DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2, 5-8, 13, 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the idea of disc assemblies with housings to support two independently rotating discs is known in the art. For example, Ruckle presents a design with two independently rotating agricultural discs. Although the rejection presented herein is technical in nature, Ruckle clearly discloses two discs that rotate independently and have many of the same specifically claimed structures. However, neither this reference, nor any other reference, teaches the independently rotatable shafts being coaxial. In view of the prior art of record, any obvious combination to modify Ruckle to make the shafts coaxial as currently claimed would both require improper hindsight reasoning and render the prior art unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. For these reasons, the claims are allowable.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Ruckle presents a design with two independently rotating agricultural discs as stated before. Although the rejection presented herein is technical in nature, Ruckle clearly discloses two discs that rotate independently and have many of the same specifically claimed structures. However, neither this reference, nor any other reference, teaches end caps as currently claimed. In view of the prior art of record, any obvious combination to modify Ruckle to include end caps as currently claimed would require improper hindsight reasoning. For these reasons, the claims are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear how claim 20 further limits the claimed invention. The claim has been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-12, 14-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruckle (US 6913085).
Regarding claim 1, Ruckle discloses a disc assembly for an agricultural implement, comprising:
a mounting assembly (Fig 4-5) comprising:
a housing having a longitudinal passage (see Annotated Figure 1; the housing is considered to be elements 50/60 connected to plate 194; passage 70 is considered to be longitudinal and through the entire housing hubs 50/60);
a first rotatable shaft configured to be disposed within the housing, such that the first rotatable shaft extends along a first portion of the longitudinal passage of the housing, wherein the first rotatable shaft comprises a shoulder (Figs 4-5; first shaft 110 with shoulder 118; shaft 110 is considered to extend along a first portion of the of the passage of the housing);
a second rotatable shaft configured to be disposed within the housing, such that the second rotatable shaft extends along a second portion of the longitudinal passage of the housing, wherein the second rotatable shaft comprises a shoulder, and the first and second rotatable shafts are configured to rotate independently of one another relative to the housing (Figs 4-5; second shaft 110 with shoulder 118; shaft 110 is considered to extend along a first portion of the of the passage of the housing; first and second shafts 110 are considered to rotate independently relative to the housing 50/60);
a first bearing configured to be disposed between the first rotatable shaft and the housing, wherein the shoulder of the first rotatable shaft is configured to engage the first bearing to block longitudinal movement of the first rotatable shaft away from the second rotatable shaft (first bearing 76; shoulder 118 engages bearing to block longitudinal movement of the shaft; col 3, lines 42-45); and
a second bearing configured to be disposed between the second rotatable shaft and the housing, wherein the shoulder of the second rotatable shaft is configured to engage the second bearing to block longitudinal movement of the second rotatable shaft away from the first rotatable shaft (second bearing 76; shoulder 118 engages bearing to block longitudinal movement of the shaft; col 3, lines 42-45).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 3, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the housing comprises a first shoulder and a second shoulder, the first shoulder of the housing is configured to engage the first bearing to block longitudinal movement of the first bearing toward the second bearing, and the second shoulder of the housing is configured to engage the second bearing to block longitudinal movement of the second bearing toward the first bearing (Fig 2; first shoulder of housing 70; second shoulder of housing 70 in the other hub to allow the second disc rotate; Fig 2 shows half of the housing; when assembled, the bearings are blocked from longitudinal movement towards the other bearing).
Regarding claim 4, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the mounting assembly comprises:
a first snap ring configured to engage a first recess of the housing to block longitudinal movement of the first bearing away from the second bearing (snap ring 86 in recess between 80 and 90; col 3, lines 24-27); and
a second snap ring configured to engage a second recess of the housing to block longitudinal movement of the second bearing away from the first bearing (snap ring 86 in recess between 80 and 90 in other half of housing; col 3, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 9, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the first rotatable shaft comprises a first longitudinal protrusion configured to engage an opening of a first disc blade, and the second rotatable shaft comprises a second longitudinal protrusion configured to engage an opening of a second disc blade (protrusions 126 engaging opening 129 for both discs).
Regarding claim 10, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the first longitudinal protrusion forms a first key configured to engage the opening of the first disc blade to block rotation of the first disc blade relative to the first rotatable shaft, and the second longitudinal protrusion forms a second key configured to engage the opening of the second disc blade to block rotation of the second disc blade relative to the second rotatable shaft (there is a protrusion with key and opening for each hub of the housing; col 3, lines 55-58; Fig 3).
Regarding claim 11, Ruckle discloses a disc assembly for an agricultural implement, comprising:
a first disc blade having an opening (128 with opening 129);
a second disc blade having an opening (128 with opening 129; see Annotated Figure 1); and
a mounting assembly comprising:
a housing having a longitudinal passage (see Annotated Figure 1);
a first rotatable shaft configured to be disposed within the housing, such that the first rotatable shaft extends along a first portion of the longitudinal passage of the housing, wherein the first rotatable shaft comprises a shoulder, and the first rotatable shaft comprises a first longitudinal protrusion configured to engage the opening of the first disc blade (Figs 4-5; first shaft 110 with shoulder 118; shaft 110 is considered to extend along a first portion of the of the passage of the housing; protrusion 126; col 3, lines 55-58);
a second rotatable shaft configured to be disposed within the housing, such that the second rotatable shaft extends along a second portion of the longitudinal passage of the housing, wherein the second rotatable shaft comprises a shoulder, the second rotatable shaft comprises a second longitudinal protrusion configured to engage the opening of the second disc blade, and the first and second rotatable shafts are configured to rotate independently of one another relative to the housing (Figs 4-5; second shaft 110 with shoulder 118; shaft 110 is considered to extend along a first portion of the of the passage of the housing; first and second shafts 110 are considered to rotate independently relative to the housing 50/60; protrusion 126; col 3, lines 55-58);
a first bearing configured to be disposed between the first rotatable shaft and the housing, wherein the shoulder of the first rotatable shaft is configured to engage the first bearing to block longitudinal movement of the first rotatable shaft away from the second rotatable shaft (first bearing 76; shoulder 118 engages bearing to block longitudinal movement of the shaft; col 3, lines 42-45); and
a second bearing configured to be disposed between the second rotatable shaft and the housing, wherein the shoulder of the second rotatable shaft is configured to engage the second bearing to block longitudinal movement of the second rotatable shaft away from the first rotatable shaft (second bearing 76; shoulder 118 engages bearing to block longitudinal movement of the shaft; col 3, lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 12, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the first longitudinal protrusion forms a first key configured to engage the opening of the first disc blade to block rotation of the first disc blade relative to the first rotatable shaft, and the second longitudinal protrusion forms a second key configured to engage the opening of the second disc blade to block rotation of the second disc blade relative to the second rotatable shaft (there is a protrusion with key and opening for each hub and disc of the housing; col 3, lines 55-58; Fig 3).
