DETAILED ACTION
This paper is responsive to patent application papers filed November 11, 2023.
No priority filings, either foreign or domestic have been claimed.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 29 and 30 include claim limitations that use the word “means” and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Specifically, the prior art does not teach or suggest placing time division duplex frequencies higher in the frequency scan order than frequency division duplex frequencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-14, 21-25, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 20250247783 to Sanghyun Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) in view of US Pat. Pub. US 20220346001 to Wujun Hu et al. (hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 1, Lee in view of Hu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), (Lee electronic device 101 shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
one or more memories; (Lee, Fig. 1, memory 130 within electronic device 101)
and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories,(Fig. 1, processor 120 within electronic device 101) configured to
cause the UE to: identify a frequency scan order associated with a radio link failure (RLF) recovery procedure, (Lee para. [0076] teaches that electronic device 101 may transmit information concerning a radio link failure (RLF))
wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes identifying a position, in the frequency scan order, of a frequency associated with a last-acquired cell by using [[a measurement result]] of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database; (Lee para. [0083] and Table 1 teaches a scan order as shown:
wherein the information associated with Cell id #1 and #2 “identify the information based on a previous connection history” which examiner maps frequency of a last acquired cell based on the ARFCN frequency taught in Table 1.)
and
perform the RLF recovery procedure by scanning one or more frequencies in the frequency scan order. (Lee Fig. 7A teaches scanning the frequencies in the frequency scan order in step 707.
Lee does NOT teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Although Lee teaches using information from a previous connection history stored in the electronic device, Lee does not specifically identify a measurement result of a frequency stored in a measurement database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches a measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.” The ACQ DB includes last acquired cells and is a database stored in the terminal. Paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”. Examiner notes that applicant’s specification also identifies an ACQ DB in para. [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Hu teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the position, in the frequency scan order, of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, are configured to cause the UE to:
place the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a first position in the frequency scan order; (Lee teaches in Table 1 placing a last acquired cell in a first position in a scan order)
Lee does NOT teach that the order is “in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches that the order “in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.”
or
place the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a second position in the frequency scan order in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell not satisfying the measurement threshold, wherein the second position is lower in the frequency scan order than the first position.
Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching for the second element of the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 3, Lee does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to
sort frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and at least one of:
the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, a frequency associated with a last-acquired neighbor cell, or
one or more frequencies included in both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to
sort frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and at least one of:
the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, a frequency associated with a last-acquired neighbor cell (Hu teaches in paras. [0058]-[0059] “In an embodiment, the terminal may store a target NSA anchor cell to an ACQ_DB(NSA) file in the EFS. It can be understood that the terminal pre-stores the pre-stored cells configured to access the first network. When performing the frequency-scanning process, the terminal may prioritize to search for the frequency points of the pre-stored cells so as to determine the first-type cells which may be available to be dwelled on in this process.” Thus, Hu teaches a last acquired cell in the ACQ_DB database of previously acquired cells. The ACQ_DB provides last acquired cells. Hu paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”.
or
one or more frequencies included in both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database. (Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching of the second element of the claim.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach sorting of frequencies. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a measurement configuration that configures measurement of frequencies associated with one or more neighboring cells; (Lee Fig. 7A teaches receiving measurements associated with neighboring cells in step 703:
measure the one or more frequencies, resulting in one or more measurement results; (Lee Fig. 7A step 707 teaches measuring by scanning the information)
store the one or more measurement results in the measurement database; (Lee teaches in para. [0091] that the results from the scan are stored)
and
retain one or more previously acquired measurement results in the measurement database, wherein the one or more previously acquired measurement results are associated with one or more frequencies not configured for measurement by the measurement configuration. (Lee teaches in para. [0091] that the stored information may include a “stored scan” when a search for a suitable cell has failed. Examiner interprets “not configured for measurement” as including the stored scan used due to a scan failure.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first measurement configuration that configures measurement, by the UE, of a first group of one or more neighboring cells; (Lee Fig. 7A teaches receiving measurements associated with neighboring cells in step 703:
receive a second measurement configuration that configures measurement, by the UE, of a second group of one or more neighboring cells; (Lee teaches in Fig. 7A both a neighbor cell and a second cell which could be a neighbor cell)
identify that a first neighboring cell, of the first group of one or more neighboring cells, is a same cell as a second neighboring cell, of the second group of one or more neighboring cells; (Lee Fig. 8A and paras. [0096]-[0099] teach that an electronic device may identify frequencies already performed in a stored scan about an ARFCN about a neighboring cell received from a server)
and
retain a previously acquired measurement result associated with the first neighboring cell in the measurement database based at least in part on identifying that the first neighboring cell is the same cell as the second neighboring cell. (Lee para. [0098] teaches that the electronic device may skip a scan for the frequency already performed in a stored scan “thereby avoiding redundant scans for a single frequency.”
