Response to Amendments
The amendments filed March 11, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 13-29 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-12 are cancelled by applicant. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments of claim 13. Claims 17-29 are newly presented. The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn due to applicant’s cancelled claims. The previous 103 rejections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made due to applicant’s amendment. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 17-19, 21, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595).
Regarding claim 13, Shaver discloses: a dust collecting system (Figures 1-30 and see also paragraph 0047)comprising:
a blower (element 10a); and
a dust collecting attachment (see paragraphs 0047-0048 where the prior art discloses element 10a (blower) can “frictionally engage various components of the accessory set” (element 10b), figure 1 showing one of the accessories being element 406, and see figure 19 showing element 406 as a dust collecting attachment),
wherein:
the blower comprises (i) a housing (elements 12/14) that has an inlet opening (element 54 and see also paragraph 0049) and a discharge opening (element 240 and see also paragraph 0064), (ii) a motor (see paragraph 0051 where the prior art a motor assembly (element 30) that includes “a motor” (element 70)) that is within the housing (see figure 6), and (iii) a fan (see paragraph 0051 where the prior art a motor assembly (element 30) that includes “a fan assembly” (element 72)) that is within the housing (see figure 6) and is configured to be rotated by the motor to generate a flow of air that is sucked into the housing through the inlet opening and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (see figure 6 and see also paragraphs 0006-0007/0051);
the dust collecting attachment comprises an attachment body (element 410) that has (i) a first opening (see figure 19 annotated below Detail A), (ii) a second opening (see figure 19 annotated below Detail B);
the attachment body is removably attached to the housing of the blower such that the second opening of the attachment body communicates with the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see figure 19 annotated below showing the attachment body removably attached to the housing of the blower and having the second opening (Detail B) in fluid communication (see arrows) with the inlet opening (element 54) of the housing of the blower);
when the dust collecting attachment is not attached to the blower, the blower functions as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower (See paragraphs 0089-0090 where the prior art discloses element 10a (blower) can be utilized in a “blower mode” while utilizing element 240 (discharge opening) in order to discharge air (see figures 23-29), see also figures 24/26 showing the blower not having the dust collecting attachment (element 406) attached to the blower, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower function as an air duster by discharging compressed air via the discharge opening from the blower when the dust collecting attachment is not attached.); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower (see figures 19/19A), the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment (See figure 19 annotated below showing the attachment body removably attached to the housing of the blower and having the second opening (Detail B) in fluid communication (see arrows) with the inlet opening (element 54) of the housing of the blower which would necessarily have the first opening (Detail A) sucking air and dust, see figures 3/6 showing a dust collecting air flow (arrows) traveling from the inlet opening (element 54) of the blower, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening of the blower).
However, Shaver appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), and a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10) and a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014) between the first opening and the second opening (see figure 1 annotated below), and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is “detachably attached” to element 5 (inlet opening) of the blower, see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art element 6 (dust collecting attachment) is equipped with element 7 (dust storage space) that is used to “collect” sucked in hair, thus the prior art is capable of having the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment comprises the housing having a dust storage space between the first opening and the second opening, and the blower and the dust collecting attachment function together as a dust collector by sucking air and dust through the first opening of the dust collecting attachment and collecting dust in the dust storage space of the dust collecting attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing an additional separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 14, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening, and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter (element 8 and see also paragraphs 0020/0029) that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029), and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening, and the first filter faces the inlet opening of the housing of the blower. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a first filter would necessarily provide a means to filter out hair particles and the like from the aspirated airflow as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0020), thus preventing clogging of the air flow during operations.
Regarding claim 17, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment is removable from the attachment body (see paragraph 0023/0029 of prior art Fritzsche).
Regarding claim 18, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein the first filter is fixed to the attachment body (see paragraph 0023/0029 of prior art Fritzsche).
