DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,823,640 Pytlewski.
Regarding claim 1, Pytlewski teaches a multi-dimensional geometric spacer (column 1, lines 7-10)) comprising:
A body defined by opposed surfaces that have a same shape that are spaced apart by a predetermined thickness (figure 7), each of the opposed surfaces has a geometric shape with a periphery that includes edges that are connected by no right angles (figure 7); and,
a body portion that extends between the opposed surfaces and a same geometric shape as the geometric shape of the opposed surfaces (figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, Pytlewski teaches that the opposed surfaces and the body portion have at least one through hole (figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Pytlewski teaches that the opposed surfaces and the body portion have multiple through holes (figure 7).
Regarding claim 6, Pytlewski teaches that the multiple through holes vary in size (figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, Pytlewski teaches that the body portion that extends between the opposed surfaces has at least one surface (side surface) that includes a first portion that extends at a first angle (straight portion of one leg) for a defined distance and connects with a second portion (curved end of same leg) that extends at a second angle (figure 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Pytlewski teaches a multi-dimensional geometric spacer comprising:
a multi-dimensional geometric body with opposed surfaces that are spaced apart by a predetermined thickness (figure 7),
each of the opposed surfaces has a geometric shape with a periphery that includes edges that are connected by no right angles (figure 7); and,
a body portion that extends between the opposed surfaces and includes body portion surfaces (side surfaces) that conform to and extend between corresponding ones of the edges of the opposed surfaces (figure 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Hinton have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection, over Pytlewski, does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781