Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 18: “an aircraft sub-system operated using bleed air received from the compressed air bleed”
With regards to the aircraft sub-system of claim 18, the corresponding structure described in the subsequent claims is one of an “environmental control system” (claim 19), “anti-icing system” (claim 20), or a “pneumatic system comprising a pneumatic actuator” (claim 20).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-13 and 16-20 of copending Application No. 18/392,946 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zagrodnik teaches
a system for an aircraft (aircraft 10), comprising:
an aircraft structure comprising an internal compartment (housing portion 22a, fig. 5A);
an electrical power storage housed within the internal compartment (battery pack 20, fig.2 and 5A); and
an air system (fig. 2) configured to direct pressurized air into the internal compartment (“The battery pack 20 includes an integral air channel 21 which passes through the battery pack. One end of the channel 21 is fluidly coupled to an aircraft air inlet 16 , and the other end of the channel 21 is fluidly coupled to an aircraft air outlet 17 . During flight, the direction of which is illustrated by the arrow ‘D’ in FIG. 2 , ambient air enters the air inlet 16 , flows through the channel 21 and flows out of the air outlet 17” [0051]), the air system including a plurality of air sources (“In some embodiments there may be multiple air inlet openings 16 in fluid communication with the air channel 21 so that there is adequate airflow during both horizontal flight and vertical movement” [0059]; fig. 10 also shows air inlet 16 and an additional airflow device 40 coupled to air channel 21) and a flow regulator (airflow regulator 18), and the flow regulator configured to fluidly couple each of the plurality of air sources to the internal compartment (fig. 2)
Regarding claim 2, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the electrical power storage comprises a battery (battery pack 20)
Regarding claim 3, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 2,
wherein the air system is configured to direct the pressurized air into the internal compartment to flush off-gassing from the battery out of the internal compartment (“If present, the additional channels 51 are preferably arranged so that, during their intended use (e.g. during horizontal flight or on the ground), they form an angle with horizontal to assist with degassing”) [0125]
Regarding claim 4, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the air system is configured to direct the pressurized air into the internal compartment to condition an environment surrounding the electrical power storage (“allows the rate of the airflow through the channel 21 to be regulated in accordance with the cooling or heating requirements of the pack 20”) [0055]
Regarding claim 5, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of air sources include a first air source and a second air source (air inlet 16, airflow device 40 of fig. 10);
the flow regulator is configured to concurrently fluidly couple the first air source and the second air source to the internal compartment (“In other embodiments, however, the first air channel 21 may remain in fluid communication with the inlet 16 and outlet 17 during the second mode of operation. In this case, the airflow device 40 enhances the ambient airflow through the first channel 21”) [0119]
Regarding claim 6, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of air sources include a first air source and a second air source (first and second air inlet openings 16 of the multiple air inlet openings 16 disclosed in [0059];
the flow regulator is configured to fluidly couple the first air source to the internal compartment during a first mode (“During flight, the flow of air through the air channel 21 that results from the movement of the aircraft through the air is leveraged to provide cooling. This mode of operation is hereafter referred to as the first mode of operation of the battery thermal regulation system”) [0115]; and
the flow regulator is configured to fluidly couple the second air source to the internal compartment during a second mode (“the airflow device 40 is arranged within a second air channel 41 separate to the first, main air channel 21 . In the first mode of operation the airflow device 40 does not operate and the second air channel 41 may be completely disconnected from the first channel 21 . In the second mode of operation, however, the second air channel 41 is connected to the first air channel 21 and the airflow device 40 operates to blow a flow of air through the second air channel 41 and into the first air channel 21”) [0117]
Regarding claim 7, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 6,
wherein at least one of the flow regulator is configured to fluidly decouple the second air source from the internal compartment during the first mode (“In the first mode of operation the airflow device 40 does not operate and the second air channel 41 may be completely disconnected from the first channel 21”) [0117]; or the flow regulator is configured to fluidly decouple the first air source from the internal compartment during the second mode (“In some embodiments, the first air channel 21 is completely fluidly disconnected from the inlet 16 and the outlet 17 in the second mode of operation”) [0118]
Regarding claim 8, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the aircraft structure includes an outlet to an ambient external environment fluidly coupled to the internal compartment (air outlet 17)
Regarding claim 14, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a propulsor rotor (propulsors 12); and
an electric motor configured to drive rotation of the propulsor rotor, the electric motor electrically coupled to the electric power storage (“Purely electric propulsion systems completely dispense with internal combustion engines and use only batteries or, in some instances, fuel cells, as an energy source for their propulsors” [0003]; “rotor propulsors 12 driven by rotary electric machines”) [0045]
Regarding claim 15, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
an aircraft airframe (fuselage 11);
the aircraft structure configured as part of and/or housed within the aircraft airframe (battery pack 20 housed within fuselage 11, fig. 3)
Regarding claim 16, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
an aircraft propulsion system (propulsor 12);
the aircraft structure configured as part of and/or housed within the aircraft propulsion system (“FIG. 4 illustrates how the battery pack 20 of FIG. 2 may be located within a propulsor 12 of an aircraft 10” [0062]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Cheong (US20130175001A1).
