DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-40 have been presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. Acknowledgement is made to the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2023 & 5/8/2024. The information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Master et al. (US 2011/0095087 A1), hereinafter Master, in view of Ramon et al. (US 2018/0089474 A1), hereinafter Ramon.
Regarding claim 1, Master discloses an asset management and tracking system for a facility having a product designation radio frequency identification (RFID) tag attached to a product disposed within the facility, the product designation RFID tag indicating product information, the system comprising:
a portable communication device disposed on a movable device in the facility [0024 & 0035 – disclosing an RFID reader disposed on a forklift]; and
an asset management and tracking device configured to:
select, from among the plurality of the desired product in the facility, a one of the desired product that is correct for the job order, such that a remaining one or more of the plurality of the desired product are incorrect for the job order [0090-0101, 0104, 0113, & 0120-0122 – disclosing the logistics system of a supply chain, or other material handling environment, wherein materials, packages and/or products are retrieved, stored, and/or otherwise transported as needed to carry out the processes in a production plant, distribution center, and/or buyer warehouse]; and
communicate product information for the selected one of the desired product to the portable communication device [0037 & 0085 – disclosing the displaying of real time data to a forklift operator as the RFID reader is gathering data];
wherein the portable communication device is configured to:
receive an indication of a product detected in the facility, via an RFID reader on the movable device detecting a product designation RFID tag attached to the detected product [0037 & 0085]; and
communicate with the asset management and tracking device [0089-0102, 0104, & 0113-0118 – disclosing communicating with a central logistics processor (400)].
Regarding claim 16, Master discloses a method of asset management and tracking for a facility having a product designation radio frequency identification (RFID) tag attached to a product disposed within the facility, the product designation RFID tag indicating product information, the method comprising:
selecting, at the asset management and tracking device, from among the plurality of the desired product in the facility, a one of the desired product that is correct for the job order, such that a remaining one or more of the plurality of the desired product are incorrect for the job order [0090-0101, 0104, 0113, & 0120-0122 – disclosing the logistics system of a supply chain, or other material handling environment, wherein materials, packages and/or products are retrieved, stored, and/or otherwise transported as needed to carry out the processes in a production plant, distribution center, and/or buyer warehouse];
via the asset management and tracking device, communicating product information for the selected one of the desired product to a portable communication device disposed on a movable device in the facility [0024 & 0035 – disclosing an RFID reader disposed on a forklift];
receiving, at the portable communication device, an indication of a product detected in the facility, via an RFID reader on the movable device detecting a product designation RFID tag attached to the detected product [0037 & 0085 – disclosing the displaying of real time data to a forklift operator as the RFID reader is gathering data]; and
via the portable communication device, communicating with the asset management and tracking device [0089-0102, 0104, & 0113-0118 – disclosing communicating with a central logistics processor (400)].
Regarding claim 31, Master discloses an asset management and tracking system for a facility having a plurality of location designation radio frequency identification (RFID) tags placed at respective locations of in the facility, each of the plurality of location designation RFID tags indicating respective location information [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122 – location RFID tags (87)], and the system comprising an asset management and tracking device configured to:
provide, to a portable communication device disposed on a movable device in the facility, an indication of the first location to cause the portable communication to display an indication of the first location to an operator of the movable device [0024 & 0035 – disclosing an RFID reader disposed on a forklift];
subsequent to providing the indication of the first location, receive, via the portable communication device, location information associated with a first one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among of the plurality of location designation RFID tags in the facility, the first one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via an RFID reader disposed on the movable device [0103, 0104, & 0118-0122]; and
determine whether the movable device has moved to the first location associated with completion of the job order, based upon a comparison of the first location to the location information associated with the first one or more detected location designation RFID tags [0103, 0104, & 0118-0122].
With respect to claims 1, 16, & 31, the teachings of Master have been discussed above.
Master, directed to an RFID based smart logistic system [0089], discloses a system used to track, monitor, and control the logistic process in a supply chain and/or distribution network [0098-0101]. Master clearly discloses using such a system in known manufacturing and/or delivery and distribution environments wherein items, parts, goods, and/or packages are known to be moved around, placed in storage, and/or loaded onto or off of transportation as needed or desired, and wherein this process is desired to be tracked, monitored, and controlled accordingly [0089-0101, 0104-0111, & 0113-0122].
Master is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing obtain a job order associated with a desired product, identify, from among products in the facility, a plurality of the desired product in the facility, and to determine whether the detected product is the selected one of the desired product, to thereby determine whether the detected product is correct for the job order, as recited in claims 1 & 16, and obtain a job order associated with a product in the facility, identify a first location in the facility associated with completion of the job order, receive, via the portable communication device, location information associated with a first one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among of the plurality of location designation RFID tags in the facility, and determine whether the movable device has moved to the first location associated with completion of the job order, as recited in claim 31.