Regarding claim 14, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the housing comprises a first shoulder and a second shoulder, the first shoulder of the housing is configured to engage the first bearing to block longitudinal movement of the first bearing toward the second bearing, and the second shoulder of the housing is configured to engage the second bearing to block longitudinal movement of the second bearing toward the first bearing (Fig 2; first shoulder of housing 70; second shoulder of housing 70 in the other hub to allow the second disc rotate; Fig 2 shows half of the housing; when assembled, the bearings are blocked from longitudinal movement towards the other bearing).
Regarding claim 15, Ruckle discloses The disc assembly of claim 14, wherein the mounting assembly comprises:
a first snap ring configured to engage a first recess of the housing to block longitudinal movement of the first bearing away from the second bearing (snap ring 86 in recess between 80 and 90; col 3, lines 24-27); and
a second snap ring configured to engage a second recess of the housing to block longitudinal movement of the second bearing away from the first bearing (snap ring 86 in recess between 80 and 90 in other half of housing; col 3, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 16, Ruckle discloses a disc assembly for an agricultural implement, comprising:
a mounting assembly comprising:
a housing having a longitudinal passage (see Annotated Figure 1);
a first rotatable shaft configured to be disposed within the housing, such that the first rotatable shaft extends along a first portion of the longitudinal passage of the housing, wherein the first rotatable shaft comprises a shoulder, the first rotatable shaft comprises a first longitudinal protrusion configured to engage an opening of a first disc blade, and the first longitudinal protrusion comprises a first engagement feature configured to engage a second engagement feature of a first fastener to couple the first disc blade to the first rotatable shaft (Figs 4-5; first shaft 110 with shoulder 118; shaft 110 is considered to extend along a first portion of the of the passage of the housing; first shoulder of housing 70; protrusion 126 and opening 129; col 3, lines 55-58; first engagement feature 134 engages second engagement feature 132 of fastener 130; disc 128);
a second rotatable shaft configured to be disposed within the housing, such that the second rotatable shaft extends along a second portion of the longitudinal passage of the housing, wherein the second rotatable shaft comprises a shoulder, the second rotatable shaft comprises a second longitudinal protrusion configured to engage an opening of a second disc blade, the second longitudinal protrusion comprises a first engagement feature configured to engage a second engagement feature of a second fastener to couple the second disc blade to the second rotatable shaft, and the first and second rotatable shafts are configured to rotate independently of one another relative to the housing (Figs 4-5; second shaft 110 with shoulder 118; shaft 110 is considered to extend along a first portion of the of the passage of the housing; first and second shafts 110 are considered to rotate independently relative to the housing 50/60; protrusion 126 and opening 129; col 3, lines 55-58; first engagement feature 134 engages second engagement feature 132 of fastener 130; disc 128);
a first bearing configured to be disposed between the first rotatable shaft and the housing, wherein the shoulder of the first rotatable shaft is configured to engage the first bearing to block longitudinal movement of the first rotatable shaft away from the second rotatable shaft (first bearing 76; shoulder 118 engages bearing to block longitudinal movement of the shaft; col 3, lines 42-45); and
a second bearing configured to be disposed between the second rotatable shaft and the housing, wherein the shoulder of the second rotatable shaft is configured to engage the second bearing to block longitudinal movement of the second rotatable shaft away from the first rotatable shaft (second bearing 76; shoulder 118 engages bearing to block longitudinal movement of the shaft; col 3, lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 18, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the housing comprises a first shoulder and a second shoulder, the first shoulder of the housing is configured to engage the first bearing to block longitudinal movement of the first bearing toward the second bearing, and the second shoulder of the housing is configured to engage the second bearing to block longitudinal movement of the second bearing toward the first bearing (Fig 2; first shoulder of housing 70; second shoulder of housing 70 in the other hub to allow the second disc rotate; Fig 2 shows half of the housing; when assembled, the bearings are blocked from longitudinal movement towards the other bearing).
Regarding claim 19, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly wherein the first longitudinal protrusion forms a first key configured to engage the opening of the first disc blade to block rotation of the first disc blade relative to the first rotatable shaft, and the second longitudinal protrusion forms a second key configured to engage the opening of the second disc blade to block rotation of the second disc blade relative to the second rotatable shaft (protrusion 126 and opening 129; col 3, lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 20, Ruckle discloses the disc assembly comprising the first disc blade and the second disc blade (first and second blades 128).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tschetter (US 20070029100) discloses a disc assembly similar to the claimed invention.
/BLAKE E SCOVILLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671