Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed August 25, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 13-27 and 29-32 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-12 and 28 are cancelled by applicant. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 13 and 15. Claims 30-32 are newly presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 17-19, 21, 27, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US Pub. No. 2022/0196035) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595).
Regarding claim 13, Numata discloses: a dust collecting system (Figures 1-13 element 1A and see also paragraph 0033) comprising:
a blower (element 20); and
a dust collecting attachment (element 9),
wherein:
the blower comprises (i) a housing (element 21) that has an inlet opening (element 240) and a discharge opening (element 230), (ii) a motor (element 33 and see also paragraph 0035) that is within the housing (see figure 2), and (iii) a fan (element 35 and see also paragraph 0035) that is within the housing (see figure 2) and is configured to be rotated by the motor to generate a flow of air that is sucked into the housing through the inlet opening and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (see paragraphs 0036-0037 and see Abstract);
the housing extends from a first end portion (see figure 5 annotated below Detail A) of the housing to a second end portion (see figure 5 annotated below Detail B) of the housing in an extension direction (see paragraph 0036) that is parallel to a rotational axis (element A1) of the motor;
the inlet opening is provided at the first end portion(see figure 5 annotated below), and the discharge opening is provided at the second end portion (see figure 5 annotated below);
the blower further comprises a blower-filter (element 41 and see also paragraph 0054) disposed in the first end portion (see figure 5 annotated below);
the dust collecting attachment comprises an attachment body (element 95) that has (i) a first opening (see paragraph 0100 where the prior art discloses element 95 (attachment body) includes a hose connection part (element 951) that is “removably connected to the other end portion” to a hose (element 91), thus there would necessarily be a second opening defined by element 951 in order to operably connect to the hose as best shown in the annotated figure 11 Detail C), (ii) a second opening (see figures 11 and 13 annotated below Detail D);
the attachment body is removably attached to the housing of the blower such that the second opening of the attachment body communicates with the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see paragraph 0100-0103);
when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0102); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower, the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0100-0103).
However, Numata appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), and a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10) and a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014) between the first opening and the second opening (see figure 1 annotated below), and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is “detachably attached” to element 5 (inlet opening) of the blower, see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is equipped with element 7 (dust storage space) that is used to “collect” sucked in hair, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing the added feature of having a separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 14, Numata modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening, and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter (element 8 and see also paragraphs 0020/0029) that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029), and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening, and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a first filter would necessarily provide a means to filter out hair particles and the like from the aspirated airflow as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0020), thus preventing clogging of the air flow during operations.
Regarding claim 17, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment is removable from the attachment body (see paragraph 0023/0029 of prior art Fritzsche).
Regarding claim 18, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the first filter is fixed to the attachment body (see paragraph 0023/0029 of prior art Fritzsche).
Regarding claim 19, Numata modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve between the first opening and the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve (Per applicants disclosure (see paragraph 0045), “the check valve 64 is configured to substantially close the passage 600 when the blower 1 is not operating. On the other hand, when the motor 33 is driven and the fan 35 generates the flow of air that flows into the body housing 10 through the inlet opening 101, as shown by a dashed line in FIG. 7, a portion of the check valve 64 that is spaced apart from the protrusion 641 is pulled toward the blower 1, so that the passage 600 is opened”, similarly the prior art discloses in paragraph 0026 that element 9 (check valve) “opens during suction operation” in order to allow debris to be sucked in through element 10 (first opening) and in paragraph 0027 when electric motor is off, element 9 (check valve) “closes due to its inherent elasticity” and prevents debris from moving, thus element 9 is a check valve) between the first opening and the dust storage space (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a check valve would in the form of a membrane would necessarily open during suction operation and allows hair and hair particles to be sucked in through the suction opening and closes due to its inherent elasticity which prevents hair collected in the reservoir from escaping from the reservoir through the air as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraphs 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 21, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises:
an elongate tubular member (element 91) that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body (see figure 6 annotated above on page 6),
wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible (see paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 27, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein:
the blower further comprises an inlet cover (element 25) configured to detachably attach to the inlet opening (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0048); and
the inlet cover and the dust collecting attachment are selectively attachable to the same inlet opening (see figure 2 and figure 3), such that:
when the inlet cover is attached to the inlet opening, the blower functions as the air duster (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0100/0102); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0100-0103).
