DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the vent collection channel (169) as described in ¶ 0043 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon (US-20230216107-A1).
With regards to claim 1, Jeon teaches a battery assembly (battery device) comprising: a housing (packaging case) including a base wall (lower plate) and a plurality of side walls that collectively define an interior zone (inner space) (¶ 0010 and ¶ 0059); a plurality of battery cells arranged in the interior zone (¶ 0049). The base wall (lower plate) taught by Jeon includes a first and second plate with at least one cooling flow path and at least one venting flow path formed between the two plates (¶ 0075 and Fig. 4). Jeon teaches that the cooling flow path allows for a refrigerant flow that absorbs heat generated in the cell stack (¶ 0081). Thus, this base plate reads on a heat exchange member arranged between the base wall and the plurality of battery cells. Jeon teaches that the heat exchange member (lower plate) includes a plurality of coolant fluid channels (cooling flow path) that pass a coolant fluid (refrigerant) in heat exchange contact with the plurality of battery cells (¶ 0081). Jeon also teaches a plurality of vent gas channels (vent flow path) provided to discharge gas generated in the battery cell (¶ 0088). This reads on the plurality of vent gas channels (vent flow paths) being fluidically
connected to the plurality of battery cells. See Fig. 4 below.
With regards to claim 2, in Fig. 3, Jeon shows that each of the plurality of coolant fluid channels include a first end, a second end, and an intermediate portion, the plurality of coolant fluid channels extending along an axis of the heat exchange member. Fig. 3 is shown below.
With regards to claim 3, in Fig. 3, Jeon shows that each of the plurality of vent gas channels includes a first end portion, a second end portion, and an intermediate section, the plurality of vent gas channels extending along the axis of the heat exchange member. See Fig. 3 below.
With regards to claim 4, as shown in Fig. 3 above and discussed in ¶ 0098, Jeon teaches that each of the plurality of vent gas channels are arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of coolant fluid channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US-20230216107-A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Cai et al. (US-20180031273-A1).
With regards to claim 5, Jeon teaches that the coolant fluid channels (cooling flow paths) comprise linear flow paths and a curved flow paths that connect the linear flow paths to each other (¶ 0085 and Fig. 3). However, Jeon does not teach a dam member extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the dam member including a first end segment, a second end segment, and an intermediate segment that closes off the second end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels. Fig. 3 is shown below.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cai teaches a heat exchanger plate comprising a fluid passage (coolant fluid channel) that includes sub-fluid passages (LPs) and transition portions (CPs) (¶ 0200). Similar to Jeon, Cai teaches a U-shaped transition portion (CP). Jeong also teaches vent gas (flue gas) channels with first and second end portions (Fig. 10 and ¶ 0007). In ¶ 0204, Jeong teaches that the water (coolant) circulated in the heat exchanger plate is easily accumulated in the U-shape structure and is difficulty discharged. To solve this problem, Cai teaches a communication fluid passage disposed perpendicular to the fluid passages that connects the transition portions to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant (¶ 0204 and Fig. 10). This communication fluid passage reads on the dam member of the claimed invention. As shown in Fig. 10, the communication fluid passage (dam member) extends across the heat exchanger plate substantially perpendicular to the fluid passages and vent gas channels includes a first, second, and an intermediate segment that closes off the second end portion of the plurality of vent gas channels. Fig. 10 is shown below.
As Jeon teaches a curved flow path similar to the U-shaped transition portion taught by Cai, Jeon would reasonably encounter a similar discharge problem discussed by Cai. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the heat exchanger member (lower plate) taught by Jeon to include a communication fluid passage (dam member) disposed perpendicular to the fluid passages that connects the curved flow paths. This will predictably ensure a smooth discharge of the coolant.
Through this modification, the battery assembly taught by modified Jeon further comprises a dam member extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the dam member including a first end segment, a second end segment, and an intermediate segment that closes off the second end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels.