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Hu teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), (Lee electronic device 101 shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
identifying a frequency scan order associated with a radio link failure (RLF) recovery procedure, (Lee para. [0076] teaches that electronic device 101 may transmit information concerning a radio link failure (RLF)) wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes identifying a position, in the frequency scan order, of a frequency associated with a last-acquired cell by using [[a measurement result]] of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database; (Lee para. [0083] and Table 1 teaches a scan order as shown:
wherein the information associated with Cell id #1 and #2 “identify the information based on a previous connection history” which examiner maps frequency of a last acquired cell based on the ARFCN frequency taught in Table 1.)
and
performing the RLF recovery procedure by scanning one or more frequencies in the frequency scan order. . (Lee Fig. 7A teaches scanning the frequencies in the frequency scan order in step 707.
Lee does NOT teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Although Lee teaches using information from a previous connection history stored in the electronic device, Lee does not specifically identify a measurement result of a frequency stored in a measurement database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches a measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.” The ACQ DB includes last acquired cells and is a database stored in the terminal. Paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”. Examiner notes that applicant’s specification also identifies an ACQ DB in para. [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Hu teaches The method of claim 12, wherein identifying the position, in the frequency scan order, of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell includes: placing the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a first position in the frequency scan order (Lee teaches in Table 1 placing a last acquired cell in a first position in a scan order)
Lee does NOT teach that the order is “in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches that the order “in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.”
or
place the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a second position in the frequency scan order in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell not satisfying the measurement threshold, wherein the second position is lower in the frequency scan order than the first position.
Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching for the second element of the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 14, Lee does NOT teach The method of claim 12, wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and at least one of:
the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, a frequency associated with a last-acquired neighbor cell, or one or more frequencies included in both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and at least one of:
the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, a frequency associated with a last-acquired neighbor cell (Hu teaches in paras. [0058]-[0059] “In an embodiment, the terminal may store a target NSA anchor cell to an ACQ_DB(NSA) file in the EFS. It can be understood that the terminal pre-stores the pre-stored cells configured to access the first network. When performing the frequency-scanning process, the terminal may prioritize to search for the frequency points of the pre-stored cells so as to determine the first-type cells which may be available to be dwelled on in this process.” Thus, Hu teaches a last acquired cell in the ACQ_DB database of previously acquired cells. The ACQ_DB provides last acquired cells. Hu paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”.
or
one or more frequencies included in both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database. (Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching of the second element of the claim.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach sorting of frequencies. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising:
receiving a first measurement configuration that configures measurement, by the UE, of frequencies associated with one or more neighboring cells; (Lee Fig. 7A teaches receiving measurements associated with neighboring cells in step 703:
measuring the one or more frequencies, resulting in one or more measurement results; (Lee Fig. 7A step 707 teaches measuring by scanning the information)
storing the one or more measurement results in the measurement database; Lee teaches in para. [0091] that the results from the scan are stored)
and
retaining one or more previously acquired measurement results in the measurement database, wherein the one or more previously acquired measurement results are associated with one or more frequencies not configured for measurement by the measurement configuration. (Lee teaches in para. [0091] that the stored information may include a “stored scan” when a search for a suitable cell has failed. Examiner interprets “not configured for measurement” as including the stored scan used due to a scan failure.)
