This communication is in response to the application filed 11/20/2023.
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 5-6 which depend on 4 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 5-6, the phrase “the number of trays of said column can vary, depending on the quality of the waste oil to be regenerated” is unclear. As written, it is unclear if the tray number of the column is set, based on the waste oil, or varies with waste oil feed. The former is assumed for rejection below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “means of by-pass of the pipes which supply said main column” and claims 1 and 3 recite “liquid stopping means.” Both are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0276517), alternatively, further in view of Shinskey (US 4,030,986).
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a distillation apparatus comprising two distillation columns connected to a plant, wherein the connection to the plant (e.g. lines 12 and 22 in Figure 1) includes a valve stopping/allowing flow to each column (Figure; ). The column connection allows the distillation columns to operate in parallel or in series (abstract). Where in parallel, one column may be bypassed. Kim teaches valves for stopping and allowing flow to the columns to “switch between the serial connection mode and the parallel connection mode continuously without shutting the serial connection mode and the parallel connection mode down, thereby reducing the economic loss that may occur upon the shutdown” (0013).
Kim is silent regarding wherein the valve is acted upon when the pressure drops downstream of the main column exceed a preset threshold value. However, the claims are directed to an apparatus, Kim teaches the apparatus which is capable of operating in response to pressure drop as claimed.
Alternatively, Shinskey teaches a process and apparatus for control of a distillation column. Column pressure or differential pressure is utilized to control the column (figure; col. 3-4). Considerations include at least safe maximum pressure, pressure as an indication of column flooding, minimum effective pressure, and maintaining product purity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to control the columns of Kim utilizing pressure, as known in the art and shown by Shinskey.
With respect to claim 2 and the relative size of the two columns, Kim teaches in one example wherein the two columns are simultaneously operated and the second at a lower capacity than the first (0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a smaller second column to reduce cost. Only a smaller column is required in each of the operation modes because a smaller column would add capacity as desired for increased feed scenario (see abstract) and smaller column would be required in serial mode given only a portion of the first flow rate is passed to the second column, and a different sized column would provide additional flexibility in minimum flow situations.
With respect to claim 3, Kim teaches using valves for stopping or allowing the flow of fluid (0021, 0009, 0032), i.e. shut off valves.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Blasny (US 4,071,738) in view of Kim; alternatviey, over O’Blasny in view of Kim and Shinskey.
With respect to claim 4, O'Blasny teaches an apparatus for regeneration of waste oil comprising a first and separate fractionation column, the second under vacuum, working in series (abstract; figure; col. 2, lines 25+). O'Blasny is silent regarding wherein the columns are connected so that one column may be bypassed. Kim teaches a distillation apparatus comprising two distillation columns connected to a plant, wherein the two columns are connected such that they may be connected in parallel, with flow directly to either column, or connected in series, as in O'Blasny. O'Blasny teaches wherein the connection to the plant (e.g. lines 12 and 22 in Figure 1) includes a valve stopping/allowing flow to each column (Figure). The column connection allows the distillation columns to operate in parallel or in series (abstract). Where in parallel, it is known that one may be bypassed.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, O'Blasny teaches using distillation column of “conventional construction and includes a plurality of vertically spaced trays 44, which facilitate distillation of the oil fed to the tower. For purposes of illustration three such trays have been depicted, but it is to be understood that essentially any number thereof could be provided, depending upon the degree of refinement desired.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3,420,748 teaches parallel distillation columns with controlled feedstock division.
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771