With regards to claim 6, as discussed earlier Cai teaches that the communication fluid passage (dam member) connects the transition portions (curved flow paths) to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant (¶ 0204 and Fig. 10). As shown and discussed above, modified Jeon also teaches that the communication fluid passage (dam member) closes off the second end portions of the vent gas channels, which is also where the second end portions of the coolant fluid channels are located (Fig. 10). Thus, modified Jeon teaches the dam member including an internal flow channel fluidically connecting the second end of each of the plurality of coolant fluid channels. See Fig. 10 above.
With regards to claim 7, Jeon teaches a coolant fluid inlet (refrigerant inlet) fluidically connected to one of the plurality of coolant fluid channels (coolant flow paths) on one side of the heat exchange member and a coolant fluid outlet (coolant flow paths) fluidically connected to another of the plurality of coolant fluid channels on another side of the heat exchange member (¶ 0081 - ¶ 0082 and Fig. 3). As discussed above, the communication fluid passage (dam member) taught by Cai is formed to connect the plurality of coolant fluid channels across the heat exchange member. The communication fluid passage (dam member) also includes a first and second end that extends across the heat exchange member in a perpendicular direction to the plurality of fluid coolant channels. Thus, through the modification discussed above, the coolant inlet is fluidically connected to one of the plurality of channels and the first end of the dam member while the coolant outlet is fluidically connected to another plurality of
coolant fluid channels and the second end of the dam member. See Fig. 3 below.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US-20230216107-A1) in view of Cai et al. (US-20180031273-A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Higashino et al. (US-20110027632-A1).
With regards to claim 8, as mentioned earlier, Jeon teaches venting flow paths to discharge gas generated in the battery cells to outside the battery pack (¶ 0088). Jeon also teaches gas outlets that may be maintained in a closed state and opened when gas is generated in the battery pack (¶ 0097). Jeon teaches that the gas outlet may be provided with a film or a valve that opens by internal pressure of the battery pack (¶ 0097). However, Jeon and Cai do not teach a vent gas collection member extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the vent gas collection member fluidically connecting the first end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels to a sensor housing.
In a similar field of endeavor, Higashino teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of modules and a gas exhaust duct that forms a gas exhaust passage which extends in an arrangement direction of the plurality of cells (¶ 0007). In Fig. 2, Higashino shows gas flow channels between the battery modules, through which cooling air passes through (¶ 0073). In Fig. 2, Higashino teaches first and second end portions of the gas flow channels, and the gas flow duct is shown extends cross the battery cells in a perpendicular direction to the gas flow channels. Higashino teaches that the gas exhaust duct takes in the released gas from the channels (¶ 0074 and Fig. 2). Higashino also teaches that the gas exhaust duct increases the reliability of the battery pack as it allows for any amount of released gas to be exhausted from the pack (¶ 0106). Higashino goes on to teach combining a sensor with the gas exhaust duct to allow for efficient installation and enables the use the inside passage or the outer surface of the gas exhaust duct as a route or duct for wiring of a signal wire connecting with the sensor (¶ 0117). The gas exhaust duct and the sensor taught by Higashino read on the gas collection member and the sensor housing of the claimed invention. As shown in Fig. 2, the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) extends across the battery modules substantially perpendicular to the plurality of vent gas channels (gas channel), the vent gas collection member fluidically connecting the first end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels
to a sensor within the gas collection member (gas exhaust duct). See Fig. 2 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify the heat exchanger member (lower plate) taught by modified Jeon to include the gas exhaust duct (gas collection member) disposed perpendicular to the gas flow channels, fluidically connecting the plurality of gas flow channels to a sensor as taught by Higashino. This will predictably increase the reliability of the battery pack by allowing efficient discharge of released gas within the battery pack.
Through this modification, modified Jeon renders obvious a vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the vent gas collection member fluidically connecting the first end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels to a sensor housing.
