DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 18/514288 on May 04, 2026. Please note claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-14 and 16-21 remain in the application.
a. In response to the cancelation of claims 6-7 and 12, the previous drawing objections have been withdraw.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed May 04, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot due to Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3, 5, 13-14, 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi et al. (Hereinafter Onishi) JP-2012217037-(For examination purports English machine translation of Onishi would be use as cited reference) in view of Sakurauchi et al. (Hereinafter Sakurauchi) US-PG-PUB No. 2012/0082325.
Regarding claim 1, Onishi teaches
A transducer (Figs. 1-2 show an oscillation devices 100) comprising:
a substrate including a main surface that is flat (Figs. 1 and 2 shown an elastic member 22) and a back surface (Figs. 1-2 show a support member 30) facing the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) as shown in Fig. 1;
a plurality of vibrating films (Figs. 1-2 show a plurality of vibrating member 20) formed in the substrate at a predetermined thickness between the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) and a plurality of recesses formed in the back surface (i.e. support member 30) of the substrate such that the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) can vibrate in the thickness direction of the substrate as shown in Fig. 1; and
a plurality of driving layers (Figs. 1-3 show a piezoelectric vibrator 10) laminated on the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20) as shown in Fig. 1, each being constituted by a pair of electrode layers (Fig. 3 shows an upper electrode 72, and a lower electrode 74) with a piezoelectric layer (Fig. 3 shows a piezoelectric body 70) therebetween and being disposed on the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) as shown in Fig. 1, wherein the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20) include vibrating films arranged at predetermined intervals in each of at least two directions in a plane of the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) as shown in Fig. 2.
Onishi does not teach that the silicon substrate with a predetermined thickness and an approximate plate shape.
Sakurauchi teaches that a silicon substrate with a predetermined thickness a silicon substrate with a predetermined thickness and an approximate plate shape and an approximate plate shape as shown in Fig. 3 (Para. [0051], Lines 5-7).
Onishi and Sakurauchi each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the substrate of Onishi with the silicon substrate with a predetermined thickness and an approximate plate shape as taught by Sakurauchi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate of Onishi with the silicon substrate with a predetermined thickness and an approximate plate shape as taught by Sakurauchi. The motivation is to use the silicone substrate to allow the substrate stay flexible or rigid, and withstand extreme temperatures or humidity, thus reducing the resource and energy consumption of the transducer..
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Onishi teaches that the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20) include vibrating films that are arranged such that an interval between mutually adjacent vibrating films is equal in the plane of the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) as shown in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Onishi teaches that the plurality of vibrating films include vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20) having the same shape in the plane of the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) as shown in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Onishi teaches wherein on the back surface (i.e. support member 30), a partition wall is formed from the back surface (i.e. support member 30) to a predetermined height around each of the recesses on each vibrating film of the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20) to form an independent space as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Onishi teaches wherein on the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22), a partition wall (i.e. support member 30) is formed from the main surface (i.e. elastic member 22) to a predetermined height around each vibrating film of the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20) to form an independent space as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Onishi teaches that an electronic device (Figs. 1-2 shows an electronic device 200) comprising: the transducer (i.e. oscillation devices 100) according to claim 1 as a speaker (the oscillation device 100 is used as a parametric speaker…..Pg. 3, Para. 9, Line 1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi do not teach that a transducer array using the transducer according to claim 1, wherein the transducer is provided in plurality, main surfaces of the plurality of transducers face one side, and the plurality of transducers are arranged in a two-dimensional manner so as to include transducers arranged at predetermined intervals in each of at least two directions.
Sakurauchi teaches that a transducer array using the transducer, wherein the transducer is provided in plurality, main surfaces of the plurality of transducers face one side, and the plurality of transducers are arranged in a two-dimensional manner so as to include transducers arranged at predetermined intervals in each of at least two directions as shown in Fig. 1A (Para. [0050], Lines 1-4).
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi and Sakurauchi each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi to include the transducer array using the transducer as taught by Sakurauchi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi with the transducer array using the transducer as taught by Sakurauchi. The motivation is to use the transducer array to provide a rigid, organized, and scalable platform for multiple transducers, thus improve audio quality.
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 18 as outlined above. Sakurauchi teaches that a main surface of each of the plurality of transducers inclines toward a center of the plurality of transducers which have been arranged in a two-dimensional manner as a distance increases from the center as shown in Fig. 1A.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Onishi teaches that the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. plurality of vibrating member 20)forms an integral part of the silicon substrate as shown in Fig. 1.
7. Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in view of Sakurauchi and further in view of Brommer et al. (Hereinafter Brommer) US-PAT No. 5,471,180.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi do not teach that the vibrating films arranged at the predetermined intervals in each of the at least two directions include vibrating films arranged at equal intervals in each of three directions including the at least two directions in the plane of the main surface.