Regarding claim 22, Lee teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising:
receiving a first measurement configuration that configures measurement, by the UE, of a first group of one or more neighboring cells; (Lee Fig. 7A teaches receiving measurements associated with neighboring cells in step 703:
receiving a second measurement configuration that configures measurement, by the UE, of a second group of one or more neighboring cells; (Lee teaches in Fig. 7A both a neighbor cell and a second cell which could be a neighbor cell)
identifying that a first neighboring cell, of the first group of one or more neighboring cells, is a same cell as a second neighboring cell, of the second group of one or more neighboring cells; (Lee Fig. 8A and paras. [0096]-[0099] teach that an electronic device may identify frequencies already performed in a stored scan about an ARFCN about a neighboring cell received from a server)
and
retaining a previously acquired measurement result associated with the first neighboring cell in the measurement database based at least in part on identifying that the first neighboring cell is the same cell as the second neighboring cell. (Lee para. [0098] teaches that the electronic device may skip a scan for the frequency already performed in a stored scan “thereby avoiding redundant scans for a single frequency.”)
Regarding claim 23, Lee in view of Hu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions (Lee para. [0174] program 140 stored in memory 137 and 138) for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions (Lee para. [0174] instructions) that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), (Lee electronic device 101 shown in Fig. 1) cause the UE to:
identify a frequency scan order associated with a radio link failure (RLF) recovery procedure, (Lee para. [0076] teaches that electronic device 101 may transmit information concerning a radio link failure (RLF))
wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes identifying a position, in the frequency scan order, of a frequency associated with a last-acquired cell by using [[a measurement result]] of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database; (Lee para. [0083] and Table 1 teaches a scan order as shown:
wherein the information associated with Cell id #1 and #2 “identify the information based on a previous connection history” which examiner maps frequency of a last acquired cell based on the ARFCN frequency taught in Table 1.)
and
perform the RLF recovery procedure by scanning one or more frequencies in the frequency scan order. (Lee Fig. 7A teaches scanning the frequencies in the frequency scan order in step 707.
Lee does NOT teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Although Lee teaches using information from a previous connection history stored in the electronic device, Lee does not specifically identify a measurement result of a frequency stored in a measurement database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches a measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.” The ACQ DB includes last acquired cells and is a database stored in the terminal. Paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”. Examiner notes that applicant’s specification also identifies an ACQ DB in para. [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 24, Lee in view of Hu teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to identify the position, in the frequency scan order, of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, cause the UE to:
place the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a first position in the frequency scan order (Lee teaches in Table 1 placing a last acquired cell in a first position in a scan order)
Lee does NOT teach that the order is “ in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches that the order “in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.”
or
place the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a second position in the frequency scan order in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell not satisfying the measurement threshold, wherein the second position is lower in the frequency scan order than the first position.
Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching for the second element of the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 25, Lee does NOT teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, cause the UE to sort frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and at least one of:
the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, a frequency associated with a last-acquired neighbor cell, or one or more frequencies included in both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches wherein the one or more instructions that cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to
sort frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and at least one of:
the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, a frequency associated with a last-acquired neighbor cell (Hu teaches in paras. [0058]-[0059] “In an embodiment, the terminal may store a target NSA anchor cell to an ACQ_DB(NSA) file in the EFS. It can be understood that the terminal pre-stores the pre-stored cells configured to access the first network. When performing the frequency-scanning process, the terminal may prioritize to search for the frequency points of the pre-stored cells so as to determine the first-type cells which may be available to be dwelled on in this process.” Thus, Hu teaches a last acquired cell in the ACQ_DB database of previously acquired cells. The ACQ_DB provides last acquired cells. Hu paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”.
or
one or more frequencies included in both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database. (Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching of the second element of the claim.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach sorting of frequencies. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 29, Lee in view of Hu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for identifying a frequency scan order associated with a radio link failure (RLF) recovery procedure, (Lee para. [0076] teaches that electronic device 101 may transmit information concerning a radio link failure (RLF)) wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes identifying a position, in the frequency scan order, of a frequency associated with a last-acquired cell by using [[a measurement result]] of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database; (Lee para. [0083] and Table 1 teaches a scan order as shown:
wherein the information associated with Cell id #1 and #2 “identify the information based on a previous connection history” which examiner maps frequency of a last acquired cell based on the ARFCN frequency taught in Table 1.)
and means for performing the RLF recovery procedure by scanning one or more frequencies in the frequency scan order. (Lee Fig. 7A teaches scanning the frequencies in the frequency scan order in step 707.