With regards to claim 9, in ¶ 0074, Higashino teaches that the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) a gas exhaust passage which reads on a vent gas collection channel. In Fig. 2, Higashino shows a first channel portion that extends across the battery pack, a second channel portion that extends along the axis, and a third channel portion that extends across the battery pack. Higashino teaches that the sensor is included in the gas inlet portion of the gas exhaust duct which is located in the third portion (Fig. 2 and ¶ 0116). Thus, through the modification discussed above, modified Jeon will comprise the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) that includes a first channel portion that extends across the heat exchange member, a second channel portion that extends along the axis, and a third channel portion that extends across the heat exchange member, the third channel portion including a sensor housing. Fig. 2 is shown below.
With regards to claim 10, the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct ) taught by Higashino is formed similar to the communication fluid passage (dam member) taught by Cai. Similar to the gas exhaust duct, the communication fluid passage is disposed perpendicular to the fluid and gas passages and connects the plurality of fluid channels to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant (¶ 0204 and Fig. 10). See Fig. 10 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify the vent gas collection member taught by modified Jeon to apply the known technique of connecting the coolant fluid channels to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant as disclosed by Cai. Through this modification, the battery assembly taught by modified Jeon comprises a vent gas collection member that includes an internal coolant fluid channel that fluidically connects each of the plurality of coolant fluid channels.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US-20230216107-A1) in view of Buchstab (US-20130203020-A1).
With regards to claim 11, Jeon discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize secondary battery packs in devices such as electric vehicles (¶ 0004 - ¶ 0005). Jeon teaches a battery assembly (battery device) comprising: a housing (packaging case) including a base wall (lower plate) and a plurality of side walls that collectively define an interior zone (inner space) (¶ 0010 and ¶ 0059); a plurality of battery cells arranged in the interior zone (¶ 0049). The base wall (lower plate) taught by Jeon includes a first and second plate with at least one cooling flow path and at least one venting flow path formed between the two plates (¶ 0075 and Fig. 4). Jeon teaches that the cooling flow path allows for a refrigerant flow that absorbs heat generated in the cell stack (¶ 0081). Thus, this base plate reads on a heat exchange member arranged between the base wall and the plurality of battery cells. Jeon teaches that the heat exchange member (lower plate) includes a plurality of coolant fluid channels (cooling flow path) that pass a coolant fluid (refrigerant) in heat exchange contact with the plurality of battery cells (¶ 0081). Jeon also teaches a plurality of vent gas channels (vent flow path) provided to discharge gas generated in the battery cell (¶ 0088). This reads on the plurality of vent gas channels (vent flow paths) being fluidically connected to the plurality of battery cells. Although Jeon teaches that the battery assembly may be utilized in an electric vehicle (¶ 0004 - ¶ 0005), Jeon does not specifically teach a vehicle comprising a body; a plurality of wheels connected to the body; an electric drive unit supported in the body and operatively connected to at least one of the plurality of wheels. See Fig. 4 below.
In a similar field of endeavor, Buchstab teaches a flight simulator device electrically powered by a secondary battery (¶ 0018). Buchstab teaches that the flight simulator device includes a vehicle that comprises a body and several wheels connected to the body (¶ 0028). Buchstab goes on to teach an electric drive unit arranged in the vehicle body and designed to move the vehicle by appropriate actuation of the drive units for the wheels (¶ 0028). This reads on an electric drive unit supported in the body and operatively connected to at least one of the plurality of wheels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the vehicle taught by Jeon with the vehicle taught by Buchstab as there are no unpredictable results. Through this modification modified Jeon teaches the limitations of claim 11.
With regards to claim 12, in Fig. 3, Jeon shows that each of the plurality of coolant fluid channels include a first end, a second end, and an intermediate portion, the plurality of coolant fluid channels extending along an axis of the heat exchange member. Fig. 3 is shown below.
With regards to claim 13, in Fig. 3, Jeon shows that each of the plurality of vent gas channels includes a first end portion, a second end portion, and an intermediate section, the plurality of vent gas channels extending along the axis of the heat exchange member. See Fig. 3
below.
