DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,823,640 Pytlewski.
Regarding claim 1, Pytlewski teaches a multi-dimensional geometric spacer (column 1, lines 7-10) comprising:
a body defined by opposed surfaces that have a same shape that are spaced apart by a predetermined thickness (figure 5), each of the opposed surfaces has a geometric shape with a periphery that includes eight edges (figures 5-8);
wherein opposing ones of edges that are spaced apart by three intervening edges have a length (figure 5), and
each of the edges is connected to the adjacent ones of the edges at an exterior angle of less than 90 degrees (figure 5, straight portion connected to rounded corners),
a body portion extends between the opposed surfaces and has a same geometric shape as the geometric shape of the opposed surfaces (figure 5), and
a plurality of through-holes extend through the body portion between the opposed surfaces (figure 5).
Pytlewski teaches that the opposing edges have the same length (figure 5). However, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (MPEP 2144.04 Section IV Part A). Therefore, without a showing of criticality, the claimed dimensions do not impart patentability to the claims.
Regarding claim 6, Pytlewski teaches that the multiple through holes vary in size (figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Pytlewski teaches that the body portion that extends between the opposed surfaces has at least one surface (side surface) that includes a first portion that extends at a first angle (straight portion of one leg) for a defined distance and connects with a second portion (curved end of same leg) that extends at a second angle (figure 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 13, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the different length edges. However, as Applicant has not shown this feature to be critical, it does not impart patentable weight as discussed above.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach eight edges. However, this is taught in figure 5, for example. Additionally, the rounded interior and exterior corner show that there are no right angles.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781