Lee does NOT teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Although Lee teaches using information from a previous connection history stored in the electronic device, Lee does not specifically identify a measurement result of a frequency stored in a measurement database.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches a measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.” The ACQ DB includes last acquired cells and is a database stored in the terminal. Paras. [0036]-[0037] teaches that the terminal performs a frequency scanning process to add to a list of candidate cells including “first-type cells” from the AQC DB and sorts the cells “based on the preset sorting rule”. Examiner notes that applicant’s specification also identifies an ACQ DB in para. [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Regarding claim 30, Lee in view of Hu teaches The apparatus of claim 29, wherein the means for identifying the position, in the frequency scan order, of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell includes: means for placing the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a first position in the frequency scan order (Lee teaches in Table 1 placing a last acquired cell in a first position in a scan order)
Lee does NOT teach in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold;
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches that the order “in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell satisfying a measurement threshold. (Hu teaches in para. [0032]-[0037] that a “terminal may be configured to acquire historical NSA anchor cells which have been dwelled on by the terminal and loaded and activated by a NR (New Radio), and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells (ACQ_DB(NSA). Subsequently, the terminal may store the historical NSA anchor cells and the frequency points of the historical anchor cells in the EFS of the terminal.”
or
means for placing the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell at a second position in the frequency scan order in connection with the measurement result of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell not satisfying the measurement threshold, wherein the second position is lower in the frequency scan order than the first position.
Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching for the second element of the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee and Hu to teach using “a measurement result” of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell that is stored in a measurement database. Each of Lee and Hu are in the field of wireless communications, and in the field of radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu with Lee in order to improve the priorities of frequency scanning an increase flexibility as taught in Hu para. [0059].
Claims 4-6, 15-17 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting#123 R2-230nnnn Toulouse, August 21st – 25th 2023 (hereinafter R2) Section 5.3.10.5 “Radio Link Failure report content determination”, pages 39-41.
Regarding claim 4, Lee does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to sort the frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and the at least one of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, the frequency associated with the last-acquired neighbor cell, or the one or more frequencies included in both the previously-acquired-cell database and the system-information-block-4-star database, are configured to cause the UE to:
identify a first sorted subset by sorting a first subset of frequencies by bandwidth size based at least in part on measurement results associated with the first subset satisfying a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold, identify a second sorted subset by sorting a second subset of frequencies by measurement results based at least in part on measurement results associated with the second subset failing to satisfy the RSRP threshold, and place the first sorted subset higher in the frequency scan order than the second sorted subset.
In the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards associated with radio link failures, R2 teaches identify a first sorted subset by sorting a first subset of frequencies by bandwidth size based at least in part on measurement results associated with the first subset satisfying a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold, (R2 pages 40-41 teaches sorting frequencies by bandwidth size based on measurement results associated with RSRP in a VarRLF-Report by:
identify a second sorted subset by sorting a second subset of frequencies by measurement results based at least in part on measurement results associated with the second subset failing to satisfy the RSRP threshold, and place the first sorted subset higher in the frequency scan order than the second sorted subset (R2 page 10-11 teaches a second sorted subset by sorting according to:
In sorting according to RSRP measurements, the second sorted subset does not include the source PCell measurements, unlike the VarRLF-Report.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting according to RSRP measurements. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 5, Lee does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies that are associated with both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database by bandwidth size.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, R2 teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies that are associated with both a previously-acquired-cell database and a[ system-information-block-4-star database by bandwidth size]. (R2 pages 10-11 teaches:
...
R2 further teaches “neighbour cells” which are provided via SIB4 and described on page 31 as Section 6.3.1 of 3GPP TS 38.331 as “SIB4 contains information relevant for inter-frequency cell re-selection (i.e. information about other NR frequencies and inter-frequency neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection) and NR idle/inactive measurements. The IE includes cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency as well as cell specific re-selection parameters.” Therefore, step 8 in R2 which mentions “for each neighbour cell included, include the optional fields that are available” relates to SIB4 which provides the neighbour cell fields.)