With regards to claim 14, as shown in Fig. 3 above and discussed in ¶ 0098, Jeon teaches that each of the plurality of vent gas channels are arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of coolant fluid channels.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US-20230216107-A1) in view of Buchstab (US-20130203020-A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of Cai et al. (US-20180031273-A1).
With regards to claim 15, Jeon teaches that the coolant fluid channels (cooling flow paths) comprise linear flow paths and a curved flow paths that connect the linear flow paths to each other (¶ 0085 and Fig. 3). However, Jeon in view of Buchstab does not teach a dam member extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the dam member including a first end segment, a second end segment, and an intermediate segment that closes off the second end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels. Fig. 3 is shown below.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cai teaches a heat exchanger plate comprising a fluid passage (coolant fluid channel) that includes sub-fluid passages (LPs) and transition portions (CPs) (¶ 0200). Similar to Jeon, Cai teaches a U-shaped transition portion (CP). Jeong also teaches vent gas (flue gas) channels with first and second end portions (Fig. 10 and ¶ 0007). In ¶ 0204, Jeong teaches that the water (coolant) circulated in the heat exchanger plate is easily accumulated in the U-shape structure and is difficulty discharged. To solve this problem, Cai teaches a communication fluid passage disposed perpendicular to the fluid passages that connects the transition portions to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant (¶ 0204 and Fig. 10). This communication fluid passage reads on the dam member of the claimed invention. As shown in Fig. 10, the communication fluid passage (dam member) extends across the heat exchanger plate substantially perpendicular to the fluid passages and vent gas channels includes a first, second, and an intermediate segment that closes off the second end portion of the plurality of vent gas channels. Fig. 10 is shown below.
As Jeon teaches a curved flow path similar to the U-shaped transition portion taught by Cai, Jeon would reasonably encounter a similar discharge problem discussed by Cai. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the heat exchanger member (lower plate) taught by modified Jeon to include a communication fluid passage (dam member) disposed perpendicular to the fluid passages that connects the curved flow paths. This will predictably ensure a smooth discharge of the coolant.
Through this modification, the vehicle taught by modified Jeon further comprises a dam member extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the dam member including a first end segment, a second end segment, and an intermediate segment that closes off the second end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels.
With regards to claim 16, as discussed earlier Cai teaches that the communication fluid passage (dam member) connects the transition portions (curved flow paths) to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant (¶ 0204 and Fig. 10). As shown and discussed above, modified Jeon also teaches that the communication fluid passage (dam member) closes off the second end portions of the vent gas channels, which is also where the second end portions of the coolant fluid channels are located (Fig. 10). Thus, modified Jeon teaches the dam member including an internal flow channel fluidically connecting the second end of each of the plurality of coolant fluid channels. See Fig. 10 above.
With regards to claim 17, Jeon teaches a coolant fluid inlet (refrigerant inlet) fluidically connected to one of the plurality of coolant fluid channels (coolant flow paths) on one side of the heat exchange member and a coolant fluid outlet (coolant flow paths) fluidically connected to another of the plurality of coolant fluid channels on another side of the heat exchange member (¶ 0081 - ¶ 0082 and Fig. 3). As discussed above, the communication fluid passage (dam member) taught by Cai is formed to connect the plurality of coolant fluid channels across the heat exchange member. The communication fluid passage (dam member) also includes a first and second end that extends across the heat exchange member in a perpendicular direction to the plurality of fluid coolant channels. Thus, through the modification discussed above, the coolant inlet is fluidically connected to one of the plurality of channels and the first end of the dam member while the coolant outlet is fluidically connected to another plurality of
coolant fluid channels and the second end of the dam member. See Fig. 3 below.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US-20230216107-A1) in view of Buchstab (US-20130203020-A1) and Cai et al. (US-20180031273-A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and in further view of Higashino et al. (US-20110027632-A1).