Regarding claim 9, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
an internal combustion engine (“Whilst the illustrated aircraft 10 is an electric VTOL (eVTOL) aircraft, it will be appreciated that UAM platforms could also be of the STOL type and could also be hybrid electric aircraft that include both internal combustion engines and batteries”) [0049];
Zagrodnik does not teach
one of the plurality of air sources comprising a bleed from the internal combustion engine
Cheong teaches
one of the plurality of air sources comprising a bleed from the internal combustion engine (“Cooled core bleed air 126 exits first outlet 84 of heat exchanger 78 and travels through third duct 92 to aircraft system 112 . Aircraft system 122 is an environmental control system, wing anti-ice system, or other aircraft system that utilizes cooled core air 124”) [0019]
Zagrodnik teaches “the use of a battery cooling system which leverages the ambient air flow present during flight may reduce or eliminate the weight, complexity and maintenance associated with liquid cooling systems, but may leave the aircraft without an on-board cooling system usable on the ground where there is no or limited ambient airflow. In this case, an external air supply can replace or replicate the ambient airflow without the need for additional on-board equipment. Alternatively, the external air supply may supplement an on-board system to reduce turnaround times between flights” [0008]. However, Zagrodnik does not further describe an on-board system for providing airflow. Cheong teaches providing cooled bleed air for an aircraft system that can utilize the cooled core air. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the on-board system for supplemental airflow of Zagrodnik as the core bleed air system of Cheong, in order to effectively utilize airflow already flowing through an aircraft intake, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Niederhut (DE102019201155A1), referring to the English translation dated 03/27/2026.
Regarding claim 10, Zagrodnik does not teach the system of claim 1, further comprising:
an environmental control system for a cabin of the aircraft (Zagrodnik teaches heating or cooling airflow from airflow device 40 by dumping airflow to or drawing airflow from the cabin. However, Zagrodnik does not explicitly teach this as an environmental control system for controlling the cabin, but rather for controlling the cooling the battery, and thus does not read on “an environmental control system for a cabin of the aircraft”);
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the environmental control system
Niederhut teaches
an environmental control system for a cabin (air conditioner 11);
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the environmental control system (fig. 2, showing battery 2 within housing 4; “The first air inlet 5a is connected to a first air source 10a, namely an air conditioner 11, which can supply air to the housing 4” [0045])
Zagrodnik teaches “the use of a battery cooling system which leverages the ambient air flow present during flight may reduce or eliminate the weight, complexity and maintenance associated with liquid cooling systems, but may leave the aircraft without an on-board cooling system usable on the ground where there is no or limited ambient airflow. In this case, an external air supply can replace or replicate the ambient airflow without the need for additional on-board equipment. Alternatively, the external air supply may supplement an on-board system to reduce turnaround times between flights” [0008]. However, Zagrodnik does not further describe an on-board system for providing airflow. Niederhut teaches providing air directly from a vehicle air conditioner to cool the vehicle battery. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the on-board system for supplemental airflow of Zagrodnik as the air conditioner system of Niederhut, in order to effectively utilize a system that is already providing conditioned airflow, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
The combination teaches
an environmental control system for a cabin of the aircraft (while Niederhut does not explicitly describe the vehicle as an aircraft, the vehicle of Zagrondnik comprises an aircraft and thus when applying airflow to the battery system from a n air conditioner of the vehicle as taught in Niederhut to the system of Zagrodnik, the air will be provided from an air conditioner of the aircraft of Zagrondnik)
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Houchin (US20130207617A1).