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting including SIB4 measurements. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 6, Lee does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies associated with a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, R2 teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies associated with a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size. (R2 teaches on pages 10-11 that the order includes sorting by bandwidth size in that the highest RSRQ is considered:
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 15, Lee does NOT teach The method of claim 14, wherein sorting the frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and the at least one of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, the frequency associated with the last-acquired neighbor cell, or the one or more frequencies included in both the previously-acquired-cell database and the system-information-block-4-star database, includes:
identifying a first sorted subset by sorting a first subset of frequencies by bandwidth size based at least in part on measurement results associated with the first subset satisfying a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold, identifying a second sorted subset by sorting a second subset of frequencies by measurement results based at least in part on measurement results associated with the second subset failing to satisfy the RSRP threshold, and placing the first sorted subset higher in the frequency scan order than the second sorted subset.
In the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards associated with radio link failures, R2 teaches identifying a first sorted subset by sorting a first subset of frequencies by bandwidth size based at least in part on measurement results associated with the first subset satisfying a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold, (R2 pages 10-11 teaches sorting frequencies by bandwidth size based on measurement results associated with RSRP in a VarRLF-Report by:
identifying a second sorted subset by sorting a second subset of frequencies by measurement results based at least in part on measurement results associated with the second subset failing to satisfy the RSRP threshold, and place the first sorted subset higher in the frequency scan order than the second sorted subset (R2 page 10-11 teaches a second sorted subset by sorting according to:
In sorting according to RSRP measurements, the second sorted subset does not include the source PCell measurements, unlike the VarRLF-Report.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting according to RSRP measurements. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 16, Lee does NOT teach The method of claim 12, wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting a subset of frequencies that are associated with both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database by bandwidth size.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, R2 teaches identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting a subset of frequencies that are associated with both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database by bandwidth size. (R2 pages 10-11 teaches:
...
R2 further teaches “neighbour cells” which are provided via SIB4 and described on page 31 as Section 6.3.1 of 3GPP TS 38.331 as “SIB4 contains information relevant for inter-frequency cell re-selection (i.e. information about other NR frequencies and inter-frequency neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection) and NR idle/inactive measurements. The IE includes cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency as well as cell specific re-selection parameters.” Therefore, step 8 “for each neighbour cell included, include the optional fields that are available” relates to SIB4 which provides the neighbour cell fields.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting including SIB4 measurements. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 17, Lee does NOT teach The method of claim 12, wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting a subset of frequencies associated with a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, R2 teaches wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting a subset of frequencies associated with a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size. (R2 teaches on pages 10-11 that the order includes sorting by bandwidth size in that the highest RSRQ is considered:
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 26, Lee does NOT teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 25, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to sort the frequencies that are associated with both the measurement database and the at least one of the frequency associated with the last-acquired cell, the frequency associated with the last-acquired neighbor cell, or the one or more frequencies included in both the previously-acquired-cell database and the system-information-block-4-star database, cause the UE to:
identify a first sorted subset by sorting a first subset of frequencies by bandwidth size based at least in part on measurement results associated with the first subset satisfying a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold, identify a second sorted subset by sorting a second subset of frequencies by measurement results based at least in part on measurement results associated with the second subset failing to satisfy the RSRP threshold, and place the first sorted subset higher in the frequency scan order than the second sorted subset.
In the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards associated with radio link failures, R2 teaches identify a first sorted subset by sorting a first subset of frequencies by bandwidth size based at least in part on measurement results associated with the first subset satisfying a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold, (R2 pages 10-11 teaches sorting frequencies by bandwidth size based on measurement results associated with RSRP in a VarRLF-Report by:
identify a second sorted subset by sorting a second subset of frequencies by measurement results based at least in part on measurement results associated with the second subset failing to satisfy the RSRP threshold, and place the first sorted subset higher in the frequency scan order than the second sorted subset (R2 page 10-11 teaches a second sorted subset by sorting according to:
In sorting according to RSRP measurements, the second sorted subset does not include the source PCell measurements, unlike the VarRLF-Report.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting according to RSRP measurements. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 27, Lee does NOT teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies that are associated with both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database by bandwidth size.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, R2 teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies that are associated with both a previously-acquired-cell database and a system-information-block-4-star database by bandwidth size. (R2 pages 10-11 teaches:
...