Regarding claim 29, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein: when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, and the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector, air flows from the first opening, through the dust storage space, through the second opening, into the inlet opening of the housing, and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (Giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitations of claim 13 including having the dust collecting attachment (element 9) operably attached to the inlet opening (element 240) and as modified having the blower function with the dust collecting attachment functioning as dust collector (see prior art of Fritzsche teaches the dust storage space (element 7)) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, and the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector, air flows from the first opening, through the dust storage space, through the second opening, into the inlet opening of the housing, and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor, as recited.).
Regarding claim 30, Numata discloses: a dust collecting system (Figures 1-13 element 1A and see also paragraph 0033) comprising:
a blower (element 20); and
a dust collecting attachment (element 9),
wherein:
the blower comprises (i) a housing (element 21) that has an inlet opening (element 240) and a discharge opening (element 230), (ii) a motor (element 33 and see also paragraph 0035) that is within the housing (see figure 2), and (iii) a fan (element 35 and see also paragraph 0035) that is within the housing (see figure 2) and is configured to be rotated by the motor to generate a flow of air that is sucked into the housing through the inlet opening and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (see paragraphs 0036-0037 and see Abstract);
a size of an opening area of the discharge opening is smaller than a size of an opening area of the inlet opening (see figure 5 showing the size of discharge opening of element 230 being smaller than a size of the inlet opening of element 240, thus a size of an opening area of the discharge opening would necessarily be smaller than a size of an opening area of the inlet opening);
the dust collecting attachment comprises an attachment body (element 95) that has (i) a first opening (see paragraph 0100 where the prior art discloses element 95 (attachment body) includes a hose connection part (element 951) that is “removably connected to the other end portion” to a hose (element 91), thus there would necessarily be a second opening defined by element 951 in order to operably connect to the hose as best shown in the annotated figure 11 Detail A), (ii) a second opening (see figures 11 and 13 annotated below Detail B);
the attachment body is removably attached to the housing of the blower such that the second opening of the attachment body communicates with the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see paragraph 0100-0103);
when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0102); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower, the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0100-0103).
However, Numata appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), and a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10) and a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014) between the first opening and the second opening (see figure 1 annotated below), and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is “detachably attached” to element 5 (inlet opening) of the blower, see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is equipped with element 7 (dust storage space) that is used to “collect” sucked in hair, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing the added feature of having a separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 31, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 27, wherein: the first end portion of the housing has an engagement groove (element 247) formed on an inner peripheral surface thereof (see paragraph 0050 and see also figure 7);
each of the inlet cover and the attachment body comprises an engagement protrusion (element 251 for the inlet cover and element 955 for attachment body) configured to engage the engagement groove (see paragraphs 0051 and 0101-0102); and
the inlet cover and the attachment body are selectively attachable to the blower via engagement of the respective engagement protrusion with the same engagement groove (see paragraphs 0051 and 0101-0102).
Regarding claim 32, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein:
the blower further comprises a handle (element 27) configured to be gripped by a user (see paragraph 0035);
the handle extends from the housing in a direction intersecting the rotational axis of the motor (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0036); and
the handle comprises a base end portion coupled to the housing (see paragraph 0037) and a distal free end portion opposite the base end portion (see paragraph 0037).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US Pub. No. 2022/0196035) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Murata (KR 20190073415).
Regarding claim 15, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the blower-filter is provided between the inlet opening and the motor (see figure 5 showing the blower-filter (element 41) between the inlet opening (element 240) and motor (element 33)).
However, Numata modified appears to be silent wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter of the blower.
Murata is also concerned in providing a dust collecting system (Figures 1-15 and see also paragraphs 0018-0019) comprising a blower (element 3) having a first filter (elements 86/87 and see also paragraph 0096) and a second filter (elements 77/84 and see also paragraph 0088). Murata further teaches wherein the first filter has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter (see paragraph 0096 where the prior art discloses element 86/87 (first filter) having “a smaller mesh size” than elements 77/84 (second filter)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Murata to provide wherein the first filter has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter. The resultant combination would have the first filter of the dust collecting attachment (element 8 as modified) having a mesh size smaller than the second filter (element 41) of the blower. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having different mesh size filters including the claimed first filter having a mesh size smaller than the second filter would necessarily allow the collection of fine dust as disclosed by Murata (see paragraph 0096).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata ( US Pub. No. 2022/0196035) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20170127804).
