DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-24, 30-34 in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 25-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (JP 2002121089A).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a dehydrator apparatus for dehydrating biological material, said apparatus comprising: an external housing 2 having a first end and a second end, spaced apart from one another in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 2); a vessel 21 supported within said external housing 2 and spanning in said longitudinal direction thereof in a position placing a bottom floor of said vessel in elevated relation from a bottom of said housing 2 (Fig. 2); a loading inlet 22 feeding into said vessel 21 from outside the external housing 2 for admission of biological material to be dehydrated or composted within the apparatus; an air distribution channel 31 situated internally of the housing 2 and running longitudinally thereof in a position underlying the bottom of said vessel 21 (Fig. 2); an air intake 36 that enters the external housing 2 at a location closer to the first end of the housing than to the second end thereof (Fig. 2) and feeds into the air distribution channel 31 to deliver heated air thereto from a hot air source 36, which heated air is distributed along a length of the vessel 21 by said air distribution duct 31 for warming of said vessel 21 and contents thereof through said bottom floor of the vessel 21; an agitator b1 installed in operable relation to the vessel 21 to agitate the material fed thereinto via the material inlet 22; and an exhaust outlet (Fig. 2, see air flow arrows HG) for exhausting said heated air from the external housing 2 after having heated said vessel 21and said contents thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses wherein said vessel 21 is an elongated vessel of greater length in a longitudinal direction of said housing 2 than width in a transverse direction of said housing 2 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Ito discloses an unloading outlet 23 that opens through an end wall of the housing2 at an output end of the vessel 21 for discharge of the dehydrated biological material therethrough (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Ito discloses an unloading outlet 23 through which the dehydrated biological material is discharged from the housing 2, and an unloading conveyor (Fig. 2, not numbered, within 23) coupled to said unloading outlet to convey the material from the external housing 2 to a container or depository (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Ito discloses wherein the air intake 36 opens into the housing 2through an end wall thereof (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2002121089A) in view of Kauppila et al. (US 2005/0252636 a1).
The dehydrator apparatus of Ito as above includes all that is recited in claim 3 except for wherein said vessel is an elongated trough. Kauppila et al. discloses a vessel 12 is an elongated trough (paragraph [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dehydrator apparatus of Ito to include an elongated trough shaped conveyor vessel as taught by Kauppila et al. in order to facilitate delivery of material and reduce cleanup needs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2002121089A) in view of Drangle (US 2,768,572).
The dehydrator apparatus of Ito as above incudes all that is recited in claim 13 except for a grinder operably installed in relation to the loading inlet to grind the biological material as it enters the housing. . Drangle discloses a grinder 8 operably installed in relation to a loading inlet 5 to grind the biological material as it enters a housing 4 (Figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dehydrator apparatus of Ito to include a grinder operably installed in relation to the loading inlet to grind the biological material as it enters the housing as taught by Drangle in order to reduce the size of the material to be dehydrated and thus improve the dehydrating efficiency.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2002121089A) in view of McPherson (US 2016/0229728 A1).
The dehydrator apparatus of Ito as above includes all that is recited in claim 17 except for wherein said agitator is operable in both an advancement mode that moves the contents of the vessel in a forward direction therealong toward an outlet end thereof, and a reversal mode that moves the contents of the vessel in an opposite rearward direction therealong away from said outlet end; a controller operably connected to a drive system of said agitator, and configured to drive a mixing sequence of the agitator that comprises alternatingly driving said agitator in the advancement and reversal modes. McPherson discloses agitator 118 is operable in both an advancement mode that moves the contents of the vessel 112 in a forward direction therealong toward an outlet end thereof, and a reversal mode that moves the contents of the vessel in an opposite rearward direction therealong away from said outlet end (Fig. 1, paragraph [087]); and a a controller operably connected to a drive system of said agitator, and configured to drive a mixing sequence of the agitator that comprises alternatingly driving said agitator in the advancement and reversal modes (paragraphs [0014], [0052], [0087], [0094]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dehydrator apparatus of Ito to include a controller operably connected to a drive system of the agitator, and configured to drive a mixing sequence of the agitator that comprises alternatingly driving said agitator in the advancement and reversal modes as taught by McPherson in order to improve dehydrate efficiency. For claim 19-20, see paragraph [0014].
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2002121089A) in view of Fitzgerald (US 9,180,463 B1).
The dehydrator apparatus of Ito as above includes all that is recited in claim 24 excecpt for the hot air source is a furnace having a hot air outlet connected to the air intake of the dehydrating apparatus. Fitzgerald discloses a dehydrator 116 using furnace as hot air source (col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dehydrator apparatus of Ito to include a furnace as hot air source as taught by Fitzgerald in order to pursue an intended use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12, 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 30-34 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose air distribution channel has series of outlet holes therein at spaced positions along said air distribution channel through which the heated air escapes said air distribution channel.
Claim 6 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a lower air shield of externally neighbouring relationship to at least one wall of the vessel, wherein the air distribution channel feeds said heated air into a gap space between the lower air shield and said at least one wall of the vessel.
Claims 8 and 30 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose air control dampers operable to control airflow into an interior of the vessel.
Claim 21 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose the air intake comprises an offset intake duct residing in offset relation from a midplane of the vessel at which the air distribution channel resides to accommodate drive componentry of the agitator that resides adjacent to said offset intake duct at the first end of the housing.
Claim 22 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a loading tray installed in cooperating relation to the loading inlet to aid in loading of the biological material into the housing, said loading tray being movable between a receiving position for receiving said biological material atop said loading tray, and a dumping position for dumping said biological material from the loading tray through the loading inlet.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762