Regarding claim 11, Zagrodnik teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
an aircraft cabin (“he aircraft includes a fuselage 11 , which incorporates a cabin for occupants”) [0045];
Zagrodnik does not teach
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the aircraft cabin
Houchin teaches
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the cabin (“The thermal management system 121 is configured to utilize air from inside a cabin of a vehicle (e.g., vehicle 10 , 10 A) to either heat or cool a battery system 120”) [0041]
Zagrodnik teaches “the use of a battery cooling system which leverages the ambient air flow present during flight may reduce or eliminate the weight, complexity and maintenance associated with liquid cooling systems, but may leave the aircraft without an on-board cooling system usable on the ground where there is no or limited ambient airflow. In this case, an external air supply can replace or replicate the ambient airflow without the need for additional on-board equipment. Alternatively, the external air supply may supplement an on-board system to reduce turnaround times between flights” [0008]. However, Zagrodnik does not further describe an on-board system for providing airflow. Houchin teaches using cabin air to provide airflow to heat or cool a battery system. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the on-board system for supplemental airflow of Zagrodnik as the cabin air system of Houchin, in order to effectively utilize airflow that has already been thermal treated, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
The combination teaches
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the aircraft cabin (while Houchin does not explicitly describe the vehicle as an aircraft, the vehicle of Zagrondnik comprises an aircraft and thus when applying airflow to the battery system from a cabin of the vehicle as taught in Houchin to the system of Zagrodnik, the air will be provided from a cabin of the aircraft of Zagrondnik)
Regarding claim 17, Zagrodnik teaches
a system for an aircraft (aircraft 10), comprising:
an aircraft airframe (fuselage 11) including an aircraft cabin (“a fuselage 11 , which incorporates a cabin for occupants”) [0045] and a battery compartment located outside of the aircraft cabin (“the battery pack 20 is located aft of the cabin” [0058]; fig. 3);
a battery housed within the battery compartment (battery cells 200, fig. 5B); and
Zagrodnik does not teach
an air system configured to direct air from within the aircraft cabin into the battery compartment
Houchin teaches
an air system configured to direct air from within the cabin into the battery compartment (“The thermal management system 121 is configured to utilize air from inside a cabin of a vehicle (e.g., vehicle 10 , 10 A) to either heat or cool a battery system 120”) [0041]
Zagrodnik teaches “the use of a battery cooling system which leverages the ambient air flow present during flight may reduce or eliminate the weight, complexity and maintenance associated with liquid cooling systems, but may leave the aircraft without an on-board cooling system usable on the ground where there is no or limited ambient airflow. In this case, an external air supply can replace or replicate the ambient airflow without the need for additional on-board equipment. Alternatively, the external air supply may supplement an on-board system to reduce turnaround times between flights” [0008]. However, Zagrodnik does not further describe an on-board system for providing airflow. Houchin teaches using cabin air to provide airflow to heat or cool a battery system. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the on-board system for supplemental airflow of Zagrodnik as the cabin air system of Houchin, in order to effectively utilize airflow that has already been thermal treated, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
The combination teaches
an air system configured to direct air from within the aircraft cabin into the battery compartment (while Houchin does not explicitly describe the vehicle as an aircraft, the vehicle of Zagrondnik comprises an aircraft and thus when applying airflow to the battery system from a cabin of the vehicle as taught in Houchin to the system of Zagrodnik, the air will be provided from a cabin of the aircraft of Zagrondnik)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Lohe (US11728532B1).
Regarding claim 12, Zagrodnik does not teach the system of claim 1, further comprising:
an anti-icing system;
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the anti-icing system
Lohe teaches
an anti-icing system (de-icing system 116);
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the anti-icing system (“A “battery pack temperature control system” as used in this disclosure is a structure configured to manage thermal energy of one or more battery packs. Battery pack temperature control system 124 may include one or more thermal conduits. A “thermal conduit” as used in this disclosure is a structure that conducts thermal energy. A thermal conduit may include, but is not limited to, pipes, vents, fans, heat sinks, and the like. In some embodiments, battery pack temperature control system 124 may be in thermal communication with consumable coolant reservoir 108 and/or de-icing system 116 . “Thermal communication” as used in this disclosure is a form of connection between objects through thermal energy. Thermal connection may be achieved through thermal conduits or other heat exchanging devices”) [0028]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to source air from the outlet from the anti-icing system, as taught in Lohe, in order to effectively utilize a system that already comprises the cooling necessary to maintain the desired performance temperature of the battery unit, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Khattar (US20230242011A1).