Regarding claim 16, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein:
the attachment body includes a first tubular part (see figure 11 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening at its distal end (see figure 11 annotated below), the first tubular part is configured to extend in a direction that crosses a rotational axis (element A1) of the motor when the attachment body is attached to the housing of the blower (see figure 2-3).
However, Numata modified appears to be silent wherein the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis.
Lee is also concern in providing a system (Figures 1-11 and see also paragraph 0020) comprising a blower (element 102) and an attachment (element 100) having an attachment body (element 110) with a first tubular part (see figures 9-10 annotated below Detail A). Lee further teaches the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis (see paragraph 0046 and see also figures 9-10 showing the position of the first tubular part (Detail A) is changeable in a circumferential direction (C-direction arrow) around the rotational axis (X-X axis)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide wherein the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the attachment be capable of rotating in a circumferential direction would necessarily allow the user to orientate the attachment at different orientations, thus making the system more ergonomically comfortable for the user during use and allow the user to reach awkward work locations.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata ( US Pub. No. 2022/0196035) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Downham (US Patent No. 6,122,796).
Regarding claim 20, Numata modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening.
Downham is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 7-8 and see also col. 8, ll. 41-44) comprising an attachment body (element 111a) having a first opening (element 116), a dust storage space (element 111c and see also col. 8, ll. 8-10), and a check valve (element 118 and see also col. 8, ll. 15). Downham further teaches wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening (element 120) that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside (see figure 7 where the opening (element 120) communicates with the dust storage space (element 111c) and an outside component (element 122)), and (ii) a lid (element 121) that is configured to open and close the opening (see col. 8, ll. 56-60 (open) and see col. 8, ll. 42-43 (close)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Downham to provide wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the attachment body with an opening and lid would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the user to easily empty the storage space remove any debris in a controlled manner.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US Pub. No. 2022/0196035) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of McDowell (US Patent No 4,053,962).
Regarding claim 22, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment is configured to define a passage (see figure 11 phantom lines of XII passing through the attachment body of element 95).
However, Ma modified appears to be silent wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape.
McDowell is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 1-9 element 55 and see also col. 2, ll. 41-46) that is removably attached to a vacuum cleaner (col. 2, ll. 51-53), the dust collecting attachment comprising an attachment body (element 59) that has a first opening (element 65) and a second opening (see figure 7 annotated below Detail A). McDowell further teaches wherein the attachment body is configured to define a passage (see annotated figure 4 below Detail B) wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape (see annotated figure 4 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of McDowell to provide wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known curved/bend passage between openings of the attachment would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing air to flow into the body in order to treat desired surfaces with the system. Furthermore, applicant has failed to provide any criticality of the passage being “L-shaped” provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 23, Numata modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 22, wherein the attachment body includes (i) a first tubular part (see figure 11 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening (see figure 11 annotated below), (ii) a second tubular part (see figure 11 annotated below Detail B) that has the second opening (see figure 11 annotated below), and (iii) a housing part (see figure 11 annotated below Detail C) that (a) is coupled to the first tubular part and the second tubular part (see figure 11 annotated below).
However, Numata modified appears to be silent wherein the housing part defines the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the attachment body includes (i) a first tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening (see figure 1 annotated below), (ii) a second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) that has the second opening, and (iii) a housing part that (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) (a) is coupled to the first tubular part and the second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below) and (b) defines the dust housing space (see figure 1 annotated below showing portions of the housing part (Detail C) defining portions of the dust housing space (element 7)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the housing part defines the dust storage space. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the dust collecting attachment housing part with the dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing an additional separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 24, Numata modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 22-23, but appears to be silent wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening..
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter (element 8 and see also paragraphs 0020/0029) that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a first filter would necessarily provide a means to filter out hair particles and the like from the aspirated airflow as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0020), thus preventing clogging of the air flow during operations.