As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the teachings of Master which discuss the logistic and control process for carrying out the movement, storage, and distribution of various products, goods, and/or packages within a production plant, distribution center, and/or buyer warehouse would clearly entail some sort of instruction(s) to the forklift operator for which item(s) are needed to be retrieved, moved, and/or stored and where they can be found, or where they are needed to be taken, in order for the process to function at all. Master clearly reciting the desire to track, monitor, and control the logistic process in such environments [0001, 0023, & 0089]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the teachings of Master would clearly include above limitations from claims 1, 16, & 31.
However, assuming arguendo, that this isn’t the case, the examiner has presented the teachings of Ramon.
Ramon, directed to a system and method for use in material handling facilities which similarly includes the processes of placing and removing items, goods, and/or packages within the facility so as to add new items to the facility, move existing items to different locations within the facility, and/or removing items from the facility [0001], teaches, regarding claims 1 & 16, obtain a job order associated with a desired product, identify, from among products in the facility, a plurality of the desired product in the facility, and to determine whether the detected product is the selected one of the desired product, to thereby determine whether the detected product is correct for the job order [0115, 0116, 0138, 0139, & 0142], and, regarding claim 31, obtain a job order associated with a product in the facility, identify a first location in the facility associated with completion of the job order, receive, via the portable communication device, location information associated with a first one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among of the plurality of location designation RFID tags in the facility, and determine whether the movable device has moved to the first location associated with completion of the job order [0115, 0116, 0138, 0139, & 0142].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ the ordering and location identification features of Ramon within the system of Master for at least the benefit of improving throughput, reducing wasted time, and reducing error and misplacements [0002].
With respect to claims 2-6 & 17-21 the teachings of the combination of Master and Ramon have been discussed above.
This combination is directed to systems and methods for tracking, monitoring, and controlling the logistic processes in a supply chain and/or distribution network that involves moving, storing, or otherwise selecting items, goods, and/or packages in order to fulfill logistic instructions and/or distribution or customer orders.
This combination is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing the selection of a desired product based upon the age of the product and based on a date of usage, shipping, or expiration, as recited in claims 2-6 & 17-21.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selecting of items or options based upon a selected preference, desired characteristic and/or a specific metric is widely known in the art. It would not have been a new feature to apply a filter to search results in order to narrow down the items and/or products to only a select few to meet the desired preferences.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ filtering features within the combination of Master and Ramon for at least the benefit of reducing waste and/or loss by making selections that are more urgent or that are date sensitive.
Regarding claim 7, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 1, wherein, in response to determining that the detected product is correct for the job order, the asset management and tracking device is configured to: cause the portable communication device to provide a visible or audible alert indicating that the detected product is correct for the job order; and communicate, to the portable communication device, product destination information indicating a correct destination for the selected one of the desired product for the job order [0039, 0041, & 0121-0127].
Regarding claim 8, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 7, wherein the correct destination is associated with at least one of a plurality of location designation RFID tags disposed in the facility, each of the plurality of location designation RFID tags indicating respective location information [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 9, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 8, wherein, in response to determining that the detected product is correct for the job order, the asset management and tracking device is further configured to provide, to the portable communication device, navigation guidance to the correct destination based upon detection of a location of the movable device in the facility [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 10, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 9, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to detect the location of the movable device in response to receiving, via the portable communication device, location information associated with one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among of the plurality of location designation RFID tags, the one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 11, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 8, wherein the asset management and tracking device is further configured to: receive, via the portable communication device, detected location information associated with one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among the plurality of location designation RFID tags in the facility, the one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader; and communicate further with the portable communication device regarding a determination of whether the movable device is at the correct destination, based upon comparison of the correct destination to corresponding location information associated with the one or more detected location designation RFID tags [0037, 0050, 0103, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 12, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 1, wherein, in response to determining that the detected product is incorrect for the job order, the asset management and tracking device is configured to cause the portable communication device to provide a visible or audible alert indicating that the detected product is incorrect for the job order [0092, 0098, & 0139].
Regarding claim 13, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 12, wherein, in response to determining that the detected product is incorrect for the job order, the asset management and tracking device is further configured to cause the portable communication device to display product information associated with the correct product, the displayed product information distinguishing the correct product from the detected product that is incorrect for the job order [0115, 0116, 0138, & 0139].
Regarding claim 14, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking and management system of claim 12, wherein in response to determining that the detected product is incorrect for the job order, the asset management and tracking device is further configured to provide, to the portable communication device, navigation guidance to the correct product, based upon a location of the correct product stored via the asset management and tracking device [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 15, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 14, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to provide the navigation device to the portable communication device based upon detection of a location of the movable device, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to detect the location of the movable device in response to receiving, via the portable communication device, location information associated with one or more detected location designation RFID tags disposed in the facility, the one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 22, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device, in response to determining that the detected product is correct for the job order: causing the portable communication device to provide a visible or audible alert indicating that the detected product is correct for the job order; and communicating, to the portable communication device, product destination information indicating a correct destination for the selected one of the desired product for the job order [0039, 0041, & 0121-0127].