Regarding claim 19, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve between the first opening and the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve (Per applicants disclosure (see paragraph 0045), “the check valve 64 is configured to substantially close the passage 600 when the blower 1 is not operating. On the other hand, when the motor 33 is driven and the fan 35 generates the flow of air that flows into the body housing 10 through the inlet opening 101, as shown by a dashed line in FIG. 7, a portion of the check valve 64 that is spaced apart from the protrusion 641 is pulled toward the blower 1, so that the passage 600 is opened”, similarly the prior art discloses in paragraph 0026 that element 9 (check valve) “opens during suction operation” in order to allow debris to be sucked in through element 10 (first opening) and in paragraph 0027 when electric motor is off, element 9 (check valve) “closes due to its inherent elasticity” and prevents debris from moving, thus element 9 is a check valve) between the first opening and the dust storage space (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a check valve would in the form of a membrane would necessarily open during suction operation and allows hair and hair particles to be sucked in through the suction opening and closes due to its inherent elasticity which prevents hair collected in the reservoir from escaping from the reservoir through the air as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraphs 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 21, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13 and further discloses a vacuum kit (element 10 and see also paragraph 0047) with a plurality of alternate embodiments of attachments (elements 408/420/430/404/450/494), but appears to be silent wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises: an elongate tubular member that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body, wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible.
Shaver further teaches an alternate dust collecting system embodiment (Figure 19G and see also paragraph 0085) comprising a blower (element 10a) and a dust collecting attachment (element 420) with a first opening (see annotated figure 19G below Detail A). Shaver alternate embodiment further teaches wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises: an elongate tubular member (element 402) that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body (see figure 19G below and see also paragraph 0083), wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible (see paragraph 0082 where the prior art discloses element 402 as “a flexible hose”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Shaver alternate embodiment to provide wherein the dust collecting attachment further comprises: an elongate tubular member that is coupled to the first opening of the attachment body, wherein at least a portion of the tubular member is flexible. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that connecting a flexible hose to the dust collecting attachment would necessarily provide an extension in the form of the hose which flexes freely, to clean hard to reach areas during cleaning operations.
Regarding claim 27, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein:
the blower further comprises an inlet cover (element 22) configured to detachably attach to the inlet opening (see figure annotated figure 6 below showing a portion of the inlet cover (element 22) being detached from the inlet opening (element 54) and see figure 3 showing the inlet cover (element 23) attached to the inlet opening (element 54), thus being configured to detachably attach to the inlet opening); and
the inlet cover and the dust collecting attachment are selectively attachable to the same inlet opening (see figure 3 showing the inlet cover attachable to the inlet opening (element 54) and see figures 19 where the dust collecting attachment (element 406) is intended to be attached to the same inlet opening (element 54)), such that:
when the inlet cover is attached to the inlet opening, the blower functions as the air duster (See figure 3 showing the entire portion of the inlet cover (element 22) attached to the inlet opening (element 22) and see also paragraphs 0089-0090 where the prior art discloses element 10a (blower) can be utilized in a “blower mode” while utilizing element 240 (discharge opening) in order to discharge air (see figures 23-29). Thus, giving that at least a portion of the inlet cover is always attached to the inlet opening via element 62 (see figure 3) the prior art would necessarily have the inlet cover attached to at least a portion of the inlet opening when the blower functions as the air duster); and
when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector (see paragraph 0082 and see figure 19).
Regarding claim 28, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 27, wherein the inlet opening and the discharge opening are disposed at opposite ends of the housing along a rotation axis direction of the motor (see figure 6 annotated below) .
Regarding claim 29, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein: when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, and the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector, air flows from the first opening, through the dust storage space, through the second opening, into the inlet opening of the housing, and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor (See figure 19 annotated below showing the attachment body removably attached to the housing of the blower and having the second opening (Detail B) in fluid communication (see arrows) with the inlet opening (element 54) of the housing of the blower which would necessarily have the first opening (Detail A) sucking air and dust, see figures 3/6 showing a dust collecting air flow (arrows) traveling from the inlet opening (element 54) of the blower via the motor, thus Shaver as modified (the prior art of Fritzsche teaches the dust storage space (element 7)) would be capable of having when the dust collecting attachment is attached to the inlet opening, and the blower with the dust collecting attachment functions as the dust collector, air flows from the first opening, through the dust storage space, through the second opening, into the inlet opening of the housing, and is discharged from the discharge opening via the motor, as recited.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claims 13-14 above, and further in view of Murata (KR 20190073415).
Regarding claim 15, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 14, wherein: the blower further comprises a second filter (element 34 and see also paragraph 0073) between the inlet opening and the motor (see figures 3 and 6 showing the second filter (element 34) between the inlet opening (element 54) and the motor (element 70).
However, Fritzsche modified appears to be silent wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter of the blower.