Regarding claim 25, Numata modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 22-24, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve between the first opening and the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve (Per applicants disclosure (see paragraph 0045), “the check valve 64 is configured to substantially close the passage 600 when the blower 1 is not operating. On the other hand, when the motor 33 is driven and the fan 35 generates the flow of air that flows into the body housing 10 through the inlet opening 101, as shown by a dashed line in FIG. 7, a portion of the check valve 64 that is spaced apart from the protrusion 641 is pulled toward the blower 1, so that the passage 600 is opened”, similarly the prior art discloses in paragraph 0026 that element 9 (check valve) “opens during suction operation” in order to allow debris to be sucked in through element 10 (first opening) and in paragraph 0027 when electric motor is off, element 9 (check valve) “closes due to its inherent elasticity” and prevents debris from moving, thus element 9 is a check valve) between the first opening and the dust storage space (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a check valve would in the form of a membrane would necessarily open during suction operation and allows hair and hair particles to be sucked in through the suction opening and closes due to its inherent elasticity which prevents hair collected in the reservoir from escaping from the reservoir through the air as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraphs 0026-0027).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US Pub. No. 2022/0196035) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Downham (US Patent No. 6,122,796).
Regarding claim 26, Numata modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13 and 22-25, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening.
Downham is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 7-8 and see also col. 8, ll. 41-44) comprising an attachment body (element 111a) having a first opening (element 116), a dust storage space (element 111c and see also col. 8, ll. 8-10), and a check valve (element 118 and see also col. 8, ll. 15). Downham further teaches wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening (element 120) that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside (see figure 7 where the opening (element 120) communicates with the dust storage space (element 111c) and an outside component (element 122)), and (ii) a lid (element 121) that is configured to open and close the opening (see col. 8, ll. 56-60 (open) and see col. 8, ll. 42-43 (close)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Numata to incorporate the teachings of Downham to provide wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the attachment body with an opening and lid would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the user to easily empty the storage space remove any debris in a controlled manner.
Claims 13-14, 17-19, 29-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595).
Regarding claim 13, Ma discloses: a dust collecting system (Figures 1-3 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising:
a blower (see figure 1-2 annotated below Detail A); and
a dust collecting attachment (element 5),
wherein:
the blower comprises (i) a housing (elements 1/6) that has an inlet opening (see figure 2 annotated below Detail B/element 601) and a discharge opening (elements 101/602/701), (ii) a motor (element 2 and see also paragraph 0034 where the prior art discloses element 2 as “a motor unit” which includes “a three-phase brushless motor”) that is within the housing (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029), and (iii) a fan (element 2 and see also paragraph 0034 where the prior art discloses element 2 as “a motor unit” which includes “a turbine fan blade”) that is within the housing (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029) and is configured to be rotated by the motor to generate a flow of air that is sucked into the housing through the inlet opening and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (see paragraphs 0030/0034);
the housing extends from a first end portion (see figures 1-2 annotated below Detail C) of the housing to a second end portion (see figures 1-2 annotated below Detail C) of the housing in an extension direction (left-right direction) that is parallel to a rotational axis (see figure 2 annotated below X-X axis) of the motor;
the inlet opening is provided at the first end portion (see figure 1-2 annotated below showing the inlet opening (Detail B/element 601) provided at the first end portion (Detail C), and the discharge opening is provided at the second end portion (see figure 1-2 annotated below showing the discharge opening (elements 101/602/701) provided at the second end portion (Detail D));
the blower further comprises a blower-filter disposed in the first end portion (see paragraph 0029 where the prior art discloses the blower at one end of element 6 (portion of housing) is provided with an inlet (element 601) connected to the dust collecting attachment (element 5) through “a filter element” (blower-filter), and see also figure 1 annotated below showing the first end portion (Detail C) extending between element 601 and element 5, thus the filter element (blower-filter) would necessarily be disposed in the first end portion);
the dust collecting attachment comprises an attachment body (see figure 1 annotated below Detail E) that has (i) a first opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail F), (ii) a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail G);
the attachment body is removably attached to the housing of the blower such that the second opening of the attachment body communicates with the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see paragraph 0033 where the prior art discloses the dust collecting attachment (element 5) which includes the attachment body (Detail E) “can be freely switched” (i.e. removably attached) to the housing and see figure 1 annotated below showing the second opening (Detail G) of the of the attachment body operably communicates with the inlet opening (Detail B/element 601) of the housing of the blower);
when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower (See paragraph 0030 where the prior art discloses aligning the discharge openings (elements 602/701) and inserting element 8 which allows the motor unit (element 2) to “exhaust air through the dust blowing nozzle”, thereby achieving dust blowing”. Thus, the prior art is capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower, as recited.); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower, the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment (See figure 1 annotated below showing the dust collecting attachment (element 5) being operably attached to the inlet opening (Detail B/601) and see paragraph 0029-0030 where the prior art discloses having being in a suction mode. Thus, the prior art is capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower, the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment, as recited.).
