DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 12, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 4,787,396 issued to Pidorenko (“Pidorenko”).
As for claim 1, Pidorenko discloses a pressure sensing guidewire, comprising:
a tubular member (53) having a lumen formed therein (see Fig. 2);
an optical fiber (20, 44) disposed within the lumen, the optical fiber having a distal end region (left end in Fig. 2);
a pressure sensor (22, 24 and space between 22, 24) disposed at the distal end region of the optical fiber (see Fig. 2), the pressure sensor including a sensor cavity (space between 22, 24) and a deflectable membrane (24) disposed across the sensor cavity;
wherein the optical fiber (20, 44) has a pressure equalization channel (52) defined therein (see Fig. 2); and
wherein the pressure equalization channel (52) is in fluid communication with the sensor cavity (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 2, Pidorenko discloses that the pressure sensor includes a sensor head (42) coupled to the optical fiber (20, 44).
As for claim 3, Pidorenko discloses that the pressure equalization channel (52) extends through the sensor head (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 8, Pidorenko discloses that the pressure sensor (22, 24 and space between 22, 24) is defined in the distal end region (left end in Fig. 2) of the optical fiber (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 12, Pidorenko discloses that the optical fiber (20, 44) has a longitudinal axis (54 in Fig. 3) and wherein the pressure equalization channel (52) is radially offset from the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 3).
As for claim 14, Pidorenko discloses a pressure sensing medical device, comprising:
a tubular member (53) having a proximal region (right end of 53) and a housing region (left end of 53);
an optical fiber (20, 44) extending at least partially through the tubular member (see Fig. 2), the optical fiber having a distal end region (left end in Fig. 2);
a pressure sensor (22, 24 and space between 22 and 24) disposed at the distal end region of the optical fiber and within the housing region (see Fig. 2);
wherein the pressure sensor includes a cavity (space between 22 and 24) and a deflectable membrane (24) extending across the cavity; and
a pressure equalization channel (52) defined in the optical fiber (20, 44) and in fluid communication with the deflectable membrane (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 19, Pidorenko discloses a pressure sensing guidewire, comprising:
an elongate shaft (53);
an optical fiber (20, 44) disposed within the elongate shaft (see Fig. 2), the optical fiber having a distal end region (left end in Fig. 2);
a pressure equalization channel (52) defined in the optical fiber (see Fig. 2); and
a pressure sensor (22, 24 and space between 22 and 24) disposed at the distal end region of the optical fiber (see Fig. 2), the pressure sensor being in fluid communication with the pressure equalization channel (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 20, Pidorenko discloses that the pressure sensor (22, 24 and space between 22 and 24) includes a cavity (space between 22 and 24) and wherein the pressure equalization channel is in fluid communication with the cavity (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 9-11, 13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,787,396 issued to Pidorenko (“Pidorenko”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0210797 by Yu et al. (“Yu”).
As for claim 4, Pidorenko discloses the pressure sensing guidewire of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Pidorenko does not disclose that the deflectable membrane includes a polymer.
However, Yu discloses a deflectable membrane that includes a polymer and a metal (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the deflectable membrane of Pidorenko to include a polymer and a metal as disclosed by Yu in order to enhance mechanical stability, provide biological compatibility and to fine tune the sensitivity of the sensing head and to increase reflectivity (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 5, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the deflectable membrane includes a first coating layer and a second coating layer (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 6, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the first coating layer, the second coating layer (Yu: paragraph [0023]), or both include a metal.
As for claim 7, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the first coating layer (Yu: paragraph [0023]), the second coating layer, or both include a polymer.
As for claim 9, Pidorenko discloses the pressure sensing guidewire of claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).
Pidorenko does not disclose that the deflectable membrane includes a first coating layer and a second coating layer.
However, Yu discloses a deflectable membrane that includes a first coating layer and a second coating layer (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the deflectable membrane of Pidorenko to include a first coating layer and a second coating layer as disclosed by Yu in order to enhance mechanical stability, provide biological compatibility and to fine tune the sensitivity of the sensing head and to increase reflectivity (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 10, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the first coating layer, the second coating layer (Yu: paragraph [0023]), or both include a metal.
As for claim 11, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the first coating layer (Yu: paragraph [0023]), the second coating layer, or both include a polymer.
As for claim 13, Pidorenko discloses the pressure sensing guidewire of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Pidorenko does not disclose that the deflectable membrane is encased in a fluid-impermeable coating.
However, Yu discloses a deflectable membrane (60) that is encased in a fluid-impermeable coating (58, 80).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the deflectable membrane of Pidorenko by encasing it disclosed by Yu in order to enhance mechanical stability, provide biological compatibility and to fine tune the sensitivity of the sensing head and to increase reflectivity (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 16, Pidorenko discloses the pressure sensing guidewire of claim 14 (see the rejection of claim 14 above).
Pidorenko does not disclose that the deflectable membrane includes a first coating disposed along a first side of the deflectable membrane, a second coating disposed along a second side of the deflectable membrane, or both.
However, Yu discloses a deflectable membrane that includes a first coating disposed along a first side of the deflectable membrane (paragraph [0023]), a second coating disposed along a second side of the deflectable membrane, or both.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the deflectable membrane of Pidorenko to include a first coating layer as disclosed by Yu in order to enhance mechanical stability, provide biological compatibility and to fine tune the sensitivity of the sensing head and to increase reflectivity (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 17, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the first coating includes a metal (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 18, Pidorenko as modified by Yu discloses that the first coating includes a fluid-impermeable material (Yu: paragraph [0023]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,787,396 issued to Pidorenko (“Pidorenko”) in view of U.S. Patent 4,210,029 issued to Porter (“Porter”).
As for claim 15, Pidorenko discloses the pressure sensing guidewire of claim 14 (see the rejection of claim 14 above).
Pidorenko does not disclose that the proximal region of the tubular member has a first inner diameter, wherein the housing region of the tubular member has a second inner diameter, and wherein the first inner diameter is different from the second inner diameter.
However, Porter discloses a tubular member (312) that has a proximal region (right side of 312 in Fig. 2) with a first inner diameter, wherein a housing region (middle portion of 312 in Fig. 2) of the tubular member (312) has a second inner diameter, and wherein the first inner diameter is different from the second inner diameter (see Fig. 2).
Because Pidorenko and Porter both disclose tubular members that house an optical fiber, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the tubular member of Porter for the tubular member of Pidorenko to achieve the predictable result of providing a housing for an optical fiber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Pidorenko does not disclose the claimed optical fiber because Pidorenko discloses that the pressure equalization channel is in a ferrule surrounding the optical fiber rather than in the optical fiber. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the examiner acknowledges that Pidorenko discloses that the channel is in a metallic ferrule, the examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of an optical fiber includes not only the glass that transports light (i.e. the core of the optical fiber) and the cladding that reflects the light so that the light is contained within the core, but also surrounding structures such as metallic jackets that surround the cladding. See, for example, U.S. Patent 7,684,656 (col. 1, lines 11-13) and U.S. Patent 9,366,578 (col. 2, lines 4-8). Since Pidorenko discloses a metal structure (i.e. the “ferrule” 44) that surrounds a light-transporting portion, the examiner has interpreted the metal structure to be part of the claimed optical fiber. The examiner notes that the claim does not restrict or define the structures of the optical fiber and that the claim does not restrict or define the location of the channel with respect to the structures of the optical fiber.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853