Murata is also concerned in providing a dust collecting system (Figures 1-15 and see also paragraphs 0018-0019) comprising a blower (element 3) having a first filter (elements 86/87 and see also paragraph 0096) and a second filter (elements 77/84 and see also paragraph 0088). Murata further teaches the first filter of the dust collecting attachment has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter of the blower (see paragraph 0096 where the prior art discloses element 86/87 (first filter) having “a smaller mesh size” than elements 77/84 (second filter)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Murata to provide wherein the first filter of the dust collecting attachment has a mesh size that is smaller than a mesh size of the second filter of the blower. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having different mesh size filters including the claimed first filter having a mesh size smaller than the second filter would necessarily allow the collection of fine dust as disclosed by Murata (see paragraph 0096).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20170127804).
Regarding claim 16, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein:
the attachment body includes a first tubular part (see figure 19 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening at its distal end (see figure 1 annotated below), the first tubular part is configured to extend in a direction that crosses a rotational axis of the motor when the attachment body is attached to the housing of the blower (See figure 19 annotated below showing the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment (element 406) that includes the first tubular part (Detail A) and the inlet opening (element 54) extending in an axis (X-X axis) and see also figure 6 annotated below showing the inlet opening (element 54) extending in the same axis (X-X axis) that crosses a portion of the motor (element 70), thus a portion of the first tubular part would necessarily extend in direction that crosses a rotational axis of the motor when the attachment body is attached to the housing of the blower, as recited.).
However, Fritzsche modified appears to be silent wherein the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis.
Lee is also concern in providing a system (Figures 1-11 and see also paragraph 0020) comprising a blower (element 102) and an attachment (element 100) having an attachment body (element 110) with a first tubular part (see figures 9-10 annotated below Detail A). Lee further teaches the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis (see paragraph 0046 and see also figures 9-10 showing the position of the first tubular part (Detail A) is changeable in a circumferential direction (C-direction arrow) around the rotational axis (X-X axis)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide wherein the housing of the blower and the attachment body are configured such that a position of the first tubular part is changeable in a circumferential direction around the rotational axis. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the attachment be capable of rotating in a circumferential direction would necessarily allow the user to orientate the attachment at different orientations, thus making the system more ergonomically comfortable for the user during use and allow the user to reach awkward work locations.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Downham (US Patent No. 6,122,796).
Regarding claim 20, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening.
Downham is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 7-8 and see also col. 8, ll. 41-44) comprising an attachment body (element 111a) having a first opening (element 116), a dust storage space (element 111c and see also col. 8, ll. 8-10), and a check valve (element 118 and see also col. 8, ll. 15). Downham further teaches wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening (element 120) that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside (see figure 7 where the opening (element 120) communicates with the dust storage space (element 111c) and an outside component (element 122)), and (ii) a lid (element 121) that is configured to open and close the opening (see col. 8, ll. 56-60 (open) and see col. 8, ll. 42-43 (close)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Downham to provide wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the attachment body with an opening and lid would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the user to easily empty the storage space remove any debris in a controlled manner.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of McDowell (US Patent No 4,053,962).
Regarding claim 22, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 13, wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment is configured to define a passage (see figure 19 annotated below showing an air flow from the attachment into the inlet opening (element 54) which would necessarily define a passage extending from the first opening (Detail A) to the second opening (Detail B) that is bent or curved in a generally L-shape.
However, Fritzsche appears to be silent wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape.
McDowell is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 1-9 element 55 and see also col. 2, ll. 41-46) that is removably attached to a vacuum cleaner (col. 2, ll. 51-53), the dust collecting attachment comprising an attachment body (element 59) that has a first opening (element 65) and a second opening (see figure 7 annotated below Detail A). McDowell further teaches wherein the attachment body is configured to define a passage (see annotated figure 4 below Detail B) wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape (see annotated figure 4 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of McDowell to provide wherein the passage is bent or curved in a generally L-shape. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known curved/bend passage between openings of the attachment would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing air to flow into the body in order to treat desired surfaces with the system. Furthermore, applicant has failed to provide any criticality of the passage being “L-shaped” provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 23, Shaver modified discloses: the dust collecting system as defined in claim 22, wherein the attachment body includes (i) a first tubular part (see figure 19 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening (see figure 19 annotated below), (ii) a second tubular part (see figure 19 annotated below Detail B) that has the second opening (see figure 19 annotated below), and (iii) a housing part (see figure 19 annotated below Detail C) that (a) is coupled to the first tubular part and the second tubular part (see figure 19 annotated below).