However, Ma appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), and a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10) and a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014) between the first opening and the second opening (see figure 1 annotated below), and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is “detachably attached” to element 5 (inlet opening) of the blower, see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is equipped with element 7 (dust storage space) that is used to “collect” sucked in hair, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing the added feature of having a separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 14, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening, and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter (element 8 and see also paragraphs 0020/0029) that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029), and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening, and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a first filter would necessarily provide a means to filter out hair particles and the like from the aspirated airflow as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0020), thus preventing clogging of the air flow during operations.
Regarding claim 17, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment is removable from the attachment body (see paragraph 0023/0029 of prior art Fritzsche).
Regarding claim 18, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the first filter is fixed to the attachment body (see paragraph 0023/0029 of prior art Fritzsche).
Regarding claim 19, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve between the first opening and the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve (Per applicants disclosure (see paragraph 0045), “the check valve 64 is configured to substantially close the passage 600 when the blower 1 is not operating. On the other hand, when the motor 33 is driven and the fan 35 generates the flow of air that flows into the body housing 10 through the inlet opening 101, as shown by a dashed line in FIG. 7, a portion of the check valve 64 that is spaced apart from the protrusion 641 is pulled toward the blower 1, so that the passage 600 is opened”, similarly the prior art discloses in paragraph 0026 that element 9 (check valve) “opens during suction operation” in order to allow debris to be sucked in through element 10 (first opening) and in paragraph 0027 when electric motor is off, element 9 (check valve) “closes due to its inherent elasticity” and prevents debris from moving, thus element 9 is a check valve) between the first opening and the dust storage space (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a check valve would in the form of a membrane would necessarily open during suction operation and allows hair and hair particles to be sucked in through the suction opening and closes due to its inherent elasticity which prevents hair collected in the reservoir from escaping from the reservoir through the air as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraphs 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 29, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein: when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, and the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector, air flows from the first opening, through the dust storage space, through the second opening, into the inlet opening of the housing, and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (Giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitations of claim 13 including having the dust collecting attachment (element 5) operably attached to the inlet opening (Detail B/element 601) and as modified having the blower function with the dust collecting attachment functioning as dust collector (see prior art of Fritzsche teaches the dust storage space (element 7)) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, and the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector, air flows from the first opening, through the dust storage space, through the second opening, into the inlet opening of the housing, and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor, as recited.).
Regarding claim 30, Ma discloses: a dust collecting system (Figures 1-3 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising:
a blower (see figure 1-2 annotated below Detail A); and
a dust collecting attachment (element 5),
wherein:
the blower comprises (i) a housing (elements 1/6) that has an inlet opening (see figure 2 annotated below Detail B/element 601) and a discharge opening (elements 101/602/701), (ii) a motor (element 2 and see also paragraph 0034 where the prior art discloses element 2 as “a motor unit” which includes “a three-phase brushless motor”) that is within the housing (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029), and (iii) a fan (element 2 and see also paragraph 0034 where the prior art discloses element 2 as “a motor unit” which includes “a turbine fan blade”) that is within the housing (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029) and is configured to be rotated by the motor to generate a flow of air that is sucked into the housing through the inlet opening and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (see paragraphs 0030/0034);
a size of an opening area of the discharge opening is smaller than a size of an opening area of the inlet opening (see figure 1 annotated below showing the size of discharge opening of element 701 being smaller than a size of the inlet opening of element 601, thus a size of an opening area of the discharge opening would necessarily be smaller than a size of an opening area of the inlet opening);
the dust collecting attachment comprises an attachment body (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) that has (i) a first opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail D), (ii) a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail E);
the attachment body is removably attached to the housing of the blower such that the second opening of the attachment body communicates with the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see paragraph 0033 where the prior art discloses the dust collecting attachment (element 5) which includes the attachment body (Detail C) “can be freely switched” (i.e. removably attached) to the housing and see figure 1 annotated below showing the second opening (Detail E) of the of the attachment body operably communicates with the inlet opening (Detail B/element 601) of the housing of the blower);
when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower (See paragraph 0030 where the prior art discloses aligning the discharge openings (elements 602/701) and inserting element 8 which allows the motor unit (element 2) to “exhaust air through the dust blowing nozzle”, thereby achieving dust blowing”. Thus, the prior art is capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower, as recited.); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower, the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment (See figure 1 annotated below showing the dust collecting attachment (element 5) being operably attached to the inlet opening (Detail B/601) and see paragraph 0029-0030 where the prior art discloses having being in a suction mode. Thus, the prior art is capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower, the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment, as recited.).