R2 teaches “neighbour cells” which are provided via SIB4 and described on page 31 as Section 6.3.1 of 3GPP TS 38.331 as “SIB4 contains information relevant for inter-frequency cell re-selection (i.e. information about other NR frequencies and inter-frequency neighbouring cells relevant for cell re-selection) and NR idle/inactive measurements. The IE includes cell re-selection parameters common for a frequency as well as cell specific re-selection parameters.” Therefore, step 8 “for each neighbour cell included, include the optional fields that are available” relates to SIB4 which provides the neighbour cell fields.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting including SIB4 measurements. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Regarding claim 28, Lee does NOT teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies associated with a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, R2 teaches , wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies associated with a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size. (R2 teaches on pages 10-11 that the order includes sorting by bandwidth size in that the highest RSRQ is considered:
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine R2 with Lee to teach sorting a previously-acquired-cell database by bandwidth size. Each of R2 and Lee address wireless communications. Each of Lee and R2 are directed to radio link failures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee with R2 in order to perform cell reselection according to 3GPP standards and in particular 3GPP TS 38.331 covering radio link failures wherein idle/inactive measurements are used to prevent inconsistent UE implementations as taught on page 4 of R2.
Claim 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #123bis R2-2311608 Xiamen, China, 9 – 13 Oct, 2023, (hereinafter R22)
Regarding claim 9, Lee does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies included in a high-speed-train database that have measurement results in the measurement database by measurement results.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications standards, R22 teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the frequency scan order, are configured to cause the UE to sort a subset of frequencies included in a high-speed-train database that have measurement results in the measurement database by measurement results (R22 teaches on page 5 “Problem 2: After the UE physically on a moving vehicle is camped on the mobile IAB cell, how to avoid it reselecting other non-mIAB-(stationary) cells. Such UE may prioritize a highest ranked cell at a frequency, if it broadcasts a mIAB-cell type indicator in SIB1 for cell reselection. UE may use the SIB4 assistance information to identify the presence of such mobile IAB-cell(s), if broadcasted. A SIB4 assistance information may include mIAB-cell frequencies.” Examiner interprets the SIB4 mIAB cell frequencies as a high-speed train database since it is a mobile cell frequency database provided to the UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee with R22 to teach sorting a subset of frequencies included in a high-speed-train database. Each of Lee and R22 are directed to wireless communications and address cell reselection frequency priority rules. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine R22 with Lee in order to support mobile IAB in cell reselection and prevent selecting stationary cells when a mobile IAB cell should be prioritized as taught in R22 page 4.
Regarding claim 20, Lee does NOT teach The method of claim 12, wherein identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting a subset of frequencies included in a high-speed-train database that have measurement results in the measurement database by measurement results.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications standards, R22 teaches wherein the identifying the frequency scan order includes sorting a subset of frequencies included in a high-speed-train database that have measurement results in the measurement database by measurement results (R22 teaches on page 5 “Problem 2: After the UE physically on a moving vehicle is camped on the mobile IAB cell, how to avoid it reselecting other non-mIAB-(stationary) cells. Such UE may prioritize a highest ranked cell at a frequency, if it broadcasts a mIAB-cell type indicator in SIB1 for cell reselection. UE may use the SIB4 assistance information to identify the presence of such mobile IAB-cell(s), if broadcasted. A SIB4 assistance information may include mIAB-cell frequencies.” Examiner interprets the SIB4 mIAB cell frequencies as a high-speed train database since it is a mobile cell frequency database provided to the UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the present invention to have combined Lee with R22 to teach sorting a subset of frequencies included in a high-speed-train database. Each of Lee and R22 are directed to wireless communications and address cell reselection frequency priority rules. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine R22 with Lee in order to support mobile IAB in cell reselection and prevent selecting stationary cells when a mobile IAB cell should be prioritized as taught in R22 page 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting#123, R2-230nnnn, Toulouse, August 21st – 25th 2023, which teaches a change request to 3GPP TS 38.331 including performance by a UE following a radio link failure when VarRLF-Report includes available information.
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412