With regards to claim 18, as mentioned earlier, Jeon teaches venting flow paths to discharge gas generated in the battery cells to outside the battery pack (¶ 0088). Jeon also teaches gas outlets that may be maintained in a closed state and opened when gas is generated in the battery pack (¶ 0097). Jeon teaches that the gas outlet may be provided with a film or a valve that opens by internal pressure of the battery pack (¶ 0097). However, Jeon, Buchstab, and Cai do not teach a vent gas collection member extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the vent gas collection member fluidically connecting the first end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels to a sensor housing.
In a similar field of endeavor, Higashino teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of modules and a gas exhaust duct that forms a gas exhaust passage which extends in an arrangement direction of the plurality of cells (¶ 0007). In Fig. 2, Higashino shows gas flow channels between the battery modules, through which cooling air passes through (¶ 0073). In Fig. 2, Higashino teaches first and second end portions of the gas flow channels, and the gas flow duct is shown extends cross the battery cells in a perpendicular direction to the gas flow channels. Higashino teaches that the gas exhaust duct takes in the released gas from the channels (¶ 0074 and Fig. 2). Higashino also teaches that the gas exhaust duct increases the reliability of the battery pack as it allows for any amount of released gas to be exhausted from the pack (¶ 0106). Higashino goes on to teach combining a sensor with the gas exhaust duct to allow for efficient installation and enables the use the inside passage or the outer surface of the gas exhaust duct as a route or duct for wiring of a signal wire connecting with the sensor (¶ 0117). The gas exhaust duct and the sensor taught by Higashino read on the gas collection member and the sensor housing of the claimed invention. As shown in Fig. 2, the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) extends across the battery modules substantially perpendicular to the plurality of vent gas channels (gas channel), the vent gas collection member fluidically connecting the first end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels
to a sensor within the gas collection member (gas exhaust duct). See Fig. 2 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify the heat exchanger member (lower plate) taught by modified Jeon to include the gas exhaust duct (gas collection member) disposed perpendicular to the gas flow channels, fluidically connecting the plurality of gas flow channels to a sensor as taught by Higashino. This will predictably increase the reliability of the battery pack by allowing efficient discharge of released gas within the battery pack.
Through this modification, modified Jeon renders obvious a vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) extending across the heat exchange member substantially perpendicular to the plurality of coolant fluid channels and the plurality of vent gas channels, the vent gas collection member fluidically connecting the first end portion of each of the plurality of vent gas channels to a sensor housing.
With regards to claim 19, in ¶ 0074, Higashino teaches that the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) a gas exhaust passage which reads on a vent gas collection channel. In Fig. 2, Higashino shows a first channel portion that extends across the battery pack, a second channel portion that extends along the axis, and a third channel portion that extends across the battery pack. Higashino teaches that the sensor is included in the gas inlet portion of the gas exhaust duct which is located in the third portion (Fig. 2 and ¶ 0116). Thus, through the modification discussed above, modified Jeon will comprise the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct) that includes a first channel portion that extends across the heat exchange member, a second channel portion that extends along the axis, and a third channel portion that extends across the heat exchange member, the third channel portion including a sensor housing. Fig. 2 is shown below.
With regards to claim 20, the vent gas collection member (gas exhaust duct ) taught by Higashino is formed similar to the communication fluid passage (dam member) taught by Cai. Similar to the gas exhaust duct, the communication fluid passage is disposed perpendicular to the fluid and gas passages and connects the plurality of fluid channels to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant (¶ 0204 and Fig. 10). See Fig. 10 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify the vent gas collection member taught by modified Jeon to apply the known technique of connecting the coolant fluid channels to allow for a smooth discharge of the coolant as disclosed by Cai. Through this modification, the battery assembly taught by modified Jeon comprises a vent gas collection member that includes an internal coolant fluid channel that fluidically connects each of the plurality of coolant fluid channels.
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743