However, Ma appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), and a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10) and a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014) between the first opening and the second opening (see figure 1 annotated below), and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is “detachably attached” to element 5 (inlet opening) of the blower, see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is equipped with element 7 (dust storage space) that is used to “collect” sucked in hair, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing the added feature of having a separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 32, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein: the blower further comprises a handle (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) configured to be gripped by a user (Giving that the prior art discloses all the structural limitations of claim 32 including the handle (Detail A) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the handle gripped by a user, as recited.);
the handle extends from the housing in a direction (see figure 2 annotated below Detail B) intersecting the rotational axis of the motor (see figure 2 annotated below); and
the handle comprises a base end portion (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C) coupled to the housing and a distal free end portion (see figure 2 annotated below Detail D) opposite the base end portion (see figure 2 annotated below).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Murata (KR 20190073415).
Regarding claim 15, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the blower-filter is provided between the inlet opening and the motor (see paragraph 0029 where the prior art discloses the blower at one end of element 6 (portion of housing) is provided with an inlet (element 601) connected to the dust collecting attachment (element 5) through “a filter element” (blower-filter), and see also figure 1 annotated below showing the inlet opening of Detail B being positioned in front of element 601, thus the blower-filter (filter element) would necessarily be positioned between the inlet opening (Detail B) and the motor (element 2).
However, Ma modified appears to be silent wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter of the blower.
Murata is also concerned in providing a dust collecting system (Figures 1-15 and see also paragraphs 0018-0019) comprising a blower (element 3) having a first filter (elements 86/87 and see also paragraph 0096) and a second filter (elements 77/84 and see also paragraph 0088). Murata further teaches wherein the first filter has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter (see paragraph 0096 where the prior art discloses element 86/87 (first filter) having “a smaller mesh size” than elements 77/84 (second filter)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Murata to provide wherein the first filter has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter. The resultant combination would have the first filter of the dust collecting attachment (element 8 as modified) having a mesh size smaller than the second filter (filter element and see also paragraph 0029 of prior art Ma) of the blower. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having different mesh size filters including the claimed first filter having a mesh size smaller than the second filter would necessarily allow the collection of fine dust as disclosed by Murata (see paragraph 0096).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20170127804).
Regarding claim 16, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein:
the attachment body includes a first tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening at its distal end (see figure 1 annotated below), the first tubular part is configured to extend in a direction that crosses a rotational axis of the motor when the attachment body is attached to the housing of the blower (See figure 1 annotated below showing the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment (element 5) that includes the first tubular part (Detail A) and the inlet opening extending in a direction that crosses a rotational axis (X-X axis) of the motor (element 2) when attached.).
However, Ma modified appears to be silent wherein the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis.
Lee is also concern in providing a system (Figures 1-11 and see also paragraph 0020) comprising a blower (element 102) and an attachment (element 100) having an attachment body (element 110) with a first tubular part (see figures 9-10 annotated below Detail A). Lee further teaches the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis (see paragraph 0046 and see also figures 9-10 showing the position of the first tubular part (Detail A) is changeable in a circumferential direction (C-direction arrow) around the rotational axis (X-X axis)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide wherein the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the attachment be capable of rotating in a circumferential direction would necessarily allow the user to orientate the attachment at different orientations, thus making the system more ergonomically comfortable for the user during use and allow the user to reach awkward work locations.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Downham (US Patent No. 6,122,796).