Regarding claim 13, Zagrodnik does not teach the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a pneumatic system comprising a pneumatic actuator;
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the pneumatic system
Khattar teaches
a pneumatic system comprising a pneumatic actuator (“the door actuators 1014 , 1016 are or include solenoids, pneumatic actuators…” [0115];
one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the pneumatic system (as shown on fig. 10A-10B, door 1006 is opened and closed by door actuator 1014 to allow airflow through battery 902; thus, air is sourced on outlet side of door actuator 1014)
Zagrodnik teaches “The adjustable airflow regulator 18 , which can take any suitable form such as vanes, an iris or a butterfly valve, any of which may be electrically or mechanically actuated, allows the rate of the airflow through the channel 21 to be regulated in accordance with the cooling or heating requirements of the pack 20” [0055], however does not further describe the operation of adjustable airflow regulator 18. Khattar teaches a similar system for providing airflow for cooling a battery of an aircraft, which comprises a door actuator 1014 for opening and closing door 1006. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide this door system of Khattar, including the pneumatic actuator of door actuator 1014, to the adjustable airflow regulator 18 of Zagrodnik, in order to provide an actuating system that can provide a simple design with high reliability to the system to ensure consistent performance.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Cheong (US20130175001A1) and Niederhut (DE102019201155A1), referring to the English translation dated 03/27/2026.
Regarding claim 18, Zagrodnik teaches
a system for an aircraft (aircraft 10), comprising:
an aircraft structure comprising a battery compartment (housing portion 22a, fig. 5A);
a battery housed within the battery compartment (battery pack 20, fig.2 and 5A);
an internal combustion engine (“Whilst the illustrated aircraft 10 is an electric VTOL (eVTOL) aircraft, it will be appreciated that UAM platforms could also be of the STOL type and could also be hybrid electric aircraft that include both internal combustion engines and batteries”) [0049];
Zagrodnik does not teach
an internal combustion engine comprising a compressed air bleed;
an aircraft sub-system operated using bleed air received from the compressed air bleed; and
a flow circuit fluidly coupling an outlet of the aircraft sub-system to an inlet of the battery compartment, the flow circuit configured to direct air exhausted from the aircraft sub-system through the outlet into the battery compartment through the inlet
Cheong teaches
an internal combustion engine comprising a compressed air bleed; an aircraft sub-system operated using bleed air received from the compressed air bleed (“Cooled core bleed air 126 exits first outlet 84 of heat exchanger 78 and travels through third duct 92 to aircraft system 112 . Aircraft system 122 is an environmental control system, wing anti-ice system, or other aircraft system that utilizes cooled core air 124” [0019]; wherein the “environmental control system” reads on the sub-system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bleed air system of Cheong to an aircraft environmental control system of Zagrodnik, in order to utilize air that is already pressurized from the engine to perform the functions of the environmental control system, thus eliminating the need for additional pressurization of ambient air.
Niederhut teaches
a flow circuit fluidly coupling an outlet of the sub-system (air conditioner 11) to an inlet of the battery compartment (fig. 2, showing battery 2 within housing 4; “The first air inlet 5a is connected to a first air source 10a, namely an air conditioner 11, which can supply air to the housing 4” [0045]), the flow circuit configured to direct air exhausted from the sub-system through the outlet into the battery compartment through the inlet (as shown on fig. 2)
Zagrodnik teaches “the use of a battery cooling system which leverages the ambient air flow present during flight may reduce or eliminate the weight, complexity and maintenance associated with liquid cooling systems, but may leave the aircraft without an on-board cooling system usable on the ground where there is no or limited ambient airflow. In this case, an external air supply can replace or replicate the ambient airflow without the need for additional on-board equipment. Alternatively, the external air supply may supplement an on-board system to reduce turnaround times between flights” [0008]. However, Zagrodnik does not further describe an on-board system for providing airflow. Niederhut teaches providing air directly from a vehicle air conditioner to cool the vehicle battery. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the on-board system for supplemental airflow of Zagrodnik as the air conditioner system of Niederhut, in order to effectively utilize a system that is already providing conditioned airflow, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
The combination teaches
a flow circuit fluidly coupling an outlet of the aircraft sub-system to an inlet of the battery compartment, the flow circuit configured to direct air exhausted from the aircraft sub-system through the outlet into the battery compartment through the inlet (while Niederhut does not explicitly describe the vehicle as an aircraft, the vehicle of Zagrondnik comprises an aircraft and thus when applying airflow to the battery system from a n air conditioner of the vehicle as taught in Niederhut to the system of Zagrodnik, the air will be provided from an air conditioner of the aircraft of Zagrondnik)
Regarding claim 19, Zagrodnik, as modified, teaches the system of claim 18,
wherein the aircraft sub-system comprises an environmental control system for a cabin of the aircraft (“Aircraft system 122 is an environmental control system, wing anti-ice system, or other aircraft system that utilizes cooled core air 124” [0019 of Cheong]
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik (US20220407135A1) in view of Cheong (US20130175001A1) and Lohe (US11728532B1), referring to the English translation dated 03/27/2026.