However, Shaver modified appears to be silent wherein the housing part defines the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the attachment body includes (i) a first tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that has the first opening (see figure 1 annotated below), (ii) a second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) that has the second opening, and (iii) a housing part that (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) (a) is coupled to the first tubular part and the second tubular part (see figure 1 annotated below) and (b) defines the dust housing space (see figure 1 annotated below showing portions of the housing part (Detail C) defining portions of the dust housing space (element 7)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the housing part defines the dust storage space. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the dust collecting attachment housing part with the dust storage space would necessarily allow the system to continue to function as intended while also providing an additional separations means for collecting large size debris (i.e. hair) which prevents hair from being sucked into the electric motor or the fan as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0023), thus preventing clogging/blocking of the air passage and therefore a clear flow during operations.
Regarding claim 24, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 22-23, but appears to be silent wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening..
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter (element 8 and see also paragraphs 0020/0029) that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein: the dust collecting attachment further comprises a first filter that is housed within the attachment body between the dust storage space and the second opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a first filter would necessarily provide a means to filter out hair particles and the like from the aspirated airflow as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraph 0020), thus preventing clogging of the air flow during operations.
Regarding claim 25, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 13 and 22-24, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve between the first opening and the dust storage space.
Fritzsche is also concern in providing a dust collecting system (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a blower (element 1) having an inlet opening (element 4), a motor that is within the housing (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses “a motor” inside element 1 (blower) which comprises the housing (element 4)), a dust collecting attachment (element 6) having an attachment body (outer surface of element 6) that has a first opening (element 10), a second opening (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A), and a dust storage space (element 7 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element as “reservoir” (dust storage space) and see also paragraph 0014). Fritzsche further teaches wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve (Per applicants disclosure (see paragraph 0045), “the check valve 64 is configured to substantially close the passage 600 when the blower 1 is not operating. On the other hand, when the motor 33 is driven and the fan 35 generates the flow of air that flows into the body housing 10 through the inlet opening 101, as shown by a dashed line in FIG. 7, a portion of the check valve 64 that is spaced apart from the protrusion 641 is pulled toward the blower 1, so that the passage 600 is opened”, similarly the prior art discloses in paragraph 0026 that element 9 (check valve) “opens during suction operation” in order to allow debris to be sucked in through element 10 (first opening) and in paragraph 0027 when electric motor is off, element 9 (check valve) “closes due to its inherent elasticity” and prevents debris from moving, thus element 9 is a check valve) between the first opening and the dust storage space (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Fritzsche to provide wherein the attachment body of the dust collecting attachment includes a check valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the dust collecting attachment with a check valve would in the form of a membrane would necessarily open during suction operation and allows hair and hair particles to be sucked in through the suction opening and closes due to its inherent elasticity which prevents hair collected in the reservoir from escaping from the reservoir through the air as disclosed by Fritzsche (see paragraphs 0026-0027).
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver (US Pub. No. 2004/0216264) in view of Fritzsche (DE 20202595) and McDowell (US Patent No 4,053,962) as applied to claims 13 and 22-25 above, and further in view of Downham (US Patent No. 6,122,796).
Regarding claim 26, Shaver modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 13 and 22-25, but appears to be silent wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening.
Downham is also concern in providing a dust collecting attachment (Figures 7-8 and see also col. 8, ll. 41-44) comprising an attachment body (element 111a) having a first opening (element 116), a dust storage space (element 111c and see also col. 8, ll. 8-10), and a check valve (element 118 and see also col. 8, ll. 15). Downham further teaches wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening (element 120) that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside (see figure 7 where the opening (element 120) communicates with the dust storage space (element 111c) and an outside component (element 122)), and (ii) a lid (element 121) that is configured to open and close the opening (see col. 8, ll. 56-60 (open) and see col. 8, ll. 42-43 (close)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Shaver to incorporate the teachings of Downham to provide wherein the attachment body has (i) an opening that communicates with the dust storage space and an outside, and (ii) a lid that is configured to open and close the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the attachment body with an opening and lid would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the user to easily empty the storage space remove any debris in a controlled manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723