Regarding claim 20, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening.
Downham is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 7-8 and see also col. 8, ll. 41-44) comprising an attachment body (element 111a) having a first opening (element 116), a dust storage space (element 111c and see also col. 8, ll. 8-10), and a check valve (element 118 and see also col. 8, ll. 15). Downham further teaches wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening (element 120) that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside (see figure 7 where the opening (element 120) communicates with the dust storage space (element 111c) and an outside component (element 122)), and (ii) a lid (element 121) that is configured to open and close the opening (see col. 8, ll. 56-60 (open) and see col. 8, ll. 42-43 (close)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Downham to provide wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the attachment body with an opening and lid would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the user to easily empty the storage space remove any debris in a controlled manner.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264).
Regarding claim 21, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises: an elongate tubular member that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body, wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible.
Shaver further teaches a dust collecting system embodiment (Figure 19G and see also paragraph 0085) comprising a blower (element 10a) and a dust collecting attachment (element 420) with a first opening (see annotated figure 19G below Detail A). Shaver further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises: an elongate tubular member (element 402) that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body (see figure 19G below and see also paragraph 0083), wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible (see paragraph 0082 where the prior art discloses element 402 as “a flexible hose”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Shaver to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises: an elongate tubular member that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body, wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that connecting a flexible hose to the dust collecting attachment would necessarily provide an extension in the form of the hose which flexes freely, to clean hard to reach areas during cleaning operations.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of McDowell (US Patent No 4,053,962).
Regarding claim 22, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment is configured to define a passage (see paragraph 0029-0030 where the prior art discloses utilizing the dust collecting attachment (element 5) which includes the attachment body in combination with the blower in order for dust suction, thus the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment would necessarily define a passage).
However, Ma modified appears to be silent wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape.
McDowell is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 1-9 element 55 and see also col. 2, ll. 41-46) that is removably attached to a vacuum cleaner (col. 2, ll. 51-53), the dust collecting attachment comprising an attachment body (element 59) that has a first opening (element 65) and a second opening (see figure 7 annotated below Detail A). McDowell further teaches wherein the attachment body is configured to define a passage (see annotated figure 4 below Detail B) wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape (see annotated figure 4 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of McDowell to provide wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known curved/bend passage between openings of the attachment would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing air to flow into the body in order to treat desired surfaces with the system. Furthermore, applicant has failed to provide any criticality of the passage being “L-shaped” provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 23, Ma modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 22, wherein the attachment body includes (i) a first tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening (see figure 1 annotated below), (ii) a second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) that has the second opening (see figure 1 annotated below), and (iii) a housing part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) that (a) is coupled to the first tubular part and the second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below).
However, Ma modified appears to be silent wherein the housing part defines the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the attachment body includes (i) a first tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening (see figure 1 annotated below), (ii) a second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) that has the second opening, and (iii) a housing part that (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) (a) is coupled to the first tubular part and the second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below) and (b) defines the dust housing space (see figure 1 annotated below showing portions of the housing part (Detail C) defining portions of the dust housing space (element 7)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the housing part defines the dust storage space. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the dust collecting attachment housing part with the dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing an additional separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 24, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 22-23, but appears to be silent wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening..
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter (element 8 and see also paragraphs 0020/0029) that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a first filter would necessarily provide a means to filter out hair particles and the like from the aspirated airflow as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0020), thus preventing clogging of the air flow during operations.