Regarding claim 18, Zagrodnik teaches
a system for an aircraft (aircraft 10), comprising:
an aircraft structure comprising a battery compartment (housing portion 22a, fig. 5A);
a battery housed within the battery compartment (battery pack 20, fig.2 and 5A);
an internal combustion engine (“Whilst the illustrated aircraft 10 is an electric VTOL (eVTOL) aircraft, it will be appreciated that UAM platforms could also be of the STOL type and could also be hybrid electric aircraft that include both internal combustion engines and batteries”) [0049];
Zagrodnik does not teach
an internal combustion engine comprising a compressed air bleed;
an aircraft sub-system operated using bleed air received from the compressed air bleed; and
a flow circuit fluidly coupling an outlet of the aircraft sub-system to an inlet of the battery compartment, the flow circuit configured to direct air exhausted from the aircraft sub-system through the outlet into the battery compartment through the inlet
Cheong teaches
an internal combustion engine comprising a compressed air bleed; an aircraft sub-system operated using bleed air received from the compressed air bleed (“Cooled core bleed air 126 exits first outlet 84 of heat exchanger 78 and travels through third duct 92 to aircraft system 112 . Aircraft system 122 is an environmental control system, wing anti-ice system, or other aircraft system that utilizes cooled core air 124” [0019]; wherein the “wing anti-ice system” reads on the sub-system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bleed air system of Cheong to an wing anti-ice system of Zagrodnik, in order to utilize air that is already heated from the engine to perform the functions of the wing anti-ice system, thus eliminating the need for additional heating of ambient air.
Lohe teaches
a flow circuit fluidly coupling an outlet of the aircraft sub-system (de-icing system 116) to an inlet of the battery compartment (“A “battery pack temperature control system” as used in this disclosure is a structure configured to manage thermal energy of one or more battery packs. Battery pack temperature control system 124 may include one or more thermal conduits. A “thermal conduit” as used in this disclosure is a structure that conducts thermal energy. A thermal conduit may include, but is not limited to, pipes, vents, fans, heat sinks, and the like. In some embodiments, battery pack temperature control system 124 may be in thermal communication with consumable coolant reservoir 108 and/or de-icing system 116 . “Thermal communication” as used in this disclosure is a form of connection between objects through thermal energy. Thermal connection may be achieved through thermal conduits or other heat exchanging devices”) [0028], the flow circuit configured to direct air exhausted from the aircraft sub-system through the outlet into the battery compartment through the inlet (as shown on fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to source air from the outlet from the anti-icing system, as taught in Lohe, in order to effectively utilize a system that already comprises the cooling necessary to maintain the desired performance temperature of the battery unit, thus improving the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 20, Zagrodnik, as modified, teaches the system of claim 18,
wherein the aircraft sub-system comprises one of an anti-icing system or a pneumatic system comprising a pneumatic actuator (“Aircraft system 122 is an environmental control system, wing anti-ice system, or other aircraft system that utilizes cooled core air 124” [0019 of Cheong]
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Schmidt (US9837647B2), Zhu (US8047318B2), and Evjen (US4468440A), which teach similar systems for an aircraft as claimed
Becker (US20210031934A1), which teaches a similar air system configured to direct pressurized air from the cabin into a battery compartment as claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762