further discloses a battery (46) removably attached to a battery attachment portion (48), wherein the battery attachment portion is positioned at a lower surface of the box-shaped housing portion [see figure 1].
In reference to claim 17, the conical wedge (50) is configured to be inserted between the plurality of jaws (118) for expanding the end portion of the fluid pipe via the plurality of jaws, as seen in figure 1.
In reference to claim 18, the plurality of jaws radially expands by pulling the trigger switch lever .
In reference to claim 19, each of the plurality of jaws further includes a plurality of engaging recesses, as seen in figure 5.
In reference to claim 20, wherein the jaw rotation mechanism further includes a plurality of engaging projections configured to engage the plurality of engaging recesses for transmitting rotation power to the plurality of jaws [see paragraph 0075].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725