Regarding claim 25, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 22-24, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve between the first opening and the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve (Per applicants disclosure (see paragraph 0045), “the check valve 64 is configured to substantially close the passage 600 when the blower 1 is not operating. On the other hand, when the motor 33 is driven and the fan 35 generates the flow of air that flows into the body housing 10 through the inlet opening 101, as shown by a dashed line in FIG. 7, a portion of the check valve 64 that is spaced apart from the protrusion 641 is pulled toward the blower 1, so that the passage 600 is opened”, similarly the prior art discloses in paragraph 0026 that element 9 (check valve) “opens during suction operation” in order to allow debris to be sucked in through element 10 (first opening) and in paragraph 0027 when electric motor is off, element 9 (check valve) “closes due to its inherent elasticity” and prevents debris from moving, thus element 9 is a check valve) between the first opening and the dust storage space (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a check valve would in the form of a membrane would necessarily open during suction operation and allows hair and hair particles to be sucked in through the suction opening and closes due to its inherent elasticity which prevents hair collected in the reservoir from escaping from the reservoir through the air as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraphs 0026-0027).
Claims 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) and McDowell (US Patent No 4,053,962) as applied to claim 13 and 22-25 above, and further in view of Downham (US Patent No. 6,122,796).
Regarding claim 26, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13 and 22-25, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening.
Downham is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 7-8 and see also col. 8, ll. 41-44) comprising an attachment body (element 111a) having a first opening (element 116), a dust storage space (element 111c and see also col. 8, ll. 8-10), and a check valve (element 118 and see also col. 8, ll. 15). Downham further teaches wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening (element 120) that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside (see figure 7 where the opening (element 120) communicates with the dust storage space (element 111c) and an outside component (element 122)), and (ii) a lid (element 121) that is configured to open and close the opening (see col. 8, ll. 56-60 (open) and see col. 8, ll. 42-43 (close)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Downham to provide wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the attachment body with an opening and lid would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the user to easily empty the storage space remove any debris in a controlled manner.
Claims 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 113633215) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Numata (US Pub. No. 2022/0196035).
Regarding claim 27, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein: the blower further comprises an inlet cover configured to detachably attach to the inlet opening; and the inlet cover and the dust collecting attachment are selectively attachable to the same inlet opening, such that: when the inlet cover is attached to the inlet opening, the blower functions as the air duster; and when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector.
Numata is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figures 1-13 element 1A and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a blower (element 20) having an inlet opening (element 240) and a dust collecting attachment (element 9). Numata further teaches wherein:
the blower further comprises an inlet cover (element 25) configured to detachably attach to the inlet opening (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0048); and
the inlet cover and the dust collecting attachment are selectively attachable to the same inlet opening (see figure 2 and figure 3), such that:
when the inlet cover is attached to the inlet opening, the blower functions as the air duster (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0100/0102); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0100-0103).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Numata to provide wherein: the blower further comprises an inlet cover configured to detachably attach to the inlet opening; and the inlet cover and the dust collecting attachment are selectively attachable to the same inlet opening, such that: when the inlet cover is attached to the inlet opening, the blower functions as the air duster; and when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a cover over the inlet opening during blowing operations would necessarily reduce large debris/foreign matter from entering into the opening, thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage.
Regarding claim 31, Ma modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 27, but appears to be silent wherein: the first end portion of the housing has an engagement groove formed on an inner peripheral surface thereof; each of the inlet cover and the attachment body comprises an engagement protrusion configured to engage the engagement groove; and the inlet cover and the attachment body are selectively attachable to the blower via engagement of the respective engagement protrusion with the same engagement groove.
Numata is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figures 1-13 element 1A and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a blower (element 20) having a housing (element 21) and a dust collecting attachment (element 9) having an attachment body (element 95). Numata further teaches wherein: the first end portion of the housing has an engagement groove (element 247) formed on an inner peripheral surface thereof (see paragraph 0050 and see also figure 7);
each of the inlet cover and the attachment body comprises an engagement protrusion (element 251 for the inlet cover and element 955 for attachment body) configured to engage the engagement groove (see paragraphs 0051 and 0101-0102); and
the inlet cover and the attachment body are selectively attachable to the blower via engagement of the respective engagement protrusion with the same engagement groove (see paragraphs 0051 and 0101-0102).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Numata to provide wherein: the first end portion of the housing has an engagement groove formed on an inner peripheral surface thereof; each of the inlet cover and the attachment body comprises an engagement protrusion configured to engage the engagement groove; and the inlet cover and the attachment body are selectively attachable to the blower via engagement of the respective engagement protrusion with the same engagement groove. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known connections means between the blower and both the cover and attachment would necessarily prevent the attachable components from detaching during operations and being damaged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723