Brommer teaches in Fig. 14 of a dielectric structure 300 has a plurality of cylindrical elements 302 periodically arranged to provide a triangular lattice symmetry. The dashed lines 312 illustrate the triangular lattice structure of the cylindrical elements 302 having two-dimensional periodicity along the face 304 of the background material.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi and Brommer each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi to include the elements arranged at equal intervals in each of three directions including the at least two directions in the plane of the main surface as taught by Brommer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi with the elements arranged at equal intervals in each of three directions including the at least two directions in the plane of the main surface as taught by Brommer. The motivation is to use the arrangement to produced sound waves that can be gathered in a specific direction.
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 18 as outlined above.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi do not teach that the transducers arranged at the predetermined intervals in each of the at least two directions include transducers arranged at equal intervals in three directions including the at least two directions in a plane defined by the transducers which have been arranged in the two-dimensional manner.
Brommer teaches in Fig. 14 of a dielectric structure 300 has a plurality of cylindrical elements 302 periodically arranged to provide a triangular lattice symmetry. The dashed lines 312 illustrate the triangular lattice structure of the cylindrical elements 302 having two-dimensional periodicity along the face 304 of the background material.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi and Brommer each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi to include the transducers arranged at the predetermined intervals in each of the at least two directions include transducers arranged at equal intervals in three directions including the at least two directions in a plane defined by the transducers which have been arranged in the two-dimensional manner as taught by Brommer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi with the transducers arranged at the predetermined intervals in each of the at least two directions include transducers arranged at equal intervals in three directions including the at least two directions in a plane defined by the transducers which have been arranged in the two-dimensional manner as taught by Brommer. The motivation is to use the arrangement to produced sound waves that can be gathered in a specific direction.
8. Claims 4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in view of Sakurauchi and further in view of Onishi et al. (Hereinafter Onishi ‘3630) US-PG-PUB No. 2013/0083630.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi do not teach that natural frequencies of the plurality of vibrating films are higher than an audible frequency band.
Onishi ‘3630 teaches a parametric speaker which is an acoustic reproducer in which ultrasonic waves are used as a transporter of modulation waves is used (Para. [0070], Lines 1-6). Therefore, , all ultrasonic waves operate at frequencies above the range of human hearing, which is generally defined as exceeding 20 kilohertz (kHz).
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi and Onishi ‘3630 each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi to include the natural frequencies of the plurality of vibrating films are higher than the audible frequency band as taught by Onishi ‘3630. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi with the natural frequencies of the plurality of vibrating films are higher than the audible frequency band as taught by Onishi ‘3630. The motivation is to improve the sound quality by preventing acoustic noise pollution.
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi do not teach that the plurality of vibrating films include vibrating films with equal intervals from one vibrating film in the plane of the main surface.
Onishi ‘3630 teaches a plurality of elastic vibrating regions 812 with equal intervals from one elastic vibrating regions 812 in the plane of the rectangular elastic vibration plate 810 as shown in Fig. 16.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi and Onishi ‘3630 each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi to include the plurality of vibrating films include vibrating films with equal intervals from one vibrating film in the plane of the main surface as taught by the different embodiment of Onishi ‘3630. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi with the plurality of vibrating films include vibrating films with equal intervals from one vibrating film in the plane of the main surface as taught by the different embodiment of Onishi ‘3630. The motivation is to use the arrangement to produced sound waves that can be gathered in a specific direction.
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Onishi, Sakurauchi and Onishi ‘3630 teach all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above. Onishi ‘3630 teaches that the vibrating films (i.e. elastic vibrating regions 812) with the equal intervals from the one vibrating film include vibrating films that are arranged at predetermined intervals along a periphery that is at predetermined intervals from the one vibrating film as shown in Fig. 16.
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Onishi, Sakurauchi and Onishi ‘3630 teach all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above. Onishi ‘3630 teaches that the vibrating films (i.e. elastic vibrating regions 812) include vibrating films that are arranged at predetermined intervals along a second periphery at predetermined intervals from the one vibrating film as shown in Fig. 16, the second periphery being located outside of a first periphery which is at predetermined intervals from the one vibrating film and along which vibrating films are arranged at predetermined intervals as shown in Fig. 16.
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Onishi, Sakurauchi and Onishi ‘3630 teach all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above. Onishi ‘3630 teaches that the plurality of vibrating films (i.e. elastic vibrating regions 812) include vibrating films having the same shape of each periphery in the plane of the main surface as shown in Fig. 16.
9. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in view of Sakurauchi and further in view of Cheng et al. (Hereinafter Cheng) US-PAT No. 10,508,023.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi do not teach that another substrate that is disposed to face the back surface and is mounted near the back surface of the silicon substrate.
Cheng teaches that a carrier 302 that is disposed to face the back surface and is mounted near the back surface of a substrate 102 as shown in Fig. 2D.
The combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi and Cheng each disclose a transducer. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi to include another substrate that is disposed to face the back surface and is mounted near the back surface of the substrate as taught by Cheng. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer of the combination of Onishi and Sakurauchi with the another substrate that is disposed to face the back surface and is mounted near the back surface of the substrate as taught by Cheng. The motivation is to use the second substrate to provide extra support to the transducer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fan Tsang can be reached at (571)-272-7574. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694