DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph , as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 is drawn to further limiting the diffusion bonding step of claim 1, Claim 10 requiring “using a laser or ultrasonic device to bond the stack of cross sections.” It is unclear if the step of “using a laser or ultrasonic device” comprises diffusion bonding to a separate bonding step prior to the diffusion bonding process (e.g. welding the stacked cross sections prior to diffusion bonding). As a result, the scope of the requires diffusion bonding process is rendered indefinite. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim(s) 1- 2, 4- 6 , 8 -9 , 11 - 13, 15 -16 , and 18- 20 a re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ecer (US 6048432 ) in view of Moxson (US 7311873) and Reichman (US 3888663). With respect to Claim 1, Ecer teaches a method of making a complex-shaped object from laminated layers, the method comprising steps of forming a compacted elongated green part comprising a metal powder such as a metal alloy powder , cutting the elongated green part into a plurality of laminae, each laminae corresponding to a cross section/slice of a three-dimensional part to be manufactured, stack ing the laminae/cross sections in predetermined order to form part, heat ing the stacked cross sections and then apply ing pressure to consolidate the stacked cross sections to obtain a fully dense near net-shaped part. (col. 1, ln. 5-16; col. 4, ln. 44 to col. 5, ln. 67 ; col. 10, ln. 35-49 ; Fig. 1). Ecer wherein forming the elongated green part comprises cutting a cold pressed sheet having a predetermined density and teaches controlling a compaction ratio, the ratio of the density of the part after consolidation to that of the powder laminae before consolidation. (col. 5, ln. 27-32 ; col. 8, ln. 34- 58). In particular, the reference teaches wherein the compacted laminae preferably have a density “less than 90% of theoretical density to create the interparticle shearing action necessary for development of high strength during consolidation.” (col. 9, ln. 11-20). Thus, Ecer teaches a method comprising providing a metal powder, pressing the metal powder to form a sheet of compacted powder with less than full density (and thus, constituting “a porous sheet of compacted powder”), cutting the porous sheet to form a plurality of cross sections, stacking the plurality of cross sections and heating the stack to bond the plurality of cross sections together forming a near net shape preform being denser than the porous sheet and then applying pressure, thereby consolidating the near net shape preform to form a full density near net shape component. Ecer teaches providing a metal alloy powder and teaches mixing the alloy powder with a second powder such as graphite (col. 12, ln. 38-46); however, the reference does not specifically teach mixing a plurality of metal powders to form a blended powder. Moxson teaches a method of making a densified metal part, the method comprising steps of mixing a plurality of metal powders to form a blended powder with a desired composition, cold direct powder rolling of the powder mixture, thereby forming a compacted powder sheet (deemed to comprise pressing as rollers press/compact the powder to form a sheet), the compacted powder sheet not having 100% density (e.g. teaching initial 60% density, 90% after additional cold rolling) and thus, comprising a porous sheet. (col. 3, ln. 1-46; col. 4, 1-44; col. 7, ln. 5, ln. 3-35). Moxson teaches additional compacting steps and finally sintering in order to obtain a near fully-dense part (i.e. consolidating the preform to form a full density component) useful for, for example, aircraft parts, automotive parts, and applications requiring high strength with light weight. (col. 1, ln. 6-27; col. 2, ln. 44-63; col. 5, ln. 27-55). Thus, Ecer and Moxson are both drawn to methods of compacting a metal powder followed by consolidating the compacted metal powder to form a fully dense part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a step of providing a pre-alloyed metal powder with a step of mixing a plurality of metal powders to form a blended powder with the a desired overall composition, as taught by Moxson, in order to allow for more granular control over the composition of the powder and resulting part. Finally, as detailed above, Ecer teaches steps of heating the stack of cross sections and then applying pressure to bond and consolidate the cross sections to form a full density near net shape component. The reference does not specifically refer to the heating step as diffusion bonding; however, as the reference teaches a step comprising heating the cross sections such that they bond, forming a near net shape part being more dense than the porous sheet, it is deemed to meet the instant limitation. Moreover, Claim 1 does not require that the diffusion bonding and consolidating step are separate. In fact, as both steps are essentially drawn to the same result of consolidating/bonding and increasing the density of the cross sections, the limitations are interpreted such that they may comprise the same step or sub-portions of the same overall process step. In the alternative, Reichman teaches a method of making metal-based part, the method comprising steps of providing a powder mixture comprising metal powder, pressing the powder, heating the pressed powder in a vacuum furnace to a sintering temperature and carrying out diffusion bonding increasing the density to form a near net shape preform , the sintered preform is then further densified by subjecting it to heat treat ment and/or hot pressing to obtain a part with a density approaching 100% theoretical density. (col. 2, ln. 28-63; col. 7, ln. 24-47; col. 8, ln. 22-54). Thus, Reichman teaches a method comprising performing a diffusion bonding process on a pressed powder (lower density/porous) to form a near net shape preform being denser than the pressed powder, the diffusion bonding taking place in a vacuum furnace and comprising sintering, and further consolidating the near net shape preform to form a full density near net shape component, the consolidating comprising hot pressing and/or heating the preform in a furnace. Ecer and Reichman are both drawn to methods of subjecting a pressed powder body to additional heating and pressure in order to bond and consolidate the powder and achieve a component with full density. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Ecer in view of Moxson to substitute a heating and hot pressing step for steps of first performing a diffusion bonding process to form a near net shape preform being denser than the pressed powder, the diffusion bonding taking place in a vacuum furnace and comprising sintering, and then further consolidating the near net shape preform to form a full density near net shape component, the consolidating comprising hot pressing and/or heating the preform in a furnace, as taught by Reichman, in order to better control the bonding and consolidation of the stack of pressed porous powder cross sections and achieve a component with full density. With respect to Claim 13, Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman teach a method of manufacturing a component comprising steps of forming a porous sheet of compacted metal powder from a blend of a plurality of metal powders, cutting the porous sheet to form a plurality of cross sections, stacking the plurality of cross sections to form a stack, diffusion bonding the stack to form a near net shape preform and then consolidating the near net shape preform by applying heat and /or pressure to form a full density near net shape component. (see rejection of claim 1, incorporated here by reference. Finally, with respect to the preamble limitation “high strength component,” Ecer teaches forming a “high strength integral part,” deemed to meet the instant limitation. (see col. 13, ln. 2-6). With respect to Claim 2, Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman teach wherein the plurality of metal powders include powdered metals and/or powdered metal alloys. (see rejection of claim 1 above; Moxson, col. 4, ln. 11-67). With respect to Claim 4, Ecer teaches wherein the porous sheet may be formed by cold pressing or drawing, and also teaches embodiments wherein a ceramic porous sheet is formed by roll compacting. (col. 8, ln. 41-65). Moxson teaches wherein the blended powder is pressed into a porous sheet by cold rolling. (see, e.g., col. 5, ln. 3-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Ecer, teaching a step of forming a pressed/compacted powder part having an elongated shape such as a sheet, to use a known method of forming a pressed powder sheet such as cold rolling, as taught by Moxson, in order to form a pressed powder sheet with a desired density. The substitution one technique of pressing powder into a sheet for another, having the same function and effect would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. With respect to Claims 5 and 15, Ecer teaches both cutting a sheet into a plurality of cross sections and additionally cutting each cross section to form slice of a three-dimensional part, wherein the latter cutting is specifically taught to be achieved by a laser, drill, or mill cutter. (col. 9, 35-51). Either cutting step disclosed by Ecer is deemed to meet the instant limitation of “cutting.” Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the first cutting step by one of the conventional cutting techniques disclosed by Ecer, such as laser cutting, in order to achieve precisely cut cross sections. With respect to Claim 6, Ecer teaches cutting the porous sheet to form slices corresponding to a three-dimensional object, removing portions of one or more layers/cross sections and therefore, resulting in a plurality of scrap. (see Figs. 1, 4). With respect to Claim 8, Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman teach wherein diffusion bonding comprises stacking the plurality of cross sections to form a stack of cross sections and heating the stack of cross sections to a sintering temperature thereby causing diffusion bonding . (see rejection of claim 1). With respect to Claims 9 and 16, Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman teach wherein the diffusion bonding comprises stacking the plurality of cross sections to form a stack of cross sections and applying a vacuum in a vacuum furnace. (see rejection of claims 1 and 13 above). With respect to Claim s 11 -12 and 18-19 , Ecer teaches subjecting the full density near net shape component to additional processing steps such as removing excess portions, forming a final product (col. 13, ln .1-2) and constituting one or more of machining and surface treatment. With respect to Claim 20, Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman teach consolidating the stack of cross sections comprising heating introducing the near net shape preform into a furnace and heating to a predetermined temperature to achieve densification (thus, a “first temperature.”). (see rejection of claims 1 and 13 above). Claim(s) 3 and 14 a re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ecer (US 6048432 ) in view of Moxson (US 7311873) and Reichman (US 3888663) , as applied to claim 1 (with respect to Claim 3) and claim 13 (with respect to claim 14), further in view of Martino (US 2009/0026027). With respect to Claims 3 and 14, Ecer teaches an example comprising a titanium-aluminum based powder and also iron based powder (col. 13, ln. 34-39) . Moxson teaches forming a powder mixture comprising titanium, aluminum, vanadium (col. 4, ln. 52-67) and recognizes the utility of fully density titanium-based parts for automotive parts (abstract) . Ecer , Moxson , and Reichman , however, do not teach a specific example comprising each of titanium, aluminum, vanadium, and iron. Martino teaches an automotive part (brake rotor component), the part formed by a powder metallurgy method comprising diffusion bonding, and wherein a build material powder may comprise a titanium alloy, such as Ti-10V-2Fe-3Al . (para. 2, 51; claims 1, 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman , comprising a method of forming a high strength fully density near net shape part, to select a powder blend comprising Ti, V, Fe, and Al, as taught by Martino, in order to form an automotive component such as brake rotor. In other words, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a known metal composition for powder metallurgy in the powder metallurgy process of Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman , to obtain predictable results and having the benefit of a high density near net shape part. Claim(s) 7 and 17 a re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ecer (US 6048432 ) in view of Moxson (US 7311873) and Reichman (US 3888663) , as applied to claim 6 (with respect to Claim 7 ) and claim 13 (with respect to claim 1 7 ), further in view of Litvintsey (US 2 004/0258553 ). With respect to Claims 7 and 17, Ecer teaches a method resulting in the formation of a plurality of scrap (see rejection of claim 6 above); however, the reference is silent as to a step of reusing the scrap. Litvintsey teaches a method of powder pressing/rolling, wherein “small amounts of the scrap in the form of trimmed edges of hot compacted sheets are grinded and recycled in the powder mixture.” (abstract; para. 57). Thus, Litvintsey teaches a method comprising processing a plurality of scrap by grinding for reuse with a powder mixture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Ecer in view of Moxson and Reichman , to grind the plurality of scrap to form a process scrap and reuse the processed scrap by mixing it with the powder mixture of a plurality of metal powders, as taught by Litvintsey, in order to reduce costs and/or improve the sustainability of the method. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2026/008102 teaching a method of forming a layered sheet structure formed of porous powder-based sheets, but failing to teach consolidating the sheet structure to full density. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOHN A HEVEY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0361 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9:00-5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Keith Walker can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3458 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN A HEVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735