Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/JP2022/020975 (05/20/2022)
and claims foreign priority to JAPAN 2021-086454 (05/21/2021).
Status
Rejections not reiterated are withdrawn.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rabinowitz et al. (US20190209503).
Rabinowitz teaches a nutritional supplement comprising an amino acid mixture, of glycine and serine wherein the molar ratio of glycine to serine in the supplement is about 3:1 (claim 2) which anticipates the claims. Rabinowitz teaches formulation as food compositions ([0047]).
Regarding the claim language such as “for improving cognitive function” and “A cognitive function improving agent” and the like, as per MPEP 2111, claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. These clauses do not limit the claim to a particular structure because the language describes an intended use of an otherwise fully described product. Thus, the language does not limit the claim.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitoma et al. (US6310097) in view of Sakanak et al. (JP2002316929, cited in IDS).
Mitoma teaches a method of treating cerebral dysfunction and enhancing central nerve cell survival by administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of serine and glycine (claim 1) formulated as a pharmaceutical composition and food (claims 2-15).
Mitoma does not specifically teach the weight ratio of the claims.
Sakanaka also teaches compositions of serine and glycine as having a neuroprotective effect ([0002], [0014]) and for treating conditions including neurodegenerative diseases ([0038]). Sakanaka teaches formulations including phospholipids ([0044]).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Mitoma in view of Sakanaka and formulating the composition would be required to find the optimum dose of glycine and serine to achieve a therapeutic result. Such dose optimization is routine in the art and is a well-known result effective variable that one of ordinary in the skill in the art would consider. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized the dose glycine and serine in the formulation and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626
Iwamoto teaches the nerve protective agent (FPF-1070, aka Cerebrolysin) comprising 1.50 mg of glycine, 0.30 mg of serine and 4.30 mg of glutamic acid, and indicates that the agent is used as an agent for preventing and treating dementia (p. 199-200). Iwamoto’s composition corresponds to a glycine/serine ratio of 1.5/0.3 = 5. Regarding claims 6-7, Iwamoto teaches oral administration (p. 199). Thus Iwamoto anticipates the composition claims 1-9.
Regarding claim 10 to a method for improving cognitive function by administering the composition, Iwamoto teaches that the composition is CNS protective and prevents dementia (i.e., claims 1 and 5). Thus, as with claims 1-9, claims 10-19 are anticipated.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626