Regarding claim 23, Master, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the correct destination is associated with at least one of a plurality of location designation RFID tags disposed in the facility, each of the plurality of location designation RFID tags indicating respective location information [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 24, Master, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device, in response to determining that the detected product is correct for the job order, providing, to the portable communication device, navigation guidance to the correct destination based upon detection of a location of the movable device in the facility [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 25, Master, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 24, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device, detecting the location of the movable device in response to receiving, via the portable communication device, location information associated with one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among of the plurality of location designation RFID tags, the one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 26, Master, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device: receiving via the portable communication device, detected location information associated with one or more detected location designation RFID tags from among the plurality of location designation RFID tags in the facility, the one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader; and communicating further with the portable communication device regarding a determination of whether the movable device is at the correct destination, based upon comparison of the correct destination to corresponding location information associated with the one or more detected location designation RFID tags [0037, 0050, 0103, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 27, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device, in response to determining that the detected product is incorrect for the job order, causing the portable communication device to provide a visible or audible alert indicating that the detected product is incorrect for the job order [0092, 0098, & 0139].
Regarding claim 28, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device, in response to determining that the detected product is incorrect for the job order, causing the portable communication device to display product information associated with the correct product, the displayed product information distinguishing the correct product from the detected product that is incorrect for the job order [0115, 0116, 0138, & 0139].
Regarding claim 29, Master, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising, via the asset management and tracking device, in response to determining that the detected product is incorrect for the job order, providing, the portable communication device, navigation guidance to the correct product, based upon a location of the correct product stored via the asset management and tracking device [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 30, Master, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 29, wherein providing the navigation guidance comprises providing the navigation guidance based upon detection of a location of the movable device, and the method comprising detecting the location of the movable device in response to receiving, via the portable communication device, location information associated with one or more detected location designation RFID tags disposed in the facility, the one or more detected location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader [0050, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 32, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset tracking and management system of claim 31, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to provide the indication of the first location by providing step-by-step navigation guidance to the portable communication device from a starting location of the movable device to the first location, the step-by-step navigation guidance being provided via further communications between the asset management and tracking device and the portable communication device based upon respective location information associated with additional detected ones of the plurality of location designation RFID tags placed in the facility, and the additional detected ones of the plurality of location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader as the movable device moves from the starting location to the first location associated with the completion of the job order [0039, 0041, & 0121-0127].
Regarding claim 33, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 31, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to provide the step-by-step navigation guidance at least in part by: determining, based upon the respective location information associated with the additional detected ones of the plurality of location designation RFID tags, whether the movable device has proceeded according to a route indicated by the navigation guidance provided by the asset management and tracking device to the portable communication device; and in response to determining that the movable device has proceeded contrary to the provided navigation guidance, updating the providing of the navigation guidance based upon an updated location of the movable device [0039, 0041, & 0121-0127].
Regarding claim 34, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 33, wherein the updating of the providing of the navigation guidance comprises generating and providing a different route from the updated location of the movable device to the first location associated with the completion of the job order [0039, 0041, & 0121-0127].
Regarding claim 35, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 31, wherein the first location associated with the completion of the job order is a destination of a transport of the product in the facility [0050, 0103, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 36, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 31, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to process a completion of the job order in response to determining that the movable device has moved to the first location associated with the completion of the job order subsequent to obtaining the product associated with the job order [0092, 0098, & 0139].
Regarding claim 37, Master, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 31, wherein the first location is a location of the product, and wherein the job order is associated with transport of the product from the first location to a destination of the product [0050, 0103, 0104, & 0120-0122].
Regarding claim 38, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 37, wherein the asset management and tracking device is further configured to, subsequent to providing the indication of the first location: receive, via the portable communication device, an indication of a detected product designation RFID tag attached to a detected product, the product designation RFID tag being detected via the RFID reader; and provide, to the portable communication device, an indication of whether the detected product is the product associated with the job order [0115, 0138, & 0139].
Regarding claim 39, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 38, wherein providing the indication whether the detected product is the product associated with the job order, and wherein, wherein the asset management and tracking device is further configured to provide, to the portable communication device, an indication of a second location associated with the completion of the job order, the second location being a destination for transport of the product [0115, 0116, 0138, & 0139].
Regarding claim 40, Ramon, as modified above, discloses the asset management and tracking system of claim 39, wherein the asset management and tracking device is configured to provide the indication of the second location by providing step-by-step navigation guidance to the portable communication device from the first location to the second location, the step-by-step navigation guidance being provided via further communications between the asset management and tracking device and the portable communication device based upon respective location information associated with additional detected ones of the plurality of location designation RFID tags placed in the facility, and the additional detected ones of the plurality of location designation RFID tags being detected via the RFID reader as the movable device moves from the first location to the second location [0039, 0041, & 0121-0127].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876