DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/514,537 filed on 11/20/2023 is presented for examination. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 11/20/2023 and 01/26/2026 are acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa (US 2009/0039831) in view of Hozumi et al. (US 2012/0233850).
With respect to claims 1 and 5, Ichikawa discloses an electrically powered vehicle (Fig. 1) comprising: an accessory device capable of communicating with an external device (Fig. 1, 62); a power converter that operates a motor (Fig. 1, 14, 24/28, and motor 30); a first relay and a second relay (Para. # 0063: converters 14 and 24 are controlled according to a switching instruction from ECU 50); a control device that controls operation of the first relay and the second relay (Fig. 1, 50-ECU); a first battery that supplies electric power to the accessory device when the first relay is in ON state (Fig. 1, 10); and a second battery that supplies electric power to the power converter when the second relay is in ON state (Fig. 1, second battery 20 and controller ECU with the switching operation-ON-OFF).
Ichikawa, does not expressly disclose a relay, but a general switch and wherein when the second relay is in ON state and the electrically powered vehicle receives a battery replacement instruction to replace the second battery with a charged battery.
Hozumi on the other hand, discloses wherein when a relay/switch is in ON state and the electrically powered vehicle receives a battery replacement instruction to replace the second battery with a charged battery (Para. # 036: When receiving a battery replacement request signal, the controller 38 sequentially executes control for lifting the lifting-lowering means 15, control for projecting the cylinder 17, control for unlocking the locking devices 45, control for retracting the cylinder 17, and control for lowering the lifting-lowering means 15. Accordingly, a battery unit 42 that needs charging is detached from the battery support portion 43, and is moved to a position close to the transporting means 16. When a new battery unit 42 that has been charged is placed on the battery mount portion 13, the controller 38 sequentially executes control for lifting the lifting-lowering means 15, control for projecting the cylinder 17, control for locking the locking devices 45, control for retracting the cylinder 17, and control for lowering the lifting-lowering means 15).
ICHIKAWA and Hozumi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely Electrically powered vehicle and vehicle battery replacing apparatus.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a relay switch and controller instruction for battery replacement instruction to replace the second battery to electrically powered vehicle of Ichikawa in view of Hozumi for the benefit of replace energy in minutes, eliminating the hours-long waits associated with fast charging, and the vehicle can be driven away immediately after a swap, making it ideal for urban driving, public transport, and commercial fleets.
With respect to claim 2, the combined references of Ichikawa and Homuzi disclose the electrically powered vehicle as described above, further Homuzi discloses comprising a manipulation device, wherein when the manipulation device is manipulated after the second battery is replaced with the charged battery, the control device controls the second relay into ON state (Para. # 0065: when the electric vehicle 41 is stopped at a position displaced from the predetermined position, an instruction for redoing
the stopping operation may be issued).
With respect to claim 3, the combined references of Ichikawa and Homuzi disclose the electrically powered vehicle as described above, further Homuzi discloses wherein based on a fact that the accessory device receives a predetermined notification from the external device after the second battery is replaced with the charged battery, the control device controls the second relay into ON state (Para. # 0036: the controller 38 sequentially executes control for lifting the lifting-lowering means 15, control for projecting the cylinder 17, control for locking the locking devices 45).
With respect to claim 4, the combined references of Ichikawa and Homuzi disclose the electrically powered vehicle as described above, further Homuzi discloses wherein when the electrically powered vehicle receives the battery replacement instruction, the control device controls only the second relay, out of the first relay and the second relay, in to OFF state, on a condition that a charge amount of the first battery is more than or equal to a predetermined value (Para. # 0053: The displacement detecting means detects a displacement of the battery unit 42 that has been detached from the battery support portion 43 and moved onto the battery platform 25, with respect to a reference position of the battery unit 42).
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859